This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Waterfalls & Volcano Helicopter Tour Doors-off & Doors-on Flights (from Hilo)


Attended as (Friends) Reviews

Awesome experience!

Reviewed by: Theron, 2018/06/19

Rob was an excellent pilot. Everything was well organized and went smoothly. The view was awesome. Could have stayed up there all day.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2018/06/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Open door laba helicopter tour

Reviewed by: Bengisu, 2017/08/07

It was an amazing experience to see the beautiful view of big island from above and observing the bubbling lava inside the crater of an active volcano together with a great crew before during and after the flight.

  • Silver lava

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2017/07/30
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Aaaaamazing!

Reviewed by: G from GA, 2016/02/06

An unforgettable experience! Viewing flowing lava burning trees, the spots where the lava begins to flow, the breathtaking coastline of the Big Island with its many waterfalls, humpback whales from overhead, and the wonders of the island with the unbelievable views of every hue in the ocean's water= memories that will last a lifetime! Add a fabulous staff and the best pilot ever, and that's what you can expect.

  • One of the lava vents.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2016/02/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

What the --, I can't ... OMG! I cried.

Reviewed by: Silas, 2015/10/14

Thank you to Jork our pilot for an amazing flight. After breakfast, me and my friends hit up the Volcanoes Winery for some wine tasting and then whipped through the Volcanoes National Park to get an idea of what we'd see from the sky before heading to the airport for our helicopter flight. The check-in was easy (I gained a few pounds from all the Hawaiian food I ate, but it was okay) and the ground crew was super friendly. Make sure you get a phone strap if you want to take pics with doors off, or you can't take your phone with you. I really didn't expect a lot but as soon as we were hovering over small lava ponds I cried a little bit. It was so epic - it looked like we were on another planet. The black lava landscape stretched to the horizon. It was cold up there but whenever we got over the bright orange lava spots you could actually feel the waves of warmth, so soothing! We finished with a fly over bubbling pots waterfalls and some of the towns. All the buildings and cars were so tiny and perfect like a miniature model city. Thanks again to Paradise Helicopters and HawaiiActivities.com. Definitely an unforgettable moment on the Big Island. Ah man!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Worst helicopter experience

Reviewed by: Sandra, 2014/12/23

This was not my first doors off helicopter experience in the Hawaiian islands but definitely the worst. First, you should know that even though you pay full money for doors off you may get stuck in a cramped little seat between another passenger and the pilot in the front. You have no choice where you sit as you are assigned your seat. Good luck trying to get any pictures from that spot. The pilot takes you out the same way as he returns....over flat nothing. There is a tiny spec of lava (maybe) but it sure no spouting red flowing lava as advertised. You do not fly over the ocean at all so you dont see any ocean lava flow. There is definitely NO NO heat. There are fly zone restrictions so you cant get near the pahoa town they talk about to respect the privacy of the residents. You see a couple waterfalls from so far away... It is riduculous. Save your money... Go to Kauai..... Those doors off tours are true.... Everyone gets a doors off spot. Everyone can see. You fly right into the waterfall areas. You see things you will never forget. This was a wasted day of our vacation not to mention the huge cost..... To see nothing. At least they could have flown back another way over the coastline or something. I would not recommend this to anyone. Very disappointed and wasted money.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2014/12/16
1 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Excellent Tour

Reviewed by: John Johnson, 2011/10/26

I took the doors off flight and I was totally amazed.
This is the best experience you could even imagine.
Ranks equal to or even better than riding my Harley through the Rocky mountains in Colorado.
Of coarse you can tell that I highly recommend this flight and especially with the doors off.
The pilot on my flight (Dillon) (hope I spelled your name right) was skilled and competent and ready to answer all questions with knowledge and completness.

Just do it!!! A. L. (John) Johnson Englewood CO

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Highly recommend!

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2011/02/21

This was an extremely unique experience. Some of the views can only be experienced from a helicopter. Waterfalls, lava flows, flights deep into the valley are just some of the sights on this tour. The pilot/guide is extremely knowledgeable and makes the trip fun as well. Well worth the cost and would highly recommend for any individual or group. I can only imagine that each trip would be different due to environmental conditions such as lava flows and rainfall so it is perfect for first timers and repeat guests.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Best bang for buck of heli tours

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2011/01/19

The staff was fantastic - friendly, helpful, and safe. Let alone the views and vistas you get to see - this is the best bang-for-the-buck of helicopter tours, with a full 2 hours in the air. The pilot, Koji, was very knowledgeable of the area and led an incredibly informative and fun talk over the intercom. Koji also provided a very comfortable ride that was much more mellow and safe than I was expecting (I'm afraid of heights and I LOVED IT, so don't let your fear of heights worry you, you'll be fine with these guys). Excellent work from everyone and I'll be back soon : )

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Once in a Lifetime!

Reviewed by: Leslie, 2008/05/08

I had the amazing experience of seeing the volcano and lava field from a helicopter with the doors off! This is a once in a lifetime experience! The vantage point is unsurpassed and one really gets the feel for the enormity and power of volcanos. The volcano was very active during my flight and I could view red lava droping into the ocean, "sky lights" and brand new back sand beaches being created. During the flight you also see many of the beautiful waterfalls and varied micro-climates that make up the Big Island. My photos came out great and I was using a small, digital camera. A MUST DO!!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Hawaiian Islands