Mauna Kea Stargazing and Astro-Photography Tour with Complimentary Pictures reviews, Big Island tours & activities, fun things to do in Big Island | HawaiiActivities.com

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

We are continually updating the latest closures and availabilities of our activities, and the most up to date information regarding COVID-19 in Hawaii can be found here.

Mauna Kea Stargazing and Astro-Photography Tour with Complimentary Pictures

Overall Rating

5.00 5.00 / 5

Reviews

6 reviews
Post a review

Highlight of our entire Hawaii Trip

Reviewed by: Adam, 2020/03/14

Our guide was very knowledgeable and friendly, and clearly had the same passion for astronomy we did. He took fantastic romantic photos with the galaxy in the background, while explaining what it is we were looking at. It felt like being on another planet up on Mauna Kea! Would definitely recommend, it’s an unforgettable experience.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2020/03/11
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Spectacular

Reviewed by: AJ89, 2019/05/28

Our tour guide was personable, knowledgeable and had incredible talent as a photographer. He has a great eye for nature’s beauty and is without a doubt a perfectionist. The tour covered a lot of ground in a relatively short amount of time without feeling rushed and I was happy to be taken to spots I wouldn’t have ever found on my own.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/05/25
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fabulous time under the Stars!

Reviewed by: Travelooza, 2019/02/07

We enjoyed it a lot. We wish we had gone earlier in our trip so we would’ve had the opportunity to build other activities around what we saw on this trip. James runs this business on his own and he does a lot of research and individualizes each trip to the current conditions of the atmosphere and weather. The photos he took of us were amazing. I could see couples booking this for engagement, honeymoon or anniversary photos. The star gazing was the highlight. We see stars from our house very well but it doesn’t even compare to the clarity of the sky at that altitude. I would definitely recommend this excursion.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/01/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Really epic!

Reviewed by: C D, 2019/01/28

James was a very knowledgeable and chill guide. He also takes amazing pictures! This is a really unique tour that you can't find elsewhere. Definitely recommend for those who visit the big island.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/01/25
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Stargazing Like No Other!

Reviewed by: Mara, 2018/12/02

Highly recommend this excursion. Great way to see the entire island from lava rock to waterfalls to Japanese gardens to a lave tube cave, it was all amazing. But the best part is the stargazing on Mauna Kea. Its like nothing you have experienced before. To see the sky in this way was simply inspirational. James from Epic Tours gave us a amazing tour and having pictures taken all along the way was the icing on the cake. Definitely a must do on the Big Island.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2018/11/29
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

We enjoyed the tour very much!

Reviewed by: Alice Chia-Hua Tsai, 2018/11/28

James was very knowledgeable and we did learn a lot about the big island. Walking in the lava cave was fun, don’t think you can do that elsewhere. The stargazing pictures he took was phenomenal! He even showed us how to take professional-looking pictures by just using iPhone! Definitely recommend this tour! You are gonna love it!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/11/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Hawaiian Islands

Big Island Categories