This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

All Reviews for Cruises, Sailing & Boat Tours in Hawaii

Overall Rating

4.70 4.70 / 5

Reviews

4893 reviews

Lanai Snorkel and Dolphin Watch Cruise with Lunch (from Lahaina Harbor)

Snorkeling Trip to Lanai with the Lahaina Princess

Reviewed by: Christian, 2015/10/24

We already booked the snorkeling trip from our home in Austria and had no expectations at all what we will get as we were snorkeling-novices. On our first day on Maui we made a short trip from our hotel in Kihei to Lahaina to check where our trip will start the next morning. A very friendly lady at the port in Lahaina told us where our snorkeling trip will start and which boat will take us out.
The next morning an extremely friendly captain and his crew welcomed us on board and took us out to two awesome snorkeling spots. On our way we were served breakfast. At the snorkeling spots the crew was enormously helpful with the snorkeling equipment and to get into the water. During the snorkeling the crew members were out on surfboards two overlook the snorkelers. We felt extremely safe and fine.
On our way back we were served lunch with fresh fruits and beverages and nice things to eat.
We can highly recommend this company for booking a snorkeling trip. Unfortunately we did not see any dolphins or green turtles this day, but that is absolutely not the fault of the company.
Manuela and Christian from Austria

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Lanai Snorkel and Dolphin Watch Cruise with Lunch (from Lahaina Harbor)

Snorkeling Trip to Lanai with the Lahaina Princess

Reviewed by: Manuela & Christian, 2015/10/24

We already booked the snorkeling trip from our home in Austria and had no expectations at all what we will get as we were snorkeling-novices. On our first day on Maui we made a short trip from our hotel in Kihei to Lahaina to check where our trip will start the next morning. A very friendly lady at the port in Lahaina told us where our snorkeling trip will start and which boat will take us out.
The next morning an extremely friendly captain and his crew welcomed us on board and took us out to two awesome snorkeling spots. On our way we were served breakfast. At the snorkeling spots the crew was enormously helpful with the snorkeling equipment and to get into the water. During the snorkeling the crew members were out on surfboards two overlook the snorkelers. We felt extremely safe and fine.
On our way back we were served lunch with fresh fruits and beverages and nice things to eat.
We can highly recommend this company for booking a snorkeling trip. Unfortunately we did not see any dolphins or green turtles this day, but that is absolutely not the fault of the company.
Manuela and Christian from Austria.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2015/10/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Majestic Waikiki Whale Watch Cruise with Lunch Buffet

Wonderful Whale Watching Experience!

Reviewed by: Tonya and Stan, 2018/05/13

We booked this activity for our first full day in Oahu. The shuttle pickup location was fairly easy to locate with the instructions given. The boat was very nice and spacious, and the staff were friendly. The food and drink selection for lunch was good. I enjoyed the hot tea and coffee options as it got a little chilly at times out on the desk. We saw whales right away, right along the coast of Diamond Head. They tracked the whales and we were able to see the pair come up to the surface multiple times during the course of the trip. The guide was very informative, giving us a lot of facts about the whales, their migratory patterns, etc. Make sure to take your Dramamine... I bought some and didn't have any issues... but I definitely saw a few people who got seasick and did not have quite as good of an experience as we did. The professional photographer was a nice addition, and allowed us to enjoy being present in the moment while they captured the whales. We purchased two prints at the end of the trip that were beautiful. Make sure to bring a light jacket, and binoculars (I was glad I remembered mine!).


  • The one pic Stan took before we found out about the pro photographer being on board!

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2018/01/07
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Swim with Wild Dolphins Cruise - Snorkel, Kayak, SUP, 20-Foot Water Slide

Glad I went

Reviewed by: ATJ, 2018/05/15

This tour was really awesome! The staff was extremely helpful, courteous and knowledgeable. They had so many children on the tour I was on and they handled everything very safely and professionally. This tour doesn't guarantee dolphin sightings but they found them very quickly and easily and were very diligent to be sure everyone had a chance to see them. The Dolphins were in groups of 3-5 and I saw them at least 5 times. It was excellent.
The reef they brought us to was awesome! tons of fish and I saw at least 4 turtles.
I would highly recommend this tour. There are many that just to dolphin sightings, not swimming. Or they only allow 2-4 people in at once so youre not in the water the whole time, but they took everyone at once and kept a tight knit group and had recommendations on how to not scare the dolphins away. It was great. I didn't do any of the water sports because the snorkeling was so good but others looked to be having fun.
Great staff!
Great dolphins!
Great snorkel spot!
Great entertainment on the way back!
Very safe but also flexible.
Check it out for sure. Best day in Hawaii.

Comments from activity operators

Aloha! Mahalo for your 5-Star Review of Dolphins and You! We appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts on the experience with others. It's fantastic that you were able to see the dolphins 5 times! They are very curious creatures. We hope this has been a memorable encounter for you, and we look forward to hosting you again if you are ever back in Hawaii :-).

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2018/05/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Makani Catamaran Waikiki Sunset Dinner Sail & City Lights Cruise

A delicious, romantic, and exquisite dinner cruise

Reviewed by: MsTravelGal, 2019/03/26

This was our first sailing experience in Hawaii and we were more than satisfied with the evening. From the boat, to the crew, to the food, and the sunset, everything was perfect. The 65' vessel was clean and spacious with plenty of room to walk around and take in the views from every direction. Diamond Head crater in the evening light was majestic and stunning.
Throughout the sail, the crew were all helpful and attentive. In addition to their regular duties of serving food and drinks and providing knowledge of marine life (we saw a whale!), they also played the role of photographers and were kindly willing to take pictures of guests with the beautiful sunset as the backdrop.
Also worth mentioning was the delicious food. If you're vegan or vegetarian, no need to fear! They were very accommodating and provided various options like tofu wraps, spring rolls, rice, potatoes, and steamed/sauteed tofu with veggies. I certainly did not leave hungry! And of course the exotic cocktails were refreshing and yummy.
The Makani Catamaran dinner cruise exceeded our expectations and left us eager to set sail again!


  • Enjoying our complimentary mai tai and the view!


  • A stunning, multicolored sunset


  • Mesmerizing sunset in paradise


  • Mixed veggies, white rice, tofu roll, and grilled tofu. Also available: beef and chicken.


  • Another sailboat enjoying the evening water


  • Diamond Head in the golden sunset glow

Comments from activity operators

Mahalo! We are so happy to have you experience Makani, we look forward to having you aboard again!
Have a great Makani Day!
Aloha MakaniCat

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Lanai Snorkel and Dolphin Watch Cruise with Lunch (from Lahaina Harbor)

So many Dolphins to see!

Reviewed by: Rylee, 2015/08/31

This was my husband and I's first trip to Maui. We knew we wanted to do something adventurous but also relaxing for an excursion. The snorkel trip to Lanai was just what we were looking for. We ended up snorkeling at two different areas that day; first, at sweetheart point on Lanai, and then another spot around Lahaina on Maui. We would have stayed longer at sweetheart since it is more secluded, but there were just a couple of passengers who had spotted jellyfish in the water, so the captain made the decision to move elsewhere. As we were traveling back to Maui, we were lucky enough to see not just one, but two pods of Hawaiian spinner Dolphins. This was definitely the best part of the trip that day. They were very active dolphins and would swim along side the boat for minutes at a time. After we made it to the second snorkeling spot on Maui, a few passengers spotted a sea turtle swimming near an old abanded pier. The crew was also very kind and helpful and made sure that our safety was their priority. Food was great as well. We hope to do this excursion again someday and would recommend it to all!

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2015/08/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Captain Bob's Kaneohe Bay Sandbar Snorkel Adventure & BBQ Lunch Boat Tour

What an awesome trip!

Reviewed by: Steve F, 2016/07/09

My wife and I went on a Thursday and had a wonderful time. There were two boats, one for English speaking people and one for Japanese speaking. When we got to the sandbar they tied the boats together and we explored the sandbar. My wife and I practiced or snorkeling skills and checked out our equipment, walked around the sandbar, and then played water volleyball. To my surprise, not many people wanted to play so my wife and I joined in. Our team consisted of us and 3 from the Japanese boat while the other team was 2 of the guides and 3 Japanese people. We may not have spoken the same language but it did remind me that laughter is a language we all share and speak. When we got back on the boat, we enjoyed a cheeseburger in paradise and were serenaded by one of the guides. We then went looking for turtles on the way to reef (we saw 3). The reef was amazing and we saw a turtle and tons of fish. After snorkeling for about 30 minutes, it was time to head back. Our final treat was seeing the original Gilligan's Island on the way back to port. We have lasting memories and it was a great time.


  • Snorkeling practice at the sandbar.


  • Cheeseburger in paradise!


  • Fish on the reef.


  • Gilligan's Island

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2016/06/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Makani Catamaran Waikiki Sunset Dinner Sail & City Lights Cruise

Makani Dinner Cruise exceeded our expectations!

Reviewed by: Brian, 2018/03/15

We originally tried to book the Star Line dinner cruise, but it was booked up. I'm glad we decided to book the Makani dinner cruise. It exceeded all of our expectations! The boat wasn't very big, but was able to accommodate up to 65 people.
The crew were very welcoming and willing to help with anything we needed during our ride. They really made the whole experience a lot more personable than we would have gotten if we booked the Star Cruise.
The food was a small buffet style selection. It was all you can eat, and was excellent! They don't have an open bar, but there's one free drink included in your purchase. The bartender Chris was a real cool guy. Probably the most popular guy on the boat. I can't seem to put my finger on why lol.
To cap the night off the fireworks over the water were amazing! To see Waikiki lit up and glaring with fireworks was the highlight for me. I would definitely recommend wearing a light jacket, possibly even some pants. It gets extremely windy during the ride!
If you're considering doing the dinner cruise you can't go wrong with the Makani!

Comments from activity operators

Aloha and Mahalo for sharing your Sail Makani experience. So glad to hear you decided to sail with us. Looking forward to sailing with you once again.
Sending much Aloha!
Makani & Staff

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Activity Date: 2018/03/09
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Ko Olina Ocean Adventures Catamaran Snorkel with Wild Dolphins Tour

Had a time of my life!

Reviewed by: Margarita, 2017/05/15

I have always wanted to see dolphins out in the wild and swim with them in the open ocean. I have heard of the tours where travellers are offered to swim with dolphins in the pool, but this is a completely different experience. We have travelled to several snorkelling spots before our speed boat started to make its way to a place where Hawaiian spinner dolphins are usually resting. Our captain was funny and enthusiastic, he also had a cute dog called Kiki – everyone on the boat just fell in love with her! After we spotted a group of dolphins we observed them from the boat for about 20 minutes and then decided to jump in the water. Our captain knew exactly what needs to be done in order to get the best experience possible. He told us to stay calm and jump quietly in the water and wait for the dolphins to approach us. Emotions I felt that day are hard to describe, I was crying from happiness, laughing and was completely overwhelmed with the beauty of these magical creatures. I would definitely recommend this tour to everyone who is visiting Oahu and looking to have a memorable experience and fun.

Rating:
Attended as: Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

West Oahu Dolphin Watch Sail & Snorkel Cruise - Dolphin Sightings Guaranteed!

So much fun!! The Best Snorkel Tour!

Reviewed by: mblock, 2015/04/07

I went out with my brother and it was our first time going to the West Side. we absolutely loved it!

The vessel is brand new and it comfortably accommodates all guest. The crew is very knowledgeable and professional, after the safety briefing they served us a continental breakfast, with a nice variety of fresh fruits and cakes.

By the moment we left the harbor we could already see lots of wild Hawaiian dolphins swimming close to the boat. We were lucky enough to even spot 4 humpback whales, if you are visiting the Island during the winter months you will have big chances of seeing them also.

We've stopped at Makaha Caverns to snorkel. It's absolutely beautiful! The guide was swimming with us around the area and we surrounded by turtles and beautiful colorful fishes.

Lunch was served right after snorkel time, we could make our own sandwiches and choose from barbecue pork, tuna salad, deli meats, cheese, chips and pasta salad. Delicious!

It was a delightful morning, this snorkel tour was amazing! Definitely recommend Hawaii Nautical to everyone seeking for a good time in paradise!

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Hawaii Nautical Waikiki Snorkel Cruise with Turtles Sightings Guaranteed!

Unbelievable Turtle and Fish Snorkeling Experience! Must do in Honolulu!

Reviewed by: Forrest M, 2014/12/02

Had a blast of a time with Captain Chad and the crew! Booked relatively last minute after a competing boat tour didn't seem to be what I was looking for. Couldn't have been happier with my decision once finding the boat and stepping on board. My girlfriend desperately wanted to see a live Sea Turtle and the guarantee of seeing them on this tour made me book it and they delivered! We weren't 4 feet from a sea turtle catching some air and some sun in the water! On top of that, there were more turtles down below and plenty of interesting fish to look at. Outside of professional staff, equipment, and a lovely boat, we enjoyed plenty of chips and sandwiches, strong and cold cocktails for a completely fair price (2 bucks a drink, or a buck a beer). Enjoying the Waikiki coastline, sipping a cocktail, soaking in the rays, and reminiscing about the fantastic snorkeling we'd just done (complete with a Sea Turtle or three!) was a great way to spend an afternoon. If you are looking for a quality snorkeling trip at a great price, check these guys out!

I'll be back! Hopefully I see you with the turtles!

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2014/11/29
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Lanai Snorkel and Dolphin Watch Cruise with Lunch (from Lahaina Harbor)

Awesome snorkeling trip Maui to Lanai

Reviewed by: Dustin, 2015/07/08

This trip was a great trip that gave us a couple different spots to check out snorkeling in Maui. Boarding the boat was quick and easy and we were out of the harbor in no time. I suggest if you did tent gear or have your own snorkel gear to bring it with you. They are just basic J snorkels with one size fits most masks. The trip to lanai was quick and calm. The reef off of Lanai was pristine and had soo many colors. The wind picked up so we got off the spot looked for dolphin to the south and went to a second spot near Lahaina. This spot was great also near a broken down pier with tons of sea turtles. The bbq lunch of burgers hotdogs and chicken was great as well as the crew who went around to make sure everyone was having a great time. The crew was great for younger children and older patrons alike. There was even a complimentary adult beverage included after lunch. They sell some gear to raise money for local whale research which was a great concept. I would recommend this trip to any family looking to get out snorkeling for the first time. Great way to see the island and the coral reefs.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2015/07/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Maitai Catamaran - Waikiki Sunset Sail with Open Bar & Friday Fireworks Cruise

Spectacular Evening!!! Let's Sail!!

Reviewed by: ArchAOD, 2014/09/23

A fun relaxing evening to put it simply. First there's the no hassle boarding right off the beach as the catamaran comes right up onto the beach. There may be a line but boarding is quick with lots of room for everyone once on board. You get underway very quickly, a brief safety talk, and then your motoring out past the waves to station yourself for the fireworks show. Drinks are as free flowing as you want distributed by the crew of one in a very efficient manner. The fireworks show looking back at the beach is pretty good - how can it not be- your on a boat in the Pacific, looking at skyline of Waikeke and it's 82 degrees!!! After the fireworks the captain raises the sails and you cruise along the coast. BUT - the best part of the trip is talking with the other passengers- my family met a group from New Zealand and we spent the time talking about differences between the two cultures as similiar as they may be to each other. We have 17 year old twins (boy & girl) and they also had lots of fun !! The price was a very good value, the time at sea was about right- Highly recommended!!

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Activity Date: 2014/08/29
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Makani Catamaran Waikiki Sunset Dinner Sail & City Lights Cruise

Perfect way to end our week in Oahu!

Reviewed by: K Hubbard, 2015/06/06

We wanted to do something special to end our week in Oahu and after reading some excellent reviews we booked this cruise. We booked it the same day with only about 4 hours before it departed...the phone staff were so helpful and patient as we selected a cruise. We had some challenges accessing the website to print our voucher but the reservation staff was so patient and assured us there would be no problem.

We used the pick up option and the driver was so pleasant and helpful, he made us feel like we had known each other forever.


Every member of the staff we came in contact with from reservation, shuttle driver, cruise staff..everyone made us feel so welcome and didn't hesitate to extend that extra effort!

The cruise was amazing with views of Diamond Head and Oahu..music was enjoyable and the food was delicious! The Cruise was a perfect amount of time as It is still early enough to continue your evening when you return.

We would definitely recommend this cruise and look forward to sailing with them again!

It was the perfect, romantic end to our amazing week in Oahu!

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2015/05/30
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Morning Whale Watch & Snorkel BBQ Cruise (from Kailua-Kona Pier)

An absolutely grand time

Reviewed by: ScottJ, 2016/01/23

This tour is outstanding. One disclaimer, it is 'whale watch lite' then let's go snorkel. We looked for whales on the way to the snorkel spot and again on the way back. And we did see a couple from a distance. I say this because if you want to really focus on the whales, get up really close, look for multiple sightings, etc., then you might want to choose another. But, if you want a great cruise with great snorkeling, and an opportunity to see a whale, then this is the one.

The boat is well equipped, comfortable, and the crew very attentive. Food is available most of the cruise, and it was very good. A cash bar was available. The captain was very knowledgable, giving interesting commentary on the whales, dolphins (we shall many Dolphins), and geology of the island.

The snorkel spot was outstanding, located just off the coast. The water was just right, and there were all kinds of colorful fish to see. The snorkel instruction was h best I have seen. They even taught me how to not drink half the ocean. There is a water slide on the boat, fun.

Overall a great day.

Comments from activity operators

Aloha ScottJ!

Thank you so much for your kind words! We hope to see you again next time you visit our amazing island!

Kind regards,

Margie Park
Sales & Marketing Manager
Body Glove Cruises

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2016/01/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Hawaii Nautical Waikiki Snorkel Cruise with Turtles Sightings Guaranteed!

Snorkeling and Turtle Spotting with supplied lunch

Reviewed by: Mark, 2016/06/19

We were delighted with this activity.

Nick the Captain and his 2 crew were excellent hosts, safety conscious and went out of their way to make the cruise enjoyable for the 2 couples on board. Normally there would be a few more people on the cruise but we lucked it that day

The cruise consists of a 15-20 minute cruise in a catamaran to an area well off Waikiki Beach known as a spot where Turtles come to have parasites removed by fish.

We then went snorkeling (flotation vests supplied and mandatory to use). One of the 3 crew on board was in the water acting as a guide and safety person. He quickly located some turtles and directed us to them. We saw numerous turtles, some small, some larger in the water below us and on the surface.

After the snorkeling we had the supplied lunch, basic but adequate although the bread rolls were a bit stale. Free soft drinks and 2 free alcoholic drinks if you wanted them included.

Then the crew set the sails and we cruised around up towards Diamond Head before heading back to port. All up a great trip and worth doing, recommended.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2016/06/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Makani Catamaran Waikiki Sunset Dinner Sail & City Lights Cruise

Great Catamaran, Amazing Views, UpBeat Crew, A++

Reviewed by: Dustin, 2015/04/21

My wife and were on vacation for a vow renewal after 14 years that we wanted to celebrate with amazing Oahu views. I had never heard of Makani and will be sure to spread the good word to many of our friends about an overall unforgettable trip! The Makani Catamaran Sunset Dinner Cruise was 5 star all the way. The boat was amazing, the staff was incredible (polite, fun, upbeat, funny and overall engaging) the food was great and, of course, how could you beat an amazing Hawaiian sunset watching the perfect fireball dip in to the endless blue water. You always expect for the trip to be good when you pay the money to be entertained, but this trip far exceeded my expectations. Everyone wanted to lay out on the catamaran nets to watch the fireworks which is always fun. Overall, this trip was the single highlight of our week long vacation in paradise and I wouldn't have changed a thing. A++ rating for the Makani and as I stated before, we will be sure to spread the word that Makani is the #1 way to spend your night watching the fireworks over the beautiful beaches of Oahu.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2015/04/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Makani Catamaran Waikiki Sunset Dinner Sail & City Lights Cruise

Must do for travelers to Waikiki!

Reviewed by: Happy Honeymooner, 2015/11/30

Our friends who had previously been to Hawaii, said that we MUST do one of these sailing cruises on a Friday night. They weren't wrong! This is a MUST do!

This sunset dinner sailing cruise was awesome! 9/10 I'll break it down.

The crew had charisma, they had explained everything in detail and they were extremely approachable for any questions. Excellent service! 5/5

The food was great! Island style means buffet style - my wife and I definitely weren't hungry at the end of the night! They even had cookies out for dessert! 5/5 on my books for food!

They didn't have a blender, but that didn't stop the bartender from making a mean Mai Tai! They had a wide selection of beer, spirits, cocktails and soft drinks. I tried a High Tide as suggested by the bartender, amazing! Personally I like my crushed ice. Still good though, for Drinks I gave a 4/5.

And most importantly the view of the fireworks was spectacular! Perfect view, the catamaran was right in front of the fireworks - everyone on the vessel could see the fireworks, there was no crowding. 5/5

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2015/11/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Body Glove Dinner Cruise - Kona Sunset Dinner Cruise with Live Music

The best fun we had during our trip to Kona.

Reviewed by: From San Diego, 2014/08/04

I told friend of mine that I was going to be in Kona with my family and he highly recommended that I take Captain cooks dinner cruise. He couldn't remember the actual name of the dinner cruise but with this info I googled it and found it. I was skeptical at first about going on the three hour cruise because we were a huge party of 12 women, children and one man (me), but let me tell you, it was the funnest event of our entire 10 days in Kona. For the most part people seem to be nice and easy-going on the Big Island, but the entire crew of the boat - from the "captain" to the bartender - where the coolest, nicest, and funniest people we met on our entire trip to the Big Island. They really bend over backwards to make you feel at home and they definitely keep you entertained with an interesting historical overview of the Hawaiian Islands given by a Hawaiian storyteller, as well as by a great musical performance given by a talented and recognized young music artist. I highly recommend this dinner cruise for anybody wishing to have a great time in Kona!


  • Perfectly timed return to dock on sunset.

Rating:
Attended as: Families with Young Children
Activity Date: 2014/08/01
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Lahaina Whale Watch Cruise Excursions - Most Popular Whale Watch Tour in Maui

Outstanding whale watch

Reviewed by: Carol and Jim , 2017/12/30

We were totally impressed with the professionalism of the research staff on the whale watch of Dec 8. The pilot was extremely experienced and could pick up the behavior of the whales from afar to make an educated guess as to if they might come up more often than not. The attendants were knowledgeable as well providing much information as to the life cycles of the hump back whales. Many questions were answered to our satisfaction. They put a sort of a microphone to attempt to detect whale sounds although not successful they were willing to try all the technology to help us have the best experience ever. I really think luck played a big part in our amazing morning of whale watching but that being said it's worth taking a chance and we most appreciated the staffs attention to safety and providing all the education they did. The juvenile whales came right up to our boat and we're curious and playing around the boat so long the pilot had to call a sailboat over to distract them away so we could start our engine and return to shore. It was just amazing.

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Activity Date: 2017/12/09
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Star of Honolulu - Waikiki Sunset Dinner Cruise with Live Entertainment

Great time with my son!

Reviewed by: Tatiana Johnson, 2016/12/02

My overall experience aboard the Star of Honolulu dinner cruise ship was fantastic! I went with my 7-year old son and he had a blast as well. His favorite part of the evening was going up and down the stairs from one deck to another exploring. And my favorite part was... the view of the Hawaiian sun disappearing behind the endless horizon. :)

We chose the all-you-can-eat crab dinner, and it was literally “all-you-can-eat!” The spirit-of-aloha-filled staff member was cruising along the dining area asking who else would like some more crab legs until the guests could not say a "yes" any more. The quality of food and entertainment were superb.

It was my first cruise dinner, so I did not know what to expect. A funny jokes-filled driver picked us up in a luxury motorcoach bus and upon arrival to Aloha Tower, an elegant staff representative escorted us to the ship. The tables were set beautifully with an orchid in the middle of the dinner plate.

I would definitely recommend this experience both to tourists and to those who live in Hawaii!

Rating:
Attended as: Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

North Shore Shark Adventures - Famous Shark Cage Diving Tour on Oahu

Quite the exciting adventure!

Reviewed by: CoCo, 2017/03/30

This was such a neat experience that I'll never forget. We were so close to the sharks, which was somewhat scary, but mostly serene watching them swim by, really not caring about us humans in a cage. They come up to the sound of the boat because the area is usually filled with crabbers and they've become accustomed to eating the scraps. It was so neat being surrounded by these beautiful creatures and close enough to see the small barnacles attached to their bodies.

We did the 11am tour, which resulted in quite rocky waters (hence it being the latest option). The earlier times are much calmer waters and generally better visibility. The later time is not ideal for anyone sensitive to motion sickness, or nervous about the experience as it enhanced the intensity getting in and out of the cage. While in the water, we all had to hold on tightly to avoid hitting and kicking one another.

All that said, it was way worth it. Again, the earlier times and much calmer and even more enjoyable - highly recommend the tour, the earlier the better!

Rating:
Attended as: Friends
Activity Date: 2017/03/25
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Manu Kai Catamaran Waikiki Boat Tour - Diamond Head Sail with 3 Free Cocktails

Great Experience with friends and family

Reviewed by: Kasaundra, 2018/11/21

We did not really know what to expect when we booked this adventure. We had a group of 20 go with us and it was a lot of fun. The crew did a great job with serving us and as soon as we got on offered us a drink. It was nice to know they were checking ID's of the individuals that were close to 21 years old. We left Waikiki and headed out to diamond head and they continually offered each person a drink as soon as they ran out. It was a lot of fun sitting in the sun and hanging out with friends and we got a lot of pictures. the net sitting in the front of the boat was so much fun and if you have never done this you MUST sit in the nets for a couple splashes. We took video and frame by frame experience that we have posted on Facebook and we have so many people that love that picture and wanted to find out more details about where we did this as well as the cost.

My only suggestion it would be nice if the company had ideas were we could continue the party after we get off the boat (i.e., happy hour at Duke's from 3-6pm, etc)

Rating:
Attended as: Friends
Activity Date: 2018/11/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Queen's Treasure Sunset Cocktail Sail (from Kaanapali Beach)

Great Experience!

Reviewed by: Dee, 2015/09/19

Mario, Becka (sp?), and Cap'n Linda did an outstanding job of making us feel welcomed and appreciated. They (the crew) were friendly, courteous, and genuinely happy to have us on board. I have no other sunset cruise in Maui with which to compare this event, however, I can recommend this cruise to you all without reservation. (Another couple we met on board had been on Teralani before, and they said Queen's Treasure was much better...for what it's worth). The food was good...hors d'ouervres, but substantial enough to fill. Meatballs, tuna roll-ups, cheeses, crackers, fruit, veggies, dips, and some deli meat. Drinks were sufficient for the evening. I recommend NOT paying extra for the premium bar, 3 drinks are plenty (even for the seasoned professional, such as I), and even so, they weren't keeping track of those who did, or didn't pay for the premium package, so drink at will! The boat has a max occupancy of 49, we were scheduled with that many, but only 43 showed up. Plenty of room, drinks, and food! Mahalo!!

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2015/09/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Makani Catamaran Waikiki Sunset Dinner Sail & City Lights Cruise

Wonderful Evening Cruise!

Reviewed by: B. Evans, 2017/08/26

We had a wonderful evening on Makani. After reviewing several dinner cruise options, we selected Makani due to the great reviews and good price. It was one of our favorite excursions on our vacation!
The pros: The staff was great - funny and personable. The food was good and there was a large drink selection, alcoholic or non-alcoholic. It was a very relaxing cruise with a beautiful view; it lasted approximately two hours, so you get to enjoy the sunset, as well.
The cons: There is only one, which is that they provide transportation, but not from our hotel. Though they didn't require us to go very far, it was a bit confusing trying to find our pick up point as that particular hotel has several locations. Also a slight put off considering we passed our hotel going to the marina. All was fine in the end though, as it was nice that transportation was provided at no additional cost.
Overall, I would highly recommend this excursion. We really enjoyed the relaxing, beautiful evening aboard the Makani Dinner Cruise.

Comments from activity operators

Thank yo so much for your review! We continue to strive to build a better experience for everyone. We look forward to having you aboard again soon! Aloha MakaniCat

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2017/08/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Makani Catamaran Waikiki Sunset Dinner Sail & City Lights Cruise

Great. Would recommend to anyone. Good value

Reviewed by: Ms Julie E King, 2015/05/30

My friend and her Mother from Australia joined up with me and we went on this cruise to celebrate her Mother's 80th Birthday. My friend is a vegetarian and she was a little concerned that there would not be anything she liked from the buffet. She was pleasantly surprised. The food was delicious (and hot) and there were sufficient dishes that she could enjoy. Drinks were also good not watered down and surprisingly quite a good variety to choose from. We had two drinks each which were included in the price. The ship was very clean with plenty of room for everyone to move around freely either inside or outside. We left on time and the crew were really nice and also quite funny giving the safety talk. I was very glad we had chosen this particular Sunset Cruise as was very enjoyable and we were pleased with the level of service provided to us. The weather was perfect and the sunset amazing. WE will recommend this cruise to our friends in Australia and in California as it is good value for a very good price.+l y

Rating:
Attended as: Friends
Activity Date: 2015/05/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Waikiki Fun in the Sun Sailing Cruise by Makani Catamaran

Fun nice boat tour

Reviewed by: Lonna Denny, 2016/09/05

I would highly recommend this boat trip. It was fun and the drinks were surprisingly good. Although it rained, we still had a great time. The weather was warm enough to stay outside on the netting and enjoy the full sensation of sailing. The crew were very nice and attentive to everyone. There were no cheesy banter that I have come to associate with Hawaiian tours of any sort. The catamaran was large, so everyone had a lot of room to move around. It was clean and the head (restroom) was well maintained. Even though it stormed that day, the ride was incredibly smooth and no one got sick. The check in booth was at the entry to the harbor and the line went fast and effortlessly. The only caveat I have for others wishing to do this tour is that you have to have a hard copy ticket or be able to bring it up on your phone. Even though we booked online and they had our names, the lady in the booth needed me to pull the confirmation up on my phone . Unfortunately, this caused us to delay the line , which we hate to do.



Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2016/09/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

North Shore Shark Adventures - Famous Shark Cage Diving Tour on Oahu

Amazing Shark Adventure

Reviewed by: webstersway, 2015/06/13

I must admit, I was a bit apprehensive about this adventure as the fateful morning arrived. We were in Oahu visiting our Son and his wife, she was particularly interested in the shark tour. My wife, on the other hand, would have none of it, fortunately, they have an 'Observer' option available. We boarded the Kai Ou after removing our shoes and headed out. The Captain explained that the sharks had become accustomed to the sound of the engines since there had been crabbing done in the past and they would not need to chum the water...we were going to be the bait. The water was absolutely beautiful, a bit on the choppy side, however, which made entering the cage a little more adventurous. It was really amazing being in the water with the sharks all around, there were between 8 and twelve, plus a few other fish, including some very large Trumpet Fish. I think my wife got the worst end of the deal as she was sea sick when we got back in the boat. The crew members were awesome, I would definitely recommend this adventure!!!

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Activity Date: 2015/05/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Makani Catamaran Waikiki Sunset Dinner Sail & City Lights Cruise

Great way to enjoy the sunset!

Reviewed by: Justin, 2015/04/09

My friend and I had a really enjoyable time on the Makani Sunset Dinner Sailing cruise. Used the shuttle service that picked up right at the hotel and was comfortable, convenient and the driver was professional and courteous. The check-in process was simple and easy. The ship itself was in good condition, larger size and the group was manageable, good mix of people and not overcrowded. The Captain was professional yet casual and fun along with the staff including the entertaining bartender. The drinks were fun and good and the food was also good and filling and good mix of options with more than enough for seconds. The cruise itself was a highly enjoyable great experience on the water, view of Waikiki and the Crater. The full moon over the crater was an awesome treat along with the crew keeping the boat in perfect position to watch the Friday night fireworks. They returned the boat right on time and the shuttle back was also convenient. All-in-all, it was a great experience and recommend it to others.

Rating:
Attended as: Friends
Activity Date: 2015/04/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Makani Catamaran Waikiki Sunset Dinner Sail & City Lights Cruise

Unforgettable Makani Catamaran Sunset Dinner Sail, Sat, 9/22/2018

Reviewed by: Greg & Donna, 2018/09/23

This catamaran cruise this evening was an unforgettable experience! We have been coming to Oahu for over 15 years as a couple (this is our 25th wedding anniversary trip) and have never seen Honolulu and Waikiki from a boat tour before. The Makani was an excellent first-time experience: Well captained and crewed, this vessel holds people above and below deck. It has a head (bathroom) that is easily accessible before or during the voyage. The crew did a nice job with the meal and beverage service, were on top of all the ship and passenger details, and readily and easily answered our questions. We sat topside in the front on bean bag canvas seats by the webbing and thoroughly enjoyed the view of the boat, the water, and the sunset and coastline. It was fun to sail as far as Diamond Head and see the lighthouse, as well as Koko Crater. Also, the hotel pickup and dropoff was a nice experience. The suggestions on attire were right on track. We would someday like to try the Friday night fireworks cruise!


  • Thanks for the savings deal Veltra!

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2018/09/22
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]