Horseback Ride Tour Through Waipio Valley reviews, Big Island tours & activities, fun things to do in Big Island (With pictures only) | HawaiiActivities.com

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Horseback Ride Tour Through Waipio Valley

Overall Rating

4.64 4.64 / 5

Reviews

56 reviews
Post a review

GLORIOUS

Reviewed by: Linda from Colorado, 2019/11/30

What a marvelous adventure! This is my second time. The first time I did it with my local friend and my older grand daughter. It was stellar and why we opted do do it yet again. This time I brought my 2 grand girls (13 & 16). One is a good rider, one a beginner. Both of them had a marvelous time and had wonderful horses. I'm an advanced rider and loved my horse and the entire experience. The guides are a delight and taught me much I didn't know about the valley and it's contents and history, even though I already knew quite a bit. I can't say enough about how perfect the experience was. I'll do this ride again and again, every time I come to the island. I could not have been more pleased with everything about this adventure.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2019/11/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Experienced and attentive horse people!

Reviewed by: Robin W., 2019/11/26

This horseback riding experience was so amazing! The guides were very experienced and there were experienced riders and first-timers in our group. Each participant was treated individually and to their level of comfort and experience! We rode through creeks and foliage and the slightest rainfall...it was a beautiful ride and gorgeous environment. The guides told us the history of the island and the Hawaiians who settled the valley...we also saw the wild horses along the way. Magical experience! 5-star!

  • Beautiful Valley

  • Her first time on a horse!

  • So fun!

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2019/09/28
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

The best!

Reviewed by: The Fesagaiga’s , 2019/07/23

This was most definitely the highlight of my families trip, the scenery is beyond amazing. Nothing like i have EVER seen before and the horses are absolutely amazing. It was my kids and my husband’s first time riding and the horses were great for them! Actually made them fall in love with horseback riding just like I am! So thank you to the ranch for letting us experience that as a family! I would MOST DEFINITELY recommend doing this on your vacation or even if you live there and looking for something to do!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2019/07/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Definitely worth the money!!

Reviewed by: Daisy, 2019/05/21

The ride was awesome, the guides were energetic and super friendly, I felt so incredibly welcome, like family The scenery was GORGEOUS and the horses we're amazing!! I'd spend the money again in a heartbeat They matched all of us to horses according to our skill level, so that even I didn't feel like I was just on a pony ride (I've been on horseback many many times) We even got to see the resident heard of wild horses! Best afternoon spent in a LONG time

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2019/05/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Twice is nice!

Reviewed by: Robin Carson, 2018/02/02

The ride in van to the valley, then back to the top were outstanding as well as horseback ride. Guide was a great driver on the narrow treacherous roads. Horseback ride wonderful, guides informative, horses gentle. Great instructions given on how to "drive" a horse. I've never felt so comfortable on a horse before. Mine was Holoholo, a handsome palamino. He had personality and would nip ar other horses. I could identify with him. I have personality as well. Scenery beautifal. I loved the ride so much that I went back for a second ride a week later.Also saw many wild horses too.
.I would recommend this activity to anyone and everyone.

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2018/01/29
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Horseback riding Tour Through Waipio Valley

Reviewed by: Eileen, 2017/10/26

The guys were awesome. Made it fun. The horses were strong and healthy. The scenery was breathtaking, green and lush. We would have liked to ride the horses through the waterfalls, same price, but this was good too. There were wild horses and donkey that let you pet them. Overall our experiences was great. Thank you for making the day fun.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2017/10/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Best experience

Reviewed by: Deb Morris, 2016/12/26

It was my first time on a horse for decades and thanks to the wonderful guides and calm horses, i never felt safer. The scenery is fabulous and the guides have a huge and amazing knowledge of the valley, its inhabitants whether human or animal, as well as the plentiful edible plant life. They really made the trek perfect. Highly recommend whether a first timer or an experienced rider, you will not regret it.

  • Our guide leading the way

  • Getting ready to match horses with riders

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2016/12/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Best Way to Visit Waipeo Valley

Reviewed by: David Case, 2015/09/04

Horseback is maybe the best way to experience the Waipeo Valley. Our guides and horses were very experienced. My only critique is that I wish we'd had more time to talk with the guides-- maybe even after we got back to the stables. It was also a good value for the money, but I'd have paid more for some extra time with them.

  • A Waipeo Afterrnoon

Reply from activity provider

Mahalo for the kind review!!! We are so glad you enjoyed your ride with us and sorry you didn't get more time with the guides! Hope we see you again in the future!! Aloha

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2015/09/01
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

May 2015

Reviewed by: Diane Norton, 2015/05/22

Great experience! Amazing scenery. Guides were entertaining, knowledgeable, made us feel welcomed and comfortable with the whole experience. Highly recommend!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/05/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Hawaiian Islands