This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Scenic Waipio Ridge Horseback Rides & Hidden Waterfalls

Waipio Valley horse back riding

Reviewed by: Marie Salemi , 2018/07/26

We booked the 5 hour trip, but it was very cloudy and rainy and they allowed us to switch to the 2 1/2 . They offered us to come back the next day. Our hotel was 90 minutes from the stables so we didn’t want to do the drive again. The view was disappointing due to the valley was covered in clouds, but they made the best of it and we had a great time riding Thru the forest. The clouds rolled away for a few minutes to give us a glimpse of the beautiful Waipio Valley. Our guides were amazing. My kids were 12, 14 and 16 and the horses were great with them


  • Look at the cloud coverage behind us:(


  • Our horses while we were looking at the valley.


  • This was our glimpse of the view with when the clouds rolled away

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2018/07/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

We had a wonderful time, and the ride was well presented. Our guide was knowledgeable and sweet.

Reviewed by: Vandy Walker, 2018/07/05

Thanks, for the great time in the mountains of Hawaii. I loved the trip and enjoyed our ride.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2018/06/29
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Waipio overlook on horseback

Reviewed by: Todd, 2018/06/18

My family and I try to ride horses when we take our vacations and this tour did not disappoint. The horses were well trained, the guides were knowledgeable and patient, and the scenery was spectacular. The waterfall swim was exceptional and a unique opportunity. We'd do it again.

Reply from activity provider

Mahalo Todd for your positive feedback we really appreciate it, we are happy to hear that you and your family all enjoyed your adventure with us. Knowing you folks enjoyed yourselves makes us happy, that is our goal to provide an fun family tour while sharing knowledge and history of our home. Mahalo Waipi’o Ridge Stables!!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2018/06/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fun fun

Reviewed by: Tony, 2018/05/31

This is fun to do and the view is amazing. Had a great time riding the horses through the valley.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/05/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Private 5 hr ride!!

Reviewed by: Carol Turner, 2018/04/27

We ended up being only people for the 5hr ride and our guide Alli was sweet and recognized our riding abilities immediately so gave us personality info on our 2 mounts and her horse and was then able to just give your info and stories without fretting over us as riders. The horses were in great condition for the mountainous terrain and went the dogged followers we kinda expected, few areas allowed us to trot briefly but so rocky, hard to do much else, yet in forest we were able to weave around on different paths! Horses drank at mountain streams along the way and we had a delicious farm to table lunch packed in for us and set up at the private waterfall. Alli allowed us almost a hour at the waterfall to eat, could have swam but too cold for us so we just got to be alone to enjoy such a gorgeous place! Then Alli came back and took pictures of us with the waterfall, then we remounted horses which had rested and headed back on different trails. Started raining and Alli offered us ponchos but we refused as have found we dont melt in Hawaiian rains so far as it has rained daily since we arrived! GREAT horseback tour, would highly recommend!


  • private waterfall


  • cool mountain stream drinks


  • look out over Waipio Valley

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/04/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Incredible experience

Reviewed by: Michele, 2018/02/25

Well done! We thoroughly enjoyed our experience. Our guide Ally, was very patient and knowledgeable. It was everything we had hoped for based on the description of the tour and more. So glad we did the waterfall swim. Be sure to bring water shoes as the bed of the waterfall is very rocky.




Reply from activity provider

Mahalo Michele for sharing your experience we are glad you enjoyed for adventure with us. Sharing our culture and aloha is just what we do, knowing you enjoy your time with us let’s us know we are doing a good job! Mahalo Waipi’o Ridge Stables!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/02/22
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Wonderful Waipio

Reviewed by: Donna from Ohio, 2018/02/25

My husband and I loved our horseback adventure! The Waipio Basin was beautiful, and our guide, (had Brennan on his shirt) was very nice, stopping and giving us history and plant/tree information along the way. We did the 2 1/2 hour tour, and would love to do the 5 hour tour our next trip back!! We have taken horseback tours in Ohio, and Tennessee, and by far the scenery was prettiest in Waipio Valley. Would definitely recommend Waipio Valley Hoseback tours!

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2018/02/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Waipio Ridge Horseback Rides & Hidden Waterfalls

Reviewed by: Kurt, 2017/12/03

とても楽しかったが、やはり5時間は少々長すぎた。
ガイドの皆さんはとてもフレンドリーで馬の扱いが初めての者にも丁寧に教えてくれた。

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/07/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Horseback ride

Reviewed by: Donna, 2017/11/25

The horses were well behaved and well taken care of. The ride was beautiful and guides gave history of area.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2017/11/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Beautiful horse ride.

Reviewed by: Marji, 2017/11/08

Ronald and Leah were great. The horses were very well taken care of (which to me is extremely important). Will have to do the longer ride next time.

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2017/11/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

2.5 Hr horse ride

Reviewed by: Jasper, 2017/11/03

It was okay, and we have very little riding experience, but still enjoy the trip.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/10/30
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Horeseback rain trail

Reviewed by: Ronda, 2017/10/19

It was awesome we had Leah and Ronald they were terrific...I'd like to do it again when it's not raining

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/10/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Beautiful trails and views!

Reviewed by: Paige and Aleksandar, 2017/09/17

This was my second time going horseback riding in Hawaii and it is always my favorite activity. It was wonderful to ride the trails through the forest and the look out was beautiful! I only wish I did the longer tour to go into the valley. Very memorable experience. Funny and warm tour guides

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/08/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Ride

Reviewed by: NottaRider, 2017/08/19

Had a great time and the views of the valley were awesome. The owners fit the horses to the riders in both experience and personality. They live down in the Waipio Valley and don't mind sharing their knowledge of the area and thoroughly enjoy what they are doing.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/07/25
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

ワイピオ渓谷の乗馬

Reviewed by: ゆうき, 2017/08/19

2日くらい前に申し込みました。ワイピオ渓谷に降りて行くのかと思っていたのですが、リムの乗馬でした。予約の1時間前に集合場所に着いたのですが、集合時間過ぎにやっと人が来ました。
ガイドさんもよい人たちでワイピオ渓谷に住んでいるので住んでいる人の話も聞けてよかったです。
馬の歩く道は個人の土地なので許可なく行くことはできません。
次回はワイピオ渓谷におりるツアーに参加したいです。
すぐにいっぱいになるらしいので早めの予約がオススメです。

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/08/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Waipio Valley on Horseback

Reviewed by: Tiff, 2017/08/04

My family and I had a blast on this ride. They were very accompanying to my 70 year old grandma and my inexpierieced boyfriend and mom. They took three nervous riders and helped create a comfortable atmosphere by matching each rider to their respective horse based on experience and personality! The history and views, despite the rainy day, were unforgettable! I love ever second of this ride!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/07/29
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

One of the top Highlights of our Honeymoon!

Reviewed by: Kyle and Clare, 2017/07/27

My wife and I chose this tour as one of our activities to do on our honeymoon. We originally were going to do the 2.5 hour tour, but due to availability, we did this 5 hour tour instead. I cannot recommend this Tour enough. The View over the valley was incredible, the waterfall was amazing and both of our guides were awesome! We will be doing this tour again when we come back to Hawaii!


  • View from the Valley


  • Clare and I on Elmo and Allah


  • The lunch stop at the waterfall!

Reply from activity provider

Mahalo for sharing your experience with us, it gives us joy that you had a great time.. yes the waterfalls are view are spectacular, it's a one of a kind ride horseback that includes swimming. we really appreciate you sharing your experience.. aloha from waipio ridge stables 2..

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/07/01
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Horse Riding Waipio Ridge.

Reviewed by: Cecelia & Tamaiti. , 2017/06/06

Aloha...Big thank you to our guides on the horse track Jamie and Ronald. They were informative and helpful.. especially when I had no riding experience. I learnt quickly how to ride and the do's and don'ts for trekking on the magnificent ridge....just breathtaking. Mahalo.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/05/29
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Waipio valley overlook horseback ride

Reviewed by: Curt Stidham, 2017/05/07

We had a very enjoyable ride and the view was fantastic. We would recommend this as a fun ride for all experience levels.


  • Great ride!

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2017/04/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

View was incredible!

Reviewed by: Sue Fraser , 2017/04/06

This was my husband's first time on a horse since a pony ride as a child, and they could not have been more patient. The trail was within a thick mountain of trees and the horses navigated them flawlessly. And the view! Worth every penny. We also appreciated hearing the stories about the waterfalls and learning about the folks that live in the valley below. Would do it again in a heartbeat.


Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/03/30
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Waterfall ride

Reviewed by: Suzi P, 2017/02/18

Maile was great as were our horses Danny and Lily. Yes you are traveling thru a tree farm and on logging roads or trails depending in the mud kevel. It's a climb and work for the horses-not a place you run them especially if you know how to take care of your horse. The view of Waipio valley is spectacular from a few points. The waterfall is beautiful and the only way to get here is horseback. We had a great time!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/02/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Waipio horse ride

Reviewed by: Chelle, 2017/02/04

Awesome, enjoyable, picturesque! Definitely swim in the waterfall. Super clean water and refreshing





Reply from activity provider

Thank you so much for sharing your experience, it always makes us happy to know that our guests always are satisfied. That is why we are here to share our enchanting ride on horseback, majestic waterfalls, and breathtaking views, and not every where on an island you can enjoy a horseback ride and take a dip in fresh spring waterfalls. thank you for coming with us and see you on your next visit. Aloha, Waipi'o Ridge Stables Ohana.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2017/01/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Beautiful trip with hidden water falls!!

Reviewed by: Rolla, 2017/01/22

My wife and I had an amazing time on the horseback ride! Miley was such a great guide and knew a lot about the area. This was a great way to see more hidden gems of the big island! We went on the 5 hour ride and it was defiantly worth it. The lunch provided was delicious and nothing was better than a relaxing lunch next to a hidden waterfall! A+++


  • About half way through the trip!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/01/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Waterfall fun in a different way!

Reviewed by: Carrie Cortes, 2016/12/05

This waterfall was beautiful and there was no roads to get to it so it was much more secluded. The horses were all really sweet and good natured. The guides were amazing and very knowledgeable about the area and different plants. We did discover that we weren't quite in shape enough to ride a horse for 5 hours but other than that, a really great experience. My husband wanted to waterfall jump and I wanted to ride a horse. It was a win win!


  • Waterfall jumping


  • Lunch at the waterfall

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/05/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Beautiful ride

Reviewed by: Valenti, 2016/11/19

The ride they the forest was beautiful. The waterfalls breathtaking. The staff was friendly and informative. The horses were well taken care of. They told you the history of the area we rode in and the plans for the forest. They explained the Hawaiian history of the waterfalls and who used them. Horses were well trained. If you are expecting to trot or canter this is not the ride for you. Well worth the trip to enjoy the peaceful ride and the views.




Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/11/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing service

Reviewed by: Lena, 2016/11/11

What a fantastic trip! This was definitely the highlight of our vacation. Our guide Jamie was wonderful. So informative and friendly, he made the trip extra special. Jamie provided great service and took plenty of photos with our camera for us. The views and the waterfall swim were breathtaking. Would definitely do this again!

Reply from activity provider

aloha Lena, thank you for your wonderful feedback. we are happy you truly enjoyed your ride and appreciate your taking time to share your experience with us. yes, Jamie is awesome! and our views, waterfall swim is truly breathtaking. thank you for rating us 5 stars!!. we are so happy, that our tour provided excellent service to you. knowing that you would definitely do this again, makes us so happy to hear. see you again in the future, aloha waipi'o ridge stables.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/11/09
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Horseback ride

Reviewed by: Barb, 2016/08/29

A little long of a ride but the staff were very safety conscious and professional. The waterfall swim was Great!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/08/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

loved it

Reviewed by: a fan, 2016/07/09

I appreciated the fact that our guides where local people who loved the land and shared their enthusiasum. They showed us the local fauna and their beneficial and medicinal properties. I loved hearing the history of the land and how it is like today. We got some amazing photographs. We couldn't ask for a more clear and beautiful day.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2016/06/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

What a Wonderful Experience

Reviewed by: Brandy Wagner, 2016/06/20

My friend and I took our sons on this ride above the Waipio Valley and we had the best day!! Our guides were great and the horses were the best! Beautiful scenery. We all loved it!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2016/06/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Horseback tour

Reviewed by: Derrick, 2016/06/16

The tour guide was excellent and the overall experience was good, the only thing I can complain about was the lack of scenery, we were just walking through the woods most of the time. We did make one stop with an amazing view but that was it. The pictures on the website are not from the tour, they showed open fields and waterfalls and a bunch of other great areas, but we did not see any of it on the tour. Even the girl that I booked the tour with on the phone said it was a beautiful tour but like I said just trees and woods.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/06/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
Page Previous | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 |

Hawaiian Islands

Big Island Categories