This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Scenic Waipio Ridge Horseback Rides - Ride the Rim & Hidden Waterfalls

Great Activity

Reviewed by: Dani G., 2019/03/12

Although it rained and our initial package was reduced to the 2 hour ride, we had great guides and horses. It's not your typical trail ride. The terrain is rough but beautiful. Do not miss this opportunity, if you're visiting the big island.






Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/03/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great ride!

Reviewed by: Rhonda, 2019/03/07

We had a wonderful time on this ride. Great easy to ride horses and experienced guides. And lovely views and very fun day.


Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2019/02/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Waipi’o Valley horseback riding tour

Reviewed by: Cheryl , 2018/11/04

I wanted to see Waipi’o Valley in a unique and fun way so I chose to do the 2.5 hour horseback ride tour. I thoroughly enjoyed this activity and having a true local and her son guide the way made it that much more special. I was able to learn a lot seeing how my guide lived in the lower valley during her childhood. So much interesting history and beatiy. My horse, Lily, was very careful with me as her rider and even made sure that I did not get too close to the trees that were tightly spaced at times. Loved her!! Thank you so much for his memorable adventure!





Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2018/11/01
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Waipio Valley horse back riding

Reviewed by: Marie Salemi , 2018/07/26

We booked the 5 hour trip, but it was very cloudy and rainy and they allowed us to switch to the 2 1/2 . They offered us to come back the next day. Our hotel was 90 minutes from the stables so we didn’t want to do the drive again. The view was disappointing due to the valley was covered in clouds, but they made the best of it and we had a great time riding Thru the forest. The clouds rolled away for a few minutes to give us a glimpse of the beautiful Waipio Valley. Our guides were amazing. My kids were 12, 14 and 16 and the horses were great with them


  • Look at the cloud coverage behind us:(


  • Our horses while we were looking at the valley.


  • This was our glimpse of the view with when the clouds rolled away

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2018/07/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Private 5 hr ride!!

Reviewed by: Carol Turner, 2018/04/27

We ended up being only people for the 5hr ride and our guide Alli was sweet and recognized our riding abilities immediately so gave us personality info on our 2 mounts and her horse and was then able to just give your info and stories without fretting over us as riders. The horses were in great condition for the mountainous terrain and went the dogged followers we kinda expected, few areas allowed us to trot briefly but so rocky, hard to do much else, yet in forest we were able to weave around on different paths! Horses drank at mountain streams along the way and we had a delicious farm to table lunch packed in for us and set up at the private waterfall. Alli allowed us almost a hour at the waterfall to eat, could have swam but too cold for us so we just got to be alone to enjoy such a gorgeous place! Then Alli came back and took pictures of us with the waterfall, then we remounted horses which had rested and headed back on different trails. Started raining and Alli offered us ponchos but we refused as have found we dont melt in Hawaiian rains so far as it has rained daily since we arrived! GREAT horseback tour, would highly recommend!


  • private waterfall


  • cool mountain stream drinks


  • look out over Waipio Valley

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/04/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Incredible experience

Reviewed by: Michele, 2018/02/25

Well done! We thoroughly enjoyed our experience. Our guide Ally, was very patient and knowledgeable. It was everything we had hoped for based on the description of the tour and more. So glad we did the waterfall swim. Be sure to bring water shoes as the bed of the waterfall is very rocky.




Reply from activity provider

Mahalo Michele for sharing your experience we are glad you enjoyed for adventure with us. Sharing our culture and aloha is just what we do, knowing you enjoy your time with us let’s us know we are doing a good job! Mahalo Waipi’o Ridge Stables!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/02/22
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

One of the top Highlights of our Honeymoon!

Reviewed by: Kyle and Clare, 2017/07/27

My wife and I chose this tour as one of our activities to do on our honeymoon. We originally were going to do the 2.5 hour tour, but due to availability, we did this 5 hour tour instead. I cannot recommend this Tour enough. The View over the valley was incredible, the waterfall was amazing and both of our guides were awesome! We will be doing this tour again when we come back to Hawaii!


  • View from the Valley


  • Clare and I on Elmo and Allah


  • The lunch stop at the waterfall!

Reply from activity provider

Mahalo for sharing your experience with us, it gives us joy that you had a great time.. yes the waterfalls are view are spectacular, it's a one of a kind ride horseback that includes swimming. we really appreciate you sharing your experience.. aloha from waipio ridge stables 2..

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/07/01
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Waipio valley overlook horseback ride

Reviewed by: Curt Stidham, 2017/05/07

We had a very enjoyable ride and the view was fantastic. We would recommend this as a fun ride for all experience levels.


  • Great ride!

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2017/04/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

View was incredible!

Reviewed by: Sue Fraser , 2017/04/06

This was my husband's first time on a horse since a pony ride as a child, and they could not have been more patient. The trail was within a thick mountain of trees and the horses navigated them flawlessly. And the view! Worth every penny. We also appreciated hearing the stories about the waterfalls and learning about the folks that live in the valley below. Would do it again in a heartbeat.


Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/03/30
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Waipio horse ride

Reviewed by: Chelle, 2017/02/04

Awesome, enjoyable, picturesque! Definitely swim in the waterfall. Super clean water and refreshing





Reply from activity provider

Thank you so much for sharing your experience, it always makes us happy to know that our guests always are satisfied. That is why we are here to share our enchanting ride on horseback, majestic waterfalls, and breathtaking views, and not every where on an island you can enjoy a horseback ride and take a dip in fresh spring waterfalls. thank you for coming with us and see you on your next visit. Aloha, Waipi'o Ridge Stables Ohana.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2017/01/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Beautiful trip with hidden water falls!!

Reviewed by: Rolla, 2017/01/22

My wife and I had an amazing time on the horseback ride! Miley was such a great guide and knew a lot about the area. This was a great way to see more hidden gems of the big island! We went on the 5 hour ride and it was defiantly worth it. The lunch provided was delicious and nothing was better than a relaxing lunch next to a hidden waterfall! A+++


  • About half way through the trip!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/01/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Waterfall fun in a different way!

Reviewed by: Carrie Cortes, 2016/12/05

This waterfall was beautiful and there was no roads to get to it so it was much more secluded. The horses were all really sweet and good natured. The guides were amazing and very knowledgeable about the area and different plants. We did discover that we weren't quite in shape enough to ride a horse for 5 hours but other than that, a really great experience. My husband wanted to waterfall jump and I wanted to ride a horse. It was a win win!


  • Waterfall jumping


  • Lunch at the waterfall

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/05/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Beautiful ride

Reviewed by: Valenti, 2016/11/19

The ride they the forest was beautiful. The waterfalls breathtaking. The staff was friendly and informative. The horses were well taken care of. They told you the history of the area we rode in and the plans for the forest. They explained the Hawaiian history of the waterfalls and who used them. Horses were well trained. If you are expecting to trot or canter this is not the ride for you. Well worth the trip to enjoy the peaceful ride and the views.




Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/11/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Most awesome views of the island

Reviewed by: Troy and Sjoen, 2016/06/11

Horses we're very well trained and the ride was unique. A quick swim in the fresh-water waterfall pool was gorgeous and totally satisfying, perfect for any couple!


Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/06/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Excellent tour

Reviewed by: Caligrl63, 2015/11/14

This horseback ride tour was excellent! I would definitely recommend. Our guide Kevin gave us a short instruction on how to balance & everyone in our party found the information more helpful than any we have ever had. Ride was relaxing, beautiful, & fun. We would all definitely take this tour again!


Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2015/11/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

The Best Time, Views, and Brisk Swim in the falls!

Reviewed by: Bryn, 2015/11/02

This was one of the most beautiful rides ever totally worth the trip. The views from the vista overlooking the valley are a must! It's a must do!! Roy our guide was very informative. The horses are trail horses which is perfect so you can take in the views and take selfies as the horses know the way.


  • View of the valley and the Ocean!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/10/05
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

UNFORGETTABLE RIDE - A MUST DO WHEN IN THE BIG ISLAND

Reviewed by: Ana Ribeiro - Brazil, 2015/06/27

This activity was a true highlight of my trip to the Big Island. This horseback ride was simply amazing! Kevin and Joe are awesome people and very skilled guides. My horse was beautiful and the view of the valley absolutely stunning.

I really loved this adventure and couldn't stop talking about it with my friends when I returned to Brazil. I just hope I have the opportunity to do this again one day.

If you go to the Big Island, you need to experience it!!!


  • Thank you Joe!


  • Thank you Kevin!

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2015/06/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Horseback Ride with Waterall Swim

Reviewed by: Michigan Visitor, 2015/06/20

The two horseback guides were extremely knowledgeable and helpful. Our family was new to horseback riding. They were very clear when teaching us how to handle the horses. During our ride , they told us about the history of the area and the valley. In addition they taught about the trees and all the different types of vegetation. When we arrived at the waterfall they gave us plenty of time to get in the water and swim around and go under the waterfall. Joe even let us climb up the side of the waterfall and jump into the water. We were treated great. The staff was nice and friendly. This was one of the highlights of our trip to the Big Island.


  • At the Waterfall


  • Above the Valley

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2015/05/29
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

A day you'll never forget

Reviewed by: Imogene, 2015/04/26

A must do activity on the Big Island. The Waipi'o valley takes your breathe away with its beauty. Kevin and Chauncy were our guides and the riders ranged from experienced to never ridden before. The guys did an amazing job catering to all levels and ensuring a safe and fun experience. The horses are incredibly well trained and really comfortable to ride. I did the 5 hour trek and the waterfall swim in the private setting is a must...can't believe so few actually take the plunge and experience the magic of sitting under the waterfall. It's not all riding and there are well placed breaks so you don't get sore or feel worn after the day. the guides spend a lot of time ensuring great photos are taken so don't forget to bring a camera. Thanks team for a truly memorable experience.




Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2015/04/25
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

This was the best ride we have had

Reviewed by: David T, 2015/03/25

We met at the Waipio Artworks Studio at the appointed time. The staff was friendly and reminded us to take along snacks, which we purchased there. There was a family of five matched along with our group of three. This was there first time on horse back while thus was our third ride in Hawaii. We are novices but are getting better with each ride. The guides, Duane and Roy are both local boys friendly, knowledgeable but above all, put safety first. The ride we signed up for was the 2.5 hour valley rim riif. We ride the horses through the eucalyptus trees to the Waipio valley rim. We stopped to take in the beautiful waterfall. We had seen it from the valley floor a few years ago, but seeing it from up high was even more beautiful. We continued the ride to the ruin at the opening of the valley to see the spectacular view of the valley and the black and beach. We dismounted and spent some time taking a break and some pictures. Our guides to our family pictures. We mounted up and took a different trail down the mountain back to their stable. Usually, my knees hurt after a ride, but this time my knees felt great. I think this was because our guides set the stirrups perfectly for my short legs. I would take this rude again in a heartbeat the next time we are on the big island.



Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2015/03/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Horseback Ride Above Waipio Valley with Waterfall Swim / Hidden Waterfall Ride [5.5 Hours] Activity Date: 2015/01/15

Reviewed by: Diane, 2015/02/09

Absolutely amazing! Kevin was our guide, not only was he super nice, he was very knowledgeable of local plants, and animals and Hawaii's history. He also took a lot of pictures of us for us. We have a great shot of us right at the rim of the valley on our horses! A picture we will treasure forever! I was a beginner, Kevin was calm and his directions were clear, he made me feel at ease and I felt like a pro by the end of the ride. My boyfriend was experienced and had nothing but good things to say about the horses. The trip to the waterfall was more than worth the money! Absolutely breathtaking! My boyfriend and I swam to the falls where there is a ledge you can climb up and jump off of. Super fun! Water was freezing but still totally worth it! My horses' name was Flash and my boyfriends horse was Pono. Great horses, with good temperament. All the horses looked well taken care of. All in all great experience, would recommend this to anyone who loves beautiful scenery, horses, and waterfalls...who doesn't?!






Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/01/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Half Day Ride to Valley Rim

Reviewed by: Greg & Sonia Perkins, 2014/10/11

Attended this activity on 13th September 2014 and absolutely loved it. Our Guides were Roy & Puna and they were very experienced horseman. They provided us with a thorough briefing at the base station before heading off on the trail. The horses themselves are trained trail riders and virtually steer themselves. The views were spectacular and thoroughly worth the trek. We only had time for the half day trek and had to return to the base station with Roy, while Puna took the rest of the riders up to the waterfall for the swim. If we had our time over again, we would probably do the swim as it sounded great.


Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2014/09/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing Horseback Ride above Waipio Valley with Waterfall Swim

Reviewed by: Justin Kruger, 2014/07/01

Amazing from start to finish!! Would do it again in a heartbeat.







Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2014/06/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Absolutely amazing

Reviewed by: Heather, 2014/04/05

My husband and I went for the ride and it was beautiful and the best experience in our time in Hawaii. I have never ridden a horse before, so I was very nervous. I was given a very calm horse, Polo, who needed little guidance. I basically sat back and enjoyed the ride through the forest to the Waipio Valley. It was quiet, serene, and unforgettable.




Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2014/03/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing ride! Great staff!

Reviewed by: Jaci Berkopec, 2014/03/30

Gentle, easy ride! The staff was amazing and so nice and really knowledgeable about Hawaiian history, the surroundings, etc. Definitely a great way to see the valley!!



Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2014/03/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Best Experience on the Big Island!

Reviewed by: Natalie H., 2013/08/13

This horseback ride was a great experience for me and my two young children, ages 8 and 9. None of us had gone horseback riding before, so we did the shorter tour. Our guide Chauncey was absolutely amazing. He was knowledgeable, funny, and patient with us, allowing us to take our time hiking up the valley. He even had a few surprises for us. We learned all about the nature in the area, soaked up the beautiful scenery, and took lots of pictures. We thoroughly enjoyed the outing. I would definitely do this again and highly recommend it for people with young children. My girls are still talking about the horses and the fun day they had horseback riding Waipio Valley.


Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Trip

Reviewed by: Jessica, 2011/07/05

I have been riding numerous times on a farm. but never on a trail up a mountain but it was easy. Even if you are a first time rider the staff helps you learn everything. The horses were great and well behaved. The guides were awesome. Told us lots of information about the mountain, took our pictures in front of some great views. Overall, great trip.



Rating:
Attended as:Families
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fabulous time, a spectacular place

Reviewed by: Heather R., 2010/07/18

My husband and I enjoyed a nine night vacation in Hawaii. We enjoyed every minute of it, but both agree that the Waipio Valley horseback riding tour which took us to the lagoon/waterfall was our favorite part of the entire trip. The guides were friendly and helped us learn from the surroundings. Roy was my favorite guide, as he would point out different flowers to identify them, passed out white ginger flowers for us to smell (yum!) and was funny and helpful. The horses are slow - especially mine (Parker B) who was slow the whole time and even slower when going downhill. The views of the valley were amazing. But my favorite part was the trip to the lagoon. It was beautiful and although the water was chilly, it was very refreshing. I got some good photos of my husband in the water fall. Don't forget to climb a little higher to take pictures of the other waterfall, slightly above the main one. The ride down seemed a little long due to the fact that my rump could no longer find a comforta





Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Beautiful Sites! Excellet Guides!

Reviewed by: Tzeench, 2010/07/09

My wife, me and two friends took the 5.5 hour horseback tour to the hidden waterfall. We all had a great time and enjoyed the scenic overviews, forest, waterfall and the staff.

The only bad thing I can say, is that half way through the trip it started raining and continued to rain the rest of the trip. This wasn't totally unexpected. The lush green forests and undergrowth don't get that green without rain. The rain did influence our chose to not swim by the waterfall, but we were still able to enjoy the views and sounds of being in the valley.

We would recommend this trip to anyone who likes to experience something in a unique way. And would even recommend it to someone who has never ridden a horse before (they were very good with the new riders in our group).




Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Hawaiian Islands