Volcano Explorer - Black Sand Beach, Night Lava Viewing & Wine Tasting

Trip

Reviewed by: ranjanmd@yahoo.com, 2017/08/20

More like glorified taxi drive not much info from the driver or activity hurried trip rather
Than getting time to enjoy the place

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2017/07/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Beautiful must do tour

Reviewed by: Tracy Wilmot, 2017/08/12

Henry our tour guide was wonderful and very passionate about getting the most out of our tour. If if you are thinking about a tour that takes you down to see the actual lava close up, this is not the tour for you. However what you do get to see on this tour is the black sand beach, the wine tasting tour (which is one of two wineries on all the islands) with dinner, walking through a lava tube, seeing the steam vents and the night glow.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/08/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Time

Reviewed by: Phillip Krupp, 2017/07/29

This guided tour was worth every penny. Our guide was incredibly knowledgeable and made the entire trip fun. Being taken to some lesser know locations and then being told about the history of the area and the lava flow was great. Mixing in local Hawaiian legends was just great. The dinner and wine tasting at the winery was an added plus. I highly recommend this activity!



Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/07/05
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great tour!

Reviewed by: The Arizona Ladies, 2017/07/10

Enjoyed touring the island with our guide Campbell. The van was comfy and the stops were interesting. We were well taken care of with drinks, snacks and bathroom breaks. Campbell narrated the entire tour and had extensive knowledge of the island history and ecology. Would highly recommend this company.


  • Hawaiian vineyards


  • Lava at night


  • Walking on the lava flow

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/07/07
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

One Fabulous tour!!

Reviewed by: Steve Barbour, 2017/05/12

Our tour guide Lawrence made this the best tour we have ever been on. His knowledge and "gift of gab" was essential in making this a great tour. Thank you Lawrence


  • We were lucky to see this.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/05/09
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Hottest Tour in Town

Reviewed by: Rolland, 2017/04/10

From morning 'til night John was the ultimate tour guide--intellect, humor, history, sociology, insight, equanimity, John bathed us in sweet knowledge and well being. Could not be improved upon. We had 13 tourists so was puzzled by the phrase in the tour title "Groups of 1 to 3" I was expecting a semi-private tour--not a complaint, merely an observation on clarity in advertising.

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2017/04/07
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Volcano national park guided by a geologist!

Reviewed by: Kelly, 2017/03/18

A really awesome tour! Modern,comfortable, transportation-nice lunch and dinner included... a bonus was wine tasting,a bakery stop, and getting to see sea turtles at the black sand beach. Aaron, the guide, had so much knowledge about volcanos - it was incredible!

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2017/02/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Volcano excursion

Reviewed by: Joe , 2017/01/21

Great day, Rich our guide was the best! Recommend it highly to all...

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/01/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Can't go to the big island without seeing the active volcano!!!

Reviewed by: Jill , 2016/11/23

There aren't many active volcanoes in the whole world so this is a bucket list type thing. You can't get that close to the active volcano but you can get close enough to see the lava (about a mile away). Plus, you don't want o get too close anyway! (not healthy). The side excursions on the way to the Volcano National Park were good. Went to a coffee farm, winery, southernmost bakery that sells those great malasadas, the lava tube, the steam vents, etc. It is an all day excursion but well worth it. It's amazing how many climates there are on this island and you really see the differences as you go on this excursion. The museum at the volcano national park was very informative. Great excursion!!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2016/08/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great tour!

Reviewed by: Adam, 2016/10/28

Would suggest this tour to anyone! Very fun and informative!!


  • Kilauea

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2016/10/25
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Day

Reviewed by: sjpIdaho, 2016/08/27

The tour was very enjoyable and our guide, Grant, shared a lot of interesting information about Hawaii.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/08/01
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Adequate but certainly overpriced

Reviewed by: endomorphioustravel, 2016/08/16

Our tour guide was very pleasant. Bus seats in the main rear were very uncomfortable with seatbelts that dug into ones backside. This tour although nice was a serious let down as far as volcano watching went. I was expecting something a bit more up close and personal. But we were on the same lookout available to any body who drove up to the observation area. Also, the dinner was not what I was asked to select from. I would highly recommend you take the salads they looked ever so much better than our sandwiches. Would I do this tour again? Probably not. Would I recommend this tour to others. Yes if you have limited mobility and are content with looking at the volcano activity from a sizable distance. Easily 500+ yds.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2016/08/10
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Such a great experience!

Reviewed by: RoS, 2016/07/23

Mike was such a great tour guide! Every stop along the tour was amazingly breathtaking!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2016/07/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great tour, but expensive

Reviewed by: sinecostan, 2016/06/30

The tour guide was very courteous, accommodating, and knowledgeable. Lunch was OK. The dinner at winery (and the tour of the winery by the owner) was great. I am not a wine drinker, but I enjoyed the tour nevertheless. The finale of watching the volcano smoke out red hot lava was just awesome.

The driver had very little sleep, he said. Perhaps because he commuted from another place and had to get back after he dropped late in the night. So, we were scared a bit.
A great, guy, though.

Lastly, book book the tour _after_ you come into this place. you will get _deep_ discounts (esp. if you sign up to a time-share presentation).

Hope this helps.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/06/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Private Tour

Reviewed by: Elyse, 2016/06/19

I went during the off season and got a private tour! I got to do things that most people in a group would not and go at my own pace. I had a great tour guide and had a blast. I would definitely recommend this tour.

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2016/06/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Excellent tour and Mike is great!!

Reviewed by: Amit B, 2016/06/07

Really enjoyed the tour and our tour guide Mike was great - two thumbs up to him. He made the tour very engaging and informative. It was a job well done.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/05/31
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fantastic experience!!

Reviewed by: Erica, 2016/06/01

Wonderful day spent on black sand beach and into Volcanoes National Park. Our guide was super!!! He explained us all about the park and about Big Island!! Don't miss this tour!


Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/05/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Volcano tour was awesome!

Reviewed by: Cielle Tovey, 2016/05/28

Our tour guide Tyler was the best! Very knowledgeable about everything Hawaii. Trip was long but it didn't feel it as he kept us entertained. The lava flow at night was stupendous.


  • Night time flow

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/05/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Volcano National Park Tour

Reviewed by: Rahman, 2016/04/28

Well managed. Excellent tour guide and driver. When you book ask for Grant

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2016/04/25
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Volcano evening tour

Reviewed by: Kathy, 2016/03/07

Enjoyed the view at the volcano, but disappointed with bus very tight no leg room especially for my 6' husband. The 2 hour ride back was very uncomfortable. Thought the driver/guide could have been more engaging. He talked to the people sitting up front and when another rider asked if he could turn his mic on so we all could hear he just stopped talking. Enjoyed the stops for the most part but in my opinion could have passed on the bakery since fellow riders spent too much time there we got less time at the black sand beach.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/03/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great tour and excellent tour guide!

Reviewed by: Deb Ross, 2016/02/11

Our tour guide was great, not a review we give loosely... Eric was curteous, excellent driver, knowledgeable and fun!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/02/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Not as advertised

Reviewed by: Maree, 2016/01/14

This tour is for older tourists. The lava viewing at the end of the tour (30 minutes) was great as was the black sand beach (30 min). The information about volcanos and lava was very detailed. The 'hike' was a 20 minute walk along a paved path viewing others actually doing a real hike across the caldera. Dinner was NOT at Volcano House, but at a local farm, where we did a tour of the farm (40 min) :( and sat outside and ate a cold dinner - in the cold. Earlier in the tour we spent over an hour at a coffee farm - no tour - just a cold lunch in the lovely setting and a free sample of the coffee. there was a stop to buy donuts.
The tour took an entire day - 11 hours - its a long drive, with too much time wasted. I would rather have driven straight there an 'hiked'!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/01/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

got to understand lava

Reviewed by: David, 2015/12/04

A full day of learning about lava and seeing it firsthand (cooled by years). Really enjoyed the dinner and the view. Loved the guided tour - so much better than doing it yourself. Don't expect red glowing lava. We saw the lava glow after dark very clearly and orange.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2015/11/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

A MUST DO TOUR

Reviewed by: Suzi K, 2015/11/23

We had a wonderful time. Our tour guide Chris was terrific. This is a truly don't-miss-it tour.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/11/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

absolutely amazing!

Reviewed by: Candi, 2015/08/25

We did the tour of volcano national park from Hilo on our honeymoon. Rich, our tour guide, couldn't have been better. He talked the entire way and taught us not only about the Hawaii's nature, the volcanoes, but also about Hawaiian culture. You could really tell how much he loves Hawaii and heritage. This was definately well worth it! The food wasn't bad at The Volcano House, beautiful view. Rich came prepared with flash lights, snacks,and water. We had 6 people in our group, which made it easy to ask questions and chat throughout the day. Thanks so much Rich!! -honeymooners from Hershey, PA



  • volcano national park at night


  • the view!


  • black sand beach


  • lava tube


  • Rich guiding us through volcano national park

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/08/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Night volcano viewing

Reviewed by: Chris, 2015/07/10

This was an awesome trip! Our tour guide was amazing. We visited the black sand beaches, steam vents, lava tube, and our dinner was right in front of the volcano crater at the Volcano House, breathtaking!! Then at night, we viewed the volcano from the museum, totally different experience than the day time viewing. You have to see it at night. Our tour guide provided us with cold towels, snacks throughout the day, water, ect. This trip exceeded my expectations and we learned so much from our guide!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2015/07/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Dinner and volcano tour

Reviewed by: Julia Gore, 2015/06/29

We had a wonderful time on this tour. Our guide, Emma, was awesome! She was very knowledgeable and made the tour interesting and fun! We swapped stories about volcanoes, books, family. I truly felt that we were cousins by the end of the tour. Mahalo, Emma


Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2015/06/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

volcanoes national park tour

Reviewed by: Natascha, 2015/05/10

Tour was great. Guide was very informative and ensured we had everything we needed.

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2015/04/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Volcanoe National Park Tour with Dinner & Night Lava Viewing

Reviewed by: Michele, 2015/04/17

Fantastic Tour and loved our driver. Only complaint on this tour was having to climb in and out of the back of a small bus.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Hawaiian Volcanos National Parks tour

Reviewed by: Alton, 2015/04/07

Tour was awesome, guide was extremely knowledgeable, and dinner at the Volcano House was amazing.


  • Volcano's glow at dusk!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/04/01
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
Page Previous | 1 | 2 |

Hawaiian Islands

Click for the BBB Business Review of this Concierge Services in Honolulu HI