This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Scenic Waipio Ridge Horseback Rides - Ride the Rim & Hidden Waterfalls

Such a great time!

Reviewed by: Kelley WC, 2010/01/26

My husband and I had a fantastic time on our trail ride last week. The tour guide (Chauncy - sp?) was wonderful and personable. My husband and I are very experienced riders, but there were several first timers in our group too. We all had a fabulous time! The horses were wonderful as well :) Highly recommend the 5.5 hour tour - it's well worth it!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Wonderful trip, geat staff

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2010/01/03

A very nice ride with terrific views from the rim of the valley. Staff was very helpful, patient with new riders, and informative--they enjoy leading these tours and it shows. Next time we'll book the longer trip--we all enjoyed this one a lot.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Gentle Jaunt

Reviewed by: Carolyn from England, 2009/11/04

After a careful introduction to Western Style riding, we were matched with our horses. Attention was paid to their needs as much as it was to the riders', so after watering them, checking girths and some basic reminders we set off through the eucalyptus forest. Our guide, Dwayne, informed us of the flora and fauna en route, which added to the value of this memorable trip along the rim of the valley. 5 hours passed fast, at a leisurely pace and although we were unable to swim in the falls, ( our choice due to the rain!), we still enjoyed a simple sandwich lunch, along with my first sampling of real sugar cane and strawberry guava, freshly picked for us. Our guides took photos for us, and our horses carefully picked their paths back down through the forest. The horses were responsive and knowledgeable, kind and considerate and safe - all in all, a fabulous experience not only for the riding, but also for the sampling of Hawaiian nature, spectacular views and genuinely passionate explanat

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Wonderful View and Experience!

Reviewed by: Colinator, 2009/10/24

Staff was friendly and very entertaining! Views of Waipi'o Valley were amazing! Horses were easy to ride. Nice walk through the lush Big Island forests. We did the 2 1/2 hour ride, but next time we go, we'll do the 5 1/2 ride to the waterfall. Would definitely do this again.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Mr. Chuck

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2009/06/27

I was under the impression that advanced riders would get a chance to "ride-out" since they insisted on knowing our skill level and recommended this ride for advanced riders. I also thought the price was expensive for what was provided and the length of the ride. It cost the same as a 2 day ride we took in Australia earlier this year that had an overnight and gourmet meals provided. Still the guide was congenial and the horses skilled. We had a good time.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Trip to the rim

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2009/02/18

Our ride was awesome, Lex was a great guide, very informative and made the ride interesting. I would recommend this ride for all ages. Lex never made any of us feel like we were not able to do the ride, 2 out of the 3 of us were not horse experienced.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing

Reviewed by: Vinay Singh, 2008/09/04

Amazing experience, I was first timer on horse back and it was so easy and so much fun with adventure. I recommend it to every one and specially the first timers.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing ride

Reviewed by: Ole, 2008/08/16

This activity was with one word: Amazing. I have never sat on a horse before, and I found the ride easy and pleasurable. The staff was very competent and helpful, as well as a whole lot of fun. The horses were friendly and easy to ride, even for a first-timer. The vistas were spectacular, and this is definately a ride I would recommend to anyone interested in a great natural experience.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Beauty of the Big Island

Reviewed by: Richard Starr, 2007/09/19

My wife and I enjoyed the Waipio Ridge Horseback Ride. Roy and Les made the ride very enjoyable and were great hosts. Roy was especially knowledgeable on the plants and history of the valley. We would recommend this ride to anyone that wants to see the beauty of Hawaii up close and virtually undisturbed. Thanks for a great time.

Rick and Sharon Starr

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
1 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Waipio Valley Rim Ride

Reviewed by: Amy, 2007/09/18

Best activity we did the entire trip!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
1 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Waipio Valley Horseback Ride

Reviewed by: Chuck, 2007/09/07

As a family of 5 who had never riden horses the thought of the 5 hour trip was a bit scary. The guides were great in preparing us and especially helping our 10 year old get over her fear at the start. We all had a great time.

The only down side was that we got a drizzily day and we didn't feel the need to swim under the waterfall. Rookies like us might want to consider the shorter ride. The last hour wore on us a bit. But we would do the 5 hour again.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
1 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

What nice views.

Reviewed by: ashley, 2007/07/23

This activity will take you to see amazing views of waterfalls and mountains however I thought that they overexaggerated a little bit on the details of this activity. It makes you think that you are going to get right up next to a waterfall and you dont. They take you to a cliff with an amazing view of waterfalls in the distance and the shoreline but you are no where near these waterfalls. The staff were very nice however and the ride was pleasent. I will definitlty go horseback riding in the future if I go back to hawaii, I would just sign up with a different activity so that I would be able to see different sights.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Waipio Ridge stables

Reviewed by: Steve, 2007/07/11

This was a great day. Travis and Al (the trail guides) could not have been more helpful, informative, or understanding. No one in our group had ever been on a horse before, but we were all ready to be cowboys by the end of the day. It was also nice to talk to real Hawaiians that were not 'on stage' like so many of the tourist places that we have been to. The only negative was that they started the tour one hour earlier than planned, but we did not have a schedule, so we could easily adapt. The trail went out to the edge of 900 foot cliffs where you could look down at taro farms and black sand beaches. Bring your 4wd, because you will want to drive down afterwards. Thanks to everyone involved.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
2 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Untitled

Reviewed by: Marilyn Fulton, 2007/07/02

The two Hawaiian guides that rode with our group were very good. The one in front of the group told us a lot of informative items about the flora and fauna of the area we were riding through. The one disappointment was the fact that I had to WALK my horse through almost the entire ride. I understand insurance liability, but those of us who do know how to ride and handle a horse should be given the opportunity to do so, even if it means signing a waiver of liability. It would have made the ride more fun and challenging to run the horses a bit.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
Page | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | Next

Hawaiian Islands