This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Scenic Waipio Ridge Horseback Rides - Ride the Rim & Hidden Waterfalls


Attended as (Families) Reviews

Excellent 2 1/2 horse ride.

Reviewed by: Kim and kids, 2019/02/11

Great ride, great hosts. Seemed like all enjoyed it from those who had never ridden to the very experienced riders. Surefooted horses reliable but not deadbeats. Beautiful area and lots of history and personal stories shared.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2019/02/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

We had a wonderful time, and the ride was well presented. Our guide was knowledgeable and sweet.

Reviewed by: Vandy Walker, 2018/07/05

Thanks, for the great time in the mountains of Hawaii. I loved the trip and enjoyed our ride.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2018/06/29
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Waipio overlook on horseback

Reviewed by: Todd, 2018/06/18

My family and I try to ride horses when we take our vacations and this tour did not disappoint. The horses were well trained, the guides were knowledgeable and patient, and the scenery was spectacular. The waterfall swim was exceptional and a unique opportunity. We'd do it again.

Reply from activity provider

Mahalo Todd for your positive feedback we really appreciate it, we are happy to hear that you and your family all enjoyed your adventure with us. Knowing you folks enjoyed yourselves makes us happy, that is our goal to provide an fun family tour while sharing knowledge and history of our home. Mahalo Waipi’o Ridge Stables!!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2018/06/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Waipio Ridge Horseback Rides & Hidden Waterfalls

Reviewed by: Kurt, 2017/12/03

とても楽しかったが、やはり5時間は少々長すぎた。
ガイドの皆さんはとてもフレンドリーで馬の扱いが初めての者にも丁寧に教えてくれた。

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/07/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

2.5 Hr horse ride

Reviewed by: Jasper, 2017/11/03

It was okay, and we have very little riding experience, but still enjoy the trip.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/10/30
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Horeseback rain trail

Reviewed by: Ronda, 2017/10/19

It was awesome we had Leah and Ronald they were terrific...I'd like to do it again when it's not raining

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/10/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Ride

Reviewed by: NottaRider, 2017/08/19

Had a great time and the views of the valley were awesome. The owners fit the horses to the riders in both experience and personality. They live down in the Waipio Valley and don't mind sharing their knowledge of the area and thoroughly enjoy what they are doing.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/07/25
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

ワイピオ渓谷の乗馬

Reviewed by: ゆうき, 2017/08/19

2日くらい前に申し込みました。ワイピオ渓谷に降りて行くのかと思っていたのですが、リムの乗馬でした。予約の1時間前に集合場所に着いたのですが、集合時間過ぎにやっと人が来ました。
ガイドさんもよい人たちでワイピオ渓谷に住んでいるので住んでいる人の話も聞けてよかったです。
馬の歩く道は個人の土地なので許可なく行くことはできません。
次回はワイピオ渓谷におりるツアーに参加したいです。
すぐにいっぱいになるらしいので早めの予約がオススメです。

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/08/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Waipio Valley on Horseback

Reviewed by: Tiff, 2017/08/04

My family and I had a blast on this ride. They were very accompanying to my 70 year old grandma and my inexpierieced boyfriend and mom. They took three nervous riders and helped create a comfortable atmosphere by matching each rider to their respective horse based on experience and personality! The history and views, despite the rainy day, were unforgettable! I love ever second of this ride!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/07/29
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

loved it

Reviewed by: a fan, 2016/07/09

I appreciated the fact that our guides where local people who loved the land and shared their enthusiasum. They showed us the local fauna and their beneficial and medicinal properties. I loved hearing the history of the land and how it is like today. We got some amazing photographs. We couldn't ask for a more clear and beautiful day.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2016/06/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Perfect afternoon in Paradise

Reviewed by: Lisa, 2016/01/29

Our guides Roy and Joe were great! The scenery was amazing and before the ride was over we were treated to the sweet sounds of a serenade. From our first stop on the rim we were even treated to the sight of humpbacks - yes, you can absolutely see them from that distance and you will be awed!!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2016/01/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Horse Back Riding - Spectacular

Reviewed by: Cameron, 2016/01/02

Took my 10 year old daughter and what an unbelievable experience. The staff, the horses, the scenery was all top notch. It was the right amount of time and really felt like I got my money's worth. But once again the staff made everyone feel very comfortable even those that hadn't been on a horse before.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2015/12/30
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Excellent tour

Reviewed by: Caligrl63, 2015/11/14

This horseback ride tour was excellent! I would definitely recommend. Our guide Kevin gave us a short instruction on how to balance & everyone in our party found the information more helpful than any we have ever had. Ride was relaxing, beautiful, & fun. We would all definitely take this tour again!


Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2015/11/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing--- Do It!

Reviewed by: The Gardners, 2015/10/29

Took my family on this adventure and it was spectacular. My girls especially appreciated the swim under the waterfall. The guides were extremely knowledgeable and courteous. My wife and girls loved this and it really was worth the money. Make sure you bring the camera because you get really great shots along the way.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2015/10/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Horseback Ride with Waterall Swim

Reviewed by: Michigan Visitor, 2015/06/20

The two horseback guides were extremely knowledgeable and helpful. Our family was new to horseback riding. They were very clear when teaching us how to handle the horses. During our ride , they told us about the history of the area and the valley. In addition they taught about the trees and all the different types of vegetation. When we arrived at the waterfall they gave us plenty of time to get in the water and swim around and go under the waterfall. Joe even let us climb up the side of the waterfall and jump into the water. We were treated great. The staff was nice and friendly. This was one of the highlights of our trip to the Big Island.


  • At the Waterfall


  • Above the Valley

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2015/05/29
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Horseback riding with waterfall swim

Reviewed by: Tarra M, 2015/04/12

Great experience, knowledgable guides who were great with my first time riders! The only thing is I wish I had remembered to bring towels (guides have a big saddle bag for them), ladies it's a good idea to bring your own tissue ( outhouses are not girl friendly) and bring water shoes for the waterfall, it's a bit Rocky on the bottom. Overall a wonderfully fun family day!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2015/04/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Real Paniolos!

Reviewed by: Leslie, 2015/04/06

These guys are the real deal! Not only was it a beautiful escape into tall eucalyptus Forrest to panoramic scenes- Kevin and Joe spent extra time with my daughter who is an avid and skilled rider and have her a little more authentic experience- but for me to ride through the Forrest- listening to the trees talk as the afternoon winds blew to be surprised by cowboy Joe singing a Hawaiian cowboy song through the wind- I highly recommend this for a must-do activity on Hawaii

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2015/04/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

This was the best ride we have had

Reviewed by: David T, 2015/03/25

We met at the Waipio Artworks Studio at the appointed time. The staff was friendly and reminded us to take along snacks, which we purchased there. There was a family of five matched along with our group of three. This was there first time on horse back while thus was our third ride in Hawaii. We are novices but are getting better with each ride. The guides, Duane and Roy are both local boys friendly, knowledgeable but above all, put safety first. The ride we signed up for was the 2.5 hour valley rim riif. We ride the horses through the eucalyptus trees to the Waipio valley rim. We stopped to take in the beautiful waterfall. We had seen it from the valley floor a few years ago, but seeing it from up high was even more beautiful. We continued the ride to the ruin at the opening of the valley to see the spectacular view of the valley and the black and beach. We dismounted and spent some time taking a break and some pictures. Our guides to our family pictures. We mounted up and took a different trail down the mountain back to their stable. Usually, my knees hurt after a ride, but this time my knees felt great. I think this was because our guides set the stirrups perfectly for my short legs. I would take this rude again in a heartbeat the next time we are on the big island.



Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2015/03/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fabulous experience!

Reviewed by: Julie , 2014/12/30

My family of 4 had a great morning horseback riding. You do not need to have prior experience riding to feel comfortable on this ride. The horses are very well mannered and know where they are going. Chauncey and Joe were great guides. The group was small and they made sure that everyone got individualized attention. They even took our cameras and made sure to get pictures of the entire family. The views were gorgeous of the Waipio. I would definitely recommend this activity.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2014/12/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Best Horseback ride in Hawaii

Reviewed by: Jay Brown, 2014/12/19

This ride was breath taking and the horses were as awesome as the guides on the ride. Definitely worth the price to ride. Lush forest and beautiful waterfalls are only part of the things to view on your ride.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

awesome experience with my parents

Reviewed by: cha, 2014/11/16

It was a mountain road horse riding. EXCITING!! My both parents said fun fun fun during this activity. And Joe helped us a lot including taking photoes of us and sending it immediately. THANKS!! Highly recommendable.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2014/11/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fantastic experience

Reviewed by: Aimee, 2014/09/13

Experience was amazing! Staff very professional, felt safe and looked after for a complete beginner rider
Food was decent. Waterfall swim was sensational. Enough time to swim and relax and get dry again before heading back. Views of waterfall and forest were beautiful
Would do it again!!!!!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2014/09/10
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

great ride

Reviewed by: Debra Cooper, 2014/08/22

beautiful ride with friendly and knowledgeable guides

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2014/08/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Nice adventure in a decent area

Reviewed by: Daniel Gattiker, 2013/01/20

My wife and I had a great time, while riding to the waterfall and watching the beautiful area of Waipo.
Waterfall is awesome to see, water is cold but worthwhile taking a bath.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Trip

Reviewed by: Jessica, 2011/07/05

I have been riding numerous times on a farm. but never on a trail up a mountain but it was easy. Even if you are a first time rider the staff helps you learn everything. The horses were great and well behaved. The guides were awesome. Told us lots of information about the mountain, took our pictures in front of some great views. Overall, great trip.



Rating:
Attended as:Families
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Hawaiian Islands