Keauhou Bay Sea Cave Kayak & Snorkeling Adventure in Kona reviews, Big Island tours & activities, fun things to do in Big Island (With pictures only) | HawaiiActivities.com

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Keauhou Bay Sea Cave Kayak & Snorkeling Adventure in Kona

Overall Rating

4.50 4.50 / 5

Reviews

167 reviews
Post a review

Excellent time for the whole family

Reviewed by: Becky , 2019/07/26

My husband and I and our two kids did the kayak tour and it was a lot of fun. It was a workout but the tour guides were very helpful and friendly. My kids are 15 and 9 and they both handled it well. We would recommend and probably do it again.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2019/07/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great title

Reviewed by: Bex, 2018/04/18

A beautiful 3 mile kayak with an amazing snorkeling experience! My advice- wear sunscreen even if it doesn’t feel like it’s sunny...Ouch! Lesson learned. For the dare devil jump off a 30 ft cliff into the gorgeous blue waters. For the pansies jump off a 3 ft mini cliff!! Lol. Wonderful personalized experience. Would highly recommend! Brian was a lot of fun!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2018/04/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Sea Cave Kayak and Snorkle Adventure - Keauhou

Reviewed by: Gina P., 2018/01/01

Thanks to friendly knowledgeable guides my family will definitely do this again! We all had a great time! Bring sunscreen!

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2017/12/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Sea cave , kayak and snorkel adventure

Reviewed by: Misty , 2017/07/29

We had a great time . It was a wonderful way to experience beautiful Hawaii. Our guides : Devin and Special K were so helpful, educational and supportive ! We would definitely do this again !

  • Underwater fun

  • The view from one of the cliffs

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/07/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Loved it!

Reviewed by: Wendy, 2016/10/20

Big K and Special k were awesome! They were helpful and knowledgeable and they helped me get in my kayak from the water. They also let us cliff jump. It was great. They gave great instruction. This is fun and you will get a great arm workout!

  • Is with big K and Special K

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2016/10/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Adventurous and Interesting Tour!

Reviewed by: meg, 2016/05/09

This tour was one of the highlights of our trip to Kona! Our guide Nate gave us lots of great information on the history of the island, the places we were visiting, and general Hawaiin activities. We kayaked in the ocean for about 1.5 hours total, so this tour is definitely for active people. We explored some sea caves, did some cliff diving, and snorkeled in a cove, and met the local eel as well.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/05/05
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great day in Hawaii

Reviewed by: Michael and Emily, 2016/02/23

Very professional and safety conscious organization. The kayaking was fantastic! They spent time with the beginners to help them feel comfortable and let those with some experience go at their pace also. Ben and Noni were our guides and they were very knowledgeable, took us to a beautiful snorkeling place, dove down a grabbed things off the bottom for us to see and led us to a great sea cave. Do this one day while you are in Hawaii!!!

  • Ben helping guide the kayak in the Dragon's Throat Cave.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/02/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great memories

Reviewed by: V. Martinez, 2015/03/01

This tour started out great. Once we were into the waters, we were told we won't be able to snorkel or go into the caves due to the water being to choppy.. So I guess it depends when you do this tour, out of the whole tour we accomplished maybe 2 hours before heading back. I probably will not do this tour again..

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/02/07
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Best money spent on Hawaii

Reviewed by: Mike B, 2014/11/17

This was truly the highlight of the trip. Stunning snorkeling, incredible cliff jumps, awesome paddling and we even cruised along with a pod of dolphins for a little bit.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2014/10/25
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Good adventure

Reviewed by: Nik Mason, 2014/07/03

This was a great little kayak tour. The guides were absolutely awesome (don't remember their names). We were hoping to see a few more sea caves/lava tubes, and thought we might be able to go in them. We only got to take a look at one sea cave, and we just paddled up to it and looked. The snorkeling was good, and the cliff jump was awesome as well. Well worth the money!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2014/06/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Kayaking on the open sea

Reviewed by: Heather, 2014/04/05

I gave the adventure 5 stars, because I don't think it could have been any better and the guides were excellent.

That being said, I did not enjoy the adventure. The water was very rough and I had a very difficult time paddling and controlling the kayak. I have kayaked on lakes and rivers before without difficulty. In addition, because it was so rough, I got VERY sea-sick. That made the return trip nearly impossible. Since you are on your own, you have to muscle through it. As a result, my husband didn't enjoy it because he was worried about me.

Some suggestions, don't do this adventure if you get sea-sick. Another gentleman in the group was also throwing up, so it wasn't just me. In addition, unless you are in amazing physical condition, get a two person kayak. You can use your combined strength to get through the waves.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2014/03/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great trip

Reviewed by: Emil, 2013/08/08

Very good trip, totally worth it compared to doing it on your own. We had a 5yo and a 8yo and it was no problem. They really enjoyed the snorkeling (they had both snorkeled and been in kayaks before). The guides pointed out lots of interesting things including lava tubes and eels catching crabs in tide pools near the lunch point.

  • setting out

  • Mike, our guide, with the food bags

  • exploring caves

  • mooring

  • lava tubes in the cliff

  • tide pool with eel

  • jump

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2013/08/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Big Island Kayaking FUN

Reviewed by: Mark Mazzuca, 2012/11/10

We enjoyed the Keauhou Kayaking Adventure very much. The Staff was outstanding! They were patient and very capable kayakers. One led while the other stayed in the back for those that were a bit slower. We didn't feel rushed or exhausted, as Walter kept the pace based on the group's abilities. We had some pretty decent swells and were not able to get close to the Sea Cave, but the scenery was still incredible. The snorkeling stop was fun, and the Staff had enough masks/snorkels for everyone. There were some first-timers with our group and there were times when they struggled a bit, but in the parking lot afterwards said they had a great time. The Staff, again, was very patient with them and never made them feel like beginners. We own a kayak, so it was easy for us. . .but you may want to rent once on the mainland (or hotel) before you embark on this one, just to make the whole experience a little easier. We were late to the event (got lost), but the Staff waited for us to get

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing Experience

Reviewed by: Christine Noriga, 2012/07/18

We were on our honeymoon and decided that we wanted to go snorkeling for our 1st time so I did research and this just sounded amazing to have a 2 in 1, snorkel & kayak! Kayaking is something that neither of us had done before either. We got there nice & early and all of the staff were very friendly. The adventure on the ocean was real cool too, the view from the ocean was beautiful along the coast. When we parked our kayaks, we snorkeled and the coral reefs were so pretty and the fish were bright colors like you see in magazines, it was awesome! We got out of the water and climbed the lava rocks and explored the tide pools in the immediate area while other people on our tour were still in the water watching sea turtles. We were asked if we wanted to climb some rocks & jump off the cliffs and I did it in a heart beat cause it looked like fun and it was. Fresh fruit, snacks & juices were provided to us by our guide Samantha I think was her name(if not something with an S). She was absol

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great trip

Reviewed by: Miller's, 2010/06/22

This was soooo much fun. The Best part of our trip. We had a blast snorkeling, jumping off the cliff, and even the kayaking wasn't so bad. I would definitely recommend this to anyone looking for a way to spend a fun 3 1/2 hrs enjoying the water, catching some rays, and learning about the Island. It was GREAT!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Honeymoon/Vacaiton Highlight

Reviewed by: Joey Jamir, 2008/06/23

A group of eight of us, my wife and I, our 9 year old daughters, my sister and her husband, and my brother and his wife, went kayaking for the first time with Ocean Safari Kayaks, and we all agreed that is was one of the best activities of our whole trip. The staff, Mikey and Debbie, was very friendly, informative, and supportive and the locations we visited were awesome. Although not as leisurely as going on a snorkeling trip with a power boat or raft company, I'd say this trip gives you more of a sense of adventure. We were able to check out the Dragon's Throat Sea Cave, which was a bit intimidating, but with their guidance, were able to successfully enter. Then, came the snorkeling which was awesome, and most importantly the cliff dive. That is one experience I may never stop talking about. My brother, brother in law, and I all took the plunge, not to mention being upstaged by Mikey doing a spectacular backflip off the cliff. Anyway, I could go on and on about this, but its d

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Kayak trip

Reviewed by: Tony, 2007/10/26

My wife did the early morning 3.5 hour trip and we loved it. This was the first time that me and my wife had ever kayaked, the tour guides show you how to do everything from balancing your kayak to getting in and out of your kayak in the open ocean. We seen a pod of dolphins on the way out of the bay, that was great, then we followed the shore line. at one point we were able to paddle into a small cave with a blow hole, and then several members of the tour jumped off the cliff over the cave. It was a bit too high for us so we watched. But we were able to paddle out before the rest with one guide and when we were just around the corner the same pod of dolphins swam under and by us. Several of the dolphins were within touching distance of our kayak. My wife was so in awe she could barely get the camera out! The snacks were yummy and the guides wonderful!. We were able to wander and snorkel at a second sight that had a cove and a shorter cliff that we jumped off! If you can take t

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Hawaiian Islands