This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Smith's Wailua River Cruise to Fern Grotto with Live Entertainment


Attended as (Couples) Reviews

Great Last Trip

Reviewed by: Joe Mays, 2019/06/10

The trip was great, the entertainment was great.Enjoyed all there was to see and would be great for all ages.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/06/07
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

A romantic river rendezvous

Reviewed by: MsTravelGal, 2019/04/10

Wedding ceremonies have been held at the fern grotto for decades. It's a historic and beautiful spot to get married or renew your vows. We didn't know this before arriving but it was a special surprise since my fiance proposed the day before. The cruise to the fern grotto was the perfect way to end our vacation in Kauai. Even if you're not going for a wedding, you'll get to hear and watch Hawaiian singers and musicians perform a traditional Hawaiian wedding song. So whether you're celebrating an engagement, a honeymoon, or 50 years of marriage, this beautiful destination will fill your heart with love. I'm so glad we did this tour!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Very interesting trip

Reviewed by: Martin, 2019/02/28

Excellent organization of the trip, nice music and dance, very impressive walk to fern grotto. All-in-one: Beautiful trip worth the money

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/02/25
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fern Grotto

Reviewed by: T. Hasko, 2018/11/10

Great little boat ride to the beautiful fern grotto! I loved the song and little hike up. The tour guide was wonderful we had a great time.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/11/07
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Activity!

Reviewed by: Chuck&Vickie, 2018/09/27

This was a great activity. The boat ride was great. The captain's commentary was insightful and the scenery was beautiful. The entertainment was also very good.

  • At the Grotto

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/09/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fern Grotto Boat Tour

Reviewed by: Oahu Vacationers, 2017/11/15

We had to U-turn few mins late since GPS couldn’t find the Wailua Marina location - Waze app had “Wailua River State Park” but it took us down a tiny steep road... luckily we arrived on time for the 11am tour. Had great photos along the way! Enjoyed the boat ride; aside from the humidity and brown muddy water due to the rain night before...bring a fan or baby wipes. We saw 2 kayakers and 2 paddle boarders. Nice boat attendees and Hawaiian musicians. A lovely, less than 2 hr tour with lots of time to explore rest of the island! Mahalo!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/11/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Our trip to the Fern Grotto

Reviewed by: Tom H., 2017/11/06

It was definitely worth the time to visit the Fern Grotto. It was enjoyable and we even got a bit of Hawaiian history!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/11/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Lovely ride

Reviewed by: Chris P, 2017/05/20

Smooth, interesting and all round pleasant ride to a beautiful place.

  • Cruisin

  • Fern Grotto

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/05/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Early Bird Gets the Best Tour!

Reviewed by: Annette , 2017/05/09

Who could pass up a tradition of Hawaiian tourism that has been in operation since 1947?! The Smith family was awesome. They were very friendly and kind. We were fortunate to be on the first boat of the day and in a small group. The morning was cool yet very comfortable. While we waited for our tour to start, the on-board talented trio of musicians were taking requests, joking and visiting with the passengers. Once on the river, the captain gave us an overview of the points of interests along the way as we passed stand-up-paddle boarders and kayakers enjoying the quiet river too. We were treated to a beautiful hula demonstration, native music and an improv hula lesson! After a short walk to the grotto, our "guide" explained some of the history and folk lore about the grotto, afterwards, they sang the Hawaiian Wedding song to us. It would be fun to go back again!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/02/25
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

I just don't enjoy large group tours

Reviewed by: Linsey, 2017/03/26

This is a great tour for those that want an easy, non-strenuous ride up and back on the river. I just did not enjoy being packed in with that many people to see the attraction after hiking and adventuring all week and then going on a garden tour directly before this one. I thought it was the only way to get to the grotto, and didn't like being herded in a huge group to see the ferns and hurry and take a photo. We really wished we knew that renting kayaks from the same company was an option because that looked way more our style. Aside from that, the staff was nice and gave an informative tour and musical entertainment for the ride. Best suited for older or more conservative tourists.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/03/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Nice boat tour

Reviewed by: Lois jenken, 2017/03/25

Enjoyed the river cruise very much
It was nice to see some traditional dancers and music and the grotto was definitely worth seeing

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/02/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

January Hawaii trip

Reviewed by: Neal Reader, 2017/02/27

Beautiful boat trip up the Wailua River, scenery and stories of the area spectacular.
Fern Grotto an incredible natural creation. Well worth the money.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/01/30
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Nice side trip

Reviewed by: Ron M, 2017/02/18

Nice river cruise. Did it before going to our Luau next door

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/01/25
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

River Cruise

Reviewed by: RobertH, 2017/02/17

The location was very hard to find. Price was fair. The man entertaining was kinda corny. I was expecting more.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/02/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Must do!

Reviewed by: Leslie B., 2017/02/16

Four of us thoroughly enjoyed the river cruise to fern grotto and Smith Family Luau experience afterwards. We had researched luaus on the Hawaiian Islands, and I am convinced we found the ideal one. Loved the gardens and cultural dance show!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/01/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Beautiful!!

Reviewed by: ohiofirekids, 2017/02/11

He most beatiful views I have ever seen!!....will definitely return!!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/01/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great activity

Reviewed by: Phil, 2017/01/07

Nice crew, entertainment (Hula and hawaiian music)

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/01/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Lovely cruise in Nature

Reviewed by: Jenny , 2016/12/27

On a lovely sunny morning the cruise up the Wailua river to the Fern Grotto was a lovely experience. The entertainment was delightful and all staff friendly and helpful. Explanations about the history and nature were good.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/12/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fern Grotto

Reviewed by: Linda, 2016/12/19

The Smiths river boat trip to the Fern Grotto was wonderful. We loved the live entertainment, they were great.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/12/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Best Luau ever

Reviewed by: Linda, 2016/12/19

We have been to Luau's on all the islands but none of them can compare to the Smiths. The place is gorgeous. We felt like we were walking around in Disneyland. The food, service and show was excellent!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/12/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

River cruise

Reviewed by: Gary & Elvia, 2016/10/22

It was nice, although it was short. I rented a kayak for the same river. Hindsight I should of did my homework.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/09/28
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

relax and enjoy

Reviewed by: Happy camper, 2016/09/27

My wife and I loved the quite trip down the river the music was great and the scenery was beautiful. Highly recommend to all looking to relax and escape it all!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/09/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Disappointing

Reviewed by: Peter, 2016/09/25

Hurricane Iniki did in the fern grotto which I had not been aware of so was disappointed in that as it was always so beautiful. Other than that the river ride is always nice and Wailua such a beautiful place. The crew and entertainers were delightful and all in all it's a fun ride but as I said the fern grotto which is what most come to see was pretty much done in my mother nature. I had been on this ride more than once and first time as a child as my father was born in Lihue so I knew the grotto as it had been years ago so this most likely is what led me to my disappointment but first time goers will still find it a lovely trip and fun for all. Aloha

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/09/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Beautiful ride!

Reviewed by: TraveLpro, 2016/09/09

This activity works for the whole family. The river is lovely and passengers get a bit of entertainment and a bit of history.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/09/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Nice relaxing ride on the Waimea River

Reviewed by: Jackie Benavidez, 2016/08/22

We took the morning tour and really enjoyed it. We were entertained by musicians on our way to the Grotto and was even taught a simple hula dance. The Grotto was beautiful and we thoroughly enjoyed the history lesson of the area. I would definitely take this tour again.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/08/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Boat ride and laua

Reviewed by: Bob D, 2016/07/23

Lots of fun. Entertainment was great. Narrative was very informative. Grotto was awesome. We included the laua which was most fantastic. Food beverage and entertainment was great. My first laua and my best. Thank you for a great evening. All the staff were very friendly

  • Beautiful

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/07/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

So enjoyable!

Reviewed by: Kim Wood, 2016/04/20

We loved our afternoon river cruise! The entertainment was great and the fern grotto was breathtaking! Staff members were warm and very inviting! We will recommend this activity to others!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/04/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Beautiful trip,very peaceful.

Reviewed by: Penny, 2016/04/16

Wonderful time very peaceful. All the people were very friendly like family.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/03/25
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Delightful river trip

Reviewed by: Della, 2016/04/02

Was awesome to return to fern grotto after 44 years. Well done!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/03/30
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

AMAZING! If you haven't booked a luau this trip Do THE CRUISE!

Reviewed by: Maren, 2016/03/14

When we booked our trip to HI my husband had been 3-4 times already. I hadn't been at all. He convinced me not to book a luau. We really like food and figured we'd save the money for something else. Once we got to HI I was really-really bummed we didn't have a luau on the docket, and it was too late to book anything.

This cruise was amazing and once we did it we weren't so bummed about missing the luau. The cruise is so peaceful. The guide is a smith family member and his family owns the land surrounding the river. He knows so much about the land and has tons of stories he tells while you cruise up and down the river.

You stop at the fern grotto, which is so cool. It's a must see on any trip to Kauai. The musicians on the cruise play songs and play a special song to people who have just gotten married or celebrating anniversaries.

Then on the ride back the musicians play native songs. It's the next best thing to a luau.

Already did it once but will do it again!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/05/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
Page Previous | 1 | 2 | 3 |