This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Scenic Waipio Ridge Horseback Rides - Ride the Rim & Hidden Waterfalls

Beautiful trip with hidden water falls!!

Reviewed by: Rolla, 2017/01/22

My wife and I had an amazing time on the horseback ride! Miley was such a great guide and knew a lot about the area. This was a great way to see more hidden gems of the big island! We went on the 5 hour ride and it was defiantly worth it. The lunch provided was delicious and nothing was better than a relaxing lunch next to a hidden waterfall! A+++


  • About half way through the trip!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/01/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Waterfall fun in a different way!

Reviewed by: Carrie Cortes, 2016/12/05

This waterfall was beautiful and there was no roads to get to it so it was much more secluded. The horses were all really sweet and good natured. The guides were amazing and very knowledgeable about the area and different plants. We did discover that we weren't quite in shape enough to ride a horse for 5 hours but other than that, a really great experience. My husband wanted to waterfall jump and I wanted to ride a horse. It was a win win!


  • Waterfall jumping


  • Lunch at the waterfall

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/05/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Beautiful ride

Reviewed by: Valenti, 2016/11/19

The ride they the forest was beautiful. The waterfalls breathtaking. The staff was friendly and informative. The horses were well taken care of. They told you the history of the area we rode in and the plans for the forest. They explained the Hawaiian history of the waterfalls and who used them. Horses were well trained. If you are expecting to trot or canter this is not the ride for you. Well worth the trip to enjoy the peaceful ride and the views.




Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/11/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing service

Reviewed by: Lena, 2016/11/11

What a fantastic trip! This was definitely the highlight of our vacation. Our guide Jamie was wonderful. So informative and friendly, he made the trip extra special. Jamie provided great service and took plenty of photos with our camera for us. The views and the waterfall swim were breathtaking. Would definitely do this again!

Reply from activity provider

aloha Lena, thank you for your wonderful feedback. we are happy you truly enjoyed your ride and appreciate your taking time to share your experience with us. yes, Jamie is awesome! and our views, waterfall swim is truly breathtaking. thank you for rating us 5 stars!!. we are so happy, that our tour provided excellent service to you. knowing that you would definitely do this again, makes us so happy to hear. see you again in the future, aloha waipi'o ridge stables.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/11/09
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Horseback ride

Reviewed by: Barb, 2016/08/29

A little long of a ride but the staff were very safety conscious and professional. The waterfall swim was Great!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/08/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

loved it

Reviewed by: a fan, 2016/07/09

I appreciated the fact that our guides where local people who loved the land and shared their enthusiasum. They showed us the local fauna and their beneficial and medicinal properties. I loved hearing the history of the land and how it is like today. We got some amazing photographs. We couldn't ask for a more clear and beautiful day.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2016/06/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

What a Wonderful Experience

Reviewed by: Brandy Wagner, 2016/06/20

My friend and I took our sons on this ride above the Waipio Valley and we had the best day!! Our guides were great and the horses were the best! Beautiful scenery. We all loved it!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2016/06/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Horseback tour

Reviewed by: Derrick, 2016/06/16

The tour guide was excellent and the overall experience was good, the only thing I can complain about was the lack of scenery, we were just walking through the woods most of the time. We did make one stop with an amazing view but that was it. The pictures on the website are not from the tour, they showed open fields and waterfalls and a bunch of other great areas, but we did not see any of it on the tour. Even the girl that I booked the tour with on the phone said it was a beautiful tour but like I said just trees and woods.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/06/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great View and Lovely Horses!

Reviewed by: Perlyn, 2016/06/12

This was a very fun way of exploring the forest and viewing the beautiful Waipio Valley. The horses were beautiful and gentle. The guides were great and knowledgeable about the forest and valley. Had such a great time here! The guides took beautiful photos of the horseback rides. This was an activity to remember!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2016/06/09
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Most awesome views of the island

Reviewed by: Troy and Sjoen, 2016/06/11

Horses we're very well trained and the ride was unique. A quick swim in the fresh-water waterfall pool was gorgeous and totally satisfying, perfect for any couple!


Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/06/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Cowboy Legs

Reviewed by: Cowgirl , 2016/05/29

What a wonderful place for horseback riding! I loved it. I would suggest this activity towards the end of your vacation because your legs or bum may get sore if you aren't used to riding.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2016/05/25
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Romantic, relaxing ride

Reviewed by: Katie, 2016/05/09

I booked this ride as a surprise for my husband on our honeymoon. The guides were extremely professional, the horses were well trained and the ride was amazing. We chose the shorter ride (2.5 hrs) and it was the perfect length for us. We were the only ones who turned back for the shorter ride but only commiting the morning to an activity was exactly what we wanted and neither of us was too sore after the ride. The ride, in fact, was rather relaxing. The horses need very little guidance and aside from preventing my horse from trying to eat the whole ride (I rode Flash, he was very sweet and mellow. We got along great) I could just sit back and enjoy the scenery. Would definitely book this trip again and it may have even inspired me to do more riding in the future.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/04/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Weather Did Not Stop the Ride

Reviewed by: Brad , 2016/02/10

The experience was amazing. Even though it was poring rain, our guide gave us the option to go on the ride or get our money back. We decided to take a ride in the rain. Our guide was well informed and very friendly. I would highly recommend the trip.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/02/07
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

great ride

Reviewed by: Seth, 2016/02/07

We enjoyed the ride very much. If we did it again we'd probably opt for the 2.5 hour one instead, as it was a very long ride and the best views were done and overwith before the 2.5 hour group turned back. Only actual complaint is that the horse my wife had really seems to be beyond the point of being able to handle a ride like that well. She had to work very hard to get the horse to keep moving, and she lagged behind the entire 5 hours because her horse seemed to be struggling the entire way. I think that horse should retire from the long rides. Joe and Roy were awesome. Would recommend to anyone to do this ride.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/02/02
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Perfect afternoon in Paradise

Reviewed by: Lisa, 2016/01/29

Our guides Roy and Joe were great! The scenery was amazing and before the ride was over we were treated to the sweet sounds of a serenade. From our first stop on the rim we were even treated to the sight of humpbacks - yes, you can absolutely see them from that distance and you will be awed!!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2016/01/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Horse Back Riding - Spectacular

Reviewed by: Cameron, 2016/01/02

Took my 10 year old daughter and what an unbelievable experience. The staff, the horses, the scenery was all top notch. It was the right amount of time and really felt like I got my money's worth. But once again the staff made everyone feel very comfortable even those that hadn't been on a horse before.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2015/12/30
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Excellent tour

Reviewed by: Caligrl63, 2015/11/14

This horseback ride tour was excellent! I would definitely recommend. Our guide Kevin gave us a short instruction on how to balance & everyone in our party found the information more helpful than any we have ever had. Ride was relaxing, beautiful, & fun. We would all definitely take this tour again!


Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2015/11/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Loved this ride!!

Reviewed by: Jennifer, 2015/11/12

This ride went above and beyond my expectations. Our guide, Kevin, was knowledgable, friendly and encouraging. I'm a beginner-level rider and he was very patient, kind and detail-oriented while helping me on the horse, and while I was riding. He was great about giving useful tips about riding without being overwhelming. As far as the ride itself, Kevin would go and pick different flowers or plants to show them to us, allow us to smell or taste them (like wild ginger). It was an awesome and educational ride. The beauty of the ride was phenomenal as well. Waipio Valley, and the ride to the rim, is gorgeous. Once we got up to the top Kevin gave us a little history lesson about the Valley. Everything about the experience was fantastic. Definitely a highlight of the trip and worth every penny. I walked away feeling very encouraged and confident about horseback riding (I want a horse! haha) and educated about the valley we visited. Perfect.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/11/07
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

The Best Time, Views, and Brisk Swim in the falls!

Reviewed by: Bryn, 2015/11/02

This was one of the most beautiful rides ever totally worth the trip. The views from the vista overlooking the valley are a must! It's a must do!! Roy our guide was very informative. The horses are trail horses which is perfect so you can take in the views and take selfies as the horses know the way.


  • View of the valley and the Ocean!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/10/05
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing--- Do It!

Reviewed by: The Gardners, 2015/10/29

Took my family on this adventure and it was spectacular. My girls especially appreciated the swim under the waterfall. The guides were extremely knowledgeable and courteous. My wife and girls loved this and it really was worth the money. Make sure you bring the camera because you get really great shots along the way.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2015/10/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Time!

Reviewed by: SQLS Family, 2015/09/05

Our cruise itinerary was changed completely due to weather. The wonderful folks at Veltra were already aware of the change by the time we reached the ship. They promptly telephoned and emailed to re-schedule. We were also given the option to cancel at no charge.

We decided to reschedule and I'm glad we did. After a short orientation. Roy escorted us on a peaceful horseback ride that took us to wonderful views of the Waipio Valley, waterfall and black sand beach. The views were breathtaking... time we'll spent.

I would recommend to anyone looking for family fun, adventure, and an all around great afternoon.

Thank you

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/09/02
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

UNFORGETTABLE RIDE - A MUST DO WHEN IN THE BIG ISLAND

Reviewed by: Ana Ribeiro - Brazil, 2015/06/27

This activity was a true highlight of my trip to the Big Island. This horseback ride was simply amazing! Kevin and Joe are awesome people and very skilled guides. My horse was beautiful and the view of the valley absolutely stunning.

I really loved this adventure and couldn't stop talking about it with my friends when I returned to Brazil. I just hope I have the opportunity to do this again one day.

If you go to the Big Island, you need to experience it!!!


  • Thank you Joe!


  • Thank you Kevin!

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2015/06/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Horseback Ride with Waterall Swim

Reviewed by: Michigan Visitor, 2015/06/20

The two horseback guides were extremely knowledgeable and helpful. Our family was new to horseback riding. They were very clear when teaching us how to handle the horses. During our ride , they told us about the history of the area and the valley. In addition they taught about the trees and all the different types of vegetation. When we arrived at the waterfall they gave us plenty of time to get in the water and swim around and go under the waterfall. Joe even let us climb up the side of the waterfall and jump into the water. We were treated great. The staff was nice and friendly. This was one of the highlights of our trip to the Big Island.


  • At the Waterfall


  • Above the Valley

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2015/05/29
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

A day you'll never forget

Reviewed by: Imogene, 2015/04/26

A must do activity on the Big Island. The Waipi'o valley takes your breathe away with its beauty. Kevin and Chauncy were our guides and the riders ranged from experienced to never ridden before. The guys did an amazing job catering to all levels and ensuring a safe and fun experience. The horses are incredibly well trained and really comfortable to ride. I did the 5 hour trek and the waterfall swim in the private setting is a must...can't believe so few actually take the plunge and experience the magic of sitting under the waterfall. It's not all riding and there are well placed breaks so you don't get sore or feel worn after the day. the guides spend a lot of time ensuring great photos are taken so don't forget to bring a camera. Thanks team for a truly memorable experience.




Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2015/04/25
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Horseback riding with waterfall swim

Reviewed by: Tarra M, 2015/04/12

Great experience, knowledgable guides who were great with my first time riders! The only thing is I wish I had remembered to bring towels (guides have a big saddle bag for them), ladies it's a good idea to bring your own tissue ( outhouses are not girl friendly) and bring water shoes for the waterfall, it's a bit Rocky on the bottom. Overall a wonderfully fun family day!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2015/04/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Real Paniolos!

Reviewed by: Leslie, 2015/04/06

These guys are the real deal! Not only was it a beautiful escape into tall eucalyptus Forrest to panoramic scenes- Kevin and Joe spent extra time with my daughter who is an avid and skilled rider and have her a little more authentic experience- but for me to ride through the Forrest- listening to the trees talk as the afternoon winds blew to be surprised by cowboy Joe singing a Hawaiian cowboy song through the wind- I highly recommend this for a must-do activity on Hawaii

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2015/04/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

This was the best ride we have had

Reviewed by: David T, 2015/03/25

We met at the Waipio Artworks Studio at the appointed time. The staff was friendly and reminded us to take along snacks, which we purchased there. There was a family of five matched along with our group of three. This was there first time on horse back while thus was our third ride in Hawaii. We are novices but are getting better with each ride. The guides, Duane and Roy are both local boys friendly, knowledgeable but above all, put safety first. The ride we signed up for was the 2.5 hour valley rim riif. We ride the horses through the eucalyptus trees to the Waipio valley rim. We stopped to take in the beautiful waterfall. We had seen it from the valley floor a few years ago, but seeing it from up high was even more beautiful. We continued the ride to the ruin at the opening of the valley to see the spectacular view of the valley and the black and beach. We dismounted and spent some time taking a break and some pictures. Our guides to our family pictures. We mounted up and took a different trail down the mountain back to their stable. Usually, my knees hurt after a ride, but this time my knees felt great. I think this was because our guides set the stirrups perfectly for my short legs. I would take this rude again in a heartbeat the next time we are on the big island.



Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2015/03/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Horseback Ride Above Waipio Valley with Waterfall Swim / Hidden Waterfall Ride [5.5 Hours] Activity Date: 2015/01/15

Reviewed by: Diane, 2015/02/09

Absolutely amazing! Kevin was our guide, not only was he super nice, he was very knowledgeable of local plants, and animals and Hawaii's history. He also took a lot of pictures of us for us. We have a great shot of us right at the rim of the valley on our horses! A picture we will treasure forever! I was a beginner, Kevin was calm and his directions were clear, he made me feel at ease and I felt like a pro by the end of the ride. My boyfriend was experienced and had nothing but good things to say about the horses. The trip to the waterfall was more than worth the money! Absolutely breathtaking! My boyfriend and I swam to the falls where there is a ledge you can climb up and jump off of. Super fun! Water was freezing but still totally worth it! My horses' name was Flash and my boyfriends horse was Pono. Great horses, with good temperament. All the horses looked well taken care of. All in all great experience, would recommend this to anyone who loves beautiful scenery, horses, and waterfalls...who doesn't?!






Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/01/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fabulous experience!

Reviewed by: Julie , 2014/12/30

My family of 4 had a great morning horseback riding. You do not need to have prior experience riding to feel comfortable on this ride. The horses are very well mannered and know where they are going. Chauncey and Joe were great guides. The group was small and they made sure that everyone got individualized attention. They even took our cameras and made sure to get pictures of the entire family. The views were gorgeous of the Waipio. I would definitely recommend this activity.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2014/12/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Best Horseback ride in Hawaii

Reviewed by: Jay Brown, 2014/12/19

This ride was breath taking and the horses were as awesome as the guides on the ride. Definitely worth the price to ride. Lush forest and beautiful waterfalls are only part of the things to view on your ride.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
Page | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 |

Hawaiian Islands