This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

All Reviews for Hawaiian Luaus in Hawaii

Overall Rating

4.52 4.52 / 5

Reviews

1713 reviews

Oahu Dolphin Cruise & Paradise Cove Luau Combo

Good fun, amazing experience, good show

Reviewed by: Annemieke van Heezik, 2014/10/05

When travelling solo it's easier to book guided tours and especially combo's. The Dolphin tour was so much fun! Mark and "Dammit"-Travis, had us laughing to whole time. They make sure the Dolphins and all ocean wild live is left undesturbed and care about preservation. Unfortunately the Dolphins were out in deep waters and it was decided to not go in the water. Bummer for me as an experienced diver, but there were too many beginners in our group, so I got it.
We did see the Dolphins up close and that was amazing, as was snorkling.
Lunch was tasty and after that I had 3 hours to kill before Paradise Cove.
Paradise Cove is very nice. The show was great (as expected): hula dancing, singing, fire- act and even the audience joining in hula dancing. The food was good and there was more than enough of it. Drinks had to be bought (besided coffee and water) You receive enough value on your card at entrance for 2 cocktails and you can also spent the value in the gift shop. The first hours you can walk around the beautifull scenery and watch the sunset. There are some old-school hawaiian activities to try yourself. Canoeing, speer throwing, making leis, getting a (fake) tattoo. It is a good way to spent your time and I really enjoyed it. Only downside is that it is very touristy and sometimes the Aloha feels a bit fake. After the Luau the busride back was a bit confusing because you have to get into a number bus they gave at entrance and it is not done by name, so I was worried to be in the wrong bus, but that worry went straight out the window with our tour guide. He gave us a full stand-up comedy show. I was laughing so much it had me in tears the whole hour it took to get back to the hotel. We were litterally lining up to give the man a tip, that's how much fun we had with him on our bus. Good tour, a lot of laughs, a good show, good food and an amazing day at the ocean. Definite thumbs up, I recomment to go for it!


  • sunset at Paradise Cove


  • show at Paradise Cove before dinner


  • show at Paradise Cove during dinner


  • Dolphins swimming all around us


  • Dolphins in groups all around us


  • People getting on and of the boat for snorkling


  • Hawaiian activities at Paradise Cove


  • Amazing snorkling


  • Blue Hawaiian at sunset Paradise Cove

Rating:
Attended as: Solo Travelers
Activity Date: 2014/09/11
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Famous Paradise Cove Luau on the Beach at Ko Olina Resort

Great time at our first-time luau!

Reviewed by: Joshua Buck, 2018/11/14

My wife and I for our 1-year wedding anniversary decided upon the Paradise Cove Luau out of a few different choices. After speaking with locals and drivers on the island, this one seems to be the favorite. We were picked up from a close-by location in Wakiki, taken to Paradise Cove and from there, it was smooth and fun times!

PROS: Overall experience was great! Our bus guide (Sexy T) was fun-loving, funny, and made the drive out to the cove enjoyable. The luau itself includes spear throwing, traditional games, pictures (for purchase towards the end but free to participate), a short cove canoe ride, gift shop, crafts both to make and pre-made for sale, and many other activities. The food was second-to-none, buffet style and DELICIOUS. Coming from a southern guy, the pork was the best and I know good BBQ. The luau show was entertaining and keeps your attention.

CONS: The cove card is nice, pays for 1-3 drinks depending on the money placed on there (which depends on your package), but with any venue event, the drinks are pricey but, in my opinion, strong enough to be worth the money. I only list this as a con because this is not an all-you-can-drink event. Adding this option would be nice for those guests that wish to imbibe.

As for seating, we went with the Standard Package (cheapest) and lucked up with excellent seats that were very close to the stage. There is a greater likelihood for poorer seats with the Standard Package, so if you want to ensure a good view, upgrade to the middle option.

All-in-all, fantastic experience and a must-see for all Hawaii travelers, especially first-timers like us!

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2018/11/07
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Te Moana Nui Polynesian Luau Dinner Show at the Sheraton Princess Kaiulani Hotel

Excellent Hawaiian Experience!

Reviewed by: Yvonne, 2015/10/12

This show was better than any outdoor luau I have ever attended! The cast and crew did an excellent job portraying the culture and history of Polynesia and did so with true passion!

The indoor atmosphere was perfect and the props really played a big role in conveying the story telling by both the musicians and the actors. This show is conveniently located in Waikiki at the Sheraton princess Kaiulani Hotel . Unlike the traditional luaus of Hawaii, there is no need to board a bus only to be driven for over an hour to a remote, deserted location only to be served horrible food with 20 minute wait times just to get something to drink. You are comfortably seated in an air conditioned ballroom and the atmosphere is very exciting!

I highly recommend this show to all tourists who are looking to experiencela luau without the hassle of your typical tourist luau that is too crowded , has terrible food, serves up a pre cooked pig that has been pulled out of the back of a van and where you will most likely get suckered into purchasing a $20 8x10 photo that was taken of you and your family in a parking lot! All the comforts you will need are right there in the vicinity of the show. Excellent buffet with top quality food choices , Clean toilets, indoor air conditioning, speedy courteous waitresses that dont mess your cocktail order up and an overall excellent adventure! Kudos to everyone who made this show possible! The hula dancers and the male dancers put their heart and soul into the show and you can clearly see their passion while they are performing the dances of Polynesia!

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Toa Luau at Waimea Valley - Polynesian Experience & Waimea Falls Admission

Toa Luau at Waimea Valley (Add to your Bucket list)

Reviewed by: mcavalheiro, 2018/06/04

I had a amazing time with Toa Luau, food, drinks & show are great. It's a very family oriented luau and the location is beautiful. The good thing about being far from Waikiki, is that you can skip the crowds from the other shows and get a more personal experience.

I really enjoyed the pre-luau activities, they let us be part of dinner preparation and we learned how to make some traditional Polynesian dishes. They let us peel taro, green banana, they showed us how make flower leis & how to use palm leafs to make headbands, baskets and hats. We played Polynesian games and had the chance to play some musical instruments too. Kids and adults were having so much fun! I believe this is the only luau where you can experience a Kava Cerimony, one of the most iconic cultural traditions in Fiji.

I've been to other luaus before, but this one felt different. I didn't feel as a tourist. The staff makes you feel like you are part of their family and that they are inviting you for a real party at their home, so it made the evening really special.
Another good thing is that it includes admission to Waimea Valley. We arrived earlier and were able to enjoy the botanical garden and of course, swim at the most famous waterfall on Oahu. There are changing rooms available at the park so you can get ready for the luau.

I recommend this luau for everyone who is looking for a real luau experience and wants to learn more about the beautiful Hawaiian & Polynesian culture. Absolutely loved it!

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Polynesian Cultural Center - Full-Day Pass with Alii Luau Dinner & Night Show

Such an awesome day :)

Reviewed by: Laura, 2015/08/06

So I bought the super ambassadors package which bode well for me, considering the 42 acre mass of land the PCC is situated on! As a wheelchair user, probably not the best thing to be doing that on my own! (However massive my biceps may become!)
Everything from the bus ride there with narration from Cousin Nox to the personalised friendly tour guide Jarom who was a fountain of knowledge and super nice guy - was an incredible experience. That's just the customer service! The site itself was beautiful, plentiful in scenic, educational and picturesque landscapes, with presentations that made you laugh, applaud stamp you feet and clap you hands!
Hands down a great tour and an incredible luau and show to end the night! I was fortunate to go backstage before the show and meet someone of the cast - what a lovely bunch! And to see them in action and knowing their complete and genuine appreciation for U.S. tourists being there, made the show even more spectular and the experience that much more worth while.
For sure, I didn't see everything, and I'd definitely go back, especially for another canoe ride! Was so amazed at the level of attention and willingness that was about when I wanted to row the canoe and participate in activities like that.#SuperAccommodating
Truly a wonderful and amazing experience I'll never forget xD


  • These guys were awesome xD

Rating:
Attended as: Solo Travelers
Activity Date: 2015/08/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Big Kahuna Luau at Tantalus Mountain Top with Honolulu City View

Why see the chief or a center, when you can hang with Kahunas!

Reviewed by: ----------RHO----, 2015/03/21

The Big Kahuna luau was awesome! We were first greeted by the Ambassador of Aloha named Chad. As we boarded the bus, he gave us our ticket, and gave us a brief explanation as to what were are going to expect. We then picked everyone else up and he then further detailed what we all was about to experience. On our drive up Chad, was greeting everyone and getting to know them by asking for everyone's first names, where they are from etc. He made a real great first impression. As soon as we got to the luau we knew what to expect. He were greeted with a shell lei, maitai, and appetizers! We took photos with hula dancers, danced hula with them, and started drinking! Those maitais were amazing! I had three before we even got seated for our dinner. Dinner menu was amazing with local foods that I couldn't get enough of. I was in a dilemma, I was either going to drink a lot, or eat a lot, so I decided to do both. Little did I know that the next day, my bed was my best friend. This is by far the classiest luau where you have servers going around asking if everything is okay even if you weren't in the VIP section. I had an amazing time and I wish everyone would take my word about how fabulous the Big Kahuna Luau is! Mahalo to Discover Hawaii Tours & VELTRA for seting me up with awesome memories!



  • Even women can dance with fire!


  • Diamond Head Lookout


  • Wanna Hula? Then get your drink and sway your hips!


  • Tell me where you can get a better sunset picture.




  • Manoa Valley.

Rating:
Attended as: Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Smith's Family Garden Luau - Polynesian Dinner Show with Fire Knife Dancing

Nice surprise

Reviewed by: Mikaela, 2018/08/29

My idea about a Luau was...some food and a little bit of Tahitian dancing on a hotel property...This is what we saw year after year walking on Kaanapali beach - Maui .

Smith Family Garden Luau IT IS TOTALLY DIFFERENT- worth attending. They are very well organized and offer you a unique experience!

1. You get greeted by a local girl and boy who are offering a lei and at this point you get a group picture taken- nice touch- no pressure to buy it,

2.They offer you a tour of the garden and after that you have time to wander by yourself- 50 min- until they do the pork ceremony.

3. You are invited to your table- parties 6 or more have assigned seats- very thoughtful. They have a neat system to invite you to get the food without overcrowding the area. BTW- plenty of good food and drinks.
4. During the meal they entertain you : a little bit of dancing and singing and they invite people from the crowd to teach them how to dance. It was really neat !!
4. After the meal you are invited to an outdoor theater for an 1 hour show. It was A REAL show...lights, music...put together very professional! Enough seats for everyone, you can seethe scene from every seat . At the entrance you can pick up your photos.


I think it is the only Luau worth attending :)


  • In the garden

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Activity Date: 2018/08/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Smith's Family Garden Luau - Polynesian Dinner Show with Fire Knife Dancing

Excellent Tour.

Reviewed by: Emma, 2015/02/01

We usually choose to avoid the tours in favour of exploring on our own. However, on advice from friends who previously lived in Hawaii, a Luau is an experience not to be missed.
We chose the Fern Grotto River Boat Tour and Smith's Tropical Paradise Garden Luau combination tour with pick up and drop off from our hotel. It proved to be a thoroughly enjoyable afternoon and evening.
The Fern Grotto, despite now missing a large number of ferns after the hurricane, is still a beautiful and tranquil spot to visit.
The highlight of this tour was definitely the Luau though. From start to finish, the service and quality of the show were seamless. The grounds are beautifully manicured and a photographer's delight. The food was delicious and ample in quantity; especially the pork. We were most impressed with how they managed to serve so many people in such an organised fashion. Everything was so very orderly and most visitors were invited to help themselves to second and third helpings. The Mai Tais and Punch were delicious and soft drinks were also readily available.
The show itself was very good and we were highly impressed with the quality of the performance.
Overall, a fabulous tour and highly recommended for all ages.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2015/01/07
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Polynesian Cultural Center - Full-Day Pass with Alii Luau Dinner & Night Show

Awesome full day of fun

Reviewed by: Anonymous, 2018/12/05

PCC was a lot of fun and had so many different things to do. This was my third time coming to the center. I got there at noon, had their lunch buffet, and visited a few islands before seeing the new canoe show. Huki replaces the canoe pageant and is a lot more elaborate: there's a narration, music, and many more canoes in the water. The show as a whole is a lot more impressive, just make sure you get there early to get good seats in the shade.

After the canoe show we went to a few more villages (Samoa, Fiji, Tonga) before having our fancy prime rib dinner. I preferred the setting of the fine dining option to the luau dinner, as it was quieter and they have ice cream. Crab legs were also a bonus. After dinner, I had an hour or so to spend at the Hukilau Marketplace before the night show, so I browsed around. The night show was great. It put together things from every village presentation along with music, lights, and a longer story that connects all of it. The show is pretty long though, so use the bathroom beforehand (no intermissions).

PCC is a fun way to spend a day in Hawaii and learn a lot about Polynesian culture. Even if you've been there before like me, there's always something new to see or try!

Rating:
Attended as: Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Polynesian Cultural Center - Full-Day Pass with Alii Luau Dinner & Night Show

Best Guided Tour EVER! Two Thumbs up WAY UP...

Reviewed by: Brando Quinn, 2016/01/01

I really had no idea of what was in store for my wife and I when I signed up for the Super Ambassador Full Day Package with Private guide at the Polynesian Cultural Center, it turned out to be the best guided tour we could have ever anticipated! The comfortable Motor Coach picked us up promptly at our designated hotel location. The motor coach driver and guide were gracious and told us various facts, pointed out points of interest along the way, and set the tone for the rest of the day that would be spent at the Polynesian Cultural Center.

When we arrived the group was given their designated tickets and soon our guide a student of BYU University and from the Philippines introduced himself. Datz began our tour and skillfully navigated us through each of the Polynesian Islands exhibits granting us front row seats to each show, gave us back stage tours, and overall made this one of the best tours I have ever been on! We were delighted to experience the rich cultural heritages of each island group, ate fantastic food at the Luau, and were fascinated with the finale show "Ha' The Breath of Life".

Two thumbs up WAY up! Would I recommend this Super Ambassador Package with Private Guide? Absolutely!

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2015/12/29
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Polynesian Cultural Center - Full-Day Pass with Alii Luau Dinner & Night Show

AMAZING EXPERIENCE -- MUST SEE!!!

Reviewed by: Jennifer Diehl, 2014/05/06

This tour should be experienced by all who visit the Hawaiian Islands. We attended this tour because my parents who travelled with us had participated in it 20 years ago said it was a must see. I knew very little about the Polynesian Culture before attending and the by the time it was over, my family and I were in awh of this culture. We attended with our two children ages 12&14 and they also loved it. Learning about the other countries who are part of the polynesian culture had us asking questions at every turn, participating in some of the games they play on the different islands had us all with smiles not to mention the wonderful show at days end. We paid for the Super Ambassador Package, yes a more costly package but WORTH EVERY PENNY!!!! You will learn much more about this amazing culture and the many islands by having your own guide. Our guide's name was Sepa, a truly amazing and inspiring young lady from the Islands of Tonga. Not only did we experience many of the polynesian islands while at the PCC but through Sepa we were able to learn from someone personally who lived as this tour depicts. We will always have fond memories of our time spent at the PCC as well as our time with Sepa.


  • Island of Fiji

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Polynesian Cultural Center - Full-Day Pass with Alii Luau Dinner & Night Show

Learned so much about Polynesia!

Reviewed by: LisaV, 2018/06/06

When I first got tickets to the Polynesian Cultural Center, I was a little worried since we would be there all day. Would we find enough to do for 9 hours? Yes, yes we could, and one day wasn't even enough!

There were so many incredible activities and performances in all of the different villages, but my favorites had to be Samoa and Hawaii. The presenter for Samoa was not hilarious, but so entertaining, and quite the hottie too! :P I knew Hawaii would be great, how could it not be, but I was blown away by their performances.

We also visited Tahiti and New Zealand, but didn't have time for Fiji or Tonga unfortunately. Next visit! The canoe ride, and the canoe pageant were quite fun, and even the IMAX movie which we chose to see as a break from the walking, ended up being very good! You definitely don't want to miss it!

The food at the luau was so tasty, and I had a LOT of poke. So much poke. Like, pretty much all of the poke was in my belly by the end of dinner. And although I loved the show while we ate, the highlight was definitely the evening Breath of Life show. It was so interesting to see hula and other dances put to a story.

The day was long, but so worth it!

Rating:
Attended as: Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Drums of the Pacific Luau at Hyatt Regency Maui on Kaanapali Beach

Disappointed

Reviewed by: Sue & James Nivens, 2014/10/29

I am VERY disappointed with this Luau. I have attended many luau's in Maui and this was my second time to this one and I will never book again. The guys performance was way better than the girls. The luau seemed shorter than the last time and of all luau's I have attended. We paid ALL this money for 3 of us. It was NOT cheap. 200.00+ dollars is quite much when your expecting a good show. Every luau I have been to, we were able totake pic with. This time NO1 did. All the dancers left. We paid for our "luau" picture and our 7 yr old son was soo excited because he thought he was going to be able to take pictures. We went to Maui on our honeymoon last yr and attended The Royal Lahaina and it was so great. It felt like how a luau should. The experience was amazing. We took pic with the performers and our son saw the pictures and wanted to do everything we did. I attended the drums of the pacific in 2007 with my late brother who recently passed and it was great. I wanted to go to this one to reminice about my time with my brother. Needless to say I hate posting a bad review because I love Hawaii. My sons first time in Hawaii and THIS was suppose to be the highlight. :/

Rating:
Attended as: Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Smith's Family Garden Luau - Polynesian Dinner Show with Fire Knife Dancing

An authentic Polynesian evening in Kauai

Reviewed by: Darcy, 2018/06/06

On our last night on the island, my friend and I went to the Smith's Luau, and it was one of our most memorable times on Kauai. It was not only informative, but entertaining as well. You can tell that this family owned and operative business is run with love and a true appreciation for Hawaiian culture.

The tram ride took us along the huge gardens, and was a great way to get a quick view of the area. I loved that they have a herd of goats! The babies were just so cute! It was also close to where they were doing the imu or underground oven ceremony. Picture time!

The food was plentiful and really tasty. I loved that they had entertainment (music and dancing) while we ate, and the only thing is that I would personally skip the fruit punch. It was just too sweet! But the food, man! I had two full plates and would have had more, but would have ended up rolling out of there.

Our night concluded with some fantastic performances, and although they weren't the most polished, they were filled with sincerity and a love of hula that can't be matched. You can tell that they truly enjoy being on that stage and it is just so moving. Really happy we went :)

Rating:
Attended as: Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Big Kahuna Luau at Tantalus Mountain Top with Honolulu City View

Onolicious Pig

Reviewed by: Pigalicious, 2016/04/27

From the time of pick up till the time of drop off, our driver/ guide "Cousin Miah" made us feel like we were one big "ohana", celebrating this feast at the "Big Kahuna Luau." As soon as we boarded the vehicle we were on our way out of the crazy touristy Waikiki and to the quiet mountain top of Tantalus. The breath of fresh air with delicious appetizers and drinks was just a the perfect way to spend our "Aloha Friday!" Before the luau began, my children were able to take a hula lesson, make lei's, get a tattoo, and witness a gorgeous Hawaiian sunset. After the imu cermeony, the kalaua pig didn't just run away to the kitchen like the other luaus. Here you can witness the cook skillfully chop the pig so we can all have a taste. It took a while as we took turns to the go to the buffet line, but you end up going for seconds to get another bite of the teriyaki chicken. As the dancers and fire dancer entertain you, you loose track of time. Before your know it, its time to head back to Waikiki but not before taking a look at the amazing city lights of Honolulu. Mahalo Nui Loa Big Kahuna Luau for a night to remember!


  • Kalua Pig


  • Tattoo Art


  • Welcome drink

Rating:
Attended as: Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Sea Life Park Hawaii Dolphin Swim Experience & Chief's Luau Combo

The best of both worlds~!

Reviewed by: Ms. Kitty, 2015/03/17

What an amazing day this was! Not only did I get to swim with two dolphins, but also got to go to a great luau too! Some of the things that I knew that I wanted to do when I came to Hawaii was 1) swim with dolphins and 2) go to a luau, and this combo was a great way to do both in one day.

My mom and I got picked up early in the morning and the drive to Sea Life Park was GORGEOUS. The bus driver was really nice about making a short stop for pics along the way too. After we arrived, we checked in and had a few hours before my Royal Swim. We saw a number of fish and sharks in the huge tank, a sea lion show, watched penguins waddle around and then I got the ride of my life when I got into the pool with TWO DOLPHINS! AAAH! I was so excited!

Afterwards, my mom and I freshened up and relaxed at the park for a bit before we checked in for the Chief's Luau. What. A. Show. Chief Sielu makes everyone feel like a part of the family and the performers are off the hook. And the food was tasty too! Yes, that is important :-P

Can't wait to do this again...sooooon!


  • Dolphins! Fish! Turtles!


  • What a view right?


  • Yummy!

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Famous Paradise Cove Luau on the Beach at Ko Olina Resort

Great Luau

Reviewed by: ptlytch07, 2014/09/04

This was my second Luau and while it is a very "touristy" thing to do, anyone who visits HI should at least go to one. This was a very entertaining Luau and the performers were outstanding and extremely talented. I was very impressed with the musicians who were multi-talented and did an amazing job with all the music. The food was really good and the drinks weren't bad either; however, the foo-foo drinks were pretty sweet. We paid for the "VIP" package and I'm still on the fence as to whether or not it was worth it. It was nice having your food brought to you and the extra drink coupons were a plus (we ended up having a little left on the card at the end of the night which we used for souvenirs). Also, you weren't with the big crowd, but you still have strangers at your table so don't expect to be alone. Also, you are in the back of the crowd (up higher than everyone else, but you are not up front like I expected). So, not sure if the extra money for the VIP was worth it, but overall the Luau was really fun and entertaining and we had a great night.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2014/08/25
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Big Kahuna Luau at Tantalus Mountain Top with Honolulu City View

Great Experience!

Reviewed by: AVE, 2015/06/07

I picked this luau based on other reviews and so glad we did! We were picked up by Rick and he was very entertaining. When we got to our destination, the views were spectacular. They greeted you with Mai Tai's and yummy appetizers. They had a photographer take your pics, with and without the dancers, which you could purchase during dinner. FyI, one pic was $25, make sure you bring extra cash. Before the show, they have plenty of activities one can participate in. From hula lessons, temporary tattoos, floral bracelet making to ukulele lessons. The dinner buffet was great. They had a great variety of food, the mahi mahi was wonderful! :) And before the show started, they let everyone know that if they wanted seconds, they could get them. The show was beautiful and very entertaining! You will be amazed with the young fire dancer. We had a great time and their hospitality was very sincere and welcoming. After the show, the dancers thank you for coming, as you exit. We will definitely be back again, we had an awesome time. Mahalo!

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Activity Date: 2015/06/05
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Chief's Luau - Traditional Polynesian Show with Authentic Fire Knife Dancing

Amazing Luau and Closest to Waikiki

Reviewed by: Myk Powell, 2012/05/16

I chose to go to the Chief’s Luau at Sea Life Park because it was close to Waikiki but not IN Waikiki. And I had been to Sea Life Park and the ocean views there are absolutely gorgeous. The main reason I chose this one was I had heard so much about Chief Sielu. Everyone says he’s the best in the South Pacific and “everyone” were correct. What a luau!

In my humble opinion, the Chief’s Luau is the best. The Chief Sielu is even better than his reputation. He and his huge cast of male and female dancers first entertained us with crafts, how to weave, make fire, and dance hula. Then the Chief narrated the imu ceremony where they pulled the pig from the underground imu oven. Informative and funny. Dinner was great. Then came the show. Beyond entertaining, exceptionally funny, and more fire knife dancers than I expected. There were about 7 or 8 of them doing really wild stuff.

One of the best parts of this luau was its proximity to where I was staying in Waikiki. It took less than 30 m

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
5 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Chief's Luau - Traditional Polynesian Show with Authentic Fire Knife Dancing

Hands down best luau I've ever been to

Reviewed by: Kendall, 2013/04/06

My wife, 11 month old daughter, and I got the chance to attend the Chief’s Luau at Sea Life Park, under the Paradise Package. I usually don’t expect much from the food and drinks at these sorts of events, but I was pleasantly surprised. The food was very good, especially considering that it is a buffet, and the drinks were not watered down. In regards to the show, it was absolutely fantastic. The cast performed dances from the various Polynesian Islands and the entire time, the Chief is telling jokes (the jokes contain a bit of innuendo) and making sure everyone is having a good time. There is a reason Chief Sielu performs all over the island, practically every day: not only is he a very skilled performer, but he is absolutely hilarious. I will definitely be coming again. Please note that the cast does pull members of the audience for different parts of the show, however, it is not the run-of-the-mill “let’s all dance at the end” type thing, they are actually part of the festivities.


  • We were greeted with kukui nut leis, and we made a palm frond headband


  • The imu ceremony


  • Getting ready to start


  • Expert musicians


  • Showing off the pig


  • The imu before it is opened


  • One of the pre-show activities is a hula lesson!

Rating:
Attended as: Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Polynesian Cultural Center - Full-Day Pass with Alii Luau Dinner & Night Show

A Must See

Reviewed by: Gary, 2011/01/30

I have booked the “Polynesian Cultural Center – Full Day Ambassador Package” with Hawaii Activities many times. I have always found their voucher instructions to be concise and accurate. I particularly appreciate the fact that Hawaii Activities will leave a e-mail or hotel voicemail message for you reminding you of your upcoming activity and any necessary updated information.

The Polynesian Cultural Center is a MUST SEE when visiting the Islands! It is an amazing full day of learning the culture of the people who established the Islands. Each Village that you will visit will provide you with a description of their creation and demonstrate their unique culture through dance, song, and demonstrations. The interesting thing about this day is that nearly every individual who is working at the Center is a full-time student at BYU of Hawaii which is located next door. The money raised from the admission fee to the Center funds the scholarship program of the University which su

Rating:
Attended as: Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Chief's Luau - Traditional Polynesian Show with Authentic Fire Knife Dancing

Nothing Corny About This Luau

Reviewed by: Ms. Rosie, 2012/05/18

First off... I will RECOMMEND this luau over any other luau on Oahu. This didn’t even feel like an activity or a tour I paid for, it felt like I was invited to a festive Hawaiian family gathering.

I have been to many "traditional" luaus, and usually leave during the show because it gets so boring, everyone does the same routine..over and over again. Not at this luau. I cannot explain how good of a time we had.

The show was great and the Chief grabbed your attention the minute you walked in, he was so funny! Chief Sielu had my friend and I laughing so hard we had to put our drinks and camera down because we wanted to enjoy every minute of it.

One of the main highlights was the fire knife dancing, it started off with 1 dancer, then 2, 3, 4, 5...it just kept on going!! I think at one time the stage nearly caught on fire but they just kept on flipping their fire knives, throwing it in the air..it was soooo exciting!!!

This luau felt like a family gathering, everyone shared

Rating:
Attended as: Families
4 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Aha Aina Luau at the Royal Hawaiian Hotel

I went as a Maka 'ainana

Reviewed by: Kalani, 2009/10/01

Seating began a traditional ‘Oli (prayer) in the hall of the Royal Hawaiian. It was nice to know Hawaiians stick with protocol nowadays. One could almost feel as if being present at a Royal ball, after all, that is exactly what this Hotel was built for in the first place; which made the atmosphere quite unique.

As you approach the lawn and with your first drink you are invited to spooned portions of fresh Ahi Poke, Kalua Pig, Lomi Salmon, and Poi. Story-teller Joe starts by introducing himself and went directly into explaining what ingredients each spoon held and how it applied to Hawaiian post-western contact life. At the same time others from the hula halau demonstrated how kapa was made, inks were produced and designs printed. Ropes were intertwined by hand and foot and other chores were explained by docent-like-ladies-in-waiting. The Pupu platter was my favorite with the skewered chicken, crab cakes, and Butterfish that melted in your mouth.

With a unique approach, each en

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
1 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Famous Paradise Cove Luau on the Beach at Ko Olina Resort

Great way to end

Reviewed by: cali4nia, 2015/05/27

My husband and I attended on our last full day at Hawaii and I am sooooooooo happy that we did. I think this was a great way to end our vacation even though we hated having to leave the beautiful island! This place, the venue, the set-up, activities, dinner, drinks and show was just AMAZING to say the least. The staff, especially cousin Rich(ie), he was the best bus guide/tour guide/table attendent/just overall everything the best. He was able to memorize all of our names before we arrived at Paradise Cove and there were at least 50 minimum on the bus. Even more amazing during the festivities he checked on everyone to make sure we all had what we needed and if we had any questions/help he assisted. Now that's what I call excellent customer service! (there were hundreds of other people at the luau). To sum it all up, upon return to Hawaii I will definitely go back to Paradise Cove. Best Lava Flow drinks, met some great people, fantabulous show and created lifetime memories !!!!!!!

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2015/05/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Polynesian Cultural Center - Full-Day Pass with Alii Luau Dinner & Night Show

Best day in Hawaii

Reviewed by: Steve Salisbury, 2013/04/21

Booked an "Ambassador Package" as it seemed to offer a comprehensive itinerary and very glad we did as it took care of all the planning necessary to view the centre in a day.
The prime rib and seafood buffet was as good as expected considering the amount of guests it was catering for. The different cultural villages provided a good mix of information and humour as not to overload visitors brains. Guest involvement in traditional customs such as weaving and drumming was fun.
The "Ha" show was excellent, keeping the audience fully focused and entertained.
I would recommend the travel inclusive package from Waikiki. Smooth bus operation and after a full day, an opportunity to relax after the event. The guide on the outward journey was entertaining and informative.
What really made this a day to remember was our centre guide "Tori". Through all our years travelling the world, she was beyond doubt the most friendly, informative and caring person we have ever encountered in this role.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Polynesian Cultural Center - Full-Day Pass with Alii Luau Dinner & Night Show

Unique Experience

Reviewed by: Sheryl Janssen, 2013/02/23

We were greeted by our guide who made sure we were in time for all of the activities. She would have us leave a little early to get to shows that were especially popular so we could get good seats. When it was time for dinner, we opted for the prime dining instead of the luau, so I cannot comment on the luau. After dinner we had a few minutes before going to the show. The show was a fabulous way to end the evening. It was a history of Hawaii that sort of reminded me of the Broadway play, "The Lion King". I would definitely take guests who had never been to the Polynesian Culture Center. I doubt that my husband and I would go again unless we wanted to try the luau. Not because it wasn't enjoyable, but because we have already experienced it. About the staff: they were wonderful! Our guides were so protective over us that it was hard to get away from the group to buy a soda! There is no alcohol served here which suited us fine. If you can't get through an afternoon and evening

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Polynesian Cultural Center - Full-Day Pass with Alii Luau Dinner & Night Show

Educational & Entertaining

Reviewed by: Dirk, 2013/01/28

One of the sites that I will never miss out on visiting during my frequent visits to Oahu is the Polynesian Cultural Center. This is an amazing place to spend a day if you are interested in learning more about the history and culture of Polynesia in a enjoyable and entertaining way. I strongly recommend that you spend the extra money and take advantage of the full day Ambassador Package. It is certainly well worth the extra cost! With it you will spend the entire day on a small group tour given by a knowledgeable guide who will take you to all the different villages where you will learn the history and culture of that particular Island from individuals who actually grew up on those Islands. Following a full day of touring the villages, you will eat a large meal. Here, with the Ambassadors Package, you have the choice of eating at the Luau or the Prime Rib/Seafood dinner. If you have or are planning to attend another Luau while you are visiting the Islands, I would opt for th

Rating:
Attended as: Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Famous Paradise Cove Luau on the Beach at Ko Olina Resort

Had a blast!!

Reviewed by: Aimee, 2012/09/03

Cousin Flo was our guide and she made the experience 10x better. She got everyone pumped up and ready for the luau. When we arrived, they took our picture (available for $15 at the end of the night) and we got our complimentary mai tai drink (alcohol/non alcohol). They gave us over an hour to wander off on our own and do activities. Ladies make sure you get a flower headband made!

Use your time wisely. Waiting in line to do an activity can take up to 15 minutes. We waited in line for another drink for about 20 minutes. Keep in mind while you're doing the activities they have you listen for the sound of the shell. You have to drop what youre doing and follow that person for a demonstration. Thats the only downfall i felt there was too much going on. It took away some time from taking pictures and soaking up the view.

The food was good and the show was amazing. The view is breathtaking especially at sunset. You're sitting outside right by the water. Its a great experience. Ive be

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Maui Princess Sunset Cocktail Dinner Cruise & Royal Lahaina Luau Combo

Sunset Dinner Cruise & Luau

Reviewed by: Dye, 2012/07/09

This combo package was excellent quality and value! We were set to sail on a Monday evening. The island was experiencing high winds the previous day with no end in sight. The activities company gave a courteous call asking if we would like to reschedule for later in the week. After assuring me the cruise would safely sail as planned that evening, whether we rescheduled or not, we declined the reschedule. The servers, captain and entertainment seemed happy to be doing their jobs which made our experience that much more pleasurable. The entertainment was Jimmy Buffet-ish with a touch of Hawaiian. He recognized birthdays, anniversaries etc and several folks joined him on the dance floor. The dinner was AMAZING! I am not a huge fish eater... but the macadamia nut crusted mahi mahi was to die for! We were seated with some Newlyweds from the midwest whose company was very enjoyable. I think sometimes people are a bit uncomfortable dining with strangers. However, the crew made everyone feel a

Rating:
Attended as: Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Circle Island Tour + Full Day at Polynesian Cultural Center with Luau & Show

EXCEPTIONAL!

Reviewed by: Courtney, 2012/06/14

I HIGHLY recommend this tour to all!!!

I took this tour with my family about a year ago, and my brother and I told ourselves we must come back with our friends to enjoy it again!

Our tour guide, Mr. (Insert Several Incredibly Long Names Here) Polamalu was incredible! Personable, hilarious, engaging, knowledgeable...pure awesome-ness!! He made the tour so much fun, and on behalf of my group I'd like to say "MAHALO" to him for his service! Side Note: During the Circle Island Tour, I recommend everyone try Dole Whip Ice Cream at the Dole Plantation stop. It is truly some of the best ice cream I've ever had.

The second leg of our tour included an activity-filled rollick through the Polynesian Culture Center! The Center is so clean, everyone is so accommodating and nice, and the activities were very enjoyable! I loved watching the coconut slicing and juicing presentation! It was so informative...and very funny, I might add! Every student and staff member working there is a physica

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]