This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

All Reviews for Manta Ray Night Swimming in Big Island

Overall Rating

4.75 4.75 / 5

Reviews

119 reviews

Small-Group Ocean Rafting Sunset Cruise & Night Manta Ray Swim (from Keauhou)

Absolutely great choice

Reviewed by: David, 2018/03/14

This was better than I could imagine. After leaving the shore on a small boat (three crew and four passengers), we passed manta village and went south a bit more to see some historic land with wild goats on it and sat there while the sun set. We had a platter of sushi and grapes, which was delicious.

When the sun set, we went back up and joined the rest of the boats at manta village, and got into the water where we all held a surf board and had floaties under our stomachs. It was all very comfortable, besides the cold, which we had full or short sleeve wetsuits for. The surf board had a nice light on it which attracted plenty of plankton.

We saw two manta rays, Amanda, and I forget the name of the other one. Amanda actually brushed up against my wife twice! (Don't intentionally touch them as I've heard it's a $5000 fine).

After plenty of time in the water, and repeated visits by both manta rays, we headed back to the boat and had some ginger ale on the way back to the dock.

Overall wonderful experience!

Oh, if you're on your honeymoon, make sure your ring fits tightly enough not to fall off in the water! And insure it if it's valuable! Mine slipped off, but thankfully I didn't loose a bunch of money.

Comments from activity operators

Thank you for letting us know about your Sunset/Manta Snorkeling tour with Kona Ocean Experience! We're pleased that you appreciated the small group atmosphere, and enjoyed the sushi and fruit platter. We appreciate you taking the time to write your descriptive review as this lets other folks know what they might expect when going out on our tour. We're especially glad to hear that you had wonderful experience and super close encounters with the mantas, while being mindfully careful not to touch them! Thank you for your warning to others to remove loose jewelry... and although not expensive it's still a "bummer" that you lost your wedding ring. Mahalo again for joining us aboard. Hope you might be able to return for another adventure with KOEX in the future! Aloha!

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2018/02/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Hula Kai Manta Ray Night Swim & Snorkeling Catamaran Cruise (from Keauhou Bay)

Awesome Experience!

Reviewed by: Dawn Weston, 2017/05/18

Me and my family attended this activity on 5/12/17 and it was everything and more! There was a total of 8 of us in my family that went. The boat was huge and there was not a lot of people so there was plenty of room to sit and wander. The crew was friendly and very informational! They answered all questions and did a good instructional of what to expect and what not to do. Once in the water they were so helpful especially for those snorkeling for the first time. They helped you every step of the way to make sure you were having the best time possible. They eased you and helped to calm your nerves. We saw three manta's during our time and it was amazing! A must do event that no one can miss. Once we were back on the boat there were a total of five manta's swimming around almost pleading us to come back in the water! Two of us got sea sick over the side of the boat and the crew was super nice about it and just said that we were feeding the fish! Hahahaha. I would highly recommend this snorkel swim and specifically with the Hula Kai. It seemed to be the better of what I could see once out on the bay. I can not thank the crew enough for such a wonderful experience for our family! Job well done!

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Sea Paradise Manta Ray Village Swim & Night Snorkeling Cruise (from Keauhou Bay)

Beautiful Experience

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2008/10/07

The experience with the mantas was the highlight of our honeymoon. They are beautiful, amazing creatures and spending time with them was fantastic. The scuba diver who attracts the mantas also filmed it and it was the one DVD/picture set that we bought of all of our tours. We really loved the animals, but hte experience was so-so. Do NOT go on this tour if you are not comfortable snorkeling, as they really do not hold your hand--you go in the water in the dark and there isn't really a lifeguard or somebody making sure that you are with the pack. Its fine if you are comfortable, just be warned. The only other downside was the other people on the boat with us who, instead of passively watching the creatures and taking their turn with them, swam over on top of us every time the manta were near us. We got kicked in the head by stranger's fins and we have it all on tape! I might recommend trying to get somebody to take you on a personal charter for this beautiful experience, it would probab

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
1 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Sea Paradise Manta Ray Village Swim & Night Snorkeling Cruise (from Keauhou Bay)

Manta ray swim

Reviewed by: Jessica , 2017/07/29

The people at sea paradise were truly outstanding. They were professional, fun, and extremely accommodating. Let me preface this review by saying that I suffer from extreme motion sickness and had I not been heavily medicated then this would've been a truly awful experience, of course this was no fault of the crew, the waters are just that rough. The crew Heather and Troy and the captain did their absolute best to make me feel better, while entertaining my six year old daughter. We saw tons of mantas and they barrel roll right under you almost touching you. Truly a remarkable experience. Once we decided we had enough the crew got us back to the shore as quickly as possible as they could tell I was in distress. I highly recommend this experience, just be aware that you will need every form of motion sickness prevention if that's a concern. I couldn't be more pleased with the crew of sea paradise.

Comments from activity operators

Aloha and Mahalo for taking the time to review your experience. We are happy you had a great time and you took the precautions you needed for your motion sickness. The waters in Kona are generally flat and the calmest of the islands, however once in awhile we do get a swell. Happy the mantas put on their beautiful performance to keep you at ease. A Hoi Hou and Aloha!

Rating:
Attended as: Families with Young Children
Activity Date: 2017/07/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Sea Quest Manta Ray Night Snorkeling Experience (from Keauhou Bay)

Great night snorkeling with mantas

Reviewed by: Sharon Savant, 2018/11/01

Our tour was initially rescheduled due to inclement weather. Sea Quest was really professional and gave us a free GoPro rental to make up for the inconveniences. On the day of the tour, they prepped us with all the necessary gear (prescription snorkels, wet suits, regular snorkels, etc.) And gave us a brief overview of what to expect before we headed into the waters.
We saw about 5 mantas that night. They swam close by and it was a really cool experience. There were 2 sea Quest employees in the water with us helping us each step of the way whether it be to adjust the snorkels or retrieve a noodle. They also kept giving us information about the mantas to make the trip more enjoyable.
After about 45 min in the water it was a short ride back to shore where they had hot chocolate and bags of cookies waiting for us.
Over all a very fun experience. Would definitely recommend.


  • A beautiful sunset before we got on the boat


  • Gear on and ready to get into the water

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2018/10/30
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Sea Paradise Manta Ray Village Swim & Night Snorkeling Cruise (from Keauhou Bay)

an experience of a lifetime!

Reviewed by: ashley, 2007/07/23

This was an amazing experience to witness. You are probably five minutes off the shore by the sheraton resort and are left to swim with huge manta rays that swim right up next to you. It is a little scary at first but after the first few minutes you get used to it. The staff on the boat are very friendly and pretty humorous. You definitly get your moneys worth on this activity because you are in the water for about 45 minutes and they dont let you get in until a manta ray shows up so your time with the manta rays isnt wasted. The only bad things I have to say about this activity which was kind of a personal problem was that I got stung in the butt my something. It hurt pretty bad but the stinging went away in about a hour. I dont think anyone else had this problem though so I wouldnt be too worried about it. I would definitly sign up for this activity is I was you!

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
1 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Sea Paradise Manta Ray Village Swim & Night Snorkeling Cruise (from Keauhou Bay)

A stunning experience for all

Reviewed by: Amber Bialy, 2017/10/24

My husband and I were both nervous, I get seasick and he has a fear of deeper water and has never snorkeled. Captain Morgan was amazing and the crew was super reassuring. They gave me ginger candy when I got on. I only felt a little queasy, it wasn't as bad as I thought. Short ride and they got us in the water and we had a full display of barrel rolls by 2 mantas! My husband had an amazing time and he enjoyed it more than he thought he would. He would do it again! You stay in the water for a reasonable amount of time, I got out a tad early but we went back shortly after. Tea, soda and fresh pineapple was offered. A MUST do and I couldn't ask for a better crew. Bring your own goggles and snorkel if you have them, some masks leaked a little. Worth it even if you get seasick (lots of ginger and dramamine!)
Pick a day with no wind as Well! We had a great experience.


  • Our group on the floaters

Comments from activity operators

Thank you for taking the time to review your manta tour. Happy to hear both you and your husband enjoyed the experience. Thank you for joining us and hope to serve you again soon in the near future.

A Hui Hou!

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2017/10/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Sea Paradise Manta Ray Village Swim & Night Snorkeling Cruise (from Keauhou Bay)

Out of this world experience

Reviewed by: KL from NJ, 2018/07/30

The crew were terrific. We had a long lengthy talk about "safety" and what to do and what not to do to keep us and the manta rays safe. Initially, the area looked crowded as there were a handful of boats out in the same area. We booked this excursion early on in our stay as Sea Paradise offers 100% guarantee that we will see manta rays. If we don't, we can come back for free. As we started, the manta rays were swimming underneath us immediately. We had an unusually fantastic night as we were told that normal nights, there were 4 manta rays. Our night, we had 6-8, I loose track. They were so close to us, tumbling and doing their ballets. We had at least 30 minutes of their bellies being 2 inches away from our faces. What an unforgettable night! Hot chocolate as we came out of the water to keep us warm. Lots of snacks on board.

Comments from activity operators

Thank you for taking the time to review your manta tour with us we are so happy you enjoyed it and thank you for joining us!

Aloha!

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Activity Date: 2018/07/22
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Ocean Encounters - Swim with Manta Rays Sunset & Snorkel Cruise (from Honokohau)

Highlight of my trip to Hawaii!

Reviewed by: Margarita, 2017/05/15

Swimming with Manta Rays has been on my bucket list for a very long time. Seeing these beautiful creatures swimming next to you was absolutely unreal! As you can only spot Manta Rays at night we went for a short boat trip first where we watched the sunset, enjoyed the weather and had a few drinks. Our captain was a great guy who showed us something I couldn’t believe existed – a green flash right before the sun disappears below the horizon – thought it was a myth! Crew did everything they could to make us feel comfortable and to enhance our experience throughout the entire trip. Manta Rays were swimming right next to us and I managed to get a perfect footage on my GoPro camera which I am going to use for my video. This experience is a must do if you are visiting Big Island – this was definitely a highlight of my trip to Hawaii!

Comments from activity operators

Mahalos for the wonderful review. Hope you all have a great vacation in HI

Rating:
Attended as: Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Ocean Encounters - Swim with Manta Rays Sunset & Snorkel Cruise (from Honokohau)

Equally awe-inspiring and nerve-wracking

Reviewed by: Darra, 2018/07/29

I only add the nerve wracking part as it was something I did with a little trepidation - the idea of swimming in the ocean, in the dark, in the cold with a little tube to breathe through... However, I like to do something that scares every once in a while as the fear usually is nothing when actually doing the activity and this one was definitely the case in this experience. The guides were excellent and talked everyone through and kept everyone relaxed. You had a half wet suit to help with the cold; the water was lit up (to attract the plankton and mantas); the snorkel you soon forgot once you were floating in pure amazement and smiles as these giants swooped below you and then treated to the bright white display of them underneath as they rolled to eat up the plankton. Complete gentle giants; and not at all scary but just delightful


  • Still shot from a video (recommend taking a gopro or similar if you can!)

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2018/06/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Manta Ray Night Snorkel Express on a Hawaiian Sailing Canoe (from Keauhou Bay)

Manta Ray Night Snorkel

Reviewed by: D & L Williams, 2017/12/25

For those who love the water and its fascinating creatures, we highly recommend this activity aboard the Hawaiian Sailing Canoe. The canoe is a modern replica seating a limited number of passengers, so the skipper Dave knew our names immediately. But much like going to a "modern" zoo, you may see what you're looking for the first time out but you may not. Our first night snorkel was at 8:30pm, and while the groups before and after us had a grand "show" we were skunked. But Dave said we could keep coming back (for free!) until we sighted the mantas. The next night at 9:30pm we were in luck, and were treated to a 45 minute water ballet by two mantas that glided and turned just inches beneath our illuminated surfboard. For optimum warmth bring your own full-length wetsuit instead of using their wetsuit tops.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2017/12/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Manta Ray Night Snorkel Express on a Hawaiian Sailing Canoe (from Keauhou Bay)

Manta Ray Snorkling with Lions

Reviewed by: Jeff, 2018/12/16

We were greeting by Lions almost immediately. He explained what was going to happen and when since we were early. The Captains came over later and introduced themselves after the boat was prepared. We all loaded and headed out.
We were told sightings were hit and miss, but lately had been good. Since I had been praying for multiple sightings I was expecting it to be a good night. We were not disappointed. Lions took our group right to the spot, among many others. He took care of us like the amateurs we were. He continuously checked that were were OK and whether we needed anything. Plus prepared us as to where to look when a ray was headed toward us.
By the end of the trip we had seen 3 different rays. Lions said that was the best night in months. Thank you Lions and Captains for a very memorable tour.

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Activity Date: 2018/12/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Sea Paradise Manta Ray Village Swim & Night Snorkeling Cruise (from Keauhou Bay)

Sunset Cruise and Manta Ray Night Snorkel

Reviewed by: Evar, 2018/01/13

My most favorite experience on Big Island with Sea Paradise! A great crew and we were taken care of from start to finish. You start by checking in at the shopping center, drive 5 minutes to Keauhou Bay to park your vehicle, get fitted for your wet suit, and get on the boat. The sunset on along the Kona Coast was beautiful. The crew were extremely helpful, very knowledgeable about the history of the manta rays, humorous and went out of their way to make sure we spent the most time with the manta rays. We were one of the first boats in and last to leave. Plus, we were given fresh pineapple, juices/sodas and hot chocolate.
I do not know how to swim but the guides took extra care to make sure I made it on and off the boat with flotation devices. I would definitely recommend Sea Paradise!

Comments from activity operators

Aloha and Mahalo for taking the time to review your experience. We are delighted to hear you had such a wonderful time. We look forward to serving you in the future. A Hoi Hou.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2018/01/10
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Manta Ray Night Snorkel Express on a Hawaiian Sailing Canoe (from Keauhou Bay)

Amazing time with mantas

Reviewed by: FJC, 2016/07/02

Eka Canoe provided a great tour. The small group size gave a really good guide/tourist ratio. The fact that the boat sailed from Keauhou Bay meant that we only had a short (about five minutes) ride to the viewpoint. The experience of watching these creatures was fantastic. They are wild animals, so one never knows what to expect. I did not see the "inverted loop" feeding behaviour that is usually shown in promotional videos, but I saw four mantas cruising mid-way between the bottom and the surface. It was a remarkable experience. The crew and guide looked after us well. They were booked up for the remaining evenings that I had on the Big Island or I would have returned for a repeat tour!

Rating:
Attended as: Solo Travelers
Activity Date: 2016/06/09
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Small-Group Ocean Rafting Sunset Cruise & Night Manta Ray Swim (from Keauhou)

Great hosts, great time!

Reviewed by: David L, 2018/10/14

We had an awesome time! I had done a similar activity tour before, but I enjoyed doing it even more with this crew. They actually called us beforehand and warned us that the mantas had been inconsistent in the previous few days, and wanted to know if we wanted to do a different tour or go on a later date. We were leaving the next day, so we couldn't do either, but we really appreciated them being upfront. It turned out not to matter, though, because we saw several mantas! They were incredible to watch, and we got some amazing views of them feeding. Our hosts also gave us a sunset tour of the coast before the mantas came out, which was super beautiful. Highly recommended!

Comments from activity operators

Mahalo for taking the time to write a review of your manta tour with Kona Ocean Experience. We're so glad you had the opportunity to take advantage of our manta guarantee after your 1st trip out with us, and that you enjoyed your beautiful coastal tour and got to watch several "incredible" mantas on your 2nd trip! We appreciate your recommendation and hope to see you again sometime. Aloha!

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2018/10/07
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Sea Paradise Manta Ray Village Swim & Night Snorkeling Cruise (from Keauhou Bay)

I would do it again!

Reviewed by: Ricardo L, 2018/08/05

It is a must! It is worth! I would do it again. At the beginning, I did not know what to expect, it was a friend recommendation and I thought it would be similar to swim with dolphins actitiviy I did before, but no, it is 10 times better! Getting into the water at night and be so close to these gentle giants was an experience that I will never forget. In less than 10 minutes in the water, we had mantas approaching us. They get very close to you thanks to the powerful lights attracting plâncton. I recommend you take your cell phone in a waterproof case and film. Just keep filming uninterruptly because you don’t know when the mantas will show up. Great experience!

Comments from activity operators

Thank you for taking the time to review your manta tour. Mahalo!

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Activity Date: 2018/07/30
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Ocean Encounters - Swim with Manta Rays Sunset & Snorkel Cruise (from Honokohau)

Fantastic

Reviewed by: Montalvo Family , 2018/08/01

We were a family of 7 visiting Hawaii for the first time in July 2018 and swimming with the Mantas sounded like a dream. We went out and was disappointed when only 2 Mantas showed up but I only saw one. To our surprise the captain announced that he planned on going back out later and anyone who wished to go back out was welcomed to stay onboard. Well needless to say we went back out to the south side of the island and to our amazement we were blessed to not only swim with one but with seven Mantas. The experience was outstanding one I will never forget. The captain and crew was courteous and professional and I highly recommend Ocean Encounters.

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Activity Date: 2018/07/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Sea Paradise Manta Ray Village Swim & Night Snorkeling Cruise (from Keauhou Bay)

Seriously glad we did this!

Reviewed by: Sharon, 2018/05/11

The Sea Paradise crew gave us a great experience, from setting us up with wet suit and snorkel gear to teaching us how to "behave" in the water (#1 rule - Don't touch the Manta Rays, #2 rule - don't pee in the wetsuits - haha! - they provide a bathroom on board), providing drinks and snacks, including hot chocolate which was welcome after the snorkeling. They also made sure we weren't needlessly floating around in the water before the rays showed up, but got us in there in plenty of time to see 4 different rays swimming literally inches below our faces! So cool to see them somersault and glide beneath you. Completely worth the cost! Do this!


  • Sunset did not disappoint on this Sunset Cruise


  • Sunset with palm trees while leaving the bay


  • The boat was very steady and well equipped. Plenty of room for everyone and their stuff. Also has a bathroom on board!


  • Dropping anchor near the other boats - you have to "share" the rays with the other boats, but they still came to us often. Sorry no pics of rays-they are on my husband's GoPro. But they turned out cool!

Comments from activity operators

Thank you for taking your time to review your manta tour with us. We are happy to know you enjoyed it! Thanks for joining us.
A Hui Hou!

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2018/05/05
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Manta Ray Night Snorkel Express on a Hawaiian Sailing Canoe (from Keauhou Bay)

Close Encounters with Huge Mantas

Reviewed by: Celia L, 2016/12/13

My husband and I enjoyed the evening of going out on a canoe and then getting in the water and holding on to a lighted surf board to observing the huge mantas come right up to you! The young crew members were very friendly and helpful. They did provide a wet suit top but I regretted not having my full wet suit. Although it is in the "warm" Hawaiian water- after 30 minutes the water does steal your bodies warmth. So that would be my only suggestion to the average tourist. Despite the cold near the end, it was such a unique encounter that the amazing mantas- we were thrilled!

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2016/11/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Sea Quest Manta Ray Night Snorkeling Experience (from Keauhou Bay)

If you go to Big Island, the Sea Quest Manta Ray Snorkeling tour is a must!

Reviewed by: Martin & Bonnie, 2018/11/30

Night snorkeling with Manta Rays was definitely one of the highlights on our trip to The Big Island!
You get the opportunity to see these huge, gracious creatures up close under the water but no fear, they are not dangerous at all. The SeaQuest crew did an excellent job, making sure everyone felt safe and comfortable on the boat, in the water and with the snorkeling gear.
The crew were very knowledgeable and caring about the Manta rays safety too. After the tour, everyone was served hot chocolate and cookies. Tip: bring warm clothes.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2018/11/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Sunset & Moonlight Swim with Manta Rays Cruise Adventure (from Honokohau Harbor)

Amazing adventure!

Reviewed by: Elizabeth from AR, 2017/11/01

This was an amazing trip. We had a smooth ride out to the Sheraton and saw a beautiful sunset.
Then we got our snorkels and masks and got in the water. We all grabbed the handrail on the kick board and gotntowed out to abgood spot. We ended up joining up with other groups to form a "buffet line". Th manta rays came through eating plankton doing barrel rolls so close I thought they were going to brush our faces with their wing tips!
I highly recommend this tour group. They're super friendly and are very good at what they do.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2017/10/29
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Hula Kai Manta Ray Night Swim & Snorkeling Catamaran Cruise (from Keauhou Bay)

WOW!

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2011/10/18

WOW is all I can say. Took the kids and the wife to this tour, and we are from a landlocked state, so all kinds of any sea critters are new to us...but nothing, and I mean nothing could have beat getting an eyeful of the mantas gliding all around so close up. The kids went wild for it, and even my wife wasn't scared a bit. Overall it was truly a great experience, and one I would tell others to for sure try out. Families will love it and I even saw some single people just out enjoying the trip as well. Its really for everyone

Rating:
Attended as: Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Sea Paradise Manta Ray Village Swim & Night Snorkeling Cruise (from Keauhou Bay)

Definitely a memorable experience.

Reviewed by: Diana T, 2018/07/18

We thoroughly enjoyed the Manta Ray excursion. The tour guide was great with telling us about the history of this tour and details about the behavior and nature of these Manta Rays. My daughter was most impressed. Although she’s 9yo and a good swimmer, she was still a little nervous about snorkeling at night and meeting these Manta Rays that could come inches to your face. However, the tour guide has made everyone felt safe and she was able to enjoy the magnificence of these gentle sea creatures. Highly recommended

Comments from activity operators

Thank you for joining us and thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are happy to hear you and your family enjoyed the manta excursion. Aloha!

Rating:
Attended as: Families with Young Children
Activity Date: 2018/07/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Sea Quest Manta Ray Night Snorkeling Experience (from Keauhou Bay)

You must Snorkel with Manta Rays, and you must go with SeaQuest!

Reviewed by: Nick Weihs, 2018/11/24

This was an experience of a lifetime. The guys and girls and SeaQuest we're so helpful and made the night so much fun. They even called as we got a little turned around on the way there. Everything from getting aboard the boat to dropping off afterwards and everything in between was really easy. When in the water we had lots of Manta Ray sightings. They are enormous beautiful creatures! The crew was very knowledgeable and their passion shows! We would definitely do this night snorkel again on our next trip.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2018/11/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Small-Group Ocean Rafting Sunset Cruise & Night Manta Ray Swim (from Keauhou)

Delightfully Entertaining Cruise and Night Swim

Reviewed by: Erika, Lucia, Eileen, 2018/12/26

This was definitely worth the price! The boat ride was incredibly fun and the guides were very knowledgeable about the island and hidden wildlife spots. Saw goats, flock of parrots, bat, and of course some manta rays later that night. It was amazing!

Definitely recommend bringing layers to wear once night falls. You're on the ocean and the wind can definitely bring a chill, especially after coming out of the water. Guides do a wonderful job of taking care of you with food and drinks. It was wonderful!

Comments from activity operators

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review of your Sunset/Manta tour with Kona Ocean Experience. We're glad to hear you saw an abundance of our unique and amazing wildlife along the Kona Coast, above and below the surface! And that you had a wonderful time! Mahalo for your kind recommendation. Happy New Year!

Rating:
Attended as: Friends
Activity Date: 2018/12/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Sea Paradise Manta Ray Village Swim & Night Snorkeling Cruise (from Keauhou Bay)

Amazing experience!

Reviewed by: Luca, 2018/02/19

Snorkelling in the night with manta rays was an awesome experience.
Everything was perfectly organized: Captain and "Mermaids" were professional, nice and helpful.
We did it with our two kids (8 and 11) and they loved it.
Big mantas swam a few cm from us: in many occasions it looked like it was better to keep the breath in order to avoid touching them!!
It was super-fun and safe.
I recommend this activity to everybody!!!!
Big thanks to the crew for the amazing memories we will bring with us forever

Comments from activity operators

Aloha Luca!
Mahalo for your review! We are thrilled that you enjoyed your manta experience with us. Next time you are on the island ask about our frequent customer discount!

Rating:
Attended as: Families with Young Children
Activity Date: 2018/02/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Sea Paradise Manta Ray Village Swim & Night Snorkeling Cruise (from Keauhou Bay)

Absolutes Highlight

Reviewed by: Paseba, 2017/11/26

Diese Tour fand mit ca. 18 Personen auf einem modernen Katamaran statt. Man befindet sich ca. 45min im Wasser, wobei man neue Neoprenanzüge trägt. Der Trip wurde professionell durchgeführt, es fanden sich neben den Teilnehmern stets 2-3 Sicherheitsschwimmer im Wasser. Wir sahen 5-6 majestische Mantarochen - selten was eindrucksvolleres erlebt. Ich empfehle Mittel gegen Seekrankheit, denn die Tour findet auf offenener See (Wellengang) und bei Dunkelheit statt. Kann diese Tour auf jeden Fall empfehlen.

Comments from activity operators

Thank you for taking the time to review your manta tour. We are happy to hear you enjoyed the experience. Hope to serve you again in the future.
Aloha!

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2017/11/05
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Sunset & Moonlight Swim with Manta Rays Cruise Adventure (from Honokohau Harbor)

Best Manta Experience

Reviewed by: Mindy, 2016/06/08

I've taken three different groups on three different manta swims and this one was the best! I really liked how we were tethered to the boat so that inexperienced snorkelers and people that got cold could easily climb back on the boat while the rest of us could continue to enjoy the mantas. Because we were on the moonlight swim, we were in the harbor by ourselves by the end. All the mantas (four total that night) were ours to observe. It was awesome.

This is really a must-do for your Big Island trip.

Comments from activity operators

Thank you for your wonderful review on our Moonlit Manta Snorkel. We are so pleased your tour was such a success. It is our goal to have every person rate us as the best snorkel tours in Kona! You just described the advantages of doing the Moonlit tour. I always recommend this tour to people with children. Because there are only two to three boats at the later tour time, this allows us to tether the light board directly to the boat instead of swimming the light board in the middle of twenty something boats and their light boards to give you the best show. Some parents might have to switch out with their partner if they bring their young children (toddler's and babies are always welcome). There might also be children and/or adults that have some apprehension and would prefer to have the boat near by as a comfort. We hope you will remember us on your next trip to Kona. Mahalo!

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2016/06/01
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Hula Kai Manta Ray Night Swim & Snorkeling Catamaran Cruise (from Keauhou Bay)

Unbelievable!

Reviewed by: caseypaul@aol.com, 2017/01/02

You have to do this activity! If you love sea creatures, and have not done this before, go for it! The Hula Kai is the way to go. Other tours are available, but the Hula Kai us the best outfit. Plan it early in the trip. It is highly unlikely that the Mantas will not show up, but if they don't, go again. It is only a couple of hours, and a reliable great time. You don't need to be an experienced snorkel / scuba person, they have a system all worked out. Very easy in and out of the water. Go for it!

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Activity Date: 2016/12/28
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Small-Group Ocean Rafting Sunset Cruise & Night Manta Ray Swim (from Keauhou)

Mantra Ray Night Dive

Reviewed by: Ella , 2017/11/30

Steven and Shawn were amazing captain and guide. Provided us with an amazing tour and really great snorkeling spots around the area! The tour time is perfect to catch sunset and then it gets dark so the water lights up beautifully in the dark. The waves in the ocean are a bit rough so going on an empty stomach is adviseable. We saw 5 manta rays on our expedition. Definitely an attraction to do on the Big Island!! And Kona Ocean Experience is a great company that hosts this amazing experience!!

Comments from activity operators

Mahalo for submitting a review of your Sunset Cruise & Night Manta Swim with Kona Ocean Experience! We appreciate hearing that you felt our KOEX crew of dive guide, Steven and Captain Sian, as well as the tour they provided were "amazing"! And pleased that you would recommend our company to others looking to experience a manta ray tour with our company. Mahalo nui!

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2017/11/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
  Top Destinations

Hawaiian Islands