Waterfalls, Lava Cave & Mauna Kea Stargazing Tour with Astro-Photographer Guide reviews, Big Island tours & activities, fun things to do in Big Island | HawaiiActivities.com

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Waterfalls, Lava Cave & Mauna Kea Stargazing Tour with Astro-Photographer Guide

Overall Rating

4.90 4.90 / 5

Reviews

10 reviews
Post a review

Spectacular

Reviewed by: AJ89, 2019/05/28

Our tour guide was personable, knowledgeable and had incredible talent as a photographer. He has a great eye for nature’s beauty and is without a doubt a perfectionist. The tour covered a lot of ground in a relatively short amount of time without feeling rushed and I was happy to be taken to spots I wouldn’t have ever found on my own.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/05/25
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fabulous time under the Stars!

Reviewed by: Travelooza, 2019/02/07

We enjoyed it a lot. We wish we had gone earlier in our trip so we would’ve had the opportunity to build other activities around what we saw on this trip. James runs this business on his own and he does a lot of research and individualizes each trip to the current conditions of the atmosphere and weather. The photos he took of us were amazing. I could see couples booking this for engagement, honeymoon or anniversary photos. The star gazing was the highlight. We see stars from our house very well but it doesn’t even compare to the clarity of the sky at that altitude. I would definitely recommend this excursion.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/01/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Really epic!

Reviewed by: C D, 2019/01/28

James was a very knowledgeable and chill guide. He also takes amazing pictures! This is a really unique tour that you can't find elsewhere. Definitely recommend for those who visit the big island.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/01/25
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Waterfall, Lava Caves & Stargazing Tour w/Astro-Photographer

Reviewed by: WL from California, 2019/01/12

Absolutely amazing from the beginning to the end! James (Epic Tours) did a wonderful job educating us about each stop and in between while we were driving. He took some incredible pictures. The star gazing was the highlight. My 19 yr-old daughter who is studying Astro Physics in college was truly in her element.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2019/01/09
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Epic Tours Are Epic!

Reviewed by: Drew, 2018/12/08

We got to see some amazing parts of Hawaii! We went places where there wasn’t a lot of other tourists. Our group was small so getting around was quick and easy. The star gazing is worth the trip on its own but getting to see caves and waterfalls is the cherry on top! Definitely book with Epic Tours if you’re looking for something a bit more off the beaten path and for amazing photos! It gets cold on the mountain so wear layers.

  • Lava field to start tour

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/12/07
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Stargazing Like No Other!

Reviewed by: Mara, 2018/12/02

Highly recommend this excursion. Great way to see the entire island from lava rock to waterfalls to Japanese gardens to a lave tube cave, it was all amazing. But the best part is the stargazing on Mauna Kea. Its like nothing you have experienced before. To see the sky in this way was simply inspirational. James from Epic Tours gave us a amazing tour and having pictures taken all along the way was the icing on the cake. Definitely a must do on the Big Island.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2018/11/29
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

We enjoyed the tour very much!

Reviewed by: Alice Chia-Hua Tsai, 2018/11/28

James was very knowledgeable and we did learn a lot about the big island. Walking in the lava cave was fun, don’t think you can do that elsewhere. The stargazing pictures he took was phenomenal! He even showed us how to take professional-looking pictures by just using iPhone! Definitely recommend this tour! You are gonna love it!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/11/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Big Island Tour with James

Reviewed by: S B, 2018/11/24

I and my gf decided on this tour after the Mauna Kea summit trips filled up.

Our guide James was helpful, friendly and very knowledgeable. We spent most of the day driving in a large silver Expedition. Although we were in the last row, it was very comfortable (I’m 6’).

The Lava caves at night were a great experience. We got to experience the tropical forest at night and found some noisy local frogs.

James took some pictures of us at the various locations and they all turned out very well. He was patient about getting the right setup and framing and redoing blurry shots. We are hobbyist photographers ourselves so rather particular about that sort of thing. We wouldn’t realistically have been able to find these spots by ourselves.

We traveled on a near full moon night so conditions weren’t ideal for stargazing. However James offered to take us back sunday evening when moonrise was later to get the full experience.

Although we were disappointed not to travel to the summit, this tour was a great alternative for people not wanting to go to high altitude or visiting many different local spots!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/11/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Indeed an epic tour! Must do

Reviewed by: Pavan, 2018/11/16

Me and my wife went on this wonderful package tour, we were in for a lot of surprises!! James picked us up at our resort and we joined a group of 4 people who were ready to embark on a night full of adventure. We drove over the saddle road between Mauna Kea and Mauna Loa, Rainbow falls outlook, Japanese garden in Hilo city and had dinner at wikifresh (chipotle style food) which had plenty of options for vegetarians too. Adventure started right after dinner, as we headed towards lava tube cave (Kaumana Caves), followed by Mouna loa for stargazing “in-the-middle-of-nowhere”. It was the best stargazing experience ever, coupled with awesome photography skills by James which made it memorable. He shot amazing photos with milky way in the back drop. I would definitely recommend this tour as it’s the best..

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/11/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awe-Inspiring tour!

Reviewed by: Miranda, 2018/11/13

I took this tour with my step-dad and we had a great time. James, the guide, was very knowledgeable about the island and was able to answer our questions very well. I liked that the group was a small-group setting because it enabled us to get to know our fellow tourists and have more interaction. Further, the smaller tour meant that James was able to adjust the structure of the tour to fit our interests as a group. Particularly, we spent a little extra time exploring a lava tube and watching the stars. This was a tour I'll never forget because the scenery and experience was beyond compare.

  • Wild pigs we saw

  • My 60-year-old stepdad had no problems keeping up!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2018/11/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Hawaiian Islands