(All Reviews) Waterfall Adventures (Outdoor Adventures), Big Island tours & activities, fun things to do in Big Island | HawaiiActivities.com

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Travelers arriving into Hawaii are subject to COVID-19 travel restrictions, and up-to-date information can be found here.

All Reviews for Waterfall Adventures in Big Island

Overall Rating

4.79 4.79 / 5

Reviews

57 reviews

Umauma Falls ATV Tour & Waterfall Swim - Ocean View Trail Ride

Amazing 1st-time ATV-ride

Reviewed by: mgcannella, 2022/01/24

Our guide, John, was very patient with me. I've had zero experience riding an ATV but he took the time to make sure I was comfortable while encouraging me to do the solo ride (I was also given the option to switch to a two-seater). I'm so grateful because I had the best time and wish it could go on longer. We drove through the beautiful Umauma property -- rolling green gentle slope with a gorgeous view of the ocean and a sea of cows (yes, cows, that John had to persuade to move to give the riders more room to drive thru). We took a break at the watering hole where my son and husband enjoyed a cool dip near a low waterfall and enjoyed a quick snack. Thank you, John, for making it fun, adventurous and exciting!

Rating:
Attended as: Families with Young Children
Activity Date: 2022/01/01
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Umauma Falls ATV Tour & Waterfall Swim - Ocean View Trail Ride

Awesome trip

Reviewed by: The muddy couple!, 2021/09/20

This was by far one of the best places to go with ATVs. My husband and I have been all over the states and always ride ATVs and this was one we will always remember. Luckily we came after it rained and it was so muddy and perfect conditions for muddin!! There wasn't an inch on our bodies that wasn't covered in mud and we thoroughly enjoyed it. Would highly recommend this! The waterfall part was adorable and worth getting in the freezing water.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2021/09/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Umauma Falls ATV Tour & Waterfall Swim - Ocean View Trail Ride

Uma Uma Memories

Reviewed by: Veronica Golden, 2021/09/20

Absolutely beautiful. Our guides were energetic and fun. Definitely a do over

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2021/09/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Umauma Falls ATV Tour & Waterfall Swim - Ocean View Trail Ride

ATV tour

Reviewed by: Shane Kennedy, 2021/08/14

The guides were nice and professional. The trail was not as challenging or scenic as what the site portrayed. However my teenage children did enjoy it. The short walk to the waterfall was a nice touch and made the experience better.

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Activity Date: 2021/08/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Umauma Falls Zipline Tour & Waterfall Swim Adventure

Amazing and Fun

Reviewed by: Dusty mosier, 2021/05/28

Me and my husband had a great time on the ziplines, the lead people were amazing and fun, the scenery was breathtaking as you got to speed over waterfalls and such. I would definitely do this again.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2021/05/25
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Umauma Falls ATV Tour & Waterfall Swim - Ocean View Trail Ride

Great time riding!!

Reviewed by: Jen Gigliotti , 2021/04/03

This was our first time riding ATVs and i literally thpught we would get stuck...but these things can go thru anything! My sister rode the single, my daughter and i rode a double. We couldnt help smiling the whole time! We got myddy, but we planned to. The scenery was breathtaking and the falls were muddy from the recent rain, but we didnt care. I would definitely suggest if you are on the fence, dont be! 100,% worth it!!

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Activity Date: 2021/04/01
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Umauma Falls ATV Tour & Waterfall Swim - Ocean View Trail Ride

Much fun!

Reviewed by: TracyM, 2020/01/13

We did the ATV/waterfall Tour as a 4 rider with my husband and my 4 and 8 year old daughters. We wanted excitement and fully expected that to come with some dirt/mud. It did not disappoint! And thankfully they have warm showers available to clean up after. You have options to ride on a quad solo or in a Razor 4x4 vehicle with 2 or 4 passengers. There had been much rain which made challenges for the trails, but the guides worked it out and made sure it was a good time. Andres and Rudy (sorry if I didn’t spell that right) were great. They were very helpful with the small kids making sure they were safe. Due to the extensive and prolonged rain we weren’t able to play in the waterfall, which was a disappointment since that was something we were really looking forward too, but understandable. I wish we would have also done the zip lines and giant swing. Both Looked awesome! Next time for sure!

Tip: wear closed toed water shoes so they can be easily washed off and dried.

Rating:
Attended as: Families with Young Children
Activity Date: 2020/01/10
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Kohala Waterfalls Hiking Eco Tour & Off-Road Adventure with Picnic Lunch

The hike is a perfect mixture of fun, beauty, information, culture and history.

Reviewed by: Deb, 2019/12/26

We had an exceptional guide who could field any question from our mostly middle age bunch. His knowledge of Hawaiian culture and history combined with present day challenges facing the island made the day a wonderfully enriching experience. Wear hiking boots or rough bottom hiking shoes. Prepare to get a little dirt and mud on you, meet new people and enjoy a leisurely day. Long pants are helpful if you tend to be cold natured and something with a sleeve for the top was appreciated by all. Sunglasses and hat were also helpful. They equip you with towel for the swim, bug spray, sun screen, rain poncho, water, snack and small shoulder pack for all this gear. The hike was easy for younger, experienced hikers and slightly challenging for older, not so great shape people. Expect the water to be very cold if you swim to waterfall at the end of trail. Really fun day. Worth our vacation time and dollars!

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Activity Date: 2019/12/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Umauma Falls Zipline Tour & Waterfall Swim Adventure

9-line zip line tour

Reviewed by: Muriel, 2019/12/21

The staff, Scott, Skippy and co were fantastic. Very entertaining as well as thorough and confident in their jobs. My first 4 lines were horrible (I nearly pulled out), very rough and uncomfortable. After #4 Skippy realised my trolley was broken and gave me his own which made the rest of my journey much more comfortable, although I think he may have walked the rest of the track home.... thanks Skippy :)

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Activity Date: 2019/12/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Ultimate Waipio Valley Off-Road Tour, Akaka Falls and Waterfall Swim

Fantastic experience!

Reviewed by: Julie, 2019/12/09

Our guide was very knowledgable and friendly. The trip was perfect. We really enjoyed the comfort of the van for a long day of touring. It felt like we saw so much, yet didn't feel rushed at all. By the time the day was over we all felt like old friends.
Our guide know a lot about Hawaiian history and Hawaii in general. The tour guide made the trip really.
This trip was beautiful, the waterfalls, the spice farm and all of it highlighted by the tour of Waipio Valley. Waipio Valley is a special place and I will visit every time I visit the big island.

  • Waipio Valley

  • Private Waterfalls

  • Almost at the spice farm

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Activity Date: 2018/12/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Ultimate Waipio Valley Off-Road Tour, Akaka Falls and Waterfall Swim

8th wonder of the world

Reviewed by: Anne M Cocchi, 2019/12/03

What a magnificent valley. This is a must on your bucket list when visiting the big island.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2019/09/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Hawaii Horseback Riding Tour with Waterfall Swim at Umauma Falls

AMAZING

Reviewed by: Annie, 2019/11/16

It was amazing! Jamie and Elijah were wonderful guides! Such a magical way to experience the beauty of Hawaii! It was the perfect amount of time and the most beautiful scenery. Great for all ages! 10/10 recommend!

Comments from activity operators

Mahalo for sharing your amazing experience with us! Our goal is to make sure that your adventure with us is something that you will always remember about Hawaii!! It also Let’s us know that we are doing it right!! We hope we see you folks the next time you visit. A hui hou! Wailea Horseback Adventure Ohana!!

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Activity Date: 2019/10/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Umauma Falls ATV Tour & Waterfall Swim - Ocean View Trail Ride

Total Enjoyment

Reviewed by: James , 2019/09/02

My son and I had the best time ever. The instructors/guides were experienced and made the ride exciting. The water fall swim was perfect.... Can't wait to get back to Hawaii to experience their ziplines.

Please be sure to pack a separate set of cloths because it can get very messy....

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Activity Date: 2019/08/29
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Hawaii Horseback Riding Tour with Waterfall Swim at Umauma Falls

Horseback Ride and Waterfall Swim

Reviewed by: bostongirl, 2019/06/28

This was an amazing excursion for our family! We have visited Hawaii several times, but this was our first horseback riding experience. It definitely did NOT disappoint! The guides were patient and helpful throughout the trip. They gave a detailed safety briefing and Jaime took time with my younger daughter to practice a few commands so she would feel more comfortable. The views during our ride were beautiful and breathtaking at times! We had a great time at the waterfall as well. There was plenty of time to swim, play in the waterfall, kayak and use the paddle boards. They also had life jackets if needed. I could go on forever about how much we loved this trip! I highly recommend it for anyone who is looking for a fun way to see the beauty of this island.

Rating:
Attended as: Families with Young Children
Activity Date: 2019/06/25
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Hawaii Horseback Riding Tour with Waterfall Swim at Umauma Falls

Scenic horseback adventure with waterfall swim.

Reviewed by: Tleslie24, 2019/06/27

This was a great experience for the entire family. Our two girls did not have any riding experience and were really nervous. The guides gave a very detailed safety briefing and made sure the girls were comfortable before the trip started. The guides were always close by to help them guide the horses when needed. The scenery on the entire trip was the most beautiful I have seen since being on the island. The stop at the waterfall was incredible. We had plenty of time to enjoy the paddle boards, kayaks and swim under the waterfall. This experience was the highlight of our trip and I highly recommend to those considering it. I recommend wearing pants if you have them.

Rating:
Attended as: Families with Young Children
Activity Date: 2019/06/25
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Hawaii Horseback Riding Tour with Waterfall Swim at Umauma Falls

Great experience!

Reviewed by: Adnan, 2019/06/23

We were a group of three guys with almost no riding experience. They did a great job of making sure we knew what we were doing and the horses were good.

Riding horses was fun but my favorite thing about that activity was the stop at the waterfalls. Very safe lake to swim in and they even let you use canoes which was a great addition.

  • My brother and friend enjoying the view.

  • Taken from the canoe!

Rating:
Attended as: Friends
Activity Date: 2019/06/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Hawaii Horseback Riding Tour with Waterfall Swim at Umauma Falls

My daughter's favorite day of our 2 week's in Hawaii!

Reviewed by: Fiona, 2019/06/23

Mylie and Jamie made sure we were comfortable on our horses, given our varying degrees of riding experience. Each horse was perfectly matched to us! I even shared a name with my horse! As we rode through the beautiful rain forest area, Mylie and Jamie shared information about the flora and history of the area. Both grew up in the area and are so knowledgable.

At the waterfall, there were toilets and a changing room. Jamie got out kayaks and paddleboards for those who wanted them, but the pool was also fabulous for swimming. I swam and sat behind the waterfall, listening to the water cascade over me! Brilliant. So much fun!

On the ride back we stopped for a photo op. and learned more about the area.

Though this is a new tour and outfit, they are connected with a well-established outfit and have the expertise you look for in a horseback excursion! Fabulous afternoon!

  • Bailey, Lakota, Danny

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Activity Date: 2019/06/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Hawaii Horseback Riding Tour with Waterfall Swim at Umauma Falls

Amazing Day! So much fun!

Reviewed by: Fiona, 2019/06/23

Love waterfalls? Love rain forests? Love riding horses (or have always wanted to try)? Want to learn more about the plants and animals and history of the area? Then this tour is the one for you!
We were hoping to go on the horseback ride through the Waipi'o Valley; however, it was booked. We think it was our lucky day. We have no doubt the Waipi'o Valley ride would have been wonderful, but on our tour--we got to swim in a waterfall! The two tour leaders, Jamie and Mylie, made sure we were each comfortable on our horse given our varying riding abilities. We rode for about 45 minutes as the guides told us about the plants we were seeing and a bit about the history of the area. It was wonderful dialogue. When we arrived at the waterfalls, there was a restroom and changing room. Jamie and Mylie got out kayaks and paddle boards for those who wanted it, but I just wanted to swim--it was wonderful. The two falls were strong, but I swam up along the side and behind it to sit behind it, watching the water pour down! We then had a photo op. on our horses with the falls in the background. We had a wonderful ride back--Jamie and Mylie were a wealth of information, kindness, and support! Fabulous day--my daughter's favorite of our 2 week vacation!

  • Thank you for a great day!

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Activity Date: 2019/06/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Hawaii Horseback Riding Tour with Waterfall Swim at Umauma Falls

Such a fun experience

Reviewed by: Brittney, 2019/06/21

My cousin and I did the horseback ride to the waterfall adventure on 6/18/19 and had so much fun. I was really nervous to ride a horse because I have not done so since I was a child, however, the guide (I believe his name was Jamie), made me feel really comfortable and answered all of my questions. This was by far the best horseback riding experience I have had. The guide was very friendly and knowledgeable about the local plants and Hawaiian history. I would definitely recommend this experience to anyone!

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Activity Date: 2019/06/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Hawaii Horseback Riding Tour with Waterfall Swim at Umauma Falls

Awesome horse ride paired with a beautiful waterfall swim

Reviewed by: Tyson, 2019/06/16

Had an amazing time on this trail ride/waterfall swim!

The ride was lovely, perfect weather for both us and the horses, and the waterfall was beautiful! Very peaceful area, refreshing water, perfect way to cool off mid-ride! Our guide was wonderful! Not only did she get us to the waterfall before other groups, she taught us a bit about Hawaii and the nature on the trail, and best of all she clearly loves the horses and takes great care of them.

Great company, friendly and caring staff, wonderful experience. Highly recommend!

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2019/06/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Hawaii Horseback Riding Tour with Waterfall Swim at Umauma Falls

They were great and horses were very friendly

Reviewed by: Arun, 2019/05/31

It was our first horse ride experience, two ladies guided us very well. horses were friendly and overall experience was very great!

Comments from activity operators

Mahalo Arun! It makes us really happy when you folks had a wonderful experience riding with us!!. Thank you so much for the positive review we appreciate it. Hope to see you folks next time you visit!! A hui hou! Wailea Horseback Adventure!!

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2019/05/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Ultimate Waipio Valley Off-Road Tour, Akaka Falls and Waterfall Swim

Very informative, beautiful tour areas and a long day!

Reviewed by: Laurie, 2019/04/29

Waterfall areas were beautiful and we glad to have experienced this tour. Nathanial, the tour guide for the waterfalls was very cordial, offered an immense view into many cultural aspects of these areas and its history.

By far, for my family the best part of the tour was the last 1.5 hours of the 8+ hour day doing the tour of Waipio Valley - our tour guide Douglas too offered so much regarding history of the valley and its cultural practices. The valley is majestic...vast in nature and an experience we will always remember.

Suggestions: plan for a very long day of driving especially if you start on the Kona side. The instructions stated closed toed shoes when in fact only my family had them of which my daughters were not happy they could not wear their outdoor sandals - ie chakos. I do not believe there were any areas that closed toed shoes would have been required. Would have been nice to have more water/snacks offered - we had to keep asking for water since it was stated water/snacks were provided. The only snack provided/offered the entire day was a peanut butter granola bar - and as I have one child who can't eat peanut butter we came up short there but I did pack snacks of my own. The bento lunch was good. One last suggestion - it would have been helpful to understand the schedule for the day and have the guide inform us as we moved from one spot to another - we were left in the dark as to the schedule and did not know what was next after each stop including when lunch was served...again without snacks and having the lunch more closer to 12:30pm+ - this made it for a long day already.

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Activity Date: 2019/04/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Umauma Falls Zipline Tour & Waterfall Swim Adventure

Awesome experience, great crew!

Reviewed by: Kevin, 2019/02/22

We went to Umauma Falls Zipline last week and had a blast! Although it nearly rained the entire time, the crew were nothing but the best! Always laughing, making us laugh, and allowing us enjoy the amazing beauty of the falls. You have to do the 9-line to get the best experience! Definitely recommend for anyone on the Hilo side!

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2019/02/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Umauma Falls Zipline Tour & Waterfall Swim Adventure

Lovely experience

Reviewed by: Erica , 2018/12/29

Super friendly staff and we had a wonderful time! Would recommend to anyone and everyone and would definitely go back when I have the chance! Despite the fact that it was raining the day we went (which actually made the experience more exhilarating, as the rain made us go even faster than normal) , the views were still incredible. The staff was patient and their energy made the experience more fun for everyone. By the end of the zipline I was ready to do it all over again!

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Activity Date: 2018/12/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Umauma Falls Zipline Tour & Waterfall Swim Adventure

This is THE zipline tour you want!!

Reviewed by: Christina, 2018/12/13

If you're planning on ziplining, or have any remote interest in it, do this tour it's so worth it! I had never been ziplining before, and I'm glad this was my first experience. It was a decently long excursion and had 9 separate lines which all offered unique and breathtaking views. Each line felt different, and our guides even taught us how to do tricks like going upside down. You start with tandem lines so you're going with a buddy, plus the guides are great at keeping everyone calm. Our zipline guides Scot, Ian, Maccai (sorry for any misspelling) really kept the party going. Literally, they brought radios with them and danced with us. Honestly they were as entertaining as the ziplining. They even prepared some fresh guava and citrus for us (which tasted AMAZING). We asked them for some local grub recommendations which were all great. Overall amazing experience!

As an aside, the property is so beautiful that alone is worth the money- take some time to walk around and stroll through the gardens after your tour. I also bought the video from them at the end, totally worth. Thanks for keeping us safe and showing us a fantastic time guys!

  • View of the ocean from a line

  • View of the Eucalyptus Forest

  • Overlooking the river

  • Us dancing with our zipline guide (from the video)

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2018/11/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Umauma Falls Zipline Tour & Waterfall Swim Adventure

Great Experience!

Reviewed by: Brandy, 2018/11/21

I am here working and my son came to visit. It was a great way to experience the waterfalls. Perfect for any age. Employees were very nice and helpful. The guides were great made you feel very comfortable and safe. I would definitely recommend this as an activity to see parts otherwise impossible.Hope to be able to visit again.

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Activity Date: 2018/11/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Umauma Falls Zipline Tour & Waterfall Swim Adventure

Amazing adventurous experience viewing much of the Big Island treasures!

Reviewed by: Swillem40, 2018/11/18

What an amazing experience!!  Not only are you able to see the beauty in a fun adventurous manner but there is time and places to capture pictures in between some of the ziplines. The views are stunning and you’ll see waterfalls, rainforest, the ocean and so much more. The staff does a great job of getting everyone to open up and have a great time. They take the time to give you tips on how to do things so you get the most out of your experience. You are sure to laugh the entire time! It was great to also see so many kids on our tour who had an amazing time!
There is a little store before you start where you can get some things like souvenirs, treats, and bug spray.  If you go on a rainy day I would note you could get some mud onto yourself but it is minimal. It may also be helpful to consider the equipment when dressing.  Many on our tour thought it would be cooler because of the rain to start but the equipment keeps you a bit warm so many had rain coats they didn’t want. They do have some video and picture packages you are able to purchase of your tour and I recommend waiting to purchase these extras until the end of your tour to see if you like them.  If you go with the GoPro camera option then you will want that ahead of time.

  • All strapped up and ready to go!

  • Awesome bridge you enjoy walking!

  • Beautiful view back on what you just went over.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2018/11/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Umauma Falls Zipline Tour & Waterfall Swim Adventure

Great time

Reviewed by: Stainless, 2018/10/14

First time and it was great fun.... step off the tower and away you go... I would do it again.... and again....

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2018/10/11
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Umauma Falls Zipline Tour & Waterfall Swim Adventure

Fun time for all ages

Reviewed by: Happy in Hawaii, 2018/08/14

My 7 year old was a bit worried. He's definitely afraid of heights and it took a bit of convincing to get him to even agree to try. Standing on a 65 foot platform ready to zip while dangling 150+ feet over a waterfall and rock river was a bit daunting but once we started there was no turning back. He wanted to do the course again but it was time to head back to Kona. The rest of us all had a blast as well (a 13 year old and 2 old fuddy-duddy parents :-)

The guides know how to have fun and make sure everyone is being safe. They were all really great.

And if you are driving from Kona take a few extra minutes to stop on the way. There are some amazing sights along the way that are very picture worthy.

Rating:
Attended as: Families with Young Children
Activity Date: 2018/08/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Ultimate Waipio Valley Off-Road Tour, Akaka Falls and Waterfall Swim

Very beautiful valley.

Reviewed by: Susan from Canada, 2018/03/10

We enjoyed going down into the valley with a guide. Our guide was very informative. He showed us different plants and explained how they cooked things. The wild horses and scenery were beautiful. The van had open windows and was comfortable,
The place our tour dropped us off to get in the 4x4 van was nice but only one bathroom. Not much food selection. We were picked up at 6:30 so we didn't have time for breakfast or coffee.. across the road was a very messy run down residents, With barking dogs....I just thought this valley is so sacred to the locals. Some things were very messy with garbage.
More history about the ancestors would have been appreciated but it was very pretty. Douglas was very nice.
We then went on to the waterfalls which we had seen before but it was beautiful and interesting.
The tour said stopping at Waimea for Hawaiian donuts but we did not do that. It was a long day but interesting. The van was comfortable with air conditioning.

  • In the van going down the steep valley road.

  • The tallest waterfall I have ever seen.

  • Douglas showing us noni fruit.

  • Waipo Valley black sand beach

  • Wild horses in the valley

  • Douglas showing us how they put pork in a taro leaf and wrap it in another plant leaf.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2018/02/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
  Top Destinations