Sea Wife Kona Sport Fishing - Shared & Private Charters (from Honokohau Harbor)

Good fishing

Reviewed by: Kathy, 2017/02/27

Although we had a successful fishing trip, it was slightly marred but the surliness of the captain (Kent). We later found out that he has a great success rate fishing and the added bonus of keeping part of fish made the trip.
Where Kent lacked in communication skills, the first mate (the kid) more than made up for with his non-stop stories. (No really, you can look that up). Hehe
We went home with a 22lb mahi mahi. Way to go, Jennifer.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/02/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fishing in Kona

Reviewed by: BEJ, 2016/05/03

Crew and captain were great! Other participants smoked way too much which kept me ill. Not the best time to go; since fishes are not biting too much between 10 - 12:00

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2016/04/30
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great experience!

Reviewed by: MTTravelers, 2016/02/13

We had a great time on the Sea Wife 2 during our fishing charter. Unfortunately, the fish did not cooperate that day but the other aspects of the trip made up for it. The boat was extremely clean, in good repair and well stocked with water and snacks. I was concerned about getting seasick but the medicine and confidence by Captain Kent to handle any emergency situation took care of any queasiness. I would recommend this trip if you are spending some time in the Kona area.

Reply from activity provider

Thank you so much, we are glad you had fun!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/01/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Cruise

Reviewed by: Beverly , 2015/02/01

We ended up doing more cruising than fishing. This was much different than the year before, when they motored to a certain spot & fished. We still had a good time. The crew was friendly and helpful.


Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2014/05/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Boys' Fishing Trip

Reviewed by: Beverly , 2013/03/06

The boys went fishing while the girls went shopping. They had a very good time, except for Paul, who did not take his Dramamine! At least he only fed the fish on the way back. They caught some nice fish, which we thoroughly enjoyed. The crew was friendly and knowledgable and helpful. I would recommend this.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2012/05/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Sea Wife II

Reviewed by: Jess C, 2011/10/04

My husband and I were so excited to deep sea fish! Unfortunately, noone on the boat caught a single fish. My husband and I fish back home, so we know this sort of thing happens, but 4 hours on the boat and not a single fish was kinda irritating. The crew worked hard and was super nice though. Just wish that for the $200 we spent we could have at least seen someone catch a fish on the boat. I kinda felt that if I wanted to sit on a boat for 4 hours I would have booked that instead of fishing.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great time!

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2011/07/16

I booked this trip because we could share the charter and because we could keep what we caught if we wanted. For a very good price, we were able to spend all morning fishing and otherwise enjoying being on the beautiful water. My husband was disappointed because a marlin was hooked on his turn, but by the time the deckhand got the pole to him, the fish was off. (The deckhand on this day only seemed adequate. I don't think he's the regular one, though; so I wouldn't let that sway me from booking again.) Everybody got to reel in at least one fish, and I am pretty sure most got 2. I got to reel in a 19.5 pound skipjack tuna :o), which the deckhand filleted for us, and we had it cooked at the Royal Jade Garden in Kona. The chef did a great job (salt and pepper stir fry and honey walnut stirfry - the salt and pepper was best) for around $14 each dish. It was a great way to spend a morning on the Big Island. Will call them again on our next trip there.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fishing the Big Island

Reviewed by: Al from Montana, 2011/06/24

Enjoyed our four hour fishing experience, with all poles used, we had an enjoyable time. Not getting to reel in a fish didn't dampen my trip, as I witnessed a 14 year old boy bring in a 42 lb. Ono. The enitre boat was able to share in the fish caught by the boat and this was an extra worth eating. I found the entire staff of the Sea Wife II to be both helpful and entertaining. I would definitely go again and look to the Sea Wife II for my charter experience.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

GONE FISHING

Reviewed by: Anita, 2011/05/03

My boyfriend talked me into going and I had the time of my life! He caught a 20lb mahi mahi and we got to bring it home!!! I caught a shark and another man caught a marlin! It was a great experience and I would definitely go again! Thanks Sea Wife II!!!!




Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Fun

Reviewed by: Jose's Wife, 2008/10/04

My new husband really wanted to go fishing on our recent trip to Kona. This seemed to be the best option for us because we didn't want to charter a whole boat just for the two of us. The crew was friendly and helpful to me (first time fisher) and my husband got a kick out of watching me try to fish!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Time and Lots of Fish!!!

Reviewed by: Elisha's Family, 2008/10/04

My family really wanted to do some fishing while we were in Hawaii, and I am so glad that we took the time to do so! It was such an amazing difference from fishing on a lake, and the being out in the ocean was so exciting and refreshing! The captain and the crew were very attentive to our needs, and knew just where to go to reel in the big ones :) Highly reccomend this operation and can't wait to go back!

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

memorable

Reviewed by: DAN, 2008/03/06

WE thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. The trip was memorable, the crew was
courteous and informative and we went back to our condo with some fresh
tuna fillets - everything we had hoped the experience would be.

Thanks So Much

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Sea Wife 2 Charter

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2008/02/21

I went out with my 8 y/o son on the Sea Wife 2 today, out of Kona.
Overall we had a very nice time. This was my first charter fishing trip in Hawaii, and things are done very differently here from my state of WA.
Sometimes that has to be remembered when looking at the whole picture. If you are visiting the big island with your family, and want to just be out on the beautiful water and catch something then this is a GREAT place to setup with your kids. The Captain and deck hand were really friendly, and everything was in good shape, i.e. fishing equipment, boat etc.
I was pretty let down in the fish that we were catching, i.e. Mackeral, somethink maybe called Striped Jack? small Ono, etc. These were basicly 14" 2lb baitfish. Fish that would lend themselves towards bringing up something bigger and more interesting. I myself fish heavily when at home, so this was kinda a drag...... but don't get me wrong,,, my kid loved it! and I think it is a good way to get out and ensure th

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Sport fishing

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2007/12/27

I went fishing in September 07. I had a great time. The crew was professional and friendly. The boat was clean and well maintained. The captain and crew wanted everyone to catch fish. I would recommend this activity.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fishing

Reviewed by: Tony, 2007/10/27

We went in August 2007 and it seamed like all they wanted was your money. didnt't get one bite and the deck hand would'nt even talk to us I will charter a boat next time.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Not a bite!

Reviewed by: Jason, 2007/07/09

Our captain had been aaway from the waters for weeks and our trip was his first back. So, he did not know where the fish were biting. If it were not for the huge shark we saw in the harbor area, it would hvae been a complete waste of money.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Hawaiian Islands

Click for the BBB Business Review of this Concierge Services in Honolulu HI