This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Scenic Waipio Ridge Horseback Rides - Ride the Rim & Hidden Waterfalls


Attended as (Couples) Reviews

Great Activity

Reviewed by: Dani G., 2019/03/12

Although it rained and our initial package was reduced to the 2 hour ride, we had great guides and horses. It's not your typical trail ride. The terrain is rough but beautiful. Do not miss this opportunity, if you're visiting the big island.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/03/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Waipio Ridge Horse Ride

Reviewed by: Kit, 2019/01/31

Excellent ride. Great guides, great horses, beautiful scenery.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/01/25
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Had an amazing time!

Reviewed by: jamie, 2019/01/23

Definitely one of the highlights of our trip! Our guide was engaging and friendly; she did a great job at taking us around Waipio. It was unfortunate that the sky decided to pour rain on us, nevertheless we still had a great time. The ponchos that came in the saddle bags were a lifesaver! The horses were well-trained and easy to manage -- so great for riders of all skill level. Highly recommend!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/01/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing!

Reviewed by: Sid, 2018/10/08

Loved this adventure! Great horses (great for beginners, too), amazing, friendly, knowledgable staff, and the views were absolutely mind blowing!

Reply from activity provider

Mahalo Sid- we are so happy that you loved our adventure at waipi’o Ridge Stables!
It is why we are here so you can enjoy the experience of history of waipi’o and experience the sacred views of old hawaii above waipi’o valley on horseback.
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts we truly appreciate the feedback, see you folks next time!
Aloha from waipi’o Ridge Stables.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/10/01
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fun fun

Reviewed by: Tony, 2018/05/31

This is fun to do and the view is amazing. Had a great time riding the horses through the valley.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/05/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Private 5 hr ride!!

Reviewed by: Carol Turner, 2018/04/27

We ended up being only people for the 5hr ride and our guide Alli was sweet and recognized our riding abilities immediately so gave us personality info on our 2 mounts and her horse and was then able to just give your info and stories without fretting over us as riders. The horses were in great condition for the mountainous terrain and went the dogged followers we kinda expected, few areas allowed us to trot briefly but so rocky, hard to do much else, yet in forest we were able to weave around on different paths! Horses drank at mountain streams along the way and we had a delicious farm to table lunch packed in for us and set up at the private waterfall. Alli allowed us almost a hour at the waterfall to eat, could have swam but too cold for us so we just got to be alone to enjoy such a gorgeous place! Then Alli came back and took pictures of us with the waterfall, then we remounted horses which had rested and headed back on different trails. Started raining and Alli offered us ponchos but we refused as have found we dont melt in Hawaiian rains so far as it has rained daily since we arrived! GREAT horseback tour, would highly recommend!

  • private waterfall

  • cool mountain stream drinks

  • look out over Waipio Valley

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/04/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Incredible experience

Reviewed by: Michele, 2018/02/25

Well done! We thoroughly enjoyed our experience. Our guide Ally, was very patient and knowledgeable. It was everything we had hoped for based on the description of the tour and more. So glad we did the waterfall swim. Be sure to bring water shoes as the bed of the waterfall is very rocky.

Reply from activity provider

Mahalo Michele for sharing your experience we are glad you enjoyed for adventure with us. Sharing our culture and aloha is just what we do, knowing you enjoy your time with us let’s us know we are doing a good job! Mahalo Waipi’o Ridge Stables!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/02/22
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Beautiful trails and views!

Reviewed by: Paige and Aleksandar, 2017/09/17

This was my second time going horseback riding in Hawaii and it is always my favorite activity. It was wonderful to ride the trails through the forest and the look out was beautiful! I only wish I did the longer tour to go into the valley. Very memorable experience. Funny and warm tour guides

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/08/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

One of the top Highlights of our Honeymoon!

Reviewed by: Kyle and Clare, 2017/07/27

My wife and I chose this tour as one of our activities to do on our honeymoon. We originally were going to do the 2.5 hour tour, but due to availability, we did this 5 hour tour instead. I cannot recommend this Tour enough. The View over the valley was incredible, the waterfall was amazing and both of our guides were awesome! We will be doing this tour again when we come back to Hawaii!

  • View from the Valley

  • Clare and I on Elmo and Allah

  • The lunch stop at the waterfall!

Reply from activity provider

Mahalo for sharing your experience with us, it gives us joy that you had a great time.. yes the waterfalls are view are spectacular, it's a one of a kind ride horseback that includes swimming. we really appreciate you sharing your experience.. aloha from waipio ridge stables 2..

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/07/01
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Horse Riding Waipio Ridge.

Reviewed by: Cecelia & Tamaiti. , 2017/06/06

Aloha...Big thank you to our guides on the horse track Jamie and Ronald. They were informative and helpful.. especially when I had no riding experience. I learnt quickly how to ride and the do's and don'ts for trekking on the magnificent ridge....just breathtaking. Mahalo.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/05/29
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

View was incredible!

Reviewed by: Sue Fraser , 2017/04/06

This was my husband's first time on a horse since a pony ride as a child, and they could not have been more patient. The trail was within a thick mountain of trees and the horses navigated them flawlessly. And the view! Worth every penny. We also appreciated hearing the stories about the waterfalls and learning about the folks that live in the valley below. Would do it again in a heartbeat.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/03/30
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Waterfall ride

Reviewed by: Suzi P, 2017/02/18

Maile was great as were our horses Danny and Lily. Yes you are traveling thru a tree farm and on logging roads or trails depending in the mud kevel. It's a climb and work for the horses-not a place you run them especially if you know how to take care of your horse. The view of Waipio valley is spectacular from a few points. The waterfall is beautiful and the only way to get here is horseback. We had a great time!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/02/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Beautiful trip with hidden water falls!!

Reviewed by: Rolla, 2017/01/22

My wife and I had an amazing time on the horseback ride! Miley was such a great guide and knew a lot about the area. This was a great way to see more hidden gems of the big island! We went on the 5 hour ride and it was defiantly worth it. The lunch provided was delicious and nothing was better than a relaxing lunch next to a hidden waterfall! A+++

  • About half way through the trip!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/01/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Waterfall fun in a different way!

Reviewed by: Carrie Cortes, 2016/12/05

This waterfall was beautiful and there was no roads to get to it so it was much more secluded. The horses were all really sweet and good natured. The guides were amazing and very knowledgeable about the area and different plants. We did discover that we weren't quite in shape enough to ride a horse for 5 hours but other than that, a really great experience. My husband wanted to waterfall jump and I wanted to ride a horse. It was a win win!

  • Waterfall jumping

  • Lunch at the waterfall

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/05/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Beautiful ride

Reviewed by: Valenti, 2016/11/19

The ride they the forest was beautiful. The waterfalls breathtaking. The staff was friendly and informative. The horses were well taken care of. They told you the history of the area we rode in and the plans for the forest. They explained the Hawaiian history of the waterfalls and who used them. Horses were well trained. If you are expecting to trot or canter this is not the ride for you. Well worth the trip to enjoy the peaceful ride and the views.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/11/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing service

Reviewed by: Lena, 2016/11/11

What a fantastic trip! This was definitely the highlight of our vacation. Our guide Jamie was wonderful. So informative and friendly, he made the trip extra special. Jamie provided great service and took plenty of photos with our camera for us. The views and the waterfall swim were breathtaking. Would definitely do this again!

Reply from activity provider

aloha Lena, thank you for your wonderful feedback. we are happy you truly enjoyed your ride and appreciate your taking time to share your experience with us. yes, Jamie is awesome! and our views, waterfall swim is truly breathtaking. thank you for rating us 5 stars!!. we are so happy, that our tour provided excellent service to you. knowing that you would definitely do this again, makes us so happy to hear. see you again in the future, aloha waipi'o ridge stables.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/11/09
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Horseback ride

Reviewed by: Barb, 2016/08/29

A little long of a ride but the staff were very safety conscious and professional. The waterfall swim was Great!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/08/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Horseback tour

Reviewed by: Derrick, 2016/06/16

The tour guide was excellent and the overall experience was good, the only thing I can complain about was the lack of scenery, we were just walking through the woods most of the time. We did make one stop with an amazing view but that was it. The pictures on the website are not from the tour, they showed open fields and waterfalls and a bunch of other great areas, but we did not see any of it on the tour. Even the girl that I booked the tour with on the phone said it was a beautiful tour but like I said just trees and woods.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/06/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Most awesome views of the island

Reviewed by: Troy and Sjoen, 2016/06/11

Horses we're very well trained and the ride was unique. A quick swim in the fresh-water waterfall pool was gorgeous and totally satisfying, perfect for any couple!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/06/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Romantic, relaxing ride

Reviewed by: Katie, 2016/05/09

I booked this ride as a surprise for my husband on our honeymoon. The guides were extremely professional, the horses were well trained and the ride was amazing. We chose the shorter ride (2.5 hrs) and it was the perfect length for us. We were the only ones who turned back for the shorter ride but only commiting the morning to an activity was exactly what we wanted and neither of us was too sore after the ride. The ride, in fact, was rather relaxing. The horses need very little guidance and aside from preventing my horse from trying to eat the whole ride (I rode Flash, he was very sweet and mellow. We got along great) I could just sit back and enjoy the scenery. Would definitely book this trip again and it may have even inspired me to do more riding in the future.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/04/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Weather Did Not Stop the Ride

Reviewed by: Brad , 2016/02/10

The experience was amazing. Even though it was poring rain, our guide gave us the option to go on the ride or get our money back. We decided to take a ride in the rain. Our guide was well informed and very friendly. I would highly recommend the trip.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/02/07
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

great ride

Reviewed by: Seth, 2016/02/07

We enjoyed the ride very much. If we did it again we'd probably opt for the 2.5 hour one instead, as it was a very long ride and the best views were done and overwith before the 2.5 hour group turned back. Only actual complaint is that the horse my wife had really seems to be beyond the point of being able to handle a ride like that well. She had to work very hard to get the horse to keep moving, and she lagged behind the entire 5 hours because her horse seemed to be struggling the entire way. I think that horse should retire from the long rides. Joe and Roy were awesome. Would recommend to anyone to do this ride.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/02/02
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Loved this ride!!

Reviewed by: Jennifer, 2015/11/12

This ride went above and beyond my expectations. Our guide, Kevin, was knowledgable, friendly and encouraging. I'm a beginner-level rider and he was very patient, kind and detail-oriented while helping me on the horse, and while I was riding. He was great about giving useful tips about riding without being overwhelming. As far as the ride itself, Kevin would go and pick different flowers or plants to show them to us, allow us to smell or taste them (like wild ginger). It was an awesome and educational ride. The beauty of the ride was phenomenal as well. Waipio Valley, and the ride to the rim, is gorgeous. Once we got up to the top Kevin gave us a little history lesson about the Valley. Everything about the experience was fantastic. Definitely a highlight of the trip and worth every penny. I walked away feeling very encouraged and confident about horseback riding (I want a horse! haha) and educated about the valley we visited. Perfect.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/11/07
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

The Best Time, Views, and Brisk Swim in the falls!

Reviewed by: Bryn, 2015/11/02

This was one of the most beautiful rides ever totally worth the trip. The views from the vista overlooking the valley are a must! It's a must do!! Roy our guide was very informative. The horses are trail horses which is perfect so you can take in the views and take selfies as the horses know the way.

  • View of the valley and the Ocean!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/10/05
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Time!

Reviewed by: SQLS Family, 2015/09/05

Our cruise itinerary was changed completely due to weather. The wonderful folks at Veltra were already aware of the change by the time we reached the ship. They promptly telephoned and emailed to re-schedule. We were also given the option to cancel at no charge.

We decided to reschedule and I'm glad we did. After a short orientation. Roy escorted us on a peaceful horseback ride that took us to wonderful views of the Waipio Valley, waterfall and black sand beach. The views were breathtaking... time we'll spent.

I would recommend to anyone looking for family fun, adventure, and an all around great afternoon.

Thank you

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/09/02
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Horseback Ride Above Waipio Valley with Waterfall Swim / Hidden Waterfall Ride [5.5 Hours] Activity Date: 2015/01/15

Reviewed by: Diane, 2015/02/09

Absolutely amazing! Kevin was our guide, not only was he super nice, he was very knowledgeable of local plants, and animals and Hawaii's history. He also took a lot of pictures of us for us. We have a great shot of us right at the rim of the valley on our horses! A picture we will treasure forever! I was a beginner, Kevin was calm and his directions were clear, he made me feel at ease and I felt like a pro by the end of the ride. My boyfriend was experienced and had nothing but good things to say about the horses. The trip to the waterfall was more than worth the money! Absolutely breathtaking! My boyfriend and I swam to the falls where there is a ledge you can climb up and jump off of. Super fun! Water was freezing but still totally worth it! My horses' name was Flash and my boyfriends horse was Pono. Great horses, with good temperament. All the horses looked well taken care of. All in all great experience, would recommend this to anyone who loves beautiful scenery, horses, and waterfalls...who doesn't?!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/01/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Half Day Ride to Valley Rim

Reviewed by: Greg & Sonia Perkins, 2014/10/11

Attended this activity on 13th September 2014 and absolutely loved it. Our Guides were Roy & Puna and they were very experienced horseman. They provided us with a thorough briefing at the base station before heading off on the trail. The horses themselves are trained trail riders and virtually steer themselves. The views were spectacular and thoroughly worth the trek. We only had time for the half day trek and had to return to the base station with Roy, while Puna took the rest of the riders up to the waterfall for the swim. If we had our time over again, we would probably do the swim as it sounded great.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2014/09/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Horseback ride WITHOUT waterfall swim

Reviewed by: LMC, 2014/09/01

Great trip, I highly recommend it, but the trip was advertised as "Horseback Ride Above Waipio Valley with Waterfall Swim/Valley Rim Ride [2.5 Hours]". There was NO waterfall swim and our guides were very surprised to learn the trip had been advertised this way. They only do the waterfall swim on much longer rides. Nevertheless, we had a great time.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2014/08/28
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Beautiful waipio valley

Reviewed by: Kara, 2014/07/19

Excellent! The guides were wonderful. Beautiful and relaxing!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2014/06/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing Horseback Ride above Waipio Valley with Waterfall Swim

Reviewed by: Justin Kruger, 2014/07/01

Amazing from start to finish!! Would do it again in a heartbeat.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2014/06/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
Page Previous | 1 | 2 |

Hawaiian Islands