This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Smith's Wailua River Cruise to Fern Grotto with Live Entertainment


Attended as (Families with Young Children) Reviews

It was a fun boat ride.

Reviewed by: Gladys Espino, 2019/01/03

The boat felt a little outdated but the staff and the scenery made up for it. Our girls had fun riding the boat, watching the hula dancers, and learning about some history.

  • Here's a picture of a waterfall at Fern Grotto

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2018/07/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Grotto cruise

Reviewed by: Darlene, 2018/05/25

The MC and music brought the experience to another level. Enjoyed it very much!

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2018/05/22
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Wailua Smith Boat Tour

Reviewed by: Janet, 2017/05/24

This was a very throw back to the past type of experience. Simple fun, nice people, old fashioned hospitality. The river is in full sun, would not recommend kayak option..not enough interesting flora along the way. Hula and Hawaiian music on the boat ride fun. Fern Grotto was devastated in 1992 and a shadow of it's former glory. Guide gave good local information in an entertaining sort of presentation. I'd take grandma and grandpa or very young kids on this tour.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2017/05/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Beautiful and Informative

Reviewed by: Amy, 2017/04/21

It was lots of fun and informative. The staff was really nice and it was a very kid friendly adventure

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2017/04/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Majestic

Reviewed by: Shandzl, 2017/01/09

Wow, what a wonderful experience! The fern grotto was breathtaking and I loved how they taught us how to hula!

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2017/01/05
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Beautiful!

Reviewed by: Deb, 2016/08/27

Such a beautiful part of the island! We had a great time on the tour, our guides were amazing.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2016/08/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Couldn't of been happier

Reviewed by: Christian , 2016/08/06

The singing the dancing the engagement and kindness of the staff is what makes this the best boat ride around

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2016/07/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

I would do this again!

Reviewed by: Dru, 2016/04/20

I really feel like this river cruise is special, you get to see and hear how this culture has evolved.. The singing is fantastic and the commentary is great as well. Such a nice family!

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2016/04/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fern Grotto Tour

Reviewed by: Love Kauai, 2014/07/07

Our tour had no enthusiasm and excitement in his voice. The crew seemed like this was a task. The Hawaiian dancers were good, the singer was good.
Had been on the Fern Grotto tour a few years ago and was much better.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2014/06/10
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great!

Reviewed by: Rebekah, 2013/06/18

free shuttle picking up, great river scenery, live music, magic grotto, great service!

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2013/06/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Beautiful

Reviewed by: Sixto, 2013/06/07

A relaxing experience with beautiful views and great entertainment.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2013/06/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Okay not great

Reviewed by: Peggy - Global Traveler, 2012/08/06

20 years ago this was a really great trip as you were able to go inside the cave and the water fall there was more than a trickle. Since the Iniki Hurricane in the 90's that is no longer possible. The landslide that happened ended the cave tour part and ended the waterfall being as it was.

I would recommend this to any one who has just landed in Kauai, older couples perhaps, who have never seen a fern grotto of any kind. For kids it is boring. Heard that a few times :)

As for a wedding... I would honestly not recommend this particular trip as it is average or just okay. The boat trip up and back in the boat was the best part. For wedding parties I would honestly recommend arranging something with the Smith Family or one of the local Resorts and doing it as part of a Luau. That would be better. Hawaii Activities can help you find many other events that would be better for a wedding. They rock!

This is a nice easy trip and okay to see. But if you have limited

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great fun

Reviewed by: Carl O, 2012/07/21

We thoroughly enjoyed this informative and beautiful cruise. The Captain shared much information and was very entertaining. On the way back, the entertainment was excellent. Good time!

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fern Grotto

Reviewed by: Karen S, 2011/02/15

We loved the pace, entertainment and narration. Our entire family had a good time. Thank you!

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

very enjoyable

Reviewed by: connie, 2011/02/15

We totally enjoyed the river cruise and the fern grotto. We were a little disappointed we could not actually go into the grotto but totally understand. It will be good to come back and see it again after a few years and some more fern growth.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great time!

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2010/06/04

Our group enjoyed the music as we cruised the river. The scenery was outstanding and the staff provided good service.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Untitled

Reviewed by: David, 2009/07/21

A very informative excursion. Truly relaxing and the staff were insightful and fun. Would highly recommend this to anyone.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

fern grotto

Reviewed by: sara926, 2009/07/11

The employees were very friendly. The Grotto was not all that I expected it to be in my imagination, but it was still very beautiful and I would recommend to check it out

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Smith's Laua

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2009/05/28

Better than expected, best laua I've been to. The gardens are beautiful, go early so you can spend some time walking around the beautiful location.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fern Grotto

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2009/05/28

Not what I expected, could have skipped it to spend more time at the Smith's laua.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fern Grotto

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2009/04/07

Fern Grotto was absolutely beautiful.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

A lovely way to see the river

Reviewed by: HBaxter, 2009/02/22

We enjoyed this lazy trip down the river and learned a lot about the river on the way from the captain. The fern grotto was beautiful, though not quite as lush as it had once been (so don't expect it to look like the postcards you see! I guess the hurricanes did some damage). The entertainment at the grotto was also lovely - hearing the traditional Hawaiian wedding song (in Hawaiian) with beautiful harmonies was enchanting. I also love that this is a family run business, putting money back into the traditions of Hawaii and the families that reside there. We took our seven year old boy and nine year old girl, and grandma, and everyone enjoyed the trip.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fern Grotto Trip

Reviewed by: Betty Kaszula, 2009/02/14

This is the first time we took the boat trip up the river. I was impressed with the family involvement in every aspect of the luau and boat tour. They are very gracious people and must answer the same questions thousands of times yet they show an interest each time to make everyone feel special and not like some

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Relaxing cruise on the Wialua River

Reviewed by: S. Denning, 2008/11/22

The cruise is vary relaxing, vary beutiful, and the staff is vary informative and the hula dancer was wonderful. But be warned the cave at the Fern Grotto is now closed, but you can still see it and take pictures of it wich is beutuful. recomended to first timers.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

A very pleasant experience!

Reviewed by: Mary, 2008/11/15

This cruise is great for older people who are not able to walk very well - the staff is very friendly, the entertainment is fun and relaxing, the river is beautiful, and the walk to the Fern Grotto was very nice also. We did this before going to the luau at Smith's. It was a wonderful combination!

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fern Grotto River Ride

Reviewed by: Barbara, 2008/05/22

We loved this tour. The ride up the river was informative and absolutely beautiful. Walking the Grotto was amazing. So many types of plants. You will be amazed. Be sure to walk through slowly. Look at every flower and in between leaves so you don't miss the giant bumble bees or the beautiful birds. Some people walked too quickly and missed these wonders of nature.

The ride back was pleasant with the staff playing music and dancing. They were great guides and great people. One of the guides walked slowly with us and told us all about the different plants and what the natives used these plants for. Super informative. I felt sorry for those who didn't take the time to listen to his wealth of knowledge.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Smith's River Cruise

Reviewed by: Linn A, 2008/05/01

Smith's River Cruise was well done. Unfortunately the Fern Grotto sust
ained damage which no longer allows people to go inside.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fern Grotto Boat Ride

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2008/04/02

Our family enjoyed this short boat ride to the Fern Grotto. The Grotto itself has changed since our last trip to Kaua'i. Sit on the left side of the boat while it is at the dock (which will then be the right side going up the river). That way you can see most of the sights the guide points out on the way to the Fern Grotto. It was informative, especially for first timers. Next trip, we will probably kayak up to the Grotto.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Smith Family

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2007/12/07

Smith family were great

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Untitled

Reviewed by: sandy, 2007/08/21

The cruise was very relaxing with the cool breeze on your face. It would even be better if you had hammock, but i do realize that maybe impossible.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
Page Previous | 1 | 2 |