This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Summit to Sea - Hawaii Volcanoes National Park Biking Tours (from Hilo)

Overall Rating

4.804.80 / 5

Reviews

5 reviews (Post a review)

Awesome tour!

Reviewed by: Timothy , 2015/06/01

Great guides, very knowledgeable. See the best of volcano national park

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/05/29
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great, except for lousy weather

Reviewed by: Christy, 2014/10/26

This was a lot of fun, even with the bit of rain we got. (getting rain in my eyes, not so fun... almost wrecked) It was a shame half the trip got cancelled due to high winds. Got to see the half of Volcanoes Nat'l Park that we didn't see the day before on our own, so that was a lucky happenstance.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2014/10/10
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Bike Tour of Volcanoes National Park was more informative that I would have imagined

Reviewed by: Pilot01, 2014/07/27

My teen aged son and I enjoyed the bike tour of Volcanoes National Park very much. Pretty, who drove the van, passed out snacks and handled logistics, was super well organized and very friendly. She also gave us some interesting "tid bits" of Hawaiian culture. Megan, our guide was a recent geology graduate with a specialty in Volcanology. She was fantastically knowledgable about all of the geology and we learned much more than we would have if we had toured the park on our own.

The cycling is mostly down hill and anyone in reasonable physical condition should be able to enjoy this tour. The weather varies from fairly cool, windy and damp (rainy) to sunny and warm. I would recommend dressing in layers with a water resistant jacket, in order to be comfortable the whole tour.

All in all this is a great way to see all of the highlights of Volcanoes National Park and learn far more than you would without an expert geologist.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2014/07/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great way to explore Volcanoes National Park

Reviewed by: T Feldstein, 2014/02/19

We didn't quite know what to expect when we signed up for the bicycle tour of Volcanoes National Park, but were very pleasantly surprised to meet and interact with our guides, Meghan and Pretty. We learned things about volcanoes that we wouldn't have on our own. The short bike parts of the tour weren't too much, but enough to get the blood pumping. Meghan's stories and knowledge of the National Park were entertaining and very informative. She has extensive experience in the park's history and we could have listened to her for more time than the tour allowed. We would highly recommend this tour to anyone with an adventurous spirit and a thirst for volcanic knowledge.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2014/01/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Untitled

Reviewed by: Chris and Sue, 2012/06/12

Thoroughly enjoyed this bike ride. Great way to learn and see the volcano area. Our guide Steve had an excellent knowledge base of the park which added to the experience. Great excercise too, but not too strenuous.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Hawaiian Islands