This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Waterfalls & Volcano Helicopter Tour Doors-off & Doors-on Flights (from Hilo)


Attended as (Families) Reviews

Excellent!

Reviewed by: Cristina , 2017/07/24

The trip was amazing, we had the doors on flight to the volcano and the waterfalls. The pilot Joyce was very nice and informative. The flight was smooth, and we got awesome pictures!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/07/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Helicopter tour

Reviewed by: J McQuitty, 2017/04/30

Was a wonderful tour and would advise others to do this!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/04/25
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Volcano heli ride

Reviewed by: Max, 2016/11/25

We were a group of three with 2 of us never before in a heli.
Thanks to a gr8 pilot we experienced an adventure we will never forget.
Spectacular views and the heat of streaming lava.
If you can afford it do it, we will come back that's for sure.

Max

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2016/11/22
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Door off Helicopter Tour Adventure

Reviewed by: The Leiths, 2016/09/10

We would like to thank the staff of veltra for their outstanding services with helping making our dream vacation a reality, we really enjoyed the Helicopter Tour - the staff were perfect, sights were great! It was a little foggy so we couldn't complete whole tour but were offered a refund which was very nice.

Thanks Again,

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2016/08/28
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Doors On Hilo's Fire & Falls Adventure

Reviewed by: Bonnie, 2015/03/30

I had been somewhat apprehensive as had never been on a helicopter before but I loved it!! What a way to see the volcano and surrounding area!! I was accompanied by my sisters and their husbands and it was enjoyed by all!!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2015/03/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

The only way to see lava

Reviewed by: Pilot01, 2014/07/28

This is exactly as described, a 40 minute helicopter tour of the volcanoes on the eastern side of the island of Hawaii and the area around Hilo. The staff are very friendly and the entire operation is well run and safety oriented. Our pilot Joyce was informative and did a great job of piloting so that everyone on both sides of the helicopter got good views of everything. Considering that there are no active lava flows at the current time. This is the only way to see molten lava. While it is through "sky lights" looking down into lava tubes, it is still quite exciting to see the bright pink/orange glow of lava.

The helicopter company offers the option to fly with the doors off the helicopter. I would recommend this for optimum viewing and picture taking. However, be aware that it is pretty chilly with the doors off and make sure to wear a warm jacket.

As a final note, when booking a helicopter tour, be aware that there are two airports on the island (Hilo and Kona). Make certain that you are booking a tour from the airport that is on your side of the island. I made a mistake and booked a tour out of the wrong airport. It was completely my fault and I did not realize my mistake until the day before the tour. The folks at Veltra and at the helicopter company went out of their way to get us booked on this tour at the last minute. They also worked hard to find someone else to take our seats on the tour that I had originally booked. They were only able to fill one of the two seats that I had booked, but at least they were kind enough to refund that portion of the fee.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2014/07/25
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Calleja Family-From Fresno, California

Reviewed by: John A. Calleja, 2014/06/26

Peter and the crew at the Hilo Airport provided not only a safe but exciting flight.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2014/06/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

GREAT FLIGHT

Reviewed by: JOHN & MELANIE, 2013/08/04

IT WAS THE BEST HELICOPTER TOUR WE HAVE BEEN ON, (OUR 3RD ONE)
THE POILOT NEW WHAT HE WAS LOOKING FOR AND MADE SURE WE SAW WHAT WE CAME FOR. THE DOORS OFF WAS MORE FUN THAN WE HAD THOUGHT WE LOVED IT!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2013/07/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

A wonderful perspective

Reviewed by: Tammy R, 2012/07/24

Marco was our pilot and he was fabulous. My 13 year old was a bit nervous with the doors off and he made her feel right at ease.
The view you get and the knowledge passed down by Marco was great! You cannot truly appreciate the volcano and what it can do unless you see it from above. The big picture and unique view from above is priceless.
We saw lava the day we went and that was a bonus, but even if you cannot see the the lava, it is still a wonderful way to view the landscape and truly see the devastation the lava flow can do.
We have done another helicopter tour in the past on Kauai and it is the best way to see the islands. You can go places a car cannot and that is worth it!
Thank you Marco and the rest of the staff at Paradise Helicopter...you were wonderful and we had a great trip!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great!

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2009/09/29

Our group of 4 booked a "doors off" helicopter ride through Paradise Helicopters. None of our group had ever been in a helicopter before and this exceeded all of our expectations. The front desk staff was courteous and upbeat. The guy doing the safety briefing was thorough and knowledgeable while infusing some humor into the "speech". Our pilot was Joyce and we could not have asked for a better experience. Because there were 4 of us, we took every seat on the helicopter. We were concerned at first about the view from the front-middle seat, but she could still see everything, though you do miss the experience of sitting right by the window.

Joyce did a great job of going over the different areas multiple times so each side of the helicopter could see what was below. Joyce spoke clearly and slowly and we never had a problem hearing what she was saying and she would repeat the "attractions" for both sides of the helicopter.

If you have the option of choosing your pilot, you want J

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fantastic Experience

Reviewed by: Rene, 2008/06/19

We had a FANTASTIC experience on the Paradise Helicopter tour!
We would do it again, the next time we travel to Hawai'i.
I've included some of my favorite pictures from the tour.
Had a GREAT time!
Aloha,

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Time

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2008/01/16

We enjoyed the trip and would recommend it to others.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
1 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Hawaiian Islands