Page 3) Keauhou Bay Sea Cave Kayak & Snorkeling Adventure in Kona reviews, Big Island tours & activities, fun things to do in Big Island | HawaiiActivities.com

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Keauhou Bay Sea Cave Kayak & Snorkeling Adventure in Kona

Overall Rating

4.50 4.50 / 5

Reviews

167 reviews
Post a review

Kayaking on the open sea

Reviewed by: Heather, 2014/04/05

I gave the adventure 5 stars, because I don't think it could have been any better and the guides were excellent.

That being said, I did not enjoy the adventure. The water was very rough and I had a very difficult time paddling and controlling the kayak. I have kayaked on lakes and rivers before without difficulty. In addition, because it was so rough, I got VERY sea-sick. That made the return trip nearly impossible. Since you are on your own, you have to muscle through it. As a result, my husband didn't enjoy it because he was worried about me.

Some suggestions, don't do this adventure if you get sea-sick. Another gentleman in the group was also throwing up, so it wasn't just me. In addition, unless you are in amazing physical condition, get a two person kayak. You can use your combined strength to get through the waves.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2014/03/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

A must

Reviewed by: Anne, 2014/02/18

We had a blast on our kayaking/sea cave/snorkeling tour. Our guide was absolutely wonderful and extremely knowledgable about the ocean. The weather was crisp and perfect. Would do it again and again. We even saw whales!!!!!!!!!!!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2014/02/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

BREATHLESS

Reviewed by: HAWAII BOUND, 2014/02/13

WORDS CANNOT DESCRIBE WHAT WE SAW AND HOW IT MADE US FEEL - JUST SO BREATHTAKING!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2013/03/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Keauhou Bay Sea Cave Kayak & Snorkel Adventure

Reviewed by: Elaine Alper, 2014/01/13

Kyle and Kira were WONDERFUL!!! My 12 year old son, Brandon, and I, felt very safe and confident. I was worried about getting in and out of the kayak, but Kira made me feel very comfortable about it. We LOVED the entire excursion, and would definitely do it again, when we visit. We had the most perfect weather, too. Thank you Kyle and Kira!!! You guys ROCK!!!

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2014/01/10
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Best of big island

Reviewed by: Kayline, 2014/01/04

Kira was our guide and she was fabulous! We saw hundreds of spinner dolphins and beautiful coral while snorkeling. We had a kayak picnic with amazing pineapple and treats. We climbed rocks and jumped off the end of the world! Truly my favorite thing we did while on the big Island. Thanks!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2013/12/10
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fun

Reviewed by: Kim, 2014/01/02

A trip highlight! The trip is challenging but not overly so, the staff were very personable and funny. They were able to account for everyone's skill level to make the trip enjoyable. Seeing wildlife from so close was great. Just bring your sunscreen -- would go again in a heartbeat!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2013/12/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Terrific Trip!

Reviewed by: Sonya, 2013/12/18

We decided to take this tour with my two teenage children and my parents. We had a fabulous time. My husband and daughter enjoyed the cliff jumping while the rest of us snorkeled. The trip was very relaxing and enjoyable.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2013/06/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fun!

Reviewed by: Jeff, 2013/11/27

Very taxing on your upper body, first time kayaking so I didn't realize what I was in for, but we still had a great time. The snorkeling and cliff jumps were awesome!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Very fun

Reviewed by: Amy, 2013/10/08

The guides were friendly warm patient and experienced. The water was blue-green and beautiful. It was my first time scuba diving and I had fun. It was a lot of exercise, but it was worth it. I definitely recommend it.

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2013/09/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great experience at any age

Reviewed by: Big kahuna, 2013/09/25

Great experience. Guide Kyle was excellent, very knowledgeable about the area and kayaking. Wonderful snack & jumping from the cliff. Great time had by all. Great value for the $. Highly recommended. We are retired with 30 something children with us

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2013/09/22
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Once in a lifetime experience

Reviewed by: Holly, 2013/08/12

My sister and I did the sea kayaking adventure our second day here, and we had a blast! It's about and hour out and an hour back, so be prepared to do some paddling, but well worth what's waiting for you at the end. Our guide showed us the sea caves, and let us take a dip in the most remote part of the world (think about it, no joke) and then took us to a small cove where we anchored to snorkel. Saw so many different fish, all different shapes and colors, and the water is crystal clear. After we had snacks on the lava rocks surrounding the cove and a few in the group tried their hand a cliff jumping (not for me, but very safe and looked like fun). HIGHLY recommend doing is excursion. One tip, bring water shoes! you can do it without but it would have been easier with. The guides, Angus and Dana, were awesome! Really fun and very knowledgeable. Mahalo guys!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2013/08/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great trip

Reviewed by: Emil, 2013/08/08

Very good trip, totally worth it compared to doing it on your own. We had a 5yo and a 8yo and it was no problem. They really enjoyed the snorkeling (they had both snorkeled and been in kayaks before). The guides pointed out lots of interesting things including lava tubes and eels catching crabs in tide pools near the lunch point.

  • setting out

  • Mike, our guide, with the food bags

  • exploring caves

  • mooring

  • lava tubes in the cliff

  • tide pool with eel

  • jump

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2013/08/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Keauhou Sea Cave Kayak & Snorkel Adventure

Reviewed by: Scott Jackson, 2013/07/29

This was such an amazing day. We Kayaked 2 hrs out and 2 hrs in. We cliff dove, snorkeled, found some cool shells. The guides were funny and educational (kudos) All I can say is it was the greatest day ever on our Hawaii vacation and would do it again if/when we come back. I TOTALLY recommend this tour place.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

So much fun!

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2013/01/25

My husband and I went on this trip as a wedding present from my brother on our honeymoon and we had a blast! It was great to be able to be in a kayak together. The places we saw, and the stories we were told were awesome. There was even a surprise cliff jump! It's a great way to see a beautiful side to the Big Island!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Kayaking and Caves

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2013/01/13

An awesome way to spend Christmas Morning! This was part of many firsts for our family: our first trip to Hawaii, first time kayaking in the ocean, first time snorkeling, .... We had a wonderful time. My husband and I shared a Kayak and our son had his own. All of us had a wonderful time. My husband and son even jumped off the cliff! My only disappointment was I wish I had some photos of us during the experience.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Big Island Kayaking FUN

Reviewed by: Mark Mazzuca, 2012/11/10

We enjoyed the Keauhou Kayaking Adventure very much. The Staff was outstanding! They were patient and very capable kayakers. One led while the other stayed in the back for those that were a bit slower. We didn't feel rushed or exhausted, as Walter kept the pace based on the group's abilities. We had some pretty decent swells and were not able to get close to the Sea Cave, but the scenery was still incredible. The snorkeling stop was fun, and the Staff had enough masks/snorkels for everyone. There were some first-timers with our group and there were times when they struggled a bit, but in the parking lot afterwards said they had a great time. The Staff, again, was very patient with them and never made them feel like beginners. We own a kayak, so it was easy for us. . .but you may want to rent once on the mainland (or hotel) before you embark on this one, just to make the whole experience a little easier. We were late to the event (got lost), but the Staff waited for us to get

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

More Than We Could Have Expected!

Reviewed by: Vanessa and Josh Alvarez, 2012/10/20

This was a great purchase! It was a great experience, the guide was awesome, and it was definitely something that cannot be done back home! My husband and I went on our honeymoon and book this activity for our first day in Hawaii. The description stated, Sea Cave Kayaking Adventure, but we got so much more! We kayaked, went to the sea cave, swam with dolphins, snorkeled, got to jump off a cliff, fed the mongoose, had a nice lunch, and learned a lot about sea life, not to mention the hundreds of different fish and sea life we got to encounter. The guide was extremely knowledgeable and always kept safety a priority! No question about it we would return time and time again!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Would do again in a hearbeat!

Reviewed by: Liz G., 2012/08/22

My granddaughter (14 yrs old) and I did this kayak snorkeling trip last month (July 27, 2012) and thoroughly enjoyed the experience! We had never kayaked before but had snorkled quite a few times over on Oahu. Our group of 11 included both experienced and novice kayakers. The guides (especially Brent) were helpful, knowledgeable, friendly and especially patient with us newbies. Water visibility was fantastic. We saw an abundance of different fish when we stopped to snorkel and were lucky enough to have a pod of dolphins come within 15 feet of us. That alone made the experience memorable. Water bottles were provided on the kayaks and when we stopped we snacked on drinks, chips and fresh delicious pineapple. I would strongly recommend wearing water shoes/sandals in order to be able to easily climb up to the lava cliff to make the jump. Would I do this snorkeling trip again? In a heartbeat!!!

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Kyak

Reviewed by: KayDee, 2012/08/13

Was Awesome!

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing Experience

Reviewed by: Christine Noriga, 2012/07/18

We were on our honeymoon and decided that we wanted to go snorkeling for our 1st time so I did research and this just sounded amazing to have a 2 in 1, snorkel & kayak! Kayaking is something that neither of us had done before either. We got there nice & early and all of the staff were very friendly. The adventure on the ocean was real cool too, the view from the ocean was beautiful along the coast. When we parked our kayaks, we snorkeled and the coral reefs were so pretty and the fish were bright colors like you see in magazines, it was awesome! We got out of the water and climbed the lava rocks and explored the tide pools in the immediate area while other people on our tour were still in the water watching sea turtles. We were asked if we wanted to climb some rocks & jump off the cliffs and I did it in a heart beat cause it looked like fun and it was. Fresh fruit, snacks & juices were provided to us by our guide Samantha I think was her name(if not something with an S). She was absol

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Aloha

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2012/07/16

We had an excellent time. My husband got sea sick but the staff took good care of him. It was a great experience and worth the money.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Views from the Water

Reviewed by: Missing Hawai'i All Ready, 2012/07/14

My family of 6 really enjoyed the kayak and snorkeling trip on the Big Island. The guides were extremely friendly, informative, and supportive. We had a couple of stops on the trip out, where we learned more about the island and its history. The snorkeling was great. It also provided a sense of how deep the water was, which made jumping off the cliff much easier. The guides provided plenty of refreshments, which made the trip back a little easier. Kayaking does require physical activity, so be prepared and drink water (which they will provide).

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great staff!

Reviewed by: bigislandgurl, 2012/06/19

Felt like a tourist but I got to do things I never did before like jump off that high cliff and kayak on my own. It was a LOT of work for me. If you've never done it, go with a double kayak. It's a little easier. The sea caves were non-existent. We only got 2 feet near a small little opening in the rock. The snorkeling was good. I rated the trip 4 stars only because of our guide who was really understanding and encouraging when it came to handling the fact that my daughter's boyfriend could not swim. It was because of our guide, I think his name is Brent, that John became daring enough to snorkel off the kayak and get help getting onto the rocks where he was able to relax a little and enjoy the snacks. The jump off the cliff is scary but fun to brag about afterwards. It was worth it for the experience of paddling a kayak on the open ocean but thank heaven the water wasn't rough when we went!

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great activity

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2012/06/10

We loved the time paddeling the Kayaks it was easy and fun.
The snorkeling was the best!!!

The rock climbing and jumping was great as was the lava tube.

We also saw the dolfins which was great.

My only complaint was we got done too soon. I could have stayed our another 30 minutes at least.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Staff!

Reviewed by: Julie O., 2012/04/15

I have to say, the staff was fantastic. We came as a family - 2 adults and one 12-year old. One of us adults (me) got motion sickness on this trip. My 12 year old had to bear the brunt of the paddling as we were sharing a kayak. I was dreading the trip back from our snorkeling stop. The guides could see that we were struggling (because of my nausea and the high seas) and they tethered us to their kayak and helped us in. We continued to work our paddles but I think we might still be on the water today if it weren't for their help. My husband was in a single kayak and he did fantastic and had a great time. We certainly cannot blame anyone for my sea sickness except me but the staff was very nice about it and extremely helpful. Thanks guys for all of your help! My husband and son are ready to go again but I think I'll sit the next one out.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Bring Sunscreen!

Reviewed by: SharkBait, 2012/03/29

Great, fun day splashing around off the Kona coast. Nothing wildly new, unless you've never done this sort of thing before. Getting buzzed by a pod of spinner dolphins and the 20-ft cliff jump were highlights. Just be aware: you're looking at several hours of direct sun here, so best buy the aloe first.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Compact and worthwhile

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2012/03/14

It was a compact tour of kayaking, snorkeling, cliff diving and sea-cave watching, though the weather didn't allow sea-cave exploration on that day. The overall experience was worthwhile for a first-timer. The tour made it much easier for route guidance, picking up kayaking tips, tying up kayaks when snorkeling and quick onshore energy supplement. It might be a little demanding physically for individual rowers. Yet the staff were very experienced, helpful (and encouraging for beginners).

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Kayaking

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2012/03/14

Had a good time. I'm athletic so asked for a single but was put in a double kayak with my father since girls are "weak". My father got sea sick so we were towed back even though I wanted to do the rowing. I never did get the exercise I wanted and never saw the sea caves so was pretty disappointed. My brother went on to see the caves in his single kayak. We were told that the activity would be over at noon but my brother came back at 11 a.m. We had to wait around til noon for our ride which was also a little disappointing. Wouldn't do this activity again under the circumstances.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Sea cave

Reviewed by: susan, 2011/12/27

This was reccommended for all levels. I do not agree. We had several children who were not able to paddle and it made it very hard for the adult in that boat. My parents are in their seventies, the guides were nice enough to pull them. The tour was great my family was not the type of customer that needed to be on this tour. We were allowed out of the kayak to snorkle, a very nice spot, but we had to climb on rocks to take a break. The sea cave was neat but not exactly what I was expecting. We ahd to ask to jump off the cliffs - I am not sure they usually do that although it is in the description. The dolphin and whales were no where to be seen. think there are better snorkling tours available unless you are strong and love to kayak.
However the staff and company was great.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Ms.

Reviewed by: Kim McMahon, 2011/11/29

This was the most fun we had in Hawaii! We snorkeled and jumped off a 20' plus cliff! While snorkeling, about 100 spinner dolphins decided to join us and got close enough some people could touch them! Absolutely awesome!

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Hawaiian Islands