This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Scenic Waipio Ridge Horseback Rides - Ride the Rim & Hidden Waterfalls

awesome experience with my parents

Reviewed by: cha, 2014/11/16

It was a mountain road horse riding. EXCITING!! My both parents said fun fun fun during this activity. And Joe helped us a lot including taking photoes of us and sending it immediately. THANKS!! Highly recommendable.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2014/11/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Beautiful Horseback ride

Reviewed by: MIssy, 2014/11/10

This horseback ride was terrific! The wranglers were enjoyable and the scenery was beautiful!! the ride was easy even for unexperienced. i highly recommend the ride.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2014/11/05
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Half Day Ride to Valley Rim

Reviewed by: Greg & Sonia Perkins, 2014/10/11

Attended this activity on 13th September 2014 and absolutely loved it. Our Guides were Roy & Puna and they were very experienced horseman. They provided us with a thorough briefing at the base station before heading off on the trail. The horses themselves are trained trail riders and virtually steer themselves. The views were spectacular and thoroughly worth the trek. We only had time for the half day trek and had to return to the base station with Roy, while Puna took the rest of the riders up to the waterfall for the swim. If we had our time over again, we would probably do the swim as it sounded great.


Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2014/09/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fantastic experience

Reviewed by: Aimee, 2014/09/13

Experience was amazing! Staff very professional, felt safe and looked after for a complete beginner rider
Food was decent. Waterfall swim was sensational. Enough time to swim and relax and get dry again before heading back. Views of waterfall and forest were beautiful
Would do it again!!!!!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2014/09/10
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Horseback ride WITHOUT waterfall swim

Reviewed by: LMC, 2014/09/01

Great trip, I highly recommend it, but the trip was advertised as "Horseback Ride Above Waipio Valley with Waterfall Swim/Valley Rim Ride [2.5 Hours]". There was NO waterfall swim and our guides were very surprised to learn the trip had been advertised this way. They only do the waterfall swim on much longer rides. Nevertheless, we had a great time.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2014/08/28
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fun ride

Reviewed by: Kat Fish, 2014/08/30

Great horses, nice shady trail, beautiful waterfalls, awesome guides.
I highly recommend this ride.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2014/08/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

great ride

Reviewed by: Debra Cooper, 2014/08/22

beautiful ride with friendly and knowledgeable guides

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2014/08/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Beautiful waipio valley

Reviewed by: Kara, 2014/07/19

Excellent! The guides were wonderful. Beautiful and relaxing!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2014/06/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing Horseback Ride above Waipio Valley with Waterfall Swim

Reviewed by: Justin Kruger, 2014/07/01

Amazing from start to finish!! Would do it again in a heartbeat.







Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2014/06/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great time

Reviewed by: Justin, 2014/05/23

Went with just me and my girlfriend for the tour. Roy was our wrangler, he was a cool guy and made it a good time. She had never rode but said it was the best day of her life. Horses did their job just fine. No, you can't run them but the terrain is pretty rough for most of it and you'd prob have a wreck if you tried. Recommended.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2014/05/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great experience

Reviewed by: Taythomp2, 2014/05/15

This guided tour was a wonderful experience. The two men in charge were knowledgable of the surrounding area and were very friendly and talkative. They provided thorough instructions on how to safely navigate the area on horseback. Worth your money and time!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2014/05/05
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Waipio Valley Waterfall Ride

Reviewed by: Mart Mt Girl, 2014/04/27

A true highlight of our trip to the Big Island, the horseback ride was simply wonderful. We spent the day exploring the area by horseback and seeing stunning views of the valley and cliffs. Our horses were wonderful and both guides were excellent. Being able to ride out to a lovely waterfall and swim in the brisk but invigorating pool was such a treat. We loved our adventure.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2014/04/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Absolutely amazing

Reviewed by: Heather, 2014/04/05

My husband and I went for the ride and it was beautiful and the best experience in our time in Hawaii. I have never ridden a horse before, so I was very nervous. I was given a very calm horse, Polo, who needed little guidance. I basically sat back and enjoyed the ride through the forest to the Waipio Valley. It was quiet, serene, and unforgettable.




Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2014/03/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing ride! Great staff!

Reviewed by: Jaci Berkopec, 2014/03/30

Gentle, easy ride! The staff was amazing and so nice and really knowledgeable about Hawaiian history, the surroundings, etc. Definitely a great way to see the valley!!



Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2014/03/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

horseback ride

Reviewed by: mike, 2014/03/19

great time our guides were awesome my partner and I really enjoyed the full day ride the dip in the falls was refreshing the horses well behaved even though my partner has minor mobility issues our guides were more than helpfull

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2014/02/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Best Experience on the Big Island!

Reviewed by: Natalie H., 2013/08/13

This horseback ride was a great experience for me and my two young children, ages 8 and 9. None of us had gone horseback riding before, so we did the shorter tour. Our guide Chauncey was absolutely amazing. He was knowledgeable, funny, and patient with us, allowing us to take our time hiking up the valley. He even had a few surprises for us. We learned all about the nature in the area, soaked up the beautiful scenery, and took lots of pictures. We thoroughly enjoyed the outing. I would definitely do this again and highly recommend it for people with young children. My girls are still talking about the horses and the fun day they had horseback riding Waipio Valley.


Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fantastic ride by experienced horse folk

Reviewed by: Paula, 2013/05/30

We were looking for the perfect ride in the perfect location and this ride delivered. Highly recommend and will be taking this tour again.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2013/05/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Nice adventure in a decent area

Reviewed by: Daniel Gattiker, 2013/01/20

My wife and I had a great time, while riding to the waterfall and watching the beautiful area of Waipo.
Waterfall is awesome to see, water is cold but worthwhile taking a bath.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

The Ride

Reviewed by: Chuck & Ans, 2012/10/22

We had ithe most wonderful time this was due the beautiful inland, the ride in the area with the best views and our guide what a wonderful person. We arrived at the check in point and was pickup then off to meet our horses, our guide had sure a love for job it made the whole day perfect. We would like to take a second just to say thank you so much for the wonderful 5.5 hours enjoyment with her love for the job and love of Hawaii. Thanks again for the wonderful time on 10-10-12.

Chuck and Ans

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great experience

Reviewed by: Michelle Rojas Luna, 2012/10/06

My husband and I were celebrating our honeymoon in Hawaii and one of the activities I wanted to do was horseback riding. It was my husbands first time on a horse and the staff really helped us feel comfortable riding. The views were amazing, the horses were calm as they ate the plants throughout the ride, and the staff were super friendly and even funny. We rode to a beautiful private waterfall and had lunch there. It was super peaceful and the whole ride was great to take memorable pictures. We would recommend this horseback riding to everyone. Thank u!!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Best Big Island Activity!

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2012/04/18

I highly recommend the Waipio Ridge Stables. My husband and I went on the hidden waterfall ride. It was AMAZING! The views are breathtaking and unlike anything I've ever seen. The guides were great, and full of knowledge on the area. We had a lot of fun, and were even able to swim in the refreshing pool beneath the waterfall where we also enjoyed a nice sandwich lunch which they had provided. This horseback tour was the highlight of our week long stay on the Big Island, I can't wait to go back the next time we're in Hawaii.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Above Waipo

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2012/01/04

The guides were great and very friendly, the view from the ridge was outstanding. We did the 2.5 hr ride which was perfect, my backside would not have enjoyed 2 more hrs of riding.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Horseback riding above Waipio

Reviewed by: Diana, 2011/11/14

We had a great time horseback riding, the view from the rim was fantastic. Would definitely do this again.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Hidden Falls Horseback Ride

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2011/08/21

Amazing scenery, horses were responsive and fun to ride, "Uncle Roy" and other wranglers were great. We enjoyed learning local lore.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

great guides and horses

Reviewed by: joanne alberry, charles i, 2011/08/19

this was so amazing. the weather did not cooperate but even so, i'd do this tour again and again! beautiful and fun.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Trip

Reviewed by: Jessica, 2011/07/05

I have been riding numerous times on a farm. but never on a trail up a mountain but it was easy. Even if you are a first time rider the staff helps you learn everything. The horses were great and well behaved. The guides were awesome. Told us lots of information about the mountain, took our pictures in front of some great views. Overall, great trip.



Rating:
Attended as:Families
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

A must do activity!

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2010/08/05

This was my second time doing this horseback ride and it was worth every penny even the second time around. I went on the ride a few years ago with a good friend, but this time I was back with my hubby and I wanted to go on it with him. We attended the 5 hour/waterfall ride and it was so great! He loved it and we had a great time! You are able to see some spectular views of the island that you can't see otherwise! A definite must do!!!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Horseback Above Waipio

Reviewed by: Paul, 2010/07/29

Excellent. To start, driving through the small towns looking for the pick-up point was wonderful and provided good opportunity to view this side of the island.
The 2.5 hour ride was awesome, scenery beautiful and something you just can't capture on film.
The wranglers were very professional and knowledgeable. Not only did we see beautiful scenery, but we also learned a lot of history surrounding Waipio, thanks to Chauncey one of the wranglers. The horses were very good stock and wonderful to ride.
If you have a chance, don't miss this opportunity to view Waipio, this amazing slice of natural beauty and well worth the journey to this side of the Big Island

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fabulous time, a spectacular place

Reviewed by: Heather R., 2010/07/18

My husband and I enjoyed a nine night vacation in Hawaii. We enjoyed every minute of it, but both agree that the Waipio Valley horseback riding tour which took us to the lagoon/waterfall was our favorite part of the entire trip. The guides were friendly and helped us learn from the surroundings. Roy was my favorite guide, as he would point out different flowers to identify them, passed out white ginger flowers for us to smell (yum!) and was funny and helpful. The horses are slow - especially mine (Parker B) who was slow the whole time and even slower when going downhill. The views of the valley were amazing. But my favorite part was the trip to the lagoon. It was beautiful and although the water was chilly, it was very refreshing. I got some good photos of my husband in the water fall. Don't forget to climb a little higher to take pictures of the other waterfall, slightly above the main one. The ride down seemed a little long due to the fact that my rump could no longer find a comforta





Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Beautiful Sites! Excellet Guides!

Reviewed by: Tzeench, 2010/07/09

My wife, me and two friends took the 5.5 hour horseback tour to the hidden waterfall. We all had a great time and enjoyed the scenic overviews, forest, waterfall and the staff.

The only bad thing I can say, is that half way through the trip it started raining and continued to rain the rest of the trip. This wasn't totally unexpected. The lush green forests and undergrowth don't get that green without rain. The rain did influence our chose to not swim by the waterfall, but we were still able to enjoy the views and sounds of being in the valley.

We would recommend this trip to anyone who likes to experience something in a unique way. And would even recommend it to someone who has never ridden a horse before (they were very good with the new riders in our group).




Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
Page | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 |

Hawaiian Islands