This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

All Reviews for Helicopter & Airplane Tours in Hawaii

Overall Rating

4.91 4.91 / 5

Reviews

612 reviews

Blue Hawaiian Helicopters Natural Wonders of Oahu Flights (from Honolulu)

Hawaiian Paradise...I was so blown away! Glad we did it!

Reviewed by: Ms. Ems, 2015/03/02

In celebration of our 11th Year Anniversary, my husband and I agreed getting on a helicopter tour. At first, I was worried about motion sickness, and all these negative thoughts we had in our minds especially that we have young children but as we were heading to the helicopter site, the fear that we've had before is turning to an excitement, even more so after we were checked-in by Vincent, who was very helpful, funny, and was able to answer some of the questions and concerns I had before the flight. The weather was cooperating with us too as it was sunny, bright blue skies, with no high winds considering that there was a storm and strong winds the day before. We were asked to check-in 45 minutes before the flight and I thought that was too early but once we got there, the time actually went by too fast as we watched videos of these great sceneries taken on the flights that got us even more fired up!

Adam was our pilot that day and he was very professional, friendly, and informative. He even had us take our time to see the whales as we spotted them swimming in the ocean (we saw 4), and also tons of turtles floating above the water. I like how he communicates with everyone as well and made sure that we are all doing okay.

We are local residents by the way, we've been living in Oahu for 19 years and I have never seen the island so remarkably beautiful until we took this flight! It was amazing and I never stopped talking about it! The sceneries were breathtaking, especially the views of Kaneohe Sandbar! Just incredibly stunning, and what a stress reliever! I don't know how else to express myself but our experience was beyond our expectation! I never appreciated Mother Nature as much as I do now so thank you Blue Hawaiian Helicopters for showing us these and the wonderful experience that will truly last a lifetime! Lucky to live Hawaii..INDEED!



  • Ala Moana Beach / Magic Island


  • Waikiki


  • Diamond Head


  • Diamond Head


  • Hanauma Bay


  • Sea Life Park Hawaii


  • Kaneohe Sandbar


  • Kaneohe Sandbar


  • Famous North Shore (Banzai Pipepline)

Comments from activity operators

Aloha! Thanks so much for sharing your experience with us. We are so happy you had a wonderful time. Please come back and see us again. Mahalo, The Blue Crew

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Flight Lesson & Sightseeing Airplane Adventure (from Honolulu Airport)

WOW !!!!!

Reviewed by: Janet Wright, 2014/09/13

My husband arranged for this experience for our 35th Wedding Anniversary and he and my 28 year old daughter flew with me. It was truly the most exhilarating and awesome experience I have ever had and I have swum with sharks, skydived, done the Olympic bobsleigh run in Latvia and been in a submarine.
This was my first experience at the controls of a Piper Alpha and I felt fully involved from the moment I sat in the Pilot's seat. Masa, my Instructor, explained things to me in such a clear and concise way that I soon realised I was comfortable following his instructions. With both props roaring, he told me to just 'follow the yellow line' and it really was just like driving a car.
Taxiing out to the runway as Hawaiian Airlines jets were approaching for landing rendered me speechless and after opening up the throttle on the runway, that moment of easing back the yolk for take-off was indescribable.
As we ascended and the sheer magnificence of the scenery opened out below me I could hardly believe that I was actually flying the aeroplane. He was pointing out landmarks and asking me to head towards them, telling me when to lose or gain altitude by using the altometer.
The whole experience was breathtaking but the best moment of all was when I was making the approach for the landing. By that time I really felt as if I was in control and as I descended slowly, the realisation that I was making the landing was almost surreal. There was a very comforting 'bump' as the undercarriage met the runway and we taxied to a stop.
Don't hesitate to book this experience.
I absolutely loved it and can't wait to do it again !
Janet Wright
Liverpool
United Kingdom

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Activity Date: 2014/08/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Luxury Volcano Circle of Fire & Waterfalls Helicopter Tour (from Hilo) [45 mins]

Great way to experience the Volcanoes National Park!

Reviewed by: mcavalheiro, 2017/09/27

Let me start saying one thing - Kilauea Volcano is one of the most active volcanoes on Earth and it's definitely a MUST SEE & DO if you are visiting Hawaii. I think everyone should explore the Volcanoes National Park as much as they can, and since I've hiked hiked the most popular sights before, this time I decided to get the bird's eye view from Kilauea.

From start to finish Blue Hawaiian Helicopters was very professional and delivered a great service. After the check-in we watched a video about safety and what to expect on the tour. Due to the weather conditions my original flight was cancelled, however I was able to reschedule to a later time. It was worthy the wait! The aircraft was modern, very comfortable, large windows and the pilot was excelled and very experienced. He not only made us feel safe, but also shared a lot of interest facts about Hawaiian geology and history.

We flew over dozens of waterfalls and over the most recent lava flows and it was crazy to see how close the lava got to some houses couple of years ago. The most incredible part thou was for sure seeing the lava flowing into the ocean and watching the bubbling lava lake inside the Pu'u 'O'o Crater (which you can only see if you are doing an air tour).

I will never stop sharing these incredible memories with everyone around me.
Thank you VELTRA & Blue Hawaiian Helicopters for the amazing experience. I highly recommend this tour, whether you are visiting the island just for a day or more, make sure to include a helicopter flight on your wish list.


  • Kilauea, the smiling volcano!


  • Lava flowing to the ocean


  • Where lave meets the see


  • Great helicopters!


Rating:
Attended as: Solo Travelers
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Best of Maui Air & Land Combo - Haleakala Helicopter & Deluxe Road to Hana Tour

Wow! What a Day!

Reviewed by: Ozzie's Mom, 2014/10/03

I will be forever grateful that a friend talked me out of renting a car and driving the Road to Hana. We are not spring chickens and weren't sure how we would like a helicopter trip to Hana with a road trip back to the cruise port in a 6-passenger luxury van. We knew we didn't want to do a 12-hour bus ride (cruise excursion) but we didn't want to miss Hana.

THIS IS THE BEST WAY TO DO IT!

We thoroughly enjoyed the helicopter flight to Hana and were able to see from the air the majesty of the island which would not have been as apparent from the land. Then we had a delicious lunch on the beach (provided by our tour guide, Surfer Sue) and experienced in all it's surface beauty, the road to Hana. There is no way we could have enjoyed this nearly as much had we driven both directions and certainly not at all had I decided to drive it myself. Sue taught me more about Hawaiian native flora and fauna than I would have learned in weeks on my own.

Because we wanted to make so many photo stops on the way back to port, we returned later than expected. Sue was kind enough to call the folks at Blue Hawaii Helicopters and ask them to send some articles we had purchased that morning and left behind at the shop for convenience sake, to us at the cruise port. No worries!

We could not have enjoyed this excursion any better than we did! Above and beyond treatment at every turn. Highly recommend for all ages.

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Activity Date: 2014/09/21
1 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Blue Hawaiian Helicopters - Kauai Eco Adventure Deluxe Air Tour (from Lihue)

Best part of our Kauai vacation!

Reviewed by: KCOOPER, 2014/11/16

We had 7 vacation days to take in as much of Kauai as we could, and we had booked our helicopter ride a month before we took it, but at the moment we were to get on the helicopter, the ride was cancelled due to poor weather. Can't fault them for that, in fact we appreciated that they cared enough for our safety and enjoyment of the ride by cancelling it when they felt compelled to. Fortunately, we were able to re-book 2 days later, and by then we had explored enough of the island to have a good idea what we were looking at once we were up in the air. This made the helicopter trip that much more valuable to us once we got up there. I had two cameras with me on the ride, taking both stills and videos the entire time, and now, a few weeks after the trip and having reviewed their and my photoraphy work, I've come to realize that the video of our trip that we bought from Blue Hawaiian Helicopters was BETTER quality than most of my videos, and I probably should have spent more time enjoying the ride than worrying about getting the shots. So if you go, be sure to buy the DVD or SD card of your ride, and don't be too concerned about taking pictures or videos. Although the ride was expensive, it was well worth the cost because you would never really see Kauai like you do in a helicopter ride, and Blue Hawaiian Helicopters gives a First Class ride!

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2014/10/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Hilo Helicopter Tours Waterfall Flights & Kilauea Volcano Tours from Above

Awesome, Breathtaking, Not Enough Great Words to Describe

Reviewed by: DWAungst, 2015/09/21

The flight was amazing, but we did not fly from Hilo. When our scheduled time (from Hilo) arrived, the weather was below minimum at the volcano. This was very disappointing since Hilo weather was nice. But, Hawaii weather is very volatile.

We rescheduled for the next day as a "reserve flight" (needed more people to "confirm" the flight). Before the scheduled time, Paradise Helicopters called to say the flight was still only "reserved", but they had an opening in a different, circle the whole island, flight from Kona. They would upgrade me for no additional cost to take that one. We jumped at it.

The flight was amazing. We got to see the whole island, in addition to the volcano and real, live, flowing lava. Our pilot was Koji and he was awesome. The weather over the volcano was mixed, but he was able to navigate through the clouds enough to maintain the FAA rules for height and get us over the actual volcano caldera. Then, we headed for the current eruption points on the southern slopes and saw even more lava in the second vent. Moving further to the new lava fields, he located some live, flow lava. "WOW!!!" is all I can say.

The rest of the flight was great, too. Flying low up the valley on the north shore was wild. Seeing all the waterfalls was also terrific.


  • "Captian Cook", his initial landing point on the Big Island.


  • Green Sand Beach


  • Main Volcano Laval Pool on the Caldera


  • Lava pool in the second vent on the southern slopes of the volcano.


  • Flowing Lava - we were hovering only about 50 feet off this, the heat wash from the lava made the ride bumpy but worth it.


  • More Flowing Lava, Oozing Out of a Crack


  • North Shore Cliffs


  • One of Many Waterfalls


  • Intrepid Adventurers (us), Post Flight

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Paradise Helicopter Deluxe Circle Island Experience by Air (from Ko Olina)

5 Star Experience

Reviewed by: mcavalheiro, 2016/11/28

Great experience overall, from the ground crew to the flight. This is definitely thee best way to see the island and the best option if you are staying on the West Side of the island / Ko Olina resorts.

The pilot is very experienced, polite and knowledgeable. The flight was very exciting and gave us an amazing sights of the island. Even if you don't get a window seat you still get a great view. The aircraft have a two way communication between the pilot and the guest, so while he is talking storied about the location you can ask questions and he will answer.
Oahu is just an wonderful place, we saw Hanauma Bay; Diamond Head; Waikiki beach; Pearl Harbor; the unique Kaneohe bay and the sandbar; the mountains at Kualoa Ranch are mesmerizing, makes you feel like you are at Jurassic Park; the famous beaches on the North Shore, Kaena Point and the beautiful West Coast.
If you have the chance add the land on top of Kualoa Ranch mountains, the pilot surprised us with champagne, drinks and chocolate covered strawberries. Very romantic addition to the tour.
It's a long flight, make sure to bring a bottle of water and got to the bathroom before the flight.

I would recommend Paradise Helicopters to everybody!

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Best of Maui Air & Land Combo - Haleakala Helicopter & Deluxe Road to Hana Tour

Excellent, well worth the money

Reviewed by: Don Henry, 2018/01/07

My wife, myself and my sister with her husband were able to get this trip. We were told that normally they like to do this trip with 6 people. We had only four in our group but they still ran the trip. We took the early morning van ride to Hana and the helicopter ride back. You can do this trip either way. We had a brand new GMC custom van, it was great. Greg our driver said that this company only has newer vans. The only thing better than a new van was a very experienced driver. Greg was great, he knew all the places to slow down and where you could get the best pictures. My wife and sister are very much into flowers, Greg was very knowledgeable on the subject. Many years ago I drove this road and I missed so much, having a driver/guide is the best way to to this. I have a commercial driving licence so I can recognize and appreciate a professional driver. Lunch was very good and light, you want that for the helicopter flight back. The pilot, Glenda was very smooth and safety was always a big concern. The helicopter company was Blue Hawaiian, top notch outfit. I could not think of one negative comment or even a constructive criticism. Is it cheap no, is it value for your money yes.


  • one of the many water falls on the road to hana


  • they is time to swim in one of the many waterfalls


  • Glenda was our pilot back , very good

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2017/12/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Big island Ultimate Volcano Helicopter Flight & Land Tour (from Kona)

Best thing you will ever do in your life

Reviewed by: Joe Pollio, 2017/05/31

My wife and I were on our honeymoon and we booked this trip from back home in NY. As soon as we submitted the application I received a call from Paradise Helicopters and they confirmed everything including being picked up at the hotel. It was flawless.

As for the trip itself it was the most amazing thing we had ever done. You will see landscapes that you never thought existed. Our pilot, Colin from Paradise was amazing and told us about everything we saw from the sky. After landing in Hilo we were directed to a spot where our tour guide picked us up and took us all over Volcano National Park (both driving and hiking - Hikes are not strenuous) and then to a Coffee Plantation (where I got a chance to meet and talk with the Owner) and then on to a Black Sand Beach. Our guide for the day, Katia, was so knowledgeable and such a nice lady.

This is hands down the best way to see everything that the Big Island has to offer in 1 day. Also, you will learn a ton about the Island, the Hawaiian culture, and ways of life that you will not get trying to do this on your own.

The tour is flawless and no wasted time.

I recommend this to everyone visiting the island!

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2017/05/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Hilo Helicopter Tours Waterfall Flights & Kilauea Volcano Tours from Above

What the --, I can't ... OMG! I cried.

Reviewed by: Silas, 2015/10/14

Thank you to Jork our pilot for an amazing flight. After breakfast, me and my friends hit up the Volcanoes Winery for some wine tasting and then whipped through the Volcanoes National Park to get an idea of what we'd see from the sky before heading to the airport for our helicopter flight. The check-in was easy (I gained a few pounds from all the Hawaiian food I ate, but it was okay) and the ground crew was super friendly. Make sure you get a phone strap if you want to take pics with doors off, or you can't take your phone with you. I really didn't expect a lot but as soon as we were hovering over small lava ponds I cried a little bit. It was so epic - it looked like we were on another planet. The black lava landscape stretched to the horizon. It was cold up there but whenever we got over the bright orange lava spots you could actually feel the waves of warmth, so soothing! We finished with a fly over bubbling pots waterfalls and some of the towns. All the buildings and cars were so tiny and perfect like a miniature model city. Thanks again to Paradise Helicopters and HawaiiActivities.com. Definitely an unforgettable moment on the Big Island. Ah man!

Rating:
Attended as: Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Honolulu Landmarks & Diamond Head Scenic Helicopter Flight (Ko Olina departure)

Epic!

Reviewed by: James, 2017/09/19

This was absolutely incredible! It was my first time ever being on a helicopter. This was a surprise for my girlfriend. My girlfriend was so impressed! Our Pilot, Mooch, was awesome! He actually flew for President Clinton. He was very knowledgeable and he would answer any questions we had. I would highly recommend this helicopter tour. We visited Pearl Harbor and we were able to view the US Arizona from the sky. We traveled around Waikiki and Diamond Head. We circled around the island and finished going by our hotel the Aulani. Make sure to bring a camera because you will have breathtaking picture opportunities. At one point we missed something and we told Mooch. He circled back around and hovered the helicopter so we could get a picture of what we missed. He went above and beyond. We both felt extremely safe with him in control of the helicopter.

I looked at many other helicopter tour packages and I am so glad I chose this option. It was affordable and definitely worth the money. It was the highlight of our trip to Hawaii.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2017/09/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Luxury Volcano Circle of Fire & Waterfalls Helicopter Tour (from Hilo) [45 mins]

Once in a lifetime experience

Reviewed by: Diana T, 2018/07/18

When I booked this trip to Hawaii, I was not anticipating Kilauea to erupt actively. In fact when it came on the news that this volcano was spewing lava, I was ready to cancel this trip. However, Kilauea is on the Southeast end of the island and Waikoloa, where we were staying, was far from the volcanic activity. So, we not only kept our trip to big island of Hawaii but also added a helicopter ride to witness an active volcano, which is not something Californians can see on a regular basis, more of a once in a lifetime.

Our pilot, Scott, was great. He took the time to explain what we were seeing, took into consideration of Sophia’s, my 9yo daughter, wanting to see and learn more about this magnificent phenomenon (in fact it was the whole reason for booking this helicopter tour), and took into consideration in providing a smooth, fun, helicopter ride without missing out on being able to see what we need to enjoy the experience of viewing the natural activities of an active volcano. This tour was so worth it. Highly recommended

Rating:
Attended as: Families with Young Children
Activity Date: 2018/07/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Flight Lesson & Sightseeing Airplane Adventure (from Honolulu Airport)

Great experience

Reviewed by: Krista, 2016/06/05

My husband and I did the 1 hour single engine tour. My husband sat up front for the lesson and I sat in the back. Our first thought was that he would get to steer a little bit and get to ask some questions and we'd get a nice private island tour. Nope! He got to take off, fly around the island and even land all by himself. Granted, the instructor was right by his side the whole time, guiding him, telling him where to fly, adjusting things for him along the way and answering any questions he had.

Massa (may be spelled incorrectly) was our flight instructor. He was great! He knew alot about the local area and had over 24 years of flying experience here on Oahu. He exceeded our expectations. After the flight, they gave my husband a nice little certificate.

The reception lady that took care of us before the flight and after was very kind. She helped us with the paperwork before the flight and greeted us with Japanese tea after. The experience was pricey but if we ever get the money to do it again we would.


  • Beautiful views of Oahu (Waimea Bay)


  • The instructor even took a selfie for us!


  • Pearl Harbor


  • We took a bunch of pics with our phone and GoPro


  • Hanauma Bay

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2016/06/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Air & Sea Combo: Volcano Circle Island Helicopter & Atlantis Submarine Adventure

An amazing experience all round

Reviewed by: Joan, 2010/04/08

My daughter,two grand daughters and myself chose the combined package of a trip on the Atlantis submarine and the 2 hour helicopter tour on our first visit to Hawaii big island in March.
We did the Atlantis trip first and were completely blown away by it. The staff were friendly and accommodating and made everyone feel comfortable and safe before we even boarded the boat to take us out to the submarine. Everything ran efficiently and on time and we saw some amazing sights as we slid down to 100 feet and circled coral islands beneath the waves. The commentary was very informative and the pilot made sure that everyone got a good view of the many varieties of reef fish that were out there.
I would highly recommend this activity as it is so different from anything else most of us get to do in a lifetime.

We did our helicopter trip the following day and that too was very well organized. We were picked up from our hotel and driven to the helipad by a very friendly lady who shared with

Rating:
Attended as: Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Hilo Helicopter Tours Waterfall Flights & Kilauea Volcano Tours from Above

Lava Hunting!

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2009/09/29

We did the "Fire & Falls" tour and loved it (although we both got a bit airsick, but that's not the company's fault, that's just because we're prone to it - the other couple with us was fine). I had picked Paradise because it was the cheapest air tour of the volcano (in terms of cost per minute), but I can't imagine why I would pay more for another company because this ride was everything we wanted.

We did the "doors off" tour and it was a 4-person helicopter (not incl. the pilot), so everyone had a fantastic view. I would highly recommend the doors-off experience. My husband is a bit afraid of heights, and even he agreed that doors-off was worth it (but a bit frightening for him). Our pilot was Jesse and he was a lot of fun.

What I loved is that if a passenger spotted lava, our pilot would circle back (as if we were "lava hunting") and make sure that everyone got a view.

The waterfalls portion was brief, and at the end. The main attraction of this tour is the volcano/lava.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Hilo Helicopter Tours Waterfall Flights & Kilauea Volcano Tours from Above

Great!

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2009/09/29

Our group of 4 booked a "doors off" helicopter ride through Paradise Helicopters. None of our group had ever been in a helicopter before and this exceeded all of our expectations. The front desk staff was courteous and upbeat. The guy doing the safety briefing was thorough and knowledgeable while infusing some humor into the "speech". Our pilot was Joyce and we could not have asked for a better experience. Because there were 4 of us, we took every seat on the helicopter. We were concerned at first about the view from the front-middle seat, but she could still see everything, though you do miss the experience of sitting right by the window.

Joyce did a great job of going over the different areas multiple times so each side of the helicopter could see what was below. Joyce spoke clearly and slowly and we never had a problem hearing what she was saying and she would repeat the "attractions" for both sides of the helicopter.

If you have the option of choosing your pilot, you want J

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Kohala, Waipio Valley & Hamakua Coast Tour by Sunshine Helicopters (from Hapuna)

Pure magic

Reviewed by: Roberts Family Australia, 2009/10/20

We were blown away from the start to finish,the magnificance of the island is just unique starting from the hot arid black volcanic rock through to the volcanoe itself and then the beautiful coast on the hilo side to the luscious green valleys of the kings.
We went as a famiy and my children aged 12 and 13 were just as amazed.
Our pilot was great taking us in circles with a running commentry throughout the trip and hovering so that all of us would have plenty of time and sight of everything and plenty of time for photos although they never seem to do it justice.It was certainly the way to see a vast majority of the island,and as much at first glance of the price may make one a little hesitant it was worth every cent.
The only thing that was a bit expensive is getting out to the site itself costing around $90.00 Australian Dollars each way but that may be less if hiring a car or going as a group.Having said that I really dont think that after the experience it will really matter.

Rating:
Attended as: Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Blue Hawaiian Helicopters - Kauai Eco Adventure Deluxe Air Tour (from Lihue)

Highlight of our Hawiian cruise

Reviewed by: Clifford Rock, 2016/05/15

We flew to Honolulu and then spent 6 days on a cruise to Maui, the Big Island, and Kauai. The highlight of our trip was the Blue Hawaiian helicopter tour. The Eco-Star helicopter is one of the best helicopters available. It is relatively quiet, very comfortable, and the view from any seat is fantastic. Our pilot had flown helicopters for more than 20 years, was an excellent guide, and you could tell that he loved his work - if you can call it that. Kauai is so diverse, from the "Grand Canyon of the Pacific", to the fantastic waterfalls including the "Jurassic Park" waterfall, the spectacular Napoli coast with its towering cathedral cliffs, and the beautiful beaches. It is the best way to experience all that the "Garden Island" has to offer in an hour. Then, you can decide what you want to visit from ground level. Blue Hawaiian also offers a video of your flight showing both the passengers and the phenomenal scenery, so that you can relive the experience over and over again.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2016/04/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Hilo Helicopter Tours Waterfall Flights & Kilauea Volcano Tours from Above

Thanks again

Reviewed by: Aimee and John, 2010/06/10

John and I wanted to send this email thanking everyone at Paradise for a once in a lifetime experience on our vacation. We took one of your newer trips which flew out of Kona, over the valleys, drop off in Hilo for the day (with paid rental car), then over the Volcanoes, and back to Kona. We really enjoyed the entire day. In fact we hadn't originally thought we would get to visit the Hilo area since the drive from Kona is a couple of hours. So not only did we get to see beautiful valleys, waterfalls, and running lava from air but we got to explore the Rain forest national Zoo, The Volcano national Park, Rainbow Falls, and Akaka Falls all by land as well. Also our pilot Steve was so informative and friendly he really helped make our day just that much more special. I'm sure he flies the same routes every day, yet you couldn't tell. His passion for the land, and surroundings was contagious. Thanks again, we included some of our amazing trip photos.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Paradise Helicopter Tour - Valleys & Waterfall Explorer (from Turtle Bay)

AMAZING AMAZING!!

Reviewed by: Lilly, 2009/09/15

Everyone has to do this. I couldn't imagine going to Hawaii and not getting a tour of the beautiful island. We also did the Ranch landing which brought us down this this beautiful valley where they filmed lost, godzilla, and jurassic park. I for sure recommend the landing it was so beautiful :) The operation is a family run business and they are all so friendly and the pilot was very informative and quite funny. He told us all about the island and made sure every side of the helicopter got a chance to see each sight. It is somethign you should do right at the beginning of the trip to get familiar with the island. It is worth the money!!! I booked it as a surprise for my finance and he couldn't stop talking about it :) I recommend surprising your travel partner with the tour, it was incredible. If you don't book this every time you see a helicopter flying around the isalnd you will regret not doing this so just do it :) Best part of the trip.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
1 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Best of Maui Air & Land Combo - Haleakala Helicopter & Deluxe Road to Hana Tour

Awesome tour

Reviewed by: HazenGirl, 2017/10/13

It's taken me several trips to Maui to make it to Hana. Why? The idea of spending all day driving my car on a dangerous road with 54 one-lane bridges and 600+ turns (meaning I couldn't even enjoy the scenery) just didn't appeal. But then someone recommended this tour...Instead of driving yourself on this treacherous road (and trust me, with all the amateurs out there it is treacherous), you ride in a comfortable passenger van with an incredibly knowledgeable and enjoyable guide. Instead of driving 3 hours to Hana and 3 hours back along the same route, you take a helicopter for one of the legs and see breathtaking aerial views of this gorgeous island. The tour is well planned, the meals yummy (even the vegetarian and gluten free options were fantastic), and the people were top notch. My only complaint was waiting almost an hour after check in at the heliport to get going. Otherwise, it was a perfect activity.

Rating:
Attended as: Solo Travelers
Activity Date: 2017/10/09
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Blue Hawaiian Helicopters - Kauai Eco Adventure Deluxe Air Tour (from Lihue)

Wow what a view!

Reviewed by: George, 2017/05/23

I had never been in a helicopter before so I was a little nervous. There was a bit of confusion on my reservation,(they had the wrong date) but the voucher was correct and soon straightened out. Blue Hawaiian has a very nice facility, an actual building not like some others using tents. The helicopter was very clean and up to date. The pilot, Mark, did a great job of narrating the entire time. Now for the view, spectacular is the best word to describe it. Most of the island is not able to be seen via car or even boat. The only real way to see it is by air and Blue Hawaiian puts you right up and personal to most of mountains, craters, valleys and waterfalls. I had the time of my life and would do it again, no question. If you are considering a helicopter adventure don't wait, just do it you'll be glad. Veltra's voucher was accepted. Thanks to Veltra and Blue Hawaiian for making my dream vacation complete.

Comments from activity operators

Aloha George! We are so sorry to hear that there was a date discrepancy but thrilled to hear that you had such a vacation defining experience with Blue Hawaiian. Kauai really hides much of it's beauty in inaccessible areas so a helicopter tour really is the way go. We hope you have a chance to come back to Hawaii and see more soon!

Rating:
Attended as: Solo Travelers
Activity Date: 2017/05/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Best of Maui Air & Land Combo - Haleakala Helicopter & Deluxe Road to Hana Tour

Road th Hana plus Helicopter....perfection

Reviewed by: Reggie, 2018/04/06

Our driver Scottie from Temptation Tours was the best I've ever seen. Kept us engaged the whole ride. Knew everything about the island, people, history. Knew all of the best places to stop, where all of the good and bad bathrooms were down to the minute. Told us when the drive by pic was coming up so that we knew to get our phones/camera ready. Stopped multiple times and took the best video and pics of not only us but something cool on the stop. The wraps at lunch were superb. The captain's chairs in the van were perfect. Flying back with Troy from Maui Air was just as incredible. He played cool music and the ride was smooth. Saw a bunch of the falls and even played a little "chase and ride along" a friend he spotted in an ultralight. Highly recommend this combo. We were back at the hotel by early afternoon! Veltra Tours made it so easy and kept us up to date via email during our trip.

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Activity Date: 2018/04/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Paradise Helicopter Tour - Valleys & Waterfall Explorer (from Turtle Bay)

Paradise over Paradise

Reviewed by: Coen McFarland, 2016/06/08

My wife and I booked the magnum experience w/out a landing and doors! We absolutely loved the 60 minute flight and am very glad we didn't book a short flight. The staff were very nice and easy to work with. The pilot (Ky....?) was amazing!! He provided great information about the island and where we were at. He honored every request we had and kept the flight interesting! My wife is terrified of flying but sat between the pilot and me. She loved the experience! This is the ONLY way to view Oahu! Fantastic job by Paradise and very thankful to be so blessed with this opportunity. We will definitely ensure ton fly with Paradise again! If you are in Oahu and reading this comment- just do it! It's just money. I promise the cost will provide a lifetime of priceless memories. Kids would also enjoy the helicopter flight. Thank you so much to Paradise for a truly unforgettable and smooth experience.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2016/06/05
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Wings Over Kauai Flightseeing Circle Island Airplane Tour (from Lihue)

SUPER AMAZING Airplane Tour

Reviewed by: Alyssa & Bryan Davis, 2014/06/26

This was one of our favorite things that we did while we were in Kauai(and we did a lot!). The flight was beautiful! I can't even put into words how amazing this was. I was a little apprehensive about being in a plane versus the helicopter but I was happy with the decision we made. I saw helicopters along the tour and they do get a little closer to the waterfalls and mountains but there is something truly amazing about getting a zoomed out view of Kauai, I feel like I got to see more of the island this way. In addition to the scenery, the pilot was extremely nice and knowledgeable and made sure we were comfortable throughout the whole flight. Furthermore, the other staff at Wings over Kauai were AMAZING! They have a few surprises for their guests that I won't ruin here, but I will say that they are very generous! I HIGHLY recommend this activity to everyone!!!

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2014/06/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Magnum Helicopters Oahu Helicopter Tours with Doors Off Flights (from Honolulu)

Doors off helicopter tour

Reviewed by: Joe Hayek, 2014/03/20

Our first activity of our week on Oahu, and our favorite. Pricey...yes, but exciting. And, it gave perspective to all the things we did later in the week. Our pilot pointed out, as we flew over, where the President usually vacations, where Gilligan's Island was filmed, where Jurrasic Park was filmed, the Marine base, the closed, dangerous falls, the plantations, the North shore and Sunset Beach, the Polynesian Cultural Center, and flew us on the same approach the Japanese took in 1941 across Hickam and Wheeler Fields and down onto Pearl Harbor. Brodie, our pilot is a former Marine stationed on Oahu. He was friendly and very knowledgeable. Brodie spotted two Grey Whales off the North shore, flew out a bit and did some orbits over them so we could all see them. My wife forgot her light jacket, so a ground employee lent his hoodie to her. Absolutely magnificent!

Comments from activity operators

Mr. Hayek,
Thank you very much for your kind words. We're happy that you enjoyed your Doors Off tour and were able to see whales. I hope you managed to get some good pictures while you flew and plan to return to Hawaii soon. Mahalo and aloha,
P.J. O'Reilley,
Makani Kai Helicopters

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2014/03/10
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Air Ventures Kauai Circle Island Airplane Tour (from Lihue)

The Must See Activity in Kauai

Reviewed by: Suzie Housley, 2010/10/11

Whether you are visiting Kauai for the first time or if you are a seasoned traveler, you will definitely want to check out Kauai Air Tour - Air Ventures Hawaii. There is no better value for your money.

The staff at Air Ventures was so helpful and courteous. Our pilot, Joel made landing in a small aircraft feeling like you were on a huge jet. It was the best landing I have ever experienced; I tried to convenience him to travel back and pilot our plane to San Diego. His pilot skills were superior; he could easily become a commercial pilot.

Air Ventures -- you offered me a once in a lifetime opportunity. I give you the highest form of recognition. Thank you for all that you have done. You can rest assured if I ever make it back to your Hawaii you will be the first business I call to book my air excursion.

Suzie Housley
Oak Ridge, Tennessee

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Day Trip to Molokai Island (from Honolulu)

Great experience with a great tour guide

Reviewed by: ZiadKhamo, 2018/03/09

A great day for anyone wanting to learn about this Gem of an Island.The flight to the Island was an amazing experience alone, as it was sunny, we could take fantastic photos of Oahu and Molokai.

When we got to the Island, our Tour Guide (Rudy) was waiting for us, and I cannot thank him enough for making this such a memorable trip. His knowledge and information sharing about the island were just mindblowing. Big hats off to Rudy.

We had the pleasure of seeing amazing locations, take even better photos and bring back some memories we will cherish forever. If you want to experience a day sightseeing, learning and experiencing some amazing stories, I would highly advise you to visit this Island.

We were lucky the weather was fantastic but even luckier we had Rudy showing us around. Will definitely come back one day.

Thank you

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2018/03/05
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Hilo Helicopter Tours Waterfall Flights & Kilauea Volcano Tours from Above

Worth the money

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2012/04/07

I did this helicopter ride with my husband and 12 yr old son. It was fantastic! We got lucky and had a sunny day, and the views of the island were amazing. We saw some lava flows, we saw waterfalls, and the pilot shared lots of information. We saw a house that had recently been destroyed by lava flow, and all that was left was a bit of roof. We had never done a helicopter ride, and I was a bit nervous about it. We rode with the doors on. It was very smooth, and the views made me forget to be nervous. I felt very safe actually. Our pilot (Aaron) was completely competent and friendly and knowledgeable. I got to sit in the front, next to the pilot. My husband and son sat behind us and they had a great time. Its expensive, but its worth doing at least once. You'll get a view of the island that you can't see any other way.

Rating:
Attended as: Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Blue Hawaiian Helicopters Natural Wonders of Oahu Flights (from Honolulu)

AWESOME.

Reviewed by: kevin gaines, 2013/08/04

This was my first time ever taking a helicopter trip or tour of any kind. So I was a tad nervous in doing it. But I said to hell with it I am going to do it. And I am sooooo glad that I did. The pictures from high above Honolulu was so worth the money and time I spent being a part of this like once in a life time adventure! Julie my helicopter pilot with Blue Hawaiian was a great professional and very friendly and pointed out all the highlights of our 50 minute tour. Blue Hawaiian was the best and for an extra $25 dollars at the end of your tour you can purchase a DVD of your flight with camera's in and out the helicopter. I had a blast and look at my pictures daily from my helicopter tour. I totally recommend this company and tour for memories of a lifetime! Can't go wrong with Blue Hawaiian at all!!!

Rating:
Attended as: Solo Travelers
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]