Page 2) Mauna Kea Stargazing Tour & Summit Sunset Adventure [Open Now] reviews, Big Island tours & activities, fun things to do in Big Island | HawaiiActivities.com

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Travelers arriving into Hawaii are required to pass the pre-arrival COVID-19 test requirements or complete the mandatory 14-day quarantine. Up-to-date Hawaii COVID-19 information can be found here.

Mauna Kea Stargazing Tour & Summit Sunset Adventure [Open Now]

Overall Rating

4.77 4.77 / 5

Reviews

66 reviews
Post a review

Omg one of the highlights of my life!

Reviewed by: Kristyn Taylor , 2015/12/11

What a fabulous tour led by Greg. Full credit to Greg, who was so engaging and informative, he really enriched the experience.
The tour was out of this world literally. The telescopes, scenery, sunset!! I loved that we didn't race off , after the sunset, but stayed as the colours deepened. We were the last tour to leave the sunset location.
The food was good! Lasagne and a very yummy brownie and later hot chocolate and biscotti whilst we star gazed through massive telescopes.
I was totally impressed with this tour. In fact raved about it so much when I got back to the hotel that my friend went the next day and also loved it!!

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2015/12/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Tour

Reviewed by: Keith, 2015/10/17

Enjoyable tour hosted by knowledgable guides. Great chance to see above the clouds and beyond. Only downside was the meal -a vegetable lasagne with a dried out top from being heated to long.

  • Spectacular Sunset

  • Other Uses for the Summit

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/09/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Stellar Adventure

Reviewed by: Andy, 2015/09/10

This was truly one of the more amazing ventures we have done. The guides were knowledgeable and professional. We learned about the various international observatories, saw a phenomenal sunset above the clouds at nearly 14,000 feet and then were treated to astrological viewing that was incredible. Just a spectacular evening.

The only negative comment I have is the seating in the vans, particular if you are 6' or taller is very tight. That said, it is still a very worthwhile adventure.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/09/07
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Best. Stargazing. Ever.

Reviewed by: Tomáš Vachuda, 2015/08/15

Both me and my friend are big fans of stargazing. Being from Europe, we're used to completely different night sky and it war really refreshing to see the other-side-of-the-world's sky as well. Also, because Mauna Kea Summit has one of the clearest sky in the world, it took the stargazing to whole another level. It was really amazing experience and worth every penny. Also the guides knew like.. everything about the stars, so it was pretty educational too. Oh and by the way - the sunset seen from above the clouds at the summit? Magnificent!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2015/07/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

just book it!

Reviewed by: patrick, 2015/05/08

As a solo traveller from the UK it was a bit of a lucky dip as there are other providers of similar tours to this one.....worth every penny!our tour guide was Blake,he was very knowledgeable and friendly the sunset was truly amazing and the star gazing was fun and I learned alot about some of the stars..the telescopes was very good pieces of kit and we even saw the moon rising from the cloud horizon which was amazing too....we were very lucky with the weather conditions it wasn't windy at all,still a bit chilly on the summit tho..the parka jackets were good quality and clean....I could carry on,but gonna leave it here as amazing well worth it....one small note,the gloves supplied keep your hands warm but don't make it easy to take pictures on small cameras and mobile phones.

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2015/05/05
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Stunning scenery, don't miss this

Reviewed by: Jesper, 2015/02/09

Definitely do this during your holiday! The sunset and scenery at Mauna Kea is out-of-this-world and impressive. The stargazing afterwards is fun, as well as amazing to see so many stars so brightly.
The tour was excellent too, with well-informed guides and an un-rushed feel. Dinner was decent too.

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2015/01/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

A lifetime Experience!

Reviewed by: Daniel, 2014/12/07

Whilst reading this activity when planning my vacation to Hawaii I knew that going to the summit and doing some stargazing would be something not to be missed. I'm glad it did not disappoint! The sunset atop Mauna Kea is amazing with only clouds below us, and we were able to view a great deal of objects in the night sky. It does definitely get chilly up there, and even though they supply Parkas and gloves be sure to wear some heavy pants and thick covered in shoes (lest your toes succumb to frostbite!) I have recommended this tour to friends whom I know will be going to Hawaii in the next few years.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2014/11/11
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Had a good time

Reviewed by: Kathy, 2014/11/15

Seeing the sun set at the top of mauna kea was a once in a lifetime adventure. However dInner wasn't that great - was handed the food to eat at the visitor center -no where to sit and eat and had to balance dinner plate on my lap. This was not what I expected. As well, food was not very good. No drink included. Astronomy lesson after sunset was interesting. Although overall the trip was ok I did not think it was worth the money.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2014/11/09
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Mauna Kea summit tour

Reviewed by: Phoenix family, 2014/11/09

Excellent tour. We'll worth the money. More educational than expected. We would have liked to have more time to ask questions but the two guides did a fantastic job trying to see everyone was comfortable and amazed. We would book it again just because it was one of the highlights of our vacation. A job well done.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2014/10/28
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing

Reviewed by: Chris, 2014/10/25

Great tour guide amazing experience the best view on earth

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

LETS DO IT AGIAN

Reviewed by: Ara kahramanian, 2014/07/19

The tour guides were ver knoweldgable, especaiily Chris. It was my childhood dream to see the Keck telescopes and it became a reality, The sunset view was amazing and the diamonds in the sky, aka the starts were even better. I saw satellites and shooting stars and the milkyway galaxy.

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2014/07/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Stellar!

Reviewed by: Ultrasonics21, 2014/04/21

It was a very educational tour with a breathtaking view. I just expected astronomy but the tour guide knew a great deal about volcanos, geology and island plant and animal life as well. The guide was awesome and I love taking tours with someone as trained and passionate about his work as this guy was. The food was so-so but it was hot and ready. The bus was cramped but it got us there and had big windows for great viewing. Once at the top, the observatories were incredible to look at as they opened up for evening viewing. The view of the sunset was also breathtaking, and not just from the lack of oxygen on top of the mountain. Once we headed back down for stargazing, our guides did a great job of pointing out astronomy as we used there 11 inch telescopes. Very great tour and highly recommended!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2014/04/10
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Manua Kea Summit and Stargazing

Reviewed by: Neil Wright, 2014/04/16

As a family with teenagers this trip catered to our needs. Our trip up the mountain was very good and our stop at the visitors centre for our meal gave us a chance to acclimatize before moving onto the summit. We made it to the summit and saw a wonderful sunset before moving onto some stargazing. Our artic jackets were more than handy and we arrived back in Kona by 11pm.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2014/04/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Spectacular viewing!!

Reviewed by: George and Barbara, 2014/01/23

We had a great guide Jim. His knowledge of Hawaiian history, plants and wildlife was great. When we were at the Summit with the large world telescope buildings and when we did the viewing of the stars he was excellent there as well.

Highly Recommend this tour.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2014/01/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Experience!

Reviewed by: William C, 2013/12/11

The temperature was colder than I expected but the viewing was spectacular!

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2013/11/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Mauna Kea

Reviewed by: Kathy, 2013/07/01

It was a once in a lifetime experience. It's very cold up at the summit, but the sunset and stargazing were worth it. The only complaint I had was that the dinner (vegetable lasagna) was terrible.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2013/06/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Mauna Kea lived up to my expectatio

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2013/01/31

I expected this trip would be a magical chance to get to stand "on top of the world" and watch the sunset and see the stars. It was indeed spectacular. The stargazing portion was really geared towards people who are absolute astronomy beginners, so if youre an amateur astronomer you'll be a little disappointed that you don't get to see more. But the guides were great the whole time giving a great history of the Big Island ranging from botany to politics to Volcano development. Don't expect a very lively time, if you're there as an individual it's a quiet, lonely world up there. but would be great as an adventurous couple to see something totally out of the ordinary.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Hawaii Eco Tour - Mauna Kea Summit

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2012/08/14

We had a wonderful guide/driver. She really gave us a lot of information on the way up and at the site. It was nice to not drive or worry about packing warm weather gear. Well worth the money. And the meal was very good and filling.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Breathtaking

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2012/07/01

This was my husband's favorite excursion. Our guide was very knowledgeable. The views from the summit are breathtaking and well worth the effort.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Idea!

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2011/12/22

Loved the tour. The clouds dissipated in time for sunset and we had perfect timing for stargazing - got to actually see the Great Red Spot on Jupiter. The tour guide was knowledgeable and very personable. If I was going back to Hawaii, I would do this all over again. Highly recommended, as it is a once in a life time opportunity.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Do this!

Reviewed by: Kim&Geoff, 2011/09/04

We were on our honeymoon, looking for something to do, this was so unique! Who would of thought we would be in a parka in Hawaii! Pick this company! There were many up there, but these guys did it best, so thankful we paid a bit more and got an awesome experience. Staff was wonderful, thank you!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

mauna kea summit adventure

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2011/08/23

Wonderful experience! Felt a bit rushed with having our dinner. Not enough bath room breaks, especially after having a cup of coffee after star gazing and then having a two hour drive back to our hotels, made for a very uncomfortable ride home.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fantastic Tour

Reviewed by: SAR, 2010/07/10

Great transportation, very knowledgeable guides/drivers, wonderful "star gazing," well prepared food (too much for one person to eat at one meal!) with stainless steel table service, warm parkas and gloves provided. Recommend wearing jeans, sneakers and socks, and perhaps a light jacket to wear under the parka. Understand that it will be cold at these altitudes and be wary of altitude sickness if you are normally near sea level. Be well rested when you go and altitude shouldn't be a problem since a couple of rests (and restroom stops) as you ascend are provided. On the ride back after excellent stargazing and a hot drink and cookie, really nice and varied selections of music were played! I've never seen such wonderful sky views! Hope to come again and bring grandchildren!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Mauna Kea Summit

Reviewed by: William, 2010/04/04

I would not recommend this activity unless you've already done most everything else on this island. Everyone we talked to after getting back was dis-appointed. It sure isn't what I thought. First the transportation isn't very convenient. Getting to and from the pick up points should be improved. Next on the way up the mountain we stopped at a gift/visitor shop. Thats where we had a cardboard box dinner in the van. Someone else said bring a sandwich. I also recomend that. Going on up the hill. The observatories we only got to see from the outside, and was just told about them. We did watch a nice sunset at 13,780 feet of elevation. It was a nice view although I like the sunsets over the beach better. After the sun went down we left and went down to about 7000 feet elevation and they set up 11inch Celestron telescopes. Nice telescopes, i have a friend who has one. We saw several stars and clusters ect. Beautiful clear sky. Chitchen-Itza ruins in Mexico was just a clear a

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Excellent Experience

Reviewed by: Sylvia, 2009/12/06

The tour was excellent and the guide had a lot of passion for what he does, so it was kind of contagious. He told us a lot of interesting stories making the trip very entertain. Dinner was very good and they provide us with coats and globes which we really needed. Then we had a second stop to explain to us about the telescopes and what is being measured. Finally we arrived at the top. I must admit I got very sick, but the guide had warned us that it could happen and recommended to sit on the floor. That is exactly what I did. I didn’t like the feeling at all, but I saw the most beautiful sunset that I have ever seen so it was worth the bad 5 minutes feeling LOL but I wouldn’t recommend it to people with heart problems. After the breath taking view we went down and watch the starts through a telescope. The guide explained a lot of things I didn’t know. I am not very knowledgeable about astronomy but I really learned a lot and enjoy the time. I will definitely recommend it as a must see

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Untitled

Reviewed by: Paul Kissell, 2009/08/27

this was my second time and it was better than the first time, and I brought my family this time.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

First Time to Mauna Kea

Reviewed by: Donna, 2009/08/07

I took my 74 year old mother. We had a great time. The guides were extremely knowledgable and helpful. The food wasn't the best but that wasn't the focus of the trip. It was nice to have real metal silver ware to use while eating our of our box. I highly recommend this trip. My husband and his son will take it in two weeks.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Untitled

Reviewed by: Gina, 2009/01/27

Awesome experience, you really feel like you are at the top of the world. Beautiful view and spectacular sunset.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Trip

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2008/09/22

Overall, this trip was fantastic, and you'll never see another sunset and night sky like it anywhere else. However, be wary of poor food (bring a sandwich) that is offered, and make sure your bus has air conditioning that works since it can be a long ride up the side of the mountain in 90+ heat.

Pros:
Great trip
Romantic
Educational

Cons:
No air conditioning in the van
Poor food

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Absolutely Must Do

Reviewed by: SnowMan, 2008/06/14

This is the most amazing / moving / breathtaking / spectacular tour I've ever taken in my life... Growing up in a city, I've never seen a night sky like that before... i thought i was seeing a cloud, but turned out to be the Milky Way... there were literally millions of stars in the sky... made me feel that we are a part of this vast galaxy...

the drive to Mauna Kea was fun... Pat, the guide, even stopped our vehicle to see the owl by the road... I even got to see the state bird, Nene, at the Onizuka Space Center...

Mauna Kea is such a spritual place, and I will never forget the sunset.. Oh, you have to take a tour to go up to the summit since you need a permit... it's not like Haleakala on Maui where everyone can go..

Do this tour if you are going to be in the Big Island... I recommend everyone to do this tour... Just amazing!!!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Hawaiian Islands