This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Scenic Waipio Ridge Horseback Rides - Ride the Rim & Hidden Waterfalls


Attended as (Families with Young Children) Reviews

Waipio Valley horse back riding

Reviewed by: Marie Salemi , 2018/07/26

We booked the 5 hour trip, but it was very cloudy and rainy and they allowed us to switch to the 2 1/2 . They offered us to come back the next day. Our hotel was 90 minutes from the stables so we didn’t want to do the drive again. The view was disappointing due to the valley was covered in clouds, but they made the best of it and we had a great time riding Thru the forest. The clouds rolled away for a few minutes to give us a glimpse of the beautiful Waipio Valley. Our guides were amazing. My kids were 12, 14 and 16 and the horses were great with them

  • Look at the cloud coverage behind us:(

  • Our horses while we were looking at the valley.

  • This was our glimpse of the view with when the clouds rolled away

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2018/07/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Waipio valley overlook horseback ride

Reviewed by: Curt Stidham, 2017/05/07

We had a very enjoyable ride and the view was fantastic. We would recommend this as a fun ride for all experience levels.

  • Great ride!

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2017/04/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fun ride

Reviewed by: Kat Fish, 2014/08/30

Great horses, nice shady trail, beautiful waterfalls, awesome guides.
I highly recommend this ride.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2014/08/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Best Experience on the Big Island!

Reviewed by: Natalie H., 2013/08/13

This horseback ride was a great experience for me and my two young children, ages 8 and 9. None of us had gone horseback riding before, so we did the shorter tour. Our guide Chauncey was absolutely amazing. He was knowledgeable, funny, and patient with us, allowing us to take our time hiking up the valley. He even had a few surprises for us. We learned all about the nature in the area, soaked up the beautiful scenery, and took lots of pictures. We thoroughly enjoyed the outing. I would definitely do this again and highly recommend it for people with young children. My girls are still talking about the horses and the fun day they had horseback riding Waipio Valley.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Above Waipo

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2012/01/04

The guides were great and very friendly, the view from the ridge was outstanding. We did the 2.5 hr ride which was perfect, my backside would not have enjoyed 2 more hrs of riding.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Hidden Falls Horseback Ride

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2011/08/21

Amazing scenery, horses were responsive and fun to ride, "Uncle Roy" and other wranglers were great. We enjoyed learning local lore.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Horseback Above Waipio

Reviewed by: Paul, 2010/07/29

Excellent. To start, driving through the small towns looking for the pick-up point was wonderful and provided good opportunity to view this side of the island.
The 2.5 hour ride was awesome, scenery beautiful and something you just can't capture on film.
The wranglers were very professional and knowledgeable. Not only did we see beautiful scenery, but we also learned a lot of history surrounding Waipio, thanks to Chauncey one of the wranglers. The horses were very good stock and wonderful to ride.
If you have a chance, don't miss this opportunity to view Waipio, this amazing slice of natural beauty and well worth the journey to this side of the Big Island

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Wonderful trip, geat staff

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2010/01/03

A very nice ride with terrific views from the rim of the valley. Staff was very helpful, patient with new riders, and informative--they enjoy leading these tours and it shows. Next time we'll book the longer trip--we all enjoyed this one a lot.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Trip to the rim

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2009/02/18

Our ride was awesome, Lex was a great guide, very informative and made the ride interesting. I would recommend this ride for all ages. Lex never made any of us feel like we were not able to do the ride, 2 out of the 3 of us were not horse experienced.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing ride

Reviewed by: Ole, 2008/08/16

This activity was with one word: Amazing. I have never sat on a horse before, and I found the ride easy and pleasurable. The staff was very competent and helpful, as well as a whole lot of fun. The horses were friendly and easy to ride, even for a first-timer. The vistas were spectacular, and this is definately a ride I would recommend to anyone interested in a great natural experience.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Beauty of the Big Island

Reviewed by: Richard Starr, 2007/09/19

My wife and I enjoyed the Waipio Ridge Horseback Ride. Roy and Les made the ride very enjoyable and were great hosts. Roy was especially knowledgeable on the plants and history of the valley. We would recommend this ride to anyone that wants to see the beauty of Hawaii up close and virtually undisturbed. Thanks for a great time.

Rick and Sharon Starr

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
1 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Waipio Valley Horseback Ride

Reviewed by: Chuck, 2007/09/07

As a family of 5 who had never riden horses the thought of the 5 hour trip was a bit scary. The guides were great in preparing us and especially helping our 10 year old get over her fear at the start. We all had a great time.

The only down side was that we got a drizzily day and we didn't feel the need to swim under the waterfall. Rookies like us might want to consider the shorter ride. The last hour wore on us a bit. But we would do the 5 hour again.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
1 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Untitled

Reviewed by: Marilyn Fulton, 2007/07/02

The two Hawaiian guides that rode with our group were very good. The one in front of the group told us a lot of informative items about the flora and fauna of the area we were riding through. The one disappointment was the fact that I had to WALK my horse through almost the entire ride. I understand insurance liability, but those of us who do know how to ride and handle a horse should be given the opportunity to do so, even if it means signing a waiver of liability. It would have made the ride more fun and challenging to run the horses a bit.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Hawaiian Islands