Scenic Waipio Ridge Horseback Rides & Hidden Waterfalls

Beautiful trails and views!

Reviewed by: Paige and Aleksandar, 2017/09/17

This was my second time going horseback riding in Hawaii and it is always my favorite activity. It was wonderful to ride the trails through the forest and the look out was beautiful! I only wish I did the longer tour to go into the valley. Very memorable experience. Funny and warm tour guides

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/08/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Ride

Reviewed by: NottaRider, 2017/08/19

Had a great time and the views of the valley were awesome. The owners fit the horses to the riders in both experience and personality. They live down in the Waipio Valley and don't mind sharing their knowledge of the area and thoroughly enjoy what they are doing.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/07/25
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

ワイピオ渓谷の乗馬

Reviewed by: ゆうき, 2017/08/19

2日くらい前に申し込みました。ワイピオ渓谷に降りて行くのかと思っていたのですが、リムの乗馬でした。予約の1時間前に集合場所に着いたのですが、集合時間過ぎにやっと人が来ました。
ガイドさんもよい人たちでワイピオ渓谷に住んでいるので住んでいる人の話も聞けてよかったです。
馬の歩く道は個人の土地なので許可なく行くことはできません。
次回はワイピオ渓谷におりるツアーに参加したいです。
すぐにいっぱいになるらしいので早めの予約がオススメです。

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/08/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Waipio Valley on Horseback

Reviewed by: Tiff, 2017/08/04

My family and I had a blast on this ride. They were very accompanying to my 70 year old grandma and my inexpierieced boyfriend and mom. They took three nervous riders and helped create a comfortable atmosphere by matching each rider to their respective horse based on experience and personality! The history and views, despite the rainy day, were unforgettable! I love ever second of this ride!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/07/29
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

One of the top Highlights of our Honeymoon!

Reviewed by: Kyle and Clare, 2017/07/27

My wife and I chose this tour as one of our activities to do on our honeymoon. We originally were going to do the 2.5 hour tour, but due to availability, we did this 5 hour tour instead. I cannot recommend this Tour enough. The View over the valley was incredible, the waterfall was amazing and both of our guides were awesome! We will be doing this tour again when we come back to Hawaii!


  • View from the Valley


  • Clare and I on Elmo and Allah


  • The lunch stop at the waterfall!

Reply from activity provider

Mahalo for sharing your experience with us, it gives us joy that you had a great time.. yes the waterfalls are view are spectacular, it's a one of a kind ride horseback that includes swimming. we really appreciate you sharing your experience.. aloha from waipio ridge stables 2..

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/07/01
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Horse Riding Waipio Ridge.

Reviewed by: Cecelia & Tamaiti. , 2017/06/06

Aloha...Big thank you to our guides on the horse track Jamie and Ronald. They were informative and helpful.. especially when I had no riding experience. I learnt quickly how to ride and the do's and don'ts for trekking on the magnificent ridge....just breathtaking. Mahalo.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/05/29
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Waipio valley overlook horseback ride

Reviewed by: Curt Stidham, 2017/05/07

We had a very enjoyable ride and the view was fantastic. We would recommend this as a fun ride for all experience levels.


  • Great ride!

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2017/04/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

View was incredible!

Reviewed by: Sue Fraser , 2017/04/06

This was my husband's first time on a horse since a pony ride as a child, and they could not have been more patient. The trail was within a thick mountain of trees and the horses navigated them flawlessly. And the view! Worth every penny. We also appreciated hearing the stories about the waterfalls and learning about the folks that live in the valley below. Would do it again in a heartbeat.


Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/03/30
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Waterfall ride

Reviewed by: Suzi P, 2017/02/18

Maile was great as were our horses Danny and Lily. Yes you are traveling thru a tree farm and on logging roads or trails depending in the mud kevel. It's a climb and work for the horses-not a place you run them especially if you know how to take care of your horse. The view of Waipio valley is spectacular from a few points. The waterfall is beautiful and the only way to get here is horseback. We had a great time!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/02/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Waipio horse ride

Reviewed by: Chelle, 2017/02/04

Awesome, enjoyable, picturesque! Definitely swim in the waterfall. Super clean water and refreshing





Reply from activity provider

Thank you so much for sharing your experience, it always makes us happy to know that our guests always are satisfied. That is why we are here to share our enchanting ride on horseback, majestic waterfalls, and breathtaking views, and not every where on an island you can enjoy a horseback ride and take a dip in fresh spring waterfalls. thank you for coming with us and see you on your next visit. Aloha, Waipi'o Ridge Stables Ohana.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2017/01/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Beautiful trip with hidden water falls!!

Reviewed by: Rolla, 2017/01/22

My wife and I had an amazing time on the horseback ride! Miley was such a great guide and knew a lot about the area. This was a great way to see more hidden gems of the big island! We went on the 5 hour ride and it was defiantly worth it. The lunch provided was delicious and nothing was better than a relaxing lunch next to a hidden waterfall! A+++


  • About half way through the trip!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/01/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Waterfall fun in a different way!

Reviewed by: Carrie Cortes, 2016/12/05

This waterfall was beautiful and there was no roads to get to it so it was much more secluded. The horses were all really sweet and good natured. The guides were amazing and very knowledgeable about the area and different plants. We did discover that we weren't quite in shape enough to ride a horse for 5 hours but other than that, a really great experience. My husband wanted to waterfall jump and I wanted to ride a horse. It was a win win!


  • Waterfall jumping


  • Lunch at the waterfall

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/05/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Beautiful ride

Reviewed by: Valenti, 2016/11/19

The ride they the forest was beautiful. The waterfalls breathtaking. The staff was friendly and informative. The horses were well taken care of. They told you the history of the area we rode in and the plans for the forest. They explained the Hawaiian history of the waterfalls and who used them. Horses were well trained. If you are expecting to trot or canter this is not the ride for you. Well worth the trip to enjoy the peaceful ride and the views.




Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/11/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing service

Reviewed by: Lena, 2016/11/11

What a fantastic trip! This was definitely the highlight of our vacation. Our guide Jamie was wonderful. So informative and friendly, he made the trip extra special. Jamie provided great service and took plenty of photos with our camera for us. The views and the waterfall swim were breathtaking. Would definitely do this again!

Reply from activity provider

aloha Lena, thank you for your wonderful feedback. we are happy you truly enjoyed your ride and appreciate your taking time to share your experience with us. yes, Jamie is awesome! and our views, waterfall swim is truly breathtaking. thank you for rating us 5 stars!!. we are so happy, that our tour provided excellent service to you. knowing that you would definitely do this again, makes us so happy to hear. see you again in the future, aloha waipi'o ridge stables.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/11/09
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Horseback ride

Reviewed by: Barb, 2016/08/29

A little long of a ride but the staff were very safety conscious and professional. The waterfall swim was Great!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/08/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

loved it

Reviewed by: a fan, 2016/07/09

I appreciated the fact that our guides where local people who loved the land and shared their enthusiasum. They showed us the local fauna and their beneficial and medicinal properties. I loved hearing the history of the land and how it is like today. We got some amazing photographs. We couldn't ask for a more clear and beautiful day.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2016/06/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

What a Wonderful Experience

Reviewed by: Brandy Wagner, 2016/06/20

My friend and I took our sons on this ride above the Waipio Valley and we had the best day!! Our guides were great and the horses were the best! Beautiful scenery. We all loved it!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2016/06/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Horseback tour

Reviewed by: Derrick, 2016/06/16

The tour guide was excellent and the overall experience was good, the only thing I can complain about was the lack of scenery, we were just walking through the woods most of the time. We did make one stop with an amazing view but that was it. The pictures on the website are not from the tour, they showed open fields and waterfalls and a bunch of other great areas, but we did not see any of it on the tour. Even the girl that I booked the tour with on the phone said it was a beautiful tour but like I said just trees and woods.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/06/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great View and Lovely Horses!

Reviewed by: Perlyn, 2016/06/12

This was a very fun way of exploring the forest and viewing the beautiful Waipio Valley. The horses were beautiful and gentle. The guides were great and knowledgeable about the forest and valley. Had such a great time here! The guides took beautiful photos of the horseback rides. This was an activity to remember!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2016/06/09
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Most awesome views of the island

Reviewed by: Troy and Sjoen, 2016/06/11

Horses we're very well trained and the ride was unique. A quick swim in the fresh-water waterfall pool was gorgeous and totally satisfying, perfect for any couple!


Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/06/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Cowboy Legs

Reviewed by: Cowgirl , 2016/05/29

What a wonderful place for horseback riding! I loved it. I would suggest this activity towards the end of your vacation because your legs or bum may get sore if you aren't used to riding.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2016/05/25
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Romantic, relaxing ride

Reviewed by: Katie, 2016/05/09

I booked this ride as a surprise for my husband on our honeymoon. The guides were extremely professional, the horses were well trained and the ride was amazing. We chose the shorter ride (2.5 hrs) and it was the perfect length for us. We were the only ones who turned back for the shorter ride but only commiting the morning to an activity was exactly what we wanted and neither of us was too sore after the ride. The ride, in fact, was rather relaxing. The horses need very little guidance and aside from preventing my horse from trying to eat the whole ride (I rode Flash, he was very sweet and mellow. We got along great) I could just sit back and enjoy the scenery. Would definitely book this trip again and it may have even inspired me to do more riding in the future.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/04/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Weather Did Not Stop the Ride

Reviewed by: Brad , 2016/02/10

The experience was amazing. Even though it was poring rain, our guide gave us the option to go on the ride or get our money back. We decided to take a ride in the rain. Our guide was well informed and very friendly. I would highly recommend the trip.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/02/07
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

great ride

Reviewed by: Seth, 2016/02/07

We enjoyed the ride very much. If we did it again we'd probably opt for the 2.5 hour one instead, as it was a very long ride and the best views were done and overwith before the 2.5 hour group turned back. Only actual complaint is that the horse my wife had really seems to be beyond the point of being able to handle a ride like that well. She had to work very hard to get the horse to keep moving, and she lagged behind the entire 5 hours because her horse seemed to be struggling the entire way. I think that horse should retire from the long rides. Joe and Roy were awesome. Would recommend to anyone to do this ride.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/02/02
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Perfect afternoon in Paradise

Reviewed by: Lisa, 2016/01/29

Our guides Roy and Joe were great! The scenery was amazing and before the ride was over we were treated to the sweet sounds of a serenade. From our first stop on the rim we were even treated to the sight of humpbacks - yes, you can absolutely see them from that distance and you will be awed!!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2016/01/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Horse Back Riding - Spectacular

Reviewed by: Cameron, 2016/01/02

Took my 10 year old daughter and what an unbelievable experience. The staff, the horses, the scenery was all top notch. It was the right amount of time and really felt like I got my money's worth. But once again the staff made everyone feel very comfortable even those that hadn't been on a horse before.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2015/12/30
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Excellent tour

Reviewed by: Caligrl63, 2015/11/14

This horseback ride tour was excellent! I would definitely recommend. Our guide Kevin gave us a short instruction on how to balance & everyone in our party found the information more helpful than any we have ever had. Ride was relaxing, beautiful, & fun. We would all definitely take this tour again!


Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2015/11/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Loved this ride!!

Reviewed by: Jennifer, 2015/11/12

This ride went above and beyond my expectations. Our guide, Kevin, was knowledgable, friendly and encouraging. I'm a beginner-level rider and he was very patient, kind and detail-oriented while helping me on the horse, and while I was riding. He was great about giving useful tips about riding without being overwhelming. As far as the ride itself, Kevin would go and pick different flowers or plants to show them to us, allow us to smell or taste them (like wild ginger). It was an awesome and educational ride. The beauty of the ride was phenomenal as well. Waipio Valley, and the ride to the rim, is gorgeous. Once we got up to the top Kevin gave us a little history lesson about the Valley. Everything about the experience was fantastic. Definitely a highlight of the trip and worth every penny. I walked away feeling very encouraged and confident about horseback riding (I want a horse! haha) and educated about the valley we visited. Perfect.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/11/07
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

The Best Time, Views, and Brisk Swim in the falls!

Reviewed by: Bryn, 2015/11/02

This was one of the most beautiful rides ever totally worth the trip. The views from the vista overlooking the valley are a must! It's a must do!! Roy our guide was very informative. The horses are trail horses which is perfect so you can take in the views and take selfies as the horses know the way.


  • View of the valley and the Ocean!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/10/05
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing--- Do It!

Reviewed by: The Gardners, 2015/10/29

Took my family on this adventure and it was spectacular. My girls especially appreciated the swim under the waterfall. The guides were extremely knowledgeable and courteous. My wife and girls loved this and it really was worth the money. Make sure you bring the camera because you get really great shots along the way.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2015/10/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
Page Previous | 1 | 2 | 3 |

Hawaiian Islands

Click for the BBB Business Review of this Concierge Services in Honolulu HI