This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Smith's Wailua River Cruise to Fern Grotto with Live Entertainment


Attended as (Families) Reviews

Fun ride

Reviewed by: Dave , 2019/06/11

Beautiful views. It is a lot of fun. Great entertainment. Nice people. Would recommend it.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2019/06/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great tour of the river

Reviewed by: Nikki, 2019/05/22

Friendly people and nice tour with lots of information

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2019/05/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Ok.

Reviewed by: Deb D, 2019/05/02

Relatively inexpensive way to see some of the river greenery. Appreciated the history/culture narration. Lead entertainer on the way back was funny! Hula ladies don’t really seem into it, you feel like they are just doing a job and don’t necessarily enjoy it, and they seemed tired. Fern grotto a beautiful site.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2019/04/29
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Beautiful ride

Reviewed by: Lola, 2018/07/04

The river is lovely and the grotto too - this activity is very affordable compared to many tourist attractions

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2018/07/01
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Good for a rainy day!

Reviewed by: Christy, 2018/02/28

It was something to do on a rainy day to fill a couple hours.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2018/02/25
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great option to see Wailua river and Fern Grotto for those not kayaking

Reviewed by: B.L., 2017/12/17

5 years ago I came to Kauai and kayaked up the Wailua river. This time I'm taking family here who are not all physically fit and it would be a pity if there was no other way to see the Wailua river and Fern Grotto! Fortunately there's Smith's River Cruise! It offers a relaxing way to see the river, take a boat ride, and walk around the Fern Grotto. Well worth the ticket price! You also get to see a fun performance by the crew there and on the boat ride back, and get to join in the dancing.

  • Performance at Fern Grotto

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/12/10
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

A must do in Kaua'i!

Reviewed by: TjHensley, 2017/08/10

''This is the second time we have been on the Fern Grotto adventure. Beautiful place and you learn something too! Thank you for sharing your family history Smith Family.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/08/05
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Enjoyed this!

Reviewed by: Jenny , 2016/12/26

Beautiful, interesting, very enjoyable. Crew were wonderful!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2016/12/22
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

My 50th birthday luau

Reviewed by: Cmai, 2016/12/06

What a fabulous time! Loved this luaua show. It was best I've seen! Ate way too much but thoroughly enjoyed my evening!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2016/12/02
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

My 50th bday

Reviewed by: Cmai, 2016/12/06

Enjoyed trip up river much. Very nice crew. I wish they knew more about physical science of area. The history they shared was great. thx!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2016/12/02
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Good entertainment

Reviewed by: Kansas620, 2016/09/08

The staff and Captain were very nice. The musicians were outstanding! Loved the walk back to the boat, down the path through rain forest. A little disappointed in the viewing distance from the Fern Grotto. It was explained that in 2006, the area received torrential rainfall and suffered a mudslide. Since that time they had to built back the tour area, which means a viewing stage/deck, quite a ways away from the Fern Grotto itself. You can no longer go to the mouth of the cave, and pictures did not turn out well.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2016/09/02
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Must Do Activity on Kauai!

Reviewed by: Jackie, 2016/08/13

This was my 3rd trip to Fern Grotto over the years and it never disappoints! The entertainment is awesome! Everyone is so friendly and accommodating! There were 18 of us on this trip and most were first timers, they loved it! Can't come to Kauai and not see the Fern Grotto!!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2016/07/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Poi

Reviewed by: Angie, 2016/07/04

Extremely pleasant, and affordable. Beautiful, must see fern grotto. We ate our imaginary Poi.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2016/07/01
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fern grotto boat cruise

Reviewed by: Rachel , 2016/06/18

Nice boat ride. Great entertainment and historical info. The Fern Grotto was a Beautiful place and glad they have preserved it so nicely.liked it was not too long.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2016/06/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Wailau river cruise to fern grotto with live entertainment

Reviewed by: Alvin lunsford, 2016/05/22

Relaxing, informative, and entertaining...great value

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2016/05/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Iz like performer

Reviewed by: Nhids, 2016/04/24

This 1 1/2 hr activity is really good for those who doesn't have upper body strength to do kayak to get to grotto which is a beautiful mystical place. The whole family enjoyed very much the ride and the entertainment whose voice is the future IZ. The staff were all awesome! Thank you all for making our day great!

  • My mom a few more steps to the grotto

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2016/03/30
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Wailua River Cruise

Reviewed by: DHK, 2016/04/04

My wife and I took her mother on this scenic cruise. The were very friendly and attentive to all their guests. The pilot did a great job noting the points of interest. The singing and dancing during the cruise added a nice entertaining local flavor.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2015/07/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Wailua River Cruise

Reviewed by: Carri Cheek, 2015/10/04

Just as I remembered as a kid. Thank you for a great experience.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2015/09/10
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Best Laua Ever!

Reviewed by: Family of Five, 2015/07/16

The Smith Family Laua will not disappoint! I've seen five Lauas and this was far superior to all others! Food and the show was amazing! The grounds of the facility were very beautiful and the tram ride showed all the land had to offer! Many photo opportunities! The Fern Gratto was beautiful and the musicians were great! Very pretty!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2015/07/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

River Cruise

Reviewed by: Jim, 2015/05/22

The river cruise was relaxing and informative. We loved the traditional Hawaiian music that was sung.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2015/04/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

River Cruise

Reviewed by: kablewhirl, 2015/04/05

We bought the river cruise as an add on to the Luau. It is a pleasant ride on the river with a tour guide and some hula dancing. Honestly we could hardly understand/hear what the guided was saying on the ride. The dancing was nice. The whole experience was just a little underwhelming. Would not sign up for it as an individual event.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2015/04/02
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Good trip as part of luau

Reviewed by: Gordon Edmonton, 2014/11/17

This was an interesting trip. A lot of fun and a good "part" of the luau.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2014/11/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Relaxing Wailua

Reviewed by: Mary, 2014/11/17

Every time we come to Kauai we take this River Cruise. It is so relaxing and the ride on the Wailua is calm and you don't have to paddle! We love the entertainment at Fern grotto as well as the fun on the way back to the dock. Everyone we have taken has enjoyed it! We always take this cruise right before going to the luau. A wonderful value too!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2014/11/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

River CRUISE/ Tropical Luau

Reviewed by: carlie, 2014/10/07

This is a must entertainment was awsome and the cruise up the river was great very relaxing weather couldnt have been better and the Luau is a must execellent food and drinks

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2014/05/01
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Wailua River Cruise

Reviewed by: Dean, 2014/10/05

It was a nice way to start the afternoon before the Smith's Tropical Paradise Garden Luau

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2014/09/11
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fern Grotto

Reviewed by: Eoka, 2014/09/20

We enjoyed the lush surroundings, however, it cannot compare to our previous trip which was many years ago. At that time we were able to actually walk into the Fern Grotto and listen to the singers in the grotto. We did enjoy the entertainment on our return trip back to the dock.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2014/09/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Delightful!

Reviewed by: Felicia, 2014/09/13

Was definitely worth the time! I would have liked to be able to approach the grotto, but our guide was magnificent & the boat team made it a very enjoyable trip. Talented dancer & singers! We will cherish this memory!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2014/08/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

What is a review title

Reviewed by: Gladys Perry, 2014/08/03

I was disappointed that we could no longer go up to the fern area due to damage beyond the River Cruise control.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2014/04/30
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Wailua River Cruise

Reviewed by: JSchwarcz, 2014/05/18

Beautiful trip down the Wailua River with great entertainment! Fern Grotto was spectacular!!! A must see when in Kauai!!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2014/04/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

WE HAD A GREAT TIME !!!

Reviewed by: BETH, 2012/02/27

Six of us just returned from Oahu and Kauai!! Had a WONDERFUL time!!! And the Fern Grotto boat ride was just really nice!! The staff was WONDERFUL, and they made us all feel so welcomed!!! We just really had a GREAT TIME!!! I would recommend this to anyone!!!! The walk to the fern grotto was EASY, and the photo ops were priceless!!! Just alot of fun with my friends!!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
Page Previous | 1 | 2 |