This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

All Reviews for Cruises, Sailing & Boat Tours in Hawaii

Overall Rating

4.70 4.70 / 5

Reviews

4886 reviews

Na Pali Coast Explorer Ocean Rafting Snorkel Tour (from Kikiaola Harbor)

This is the way to see the Na Pali coast,

Reviewed by: Christian, 2014/05/06

This tour started at 9 am with a very friendly introduction of the island of kauai as well as how the coast was formed with a local flare. We set out with Captain Dennis shortly after 9:30, he and his crew did a very good job at making sure all of the guest were comfortable and relaxed. We were able to sit on both sides of the boat which made it really fun because of the splashes from the water. We cruised for about 20 minutes before we encountered spinner dolphins, whales, and we also saw a lonely sea turtle floating passed our boat. Throughout the whole trip the deckhands were telling stories, legends and filling us in all the movies that were filmed on the Na Pali coast. We were able to venture passed many waterfalls and sea caves one of which Captain Dennis backed the boat right into the cave so we all could take pictures of the inside. It seemed dangerous but the Captain was fully in control the whole time. On the way back the surf was huge so we snorkeled in a calm area in front of the coast which was crystal clear and we could see all the way to the bottom about 40 feet. One of the deckhands actually went all the way down and pulled up some sand for me bottom. Lunch was good but not great. Bento's were a bit cold from sitting in the cooler but they were still tasty, it needed shoyu and some kind of hot sauce. They ride back was comfortable the whole way with more stories being told about the living in kauai and how the alii influenced the lifestyle. The local long haired deckhand was awesome we even met a pro surfer at the coast. Definitely recommend seeing the Na Pali coast in the water instead of paying three times the amount for 1/4 of the time. Perfect way to spend the morning and afternoon.


  • Na Pali


  • Unreal feeling!!

Comments from activity operators

Aloha Christian thank u so much for your review we appreciate all of your comments and welcome u back to Kauai and our Na Pali Ohana anytime! Our goal is to give the very best tour that we can always, and guests like u make it all worthwhile!!
Claire

Rating:
Attended as: Friends
Activity Date: 2014/05/05
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Napali Coast Sightseeing & Snorkel Sail by Holo Holo Charters

Na Pali Coast sea sickness

Reviewed by: ZNmez, 2014/03/08

We went on the 5 hour Napali coast snorkel adventure. Within the first 30 minutes we saw 10 whales and 50 dolphins! It was amazing. Giant turtles as well. We had about 30 minutes of snorkel time and a nice little brunch. While snorkeling there was an opportunity to get pretty close to a giant sea turtle and views of about 20 ft deep clear ocean to beautiful corral reef and tropical colorful fish. That's where the fun stopped for me. The further up the napali coast the more brutal the waters became. The waves were bigger than the boat! I have to admit this was nothing like what I expected . I was scared despite knowing that the staff and captain were experienced and careful, the waves and wind were just nothing like I have ever experienced. I've been on the ocean to Catalina island and didn't get sea sick, but this trip was another story. I puked and cried and puked some more! Two hours or more or puking and I missed the best part of the whale show for us. It was hard to enjoy the amazing views of the napali coastline because I was so sick but it truly was amazing!!! Don't do this tour in the winter and I think it would be breathtaking. The crew was amazing an took great care of all of us who got sea sick. They gave us water and new tissues. One of the guides even gave me his rain jacket to wear as long as I didn't puke on it! No gaurantees there, but the crew were lifesavers! Amazing amazing crew! One of the stores near by said that holo holo was the best and I believe them. They really took care of me and made me feel safe and well taken care of despite the circumstances. They even had ginger candy and saltines on board to help out. Crew also offered handy tips for other amazing views on the island

Comments from activity operators

Mahalo for choosing Holo Holo Charters and also for your review. We are sorry to hear you that you got sea sick. We do have an amazing crew and it is always good to hear they are taking care of our guests. If you have the opportunity to come back to Kauai we would be more than happy to have you on board with us again. We hope the rest of your vacation was as memorable as our tour, except for the sea sick part. Mahalo Nui Loa and Aloha, until we meet again.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Holokai Catamaran Turtle Canyon Snorkel Sail (from Waikiki Beach)

Amazing sea life and sail

Reviewed by: Nancy, 2019/02/14

We took the 12 pm tour and boarded the catamaran from the beach. It only took 10 minutes to motor out to the snorkel site so it was not far from shore. There were 3-4 other boats with groups in the same area but there was plenty of space. We snorkeled until everyone had returned to the boat. Then the crew raised the sail and we had a great time coasting over the beautiful blue water, returning just inside of the 3 hour advertised time. Free snacks (chips, granola bars) were provided and you could buy drinks.

The crew were funny, friendly, and gave clear instructions. They kept watch over us during the snorkel. They regularly checked up on each guest after the snorkel to make sure everyone was comfortable. I wear glasses, and have a -5.25 prescription. They had prescription goggles on board that were -6.0 and I was able to see so clearly without my glasses! We saw a group of spinner dolphins on the way out, and I saw 5 different sea turtles below us during the snorkel. Several of them surfaced to breathe close by which was amazing! We saw a baby octopus, and lot of beautiful fish. The crew member in the water with us was good to caution people to give the turtles their space which was important.

Advice: you are barefoot to board the boat and on the boat, and you store your bag and shoes in cubby holes on board. It's good to bring a sun shirt so your back doesn't burn. You do get cold while snorkeling, but less so if you keep moving. Bring a towel and warm clothes to wear after if you tend to get cold. Hats will fly away easily so you need one with a draw string. They provide sunscreen if you forget your own. I took gravol before the trip, so I'm not sure if I needed it!

Rating:
Attended as: Friends
Activity Date: 2019/02/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Holokai Catamaran Turtle Canyon Snorkel Sail (from Waikiki Beach)

Amazing Trip!

Reviewed by: Cmaher55, 2014/07/02

*Written by the teenager
My parents and I went on this snorkel trip as kind of a last minute thing and it was absolutely amazing. There is usually about 25 people on the boat but we got lucky and were aboard the boat with just one other family of three, also with a teenager. The snorkeling spot is perfect! I would definitely recommend bringing fins, they aren't provided or required but your experience will be much better with them. There are lots of fish but not a huge variety. The main thing is the turtles and there's plenty of those! They chill at the bottom and occasionally come up for air. If you have fins you can dive down about 15 feet and be near them. It's incredible being face to face with a turtle. The boat provides you with fun noodles if you would like to float at the top and look and that helped out the people who didn't bring fins. They also have one guy out there diving with you and keeping an eye on things which makes you feel really safe while snorkeling. After about 45 mins-hour, we got back on the boat and ate some sandwiches. There's drinks for sale as well. We then went on an hour long sail pretty far out there. If you don't mind getting wet you can sit or lay across the nets in the front and it's really fun. If you have younger kids or aren't comfortable in the water then I think you'll need to bring your own lifejacket. I'm sure they probably had them someplace on the boat but they weren't given to you and you don't really need them. All in all the trip was extremely fun and well worth the price ( which is better than any others we could find). Would definitely recommend this and we might even do it again before leaving for home.

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Activity Date: 2014/07/01
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Makani Catamaran Waikiki Sunset Dinner Sail & City Lights Cruise

Magic on the Sea

Reviewed by: James, 2016/01/03

We took this cruise as a final romantic night to complete out honeymoon, and couldn't have made a better choice! The crew was very friendly and entertaining, it felt as though they were a little family who'd invited us to enjoy their boat with them. Our bartender was a fun guy who poured great drinks, including their special "Hightide." I won't give away the recipe, but of course it involves significant parts Rum, Tropical Fruit, and Delicious.

Ship was smooth sailing, giving us a nice calm view of Waikiki and the setting sun across the Pacific. The route taken goes out from the harbor and past Diamond Head, allowing for a wonderful view of it. Hiking to see the view from atop Diamond Head is one thing, but seeing the whole peak from sea is quite another treat. You'll get the feeling of a visiting explorer from the past, watching that peak and shore slip into view. Only difference is you're on a luxury cruise with Hightide in hand and some great party music playing.

Our crew even managed to find us whales, and made sure we got a great view. Saw several surface, blowholes blasting, a fluke raise, and even a calf breach! Despite some other snorkel boats mentioning the possibility of whales, this was the first time we'd gotten to see them. Even more exciting that they were so close!

Thanks again to the whole crew for making this such a wonderfull sail. Loved the food and drinks, danced to the classic hits being played, sat on the mesh net across the double bow, and ended our honeymoon with a beautiful sunset on the sea.

Definitely booking the Makati again whenever we make it back to Waikiki!

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2015/12/30
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Star of Honolulu - Waikiki Sunset Dinner Cruise with Live Entertainment

Great time!

Reviewed by: Greg Raymer, 2016/11/06

I took my girlfriend on the Star of Honolulu Sunset Dinner Cruise from Aloha Tower. She was new to Hawaii and was not sure what to expect. I appreciated the fact that they picked us up near the hotel we were staying. Upon arrival, we were guided to our casual dinner level, or deck. This was somewhat bothersome, just because there could have been more flow to it. Once we got on the ship, we were seated promptly. The tables were set and an orchid flower was placed in the middle of the dinner plate. (Very nice) Before long, we were off the dock and on to our adventure. The meal was buffet style, food was okay. While we dined, there was a single singer, who sang many of the songs associated with Hawaii and songs from movies about Hawaii. He was friendly and personable. After dinner, coffee and dessert was served on the outside deck. Shortly after, a smoking hot hula show began, where they explained the history of hula, as well as performed several numbers of Hawaiian music and dancing. While this was happening, a beautiful sunset was developing outside on the deck, and I was able to snap many quality sunset photos. We traveled parallel to the Waikiki hotel row, and went slightly past Diamond Head, before we turned back. It was an awesome experience and truly romantic. I have personally done the luau shows in and around Waikiki, and I always seem to gravitate back to the sunset dinner cruise. My belief is that I get the most value for my money on the sunset dinner cruise. I get a boat ride, a meal, a hula show and the beautiful sunset all for the price of one ticket. I will return.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2016/03/05
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Makani Catamaran Waikiki Sunset Dinner Sail & City Lights Cruise

Catamaran sunset cruise with fireworks

Reviewed by: Jordon dann, 2015/06/19

I booked this cruise as a surprise for my girlfriend and she absolutely loved it! Every friday the Hilton hotel has a free fireworks show and this is a great way to view them and to make the evening that much more special. I would recommend this activity to couples but it is set up so anyone can enjoy.

Our catamaran cruise started off with their driver coming to pick us up. He was on time and very friendly. We arrived at the dock early and had our first look at the Makani. It was very clean and was smaller than all the other catamarans in the area which was exactly what I was looking for. The boat held roughly 30-40 people. The only complaint we had while waiting to board was nobody came to talk to us about what was going on. Our group stood there for half an hour and as other groups showed up, we then found out we had to redeem our tickets. By this time there was a large line but thankfully they got everyone through quickly. Before we left the dock, the captain went over the features of the boat, introduced the crew and went over everything we needed to know to keep us safe. Once out out on the water, the crew invited us to take part in helping run the ship with their supervision. I thought that was great to make the experience that much more personal. We sailed for an hour then they stopped the boat so we could have our dinner. It was a buffet style with plenty of food to go around. We then found our spot in the water over looking the Hilton. The fireworks started at 7:45 and lasted five minutes. It was a great show and they used quality fireworks that were exciting to watch.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2015/06/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Makani Catamaran Waikiki Sunset Dinner Sail & City Lights Cruise

Lost in Paradise

Reviewed by: In awe!, 2014/11/16

Our Makani Sunset Dinner Cruise was simply amazing!Everything about this trip was memorable-from checking in, boarding, cruising, and (sadly),returning to port.The wonderful and hospitable staff, delicious dinner, refreshing drinks, and the stunning sunset made this experience the best bang for your buck on the island. The evening started with us boarding the catamaran and choosing a seat next to the captains. We took photos and then assembled for a friendly,but thorough welcome by the small but mighty crew of three. We then fired up the bar and the engines and headed out on the ocean listening to a variety of island vibes. It was so picturesque- Heads bobbing, couples hugging, boat sailing, and the sun slowly going down.And did I mention a bridal shower group on the boat.!We chatted with others (local and first timers) and shared one common theme.....we were on the fun boat. We ate a delicious buffet of rice, colorful pasta salad, islandy tofu rolls, sweet glazed teriyaki chicken, beef and crunchy broccoli, mini egg rolls, and macadamia nut cookies (there was even food left over). The coolest part of the trip came with the sunset. We hung out on the catamaran (trampoline bed) chatting and feeling the breeze. We also took turns passing around our cameras for photo opps. As the sun disappeared into the horizon, we began to feel the 180 of the boat.While the cityscape was absolutely beautiful as it lit up the shoreline, we didn't want it to end. What an excellent adventure! Many thanks to that awesome crew for a lifetime reflection of what paradise really feels like! Mahalo!

Comments from activity operators

Aloha,

We are very happy that you guys had a wonderful experience on our Sunset Dinner Cruise.
Makani wants our customers have the best time on all of our Sails.
Hope to see you guys again on another Sail:)

Mahalo,

Makani Crew

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2014/11/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

North Shore Shark Adventures - Famous Shark Cage Diving Tour on Oahu

Don't be scared - This is a MUST!!

Reviewed by: David, 2016/01/14

OK, so the idea of going to 'find' sharks as opposed to avoiding them at all costs can take a little getting used to. However once I'd gotten over that, I have to say this is one of the most exhilarating experiences I've had (and enjoyed) on the island.
There's two basic times that you can go out, Super early or Early, Yes that's right, Don't plan on a late night in the bar the night before trying to drum up Dutch courage because this boat leaves early and you want to get your sleep in.

After a leisurely 20-25 mins boat ride out (i think they said about 2 miles) to the dive site you arrive in an open water area, engines are cut and you pull up next to the cage. A quick chat from the crew, and two groups are selected A & B, This ensures you have maximum space in the cage and is a really cool idea.

We climbed in first, GoPro's on and ready to start shooting...

The cage is actually rather large and you definitely want to be up close to the bars hold on, and go down to get your first glimpse... I'm not going to say much more on what you'll see but I will say, This is a guaranteed sharks (plural, many lol) shark tank dive. They big, upclose and personal and you are totally safe in your secure housing...

You get ample time to take selfies, group shots, dive down again, hold the bottom of the cage etc as these amazing creatures swim all around you.

I'd forgot my wrist strap for my cam, No problem, The crew guy noticed as I was getting ready ad gave me a cool wrist-strap for it (thick rubber band!) Awesome Service.

Highly Recommended. 5*


  • Our crazy group...

Rating:
Attended as: Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Oahu Dolphin Cruise & Paradise Cove Luau Combo

Ko Olina and Paradise Cove, A-!

Reviewed by: Mike, 2019/03/14

Overall, the dolphin cruise and Paradise Cove luau was well worth it!

The instructions were clear on where we'd get picked up, and it was at our hotel. The driver was 10 minutes early and called our names at the station so we didn't have to hunt for the bus! We therefore arrived at the pickup point for the cruise early, allowed us plenty of time to check in and get ready for the boat. The lady that checked us in gave us clear instructions (and wrote them down) on how to catch the shuttle to the luau after the cruise. Once on the boat, the crew was clear and concise about what to expect while sailing and snorkeling. We got 3 free drink tickets, and all we could drink after that! The boat was Catamaran style, so it was mostly a smooth ride despite a small craft advisory.

We arrived at the luau about an hour before the gates opened (I guess a good thing, but made for some hurry up and wait style standing around). The luau was fantastic... there was about an hour and a half between when gates opened and the events started. There were activities like crafting and games to kill time, plus the advertised demonstrations. The food was delicious and plentiful and the entertainment included all kinds of Pacific island traditions, and involved the audience.

The only hiccup was the bus back to Waikiki. We handed our bus ticket to someone who I think put us on the wrong bus because it dropped us off next door to our hotel, but when we signed up it said we'd go back to ours. Just a small inconvenience.

Overall excellent experience, 5 stars!!

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2019/03/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Waikiki Fun in the Sun Sailing Cruise by Makani Catamaran

Simple and Enjoyable

Reviewed by: Ruth, 2014/10/22

I had a great time on this trip. We were running a bit late due to a road being closed,but that didn't seem to be an issue. I liked that they called to confirm that we were still coming. The crew was great and pretty much left us to just enjoy the ride after they went through safety and other useful instructions.

We went out a decent ways but not too far out to hit the really rough waters (granted I like big waves so I would have been fine with the rougher waters). If there was any interesting wild life, they pointed it out so everyone could see.There's a drink bar. I didn't really use this for anything beyond soda. I did buy one of their cups and still think it was worth it. It's a useful cup. As for space on the boat, there was never an issue with not having enough room to look out over the railing.

Things my husband and I enjoyed about the trip:
> The view - it was quite beautiful
> The fact that it was simple - we really didn't want to do a dinner cruise or be out on a giant boat. All we wanted was to get out on the water and enjoy the view and this was absolutely perfect for that.
> Meeting new people - we had several good conversations with the people on the boat. I rather enjoyed this and it made the trip that much better.
> Sitting on the netting - it was really neat to watch the water through the netting (also comfortable to sit on)

Over all it was a very excellent experience and was exactly what we wanted. I would have been happy spending all day out on the boat. If I ever end back up in the area, I would use them again.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2014/10/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Sea Life Park Hawaii Dolphin Experiences & Day Pass

Spending the day with marine life

Reviewed by: anonymous, 2014/03/03

This was my favorite activity that we did the whole time we were in Hawaii. We went with the ultimate package, royal dolphin swim, sea lions, ray swim and shark tank, definitely worth the extra money.
With the royal dolphin swim the big activities you get to do are kiss the dolphin, and she kisses you, cradle her, ride on the dorsal fin and get pushed out of the water by your feet. Smaller activities are rub their belly and back and dance. They are amazing animals and you really get to feel how strong they are. You also get to meet the worlds only wolphine.
The sea lions were great too, you get to feed them, hug, pet, get kissed and swim with them. And since there was only two of us we got to ride them also.
With the rays you get right in with them and other tropical fish. They bring the rays around and you get to pet the under side of them. You also get lettuce to feed the fish while you snorkeling with the rays.
The shark tank was the last thing we did. You put on a helmet and descend the stairs to the cage were you get to see hammer heads and white tipped reef sharks. They also have the largest ray in there and other tropical life. With you are your guide and safety diver at all times.
During every activity, except shark tank, you must were a life jacket at all times. I do recommend bringing snacks and water. We did have time in between activities to eat and tour the park through the day. But do watch out for the price of pictures. We paid 260.00 dollars for 12 pictures and a dvd of the dolphin swim.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2014/02/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Makani Catamaran Waikiki Sunset Dinner Sail & City Lights Cruise

Excellent experience for my first time in Hawaii.

Reviewed by: Ray and Tanya, 2019/05/09

This was a great evening out. I had never been to Hawaii before, and my wife who had been previous with her family, had never experienced a dinner cruise. It was a great first experience for both of us.
The location was easy to find and the checking in process simple and fast.
When we were asked to board, the crew were friendly, approachable, and very professional.
The bar which was opened almost immediately when we were in open water was excellent, and the buffet dinner was also excellent. While not a sit still and eat in a cozy posh restaurant experience, this dinner cruise was more adventure styled and casual party atmosphere.
The number of guests on board was perfect (no more than 50?), not too many and not too few, for an excellent social mix. We met several wonderful people from around the world, and enjoyed the conversation and camaraderie.
The sunset as expected did not disappoint and the early evening sky line of Honolulu, Waikiki and Diamond Head, plus all the other sights was breath taking.
My wife and I would definitely recommend this cruise for those who desire to enjoy the outdoors while enjoying the sunset. The catamaran certainly gave us the feeling of being closer to the ocean, elements and each other.
We were very pleased that we selected this sail experience over others.
Smaller boat (catamaran).
Smaller guest number. We heard the some cruises have over 100 guests.
Perfect length. It was just over 2 hours on the ocean.
No dinner show to distract from the experience.
And perfect crew.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2019/05/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Alii Nui Maui - Romantic Royal Sunset Dinner Cruise with Premium Open Bar

Perfect Evening on the Water

Reviewed by: Gordon Bird, 2015/11/29

My wife and I have just returned from a dinner cruise beyond compare.
It all started with a warm greeting at dockside. Appetizers and non alcoholic beverages followed- the alcoholic drinks included in the price were available after we had cruised out of the harbour,
We had the perfect evening for this cruise. There was some mauka showers early on, which led to a double ended brilliant rainbow. And the crew dried all of the outside seats for later use. Drinks and more appetizers followed as we cleared the harbour under power. Fortunately, the wind was up, but not to strong to sail. ASK TO SAIL! I did, and after the sails were raised, I was given the helm and the compass course. Although I have sailed many times before, it had been several years since the last time. When we reached our anchoring location for dinner, the crew expertly took over and settled all of the sailing rigging.
After watching and photographing an amazing sunset, dinner was served. What a meal! Top quality, lots of choice, and abundant quantities of everything. And there was comfortable table seating for everyone, previous review notwithstanding. Drinks were served at table by the efficient and very friendly crew.
What I really liked about this cruise is that they take a maximum of 32 people, which allowed for easy interaction amongst all of the crew and guests.
The boat was spotless, and the 'heads'-washrooms - were clean and stocked with luxury products.
This is quite an expensive cruise, but worth every penny of the cost.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2015/11/28
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Waikiki Fun in the Sun Sailing Cruise by Makani Catamaran

Sailing on the Beautiful Makani Catamaran

Reviewed by: Craig and Maureen, 2017/07/01

We definitely enjoyed our two hours of sailing on the beautiful Makani Catamaran. It’s the best escape from the sweltering midday heat. All aboard! The enthusiastic riders strolled towards the stretched tarp fronting the 60 foot catamaran, as others filled the inner cabin, or sat on the open air benches. Not to worry, all views satisfied a person’s thirst for adventure. After a brief introduction of safety, expectations and friendly crew introductions the big white $2million dollar catamaran slowly glided out of Kewalo Basin towards the majestic deep blue Pacific Ocean, passing other harbored yachts, catamarans and various tourist boats. At the mouth of the basin local fishermen on the shores cast their lines, hoping for a fresh catch for dinner. Beyond the ocean horizon a large cargo boat cruised along at a seemingly slow pace, and by the time the catamaran set at 1/4 mile out in the ocean it had traveled parallel to Diamond Head.
We were entertained, watching the skillful rigging of the main sail and sailing effortlessly along the fringes of the island. Excitement stirred when two large sea turtle surfaced on the dark blue waters, appeasing our anticipation for marine life. Feeling the ocean air against our face, listening to the rippling sounds of ocean waves gently splashing against the hulls, watching sailboats skimming across the blue horizon, parasail riders bobbing in the air, and surfer zealots zigzagging across 4-6 foot waves on Point Panics - What more could we ask for?

Comments from activity operators

Aloha Craig and Maureen

Mahalo for taking the time to share your Sail Makani experience with us. We are so delighted that you enjoyed yourselves. We look forward to sailing with you both again. Sending you both much Aloha!

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2017/06/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Holokai Catamaran Turtle Canyon Snorkel Sail (from Waikiki Beach)

Wonderful, given the circumstances :)

Reviewed by: Kelsy, 2019/02/13

I booked this tour back around August of 2018 for a February 2019 trip. The original date was supposed to be Sunday morning on their first tour; however, they reached out to us on Saturday morning to notify us rescheduling might be required, as the island was going to be hit with an extremely severe storm over the weekend. Sure enough, Sunday morning came, and it was determined the waters were too unstable to enjoy a safe snorkeling experience. We were able to re-book to Monday afternoon, with the hopes the waters would mellow out and clear up by then. We arrived at the meeting spot, and right as we were about to disembark, we were notified the waters were still too dangerous. We were then given the option to either reschedule, or go sail with them for an hour or so, and get a refund on the snorkeling portion. Given we were leaving the following day, we were unfortunately unable to reschedule, and opted for the sailing. The captain, Ryan, and the rest of the crew were all wonderful, and made it a memorable experience. We were out sailing for around an hour and a half, and the views were breathtaking. They also provided everyone a few free drinks to help make up for the inconvenience, and the free snacks provided were much appreciated. While we never got to enjoy the snorkeling itself, I can vouch for the company and their customer service. Thank you for turning lemons to lemonade! Also, in February it was a bit chilly, so I would recommend a light jacket, and definitely sunglasses :)

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2019/02/11
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Hawaii Nautical Waikiki Snorkel Cruise with Turtles Sightings Guaranteed!

Amazing tour highly recommended!

Reviewed by: steve, 2014/11/21

We originally booked turtle bay tour but were upgraded to a dolphin tour on a different day as the tour ended up not running on the day. The tour bus picked us up at 7am from the hotel free of charge to the destination which roughly took about an hour. It was bit of a long drive but the driver was very friendly and continued interesting conversation so was not boring at all.
The vessel was very clean and well equpped. Crews were super friendly and helpful. As we jumped on light breakfast and fruit platters were served. The tour included lunch and 2 alcoholic beverages but better yet they provided 1 dollar beer and 2 dollar cocktails - the cheapest alcohol in hawaii!
The first stop was to watch the dolphins. I think there were at least 50 dolphins. I have never seen dolphins so up close - it was simply magical.
2nd stop was to do the snorkeling. The weather was perfect and the water was so calm and clear almost like an aquarium. After the snorkeling session sandwich bar lunch was served which in my opinion was quite decent - had lots of fresh stuff including the kalua pig.
After the lunch, we were taken back to the shore then transferred back to the hotel by around 1pm. Although the tour was quite packed we still had half a day afterwards.
The tour was overall very well organised and action packed that we did not have any chance to be bored.
I will definitely come back for more tours with Hawaii Nautical as this was hands down the best snorkeling tour I have experienced.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2014/11/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Voyage to Niihau & Na Pali Coast - Premier Snorkel Cruise by Holo Holo Charters

awesome cruise

Reviewed by: Patrick, 2014/11/29

Booked the activities through this website for NaPali and Nihau plus snorkeling.

Checked in the place at 6, and captain met us around 630. However, due to the weather condition, Nhau is not gonna be possible. 3 alternatives were given. We could either take the trip with a 25% discount, reschedule for another day or get a full refund on spot. Given we will only be on the island for one more day, we took the first option. And it didn't disappoint at all.

The ride to NaPali was a little rough, or "exciting" in the sailing world. Some people got sea sick and the threw up, but the crew members were very patient and friendly, didn't complain at all. We also saw a bunch of dolphins and a glimpse of whale during the ride. Captain stopped the boat for everyone to see in each situation.

On the way back, the weather got much nicer. We made a stop near Port Allen where we started for snorkeling. This was about an hour long. Once that's done, food was already waiting for us on the boat.

After lunch, we headed back and 25% refund was ready for us to pick up.

Overall, it was an awesome ride and honestly I couldn't ask for more. They offer both breakfast and lunch to accommodate its early schedule. They offer a large variety of drinks including beer, and all of them are free. The captain gives detailed background stories for every valley and beach we pass.

Just make sure to bring your towel and a camera, and you will be golden.

Comments from activity operators

Aloha,

Thank you for your review and for choosing Holoholo Charters!

Mahalo

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2014/11/25
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Makani Catamaran Waikiki Sunset Dinner Sail & City Lights Cruise

Great Friday Fireworks Dinner Cruise

Reviewed by: Derek S. , 2015/04/20

I had been looking for a nice dinner cruise that is a little more intimate than the large ships with several hundred people. The Makani sunset dinner cruise was perfect with only 30-40 people and a much more personal feel. Check-in was 5:00 and we boarded the catamaran around 5:20. We were given a quick overview of the ship, safety protocol, and facilities and were off around 5:30.

The initial drink service was a little slow with only one bartender but after the first round, ran fairly quickly. The food came out about 30-45 minutes into the trip and was a very tasty buffet line, similar fare to most Asian buffets in Hawaii.

The catamaran is a great design with a lot of exposed areas to stand, sit, and sunbathe as well as rails all around the ship. There is also a covered seating/dining area below deck in the center with the bar that is perfect for getting out of the wind and/or enjoying your dinner.

The night we went out was pretty windy/choppy but it didn't bother us and didn't look like anyone else aboard the ship had any motion sickness issues. The crew was very friendly and helped to deliver a great dinner cruise experience. We had captain Johnny, bartender Jenna, and can't remember the first mates name.

The fireworks display finished off our night and then we quickly returned to the harbor. I'd definitely recommend this dinner cruise and will take friends and family visiting Hawaii on this again in the future.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2015/04/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Manu Kai Catamaran Waikiki Boat Tour - Waikiki Snorkel Cruise & Cocktails

I’m on a boat and...

Reviewed by: Tyler Russell, 2019/03/06

So it all started with a super welcoming crew. The captain and both the deckhands were extremely courteous and expressed the spirit of Aloha in welcoming us aboard! Next came an explanation of what the trip would consist of, and I was like, oh yeah, this is gonna be a hoot and a half. Then we were underway on Diesel engines that sounded like the sweet purr of freedom you could only get on the open ocean. We headed out to the turtle cleaning reef, and we were not disappointed. They promised a great snorkel experience and they delivered! We jumped in the water after the best explanation of our safety and snorkel equipment and were immediately greeted by the ocean wildlife! Turtle the size of Kia souls cut in half with flippers! It was incredible. After we had our feel of the little mermaid experience, it was back to the boat where we were served libations by barista/deckhand that could rival those of a well seasoned bar! Drinks were flowing like the rays of sunshine beating down on us. We dropped sail, and cruises on the wind like seagulls on the breeze. It was a glorious experience that I will remember for years to come. When all was said and down, the sails returned to their stowed position, we sailed back to shore on those sweet Diesel engines and touched down gently on the sands of Waikiki. Your crew and company will hold a special place in our hearts as we carry the memories of good times with us. We found our beach!

Rating:
Attended as: Friends
Activity Date: 2019/03/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Pride of Maui Afternoon Snorkel Cruise with BBQ Lunch (from Maalaea Harbor)

Fabulous experience!

Reviewed by: Chris, 2017/12/21

If you are looking for a snorkeling/whale watching experience, this is the one for you! All facets of the trip lead you to a perfect time on the water.

The captain took us to a beautiful spot for snorkeling located on a coral reef that had clear waters and many species of fish. It was our first time snorkeling. The crew taught us the basics, guided us while in the water, and shared how best to see the fish. Having a waterproof camera helped us capture the fun we were having as a family. We were sure glad we had it, especially when it came to the turtle sightings!

The boat, the Pride of Maui was well equipped with all the gear we needed, including multiple sizes of fins and snorkeling goggles. It was a comfortable boat, with storage under seats on the upper deck. Great views of the waters with whale sightings even during an off season. The slide is a must! You go zipping down and fly into the water! Never gets old!

The lunch was tasty, plump hotdogs and cheeseburgers were cooked over a grill and served warm with all the fixings. If you are a vegetarian and/or gluten intolerant, it’s best to call ahead to let them know so your needs will be covered. They are ready to make your lunch perfect for you if they have a heads up. There were several kinds of soft drinks and fruit punch along with alcoholic beverages for adults. The Miatais were the best!

All in all, a highly recommended choice for all ages!

Comments from activity operators

Aloha,

Thank you for taking the time to respond with your kind interpretation of our tour. We love to hear the words "perfect time on the water", because that is what our crew strives for. We love to create the perfect day on the ocean and are so happy you appreciate all the little things we do for our guests!

Mahalo for joining us.

Pride of Maui

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Activity Date: 2017/12/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Sea Life Park Hawaii Dolphin Experiences & Day Pass

Even better than advertised

Reviewed by: Gerry, 2014/02/18

We loved every minute of the royal package. The trainers were very nice, informative and very easy to work with. From start to finish, the staff did a great job at making sure you learned about the animals but more importantly have a good time doing it. Trainers were great with younger kids and adults. They definitely catered to the crowd they were working with. I would definitely recommend this package. The swim with the dolphins is obviously the main event and gets most of the attention, but the swim with the sea lions and the ray encounter was just as interesting. The sea lions were very fun to interact with and hilarious to work with. Snorkeling with rays and the tropical fish was a very cool experience as well. Most importantly, the swim with the dolphins lived up to the hype. The tricks they were able to do and the interaction with the dolphins was great. The only down side was with all of the experiences, you can not bring a camera. You can use them around the park, but not during the activity. Unless you have someone with you not participating in the event to take pictures, you will have to buy their pictures of you during the activity. The price of the pictures is kinda high and with no other option, you're pretty stuck. The photographers were great to work with, very friendly and took great pictures, but the cost for the prints are high. Otherwise, everything else was fantastic. A great time all around!

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2014/02/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

North Shore Shark Adventures - Famous Shark Cage Diving Tour on Oahu

I met the sharks!!!

Reviewed by: Mahalo , 2015/08/03

The North Shore Shark Adventures was a very neat and wonderful experience. The boat ride out to the shark cage took about 15-20min. The crew members really stressed about safety first and were thorough about directions. They even had a sense of humor, which makes everything better. When we reached the shark cage the crew members separated all the costumers in to two different groups and we were escorted into the shark cage that was floating in the ocean. Being in the shark cage was kind of rough. The waves would rock/bob the cage from side to side and up and down. You really had to hang on to the cage bars to obtain stability. I personally wrapped my legs and arms around the shark cage ladder, which I found to be helpful. As soon as I stuck my head under water what I saw was absolutely amazing. 15-20 sharks swimming and circling the cage, each shark was at least 6-8 feet long. It was so peaceful and serene to see these sharks in their natural habitat swimming freely. Just a quick suggestion that if you plan on swimming with the sharks you may want to schedule this event early on in your trip because cancellations may occur due to the oceans unpredictability. For safety reasons they may cancel your shark adventures but they will call you in advanced to let you know. I suggested that if you are driving to the North Shore you call them to ask about cancellations before you make the trip up north.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2015/07/09
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Hobie Catamaran Snorkel Sail at Kaneohe Bay Sandbar

Best way to enjoy sand bar

Reviewed by: Bonnie, 2016/07/26

We had amazing experience with Captain Parker( Not sure, if you call Catamaran sailer captain),but he had extraordinary talent with maneuvering Catamaran. Since our group was average of 60 years olds ( One close to 80 ), some of us were very insecure about the whole thing, especially, we were expecting hurricane Darby! Although, Parker made us feel very safe and comfortable, we were enjoying so much that we soon forgot that we were scared in the first place, riding through rough wave ( due to hurricane) which rarely ever happens in Kaneohe sand bar area. Sandbar was unbelievably beautiful, but I think what really made us enjoy this experience so much was Captain Parker. He was so knowledgeable about the area/ Ocean. We've seen so much turtle from 100 years old Mom to babies, I lost count after about 20 turtles, We said to ourselves, we've seen enough turtle for the rest of our lives! We also saw black tip shark, which is supposed to be rare to be seen in Kaneohe sand bar. We were able to go where no one else was in the Sandbar, which was so special, we were not crowded by the whole bunch of tourist, although, 3 out of us were indeed, tourist as well : ) This was far best experience, even for local Aunty like myself! Barbecue was also very tasty, it was not dried up meat, which we expected. I would recommend this catamaran sail to anyone from young to old ones!

Comments from activity operators

Aloha Bonnie,
Thank you so much for such a positive review! And thank you for joining us on one of our adventures. I am so glad to hear that you had what sounds like a great experience with us. I speak for Parker and all of us when I say we truly appreciate you joining us to share that experience. And even more so, we really appreciate you sharing such great feedback. We look forward to seeing you again soon! Mahalo nui loa!

Andy
Holokai Kayak and Snorkel Adventure

Rating:
Attended as: Friends
Activity Date: 2016/07/22
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Hawaii Nautical Waikiki Whale Watching Cruise with Free Hotel Pick-up

Best whale watch in Honolulu

Reviewed by: Unju Rogers, 2015/03/30

This is by far the best whale watch in Honolulu. I've been on both Navatek and Star of the Sea whale watches and they do not compare to the experience you get with this whale watch. The catamaran is very clean and the crew was great! They were not only observant to everyone's safety on board they were hilarious! My family (including a two year old toddler) had an amazing time. I was very fortunate to have found this activity through Veltra. I was hosting a friend who had never been on a whale watch and it was an amazing experience. We chose the late morning tour and it was perfect. The boat went out and the crew was able to find whales within 30 minutes from take off. There were an estimated 5 male humpback whales swimming together and we circled them while they dove. They were so magnificent and during the time we were watching them the crew members told us much about their behaviors. they told us why it wasn't unusual that a group of males would be traveling together and they also told us what would've been different if we had spotted a mama and her calf. Although none breached out of the water we saw them come to the surface many times. It was so amazing to see so many of them at once! At one point we saw all five come to the surface and blow water from their backs at the same time. Talk about a magical vacation moment!

I'd book this again in a heartbeat!!

Rating:
Attended as: Families with Young Children
Activity Date: 2015/03/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Makani Catamaran Waikiki Sunset Dinner Sail & City Lights Cruise

A Fantastic Experience - We Will Be Back

Reviewed by: Rebecca Lyons, 2019/02/07

What an amazing adventure we had on the Mikani Catameran Sunset Dinner Sail.

The whole experience was sensational. From the time we were picked up from the hotel the arrangements were seamless. All the directions provided by Veltra were easy to follow, the driver was on time and super friendly and we felt instantly welcomed. The air conditioned van was very spacious and comfortable and our destination was just a short ride from Waikiki. Upon our arrival at the wharf we were met by the booking staff who assisted us to check in and provide our boarding pass.

Stepping on board the catamaran we were welcomed by the friendly staff who were all very professional and we instantly felt part of the family. The boat was spacious with lots of areas both inside and out to cater for all tastes.

As we sailed off into the spectacular Hawaiian sunset we enjoyed the expansive views of the Waikiki coastline. After an enjoyable sail, we were invited to enjoy a delicious buffet dinner and home made cookies for dessert. After dinner we settled in and prepared ourselves for the fireworks. We weren’t disappointed, the captain ensured we had the best vantage point to experience this spectacular show.

I would highly recommend this cruise to anyone visiting Hawaii, it was the highlight of our trip and something we will never forget. We will definitely be back next time.

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Activity Date: 2019/02/01
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Ko Olina Ocean Adventures Catamaran Snorkel with Wild Dolphins Tour

Get the Wild Dolphin Experience from Ko Olina Ocean Adventures!

Reviewed by: Marisa, 2014/06/25

I was picked up on time by Randi as soon as I got to the hotel. I was a little early, but it worked out so I wouldn't have to wait forever as the driver Randi was already waiting. She was very courteous and a nice person to talk story with on such a long drive. As soon as we got there, it was such a pretty place! When I checked in. Chyanne was very polite and made sure that I was taken care of. Austin the captain of the boat got everyone on as smoothly as possible. The boat ride was great and the Waianae coastline is wonderful. We stopped next to the Aloha Factory which was a perfect snorkel spot. There were tons of tropical fish and cool things to see. The next snorkel spot was a little farther north and we saw so many dolphins! They were swimming next to the boat. We waded around in the water and the dolphins came close by. It was amazing! I could here the little dolphin songs underwater when there were a lot of them around. We had an awesome photographer Barnabus who made all of us look pretty in our pictures. While I did have a camera, it's a lot better to have him take your photos. After all, this really is the experience of a lifetime, so looking pretty is necessity. When we got back, I was greeted with a wonderful lunch of a pulled pork sandwich, fresh fruit salad, and chips. If I could I would give the dolphin watch tour 10 stars! I highly recommend!

Rating:
Attended as: Solo Travelers
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Hawaii Nautical Waikiki Whale Watching Cruise with Free Hotel Pick-up

Such an awesome experience in my life

Reviewed by: bigtree, 2015/02/11

Everything was perfect, which was sunny day and the pick-up car to Kewalo Basin arrived on time, actually a little early at the appointment place. It was my first whale watching excursion. I really like to recommend this tour if you are available.

The catamaran that my wife and I got on board, I think, is the perfect size for agile movement for following the humpback whales race and watching them closely and even listening to the mysterious and marvelous whale songs. I think this neat ship is much better than massive cruises to watch fast-moving whales.

Staff who are kind and informative also helped us to have a good memory of the whale watching trip. They are very friendly and kind, especially their informative knowledge will help you better understand the humpback whales traits like why they came to Hawaii and what they do and so forth.

More importantly, I think, the staff really know well about the best spot where we can watch whales. Thanks to the wonderful staff, we really enjoyed and got a lucky chance to watch dozens of whales and their competition race as well as the show of spouting water. Moreover, we could watch tremendous whale breach at the end of our trip, which was carried over the mom whale accompanying its baby. It was really an unbelievable and unforgettable moment in our life. It’s worth your every penny.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2015/02/07
1 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Holokai Catamaran - Waikiki Sunset Cocktail Sail with Open Bar

Waikiki Island Magic Catamaran Sunset Cruise

Reviewed by: Tommy , 2014/07/23

First off, the employees at VELTRA went out of their way to ensure our booking was confirmed and they even delivered a confirmation page for our sunset cruise directly to our hotel. Absolutely fabulous service all around !
When we arrived at the beach at the required check in time, friendly staff welcomed us as we waited to board.
Once onboard, the crew went above and beyond to ensure everyone had an amazing time! Even though this is listed as a " Cocktail Sail " , it was also a very family friendly atmosphere for our teenage Daughter as well, she had a most enjoyable time and not to worry, they have a variety of free non- alcoholic beverages available onboard too. They offer a photo option of your family / group prior to boarding which we normally would not buy but the background and picture quality came out so incredible and was worth the 15 dollar fee ,they have the print in a cardboard folder waiting for you upon your return to shore if you decide to purchase it.
This sunset cruise was a superb value for the low price , from the amazing Crew, to the smooth and safe sailing , and the fun music and relaxing atmosphere , it was a great way to meet so many other nice people on our Hawaiian Vacation! This was one of our top experiences on Oahu.
Simply put, we cannot wait to do it again on our next visit to Waikiki!

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Activity Date: 2014/07/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

West Oahu Dolphin Watch Sail & Snorkel Cruise - Dolphin Sightings Guaranteed!

Hawaii Dreamin'

Reviewed by: Sarah, 2018/10/23

There is no better way to experience Hawaii, than out on its beautiful, indescribable blue waters. After doing a bit of research, I knew I wanted to go snorkeling on the west side of the island. I also snorkeled at Hanauma Bay, but there is zero comparison. Two completely different experiences. Sailing out of the harbor, on the beautiful catamaran, with the wind in your hair, onto the sparkling water, a stunning, panoramic view of the majestic mountains behind you, with three fabulous hours of yet unknown adventures ahead of you---well, what more can you ask for? Our time on this tour was great. It went by entirely too fast. But every minute was wonderful. We saw more dolphins than we could count. Had great visibility while snorkeling. Saw many different types of fish and marine life. All under the skillful supervision of the awesome crew. Also, the boat was not overly crowded, which was terrific. Plenty of room to move about and to have a good seat. The food and drinks were perfect. I just wish it was twice as long. And honestly, next time we go back, I will probably go more than once. It's simply the best way to experience the magic of Hawaii. PS. I booked through Hawaii Activities.com and I believe the company name is also Hawaii Nautical. No matter which you book it, it's completely worth it!

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2018/10/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]