Page 3) Blue Hawaiian Helicopter Big Island Spectacular Circle Island Flight (Waikoloa) reviews, Big Island tours & activities, fun things to do in Big Island | HawaiiActivities.com

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

We are continually updating the latest closures and availabilities of our activities, and the most up to date information regarding COVID-19 in Hawaii can be found here.

Blue Hawaiian Helicopter Big Island Spectacular Circle Island Flight (Waikoloa)

Overall Rating

4.62 4.62 / 5

Reviews

238 reviews
Post a review

Great!!!

Reviewed by: Curtis & Laura, 2017/04/13

Pilot was an excellent "stick" and well informed. Catered to our ooohh and ahhhhs. One of best experiences ever.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/04/07
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Loved our flight with Coleen

Reviewed by: Lori, 2017/04/09

Really great flight with amazing views of the volcano. Coleen was a superb pilot and great guide. We got some terrific views of the caldera and where the flow meets the sea. Well worth the money- a once in a lifetime experience.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/04/05
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Lava flow

Reviewed by: Duane, 2017/02/19

Hard to beat the pictures you can get from the air on this trip.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/02/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing Views!!!

Reviewed by: Jamie, 2017/01/26

We are so happy we chose this helicopter tour. We got close for pictures and selfies and our pilot was entertaining!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/01/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome Big Island Helicopter Tour

Reviewed by: paula, 2017/01/01

Very professional and couteous staff to deal with and made us feel well taken care of. We had an amazing flight with spectacular views of the island and Volcano!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/12/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Volcano only

Reviewed by: Mary, 2016/12/24

We thought this would be a island tour. Yes we wanted to see the volcano that we wanted to see more too. We saw very little other than the volcano.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/12/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Volcano Veiwing

Reviewed by: Patrice, 2016/12/01

Hi - Had an informative pilot who took us over the craters - and were able to see the lava entering the sea - best way to see it! I've been told on the walk in you are not able to the lava very well and are not able to get close. An exciting thing to do for your holiday and great viewing to see it all from the air! Glad we did!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/11/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Spectacular Trip

Reviewed by: Barbara from Kona, 2016/09/29

The trip lived up to its description. The pilot made sure both sides received extraordinary views by angling over each side so that all passengers could see the feature. Narration and music added to the enjoyment. I'm so glad we did the waterfall landing add on. The flight up into one of the canyons with many waterfalls plunging down the sides is a never-to-be-forgotten experience.
And the actual landing at the base of one waterfall was amazing. Wish I had brought my bathing suit for a swim in the pool! Thanks to our pilot (Greg)for making this a special experience.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/09/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome View

Reviewed by: RJAK, 2016/06/07

It was a great day to go on the Helicopter, pilot was very knowledgeable. I would go again, you got great views of the lava flows.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/05/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

EXCELLENT!!

Reviewed by: Ben E., 2016/03/28

Ian (pilot) was a fantastic tour guide and pilot - lots of treats, was able to see active eruptions and fly up the polulu valley - even better!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2016/03/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amaizing

Reviewed by: Maruxa, 2016/01/16

The experience was really great!
The views were amaizing!
I recomend this experience!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2015/12/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Helicopter Ride

Reviewed by: Cameron, 2016/01/02

Very professional staff and felt very safe. I would just say that this experience had a lot for me to compare to for me and my daughter on this trip to Hawaii. We did ziplining, Parasailing, horse back riding and went from high-octane outdoor activities to passenger sightseeing. However, if I were to rank this tour as a stand-alone activity I would give it very high marks. To see the volcanic areas from the air is really interesting since you are seeing a "live" mass in motion (can't see it move but it is moving). Trees are burning from the lava, smoke and craters really lets you know who is in charge, nature.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2015/12/30
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Absolutely amazing!

Reviewed by: Teresa, 2015/12/01

Riding in a helicopter and seeing a live volcano checked off two of the entries on my life list. Scott, our pilot, was as excited as we were to see the molten lava gushing out in neon orange waves. It was definitely one of those,"Oh wow!" moments.

None of the retired ladies in our group had ever ridden in a helicopter before, and Scott had just the right combination of confidence and professionalism that reassured everyone. I would definitely fly with him again!

This tour was the highlight of our trip, and I would recommend it to everyone. It was worth every penny!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2015/11/25
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Should have done this sooner!

Reviewed by: Jim P, 2015/10/20

Very high quality experience. The pilot was knowledgeable of the area and very experienced in flying making it a comfortable and interesting tour. The day before the weather was very rainy so we were afraid we would not see much but we lucked out and actually had very good viewing. But if we had flown with them when we were there in 2013 it would have been totally clear, even the tops of Moana Kea and Moana Loa. So, don't put it off!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/10/11
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

looking for lava

Reviewed by: toni turnham, 2015/09/28

A enjoyable flight, if they can they take you up to the vent, to try and see lava, which may not always be flowing, the staff are very friendly, organised.

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2015/09/09
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Exciting and majestic way to see the Big Island from above

Reviewed by: KJGS, 2015/09/23

Go for the Eco star! The viewing windows and space provide an excellent ride. Brandt was a great pilot who gave us an informative tour with funny antidotes. It's the closest feeling you can get to literally flying since it such a smooth ride, felt like we floated over billowing volcanoes and gushing waterfalls. Footage from video at the end had great clips inside and outside the helicopter but was too pixeled and fuzzy to want to purchase, hopefully as technology improves so will DVD. Pics and videos we took ourselves turned out good, even with an IPhone 6 and point and low end point and shoot camera. Take the ride, it's worth it!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/09/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Trip Highlight

Reviewed by: Texas T, 2015/08/29

The helicopter ride was the greatest way ever to see the entire island. Our pilot Marco was most informative during the ride. We would highly recommend Blue Hawaii and would use them again.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2015/08/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fun and informative flight

Reviewed by: J. Ford, 2015/06/02

It was worth every penny to get to fly over the lava fields. Grant, our pilot, has over 30 years experience piloting. He knows the area well. "Luxury" flight only allowed for 4 passengers so there was plenty of room and we all had a great view. We were also given the opportunity to ask the pilot all kinds of questions regarding the lava fields and surrounding area. I highly recommend this activity. Very much a highlight of our trip.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2015/05/25
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Luxury Volcano Helicopter Tour

Reviewed by: Bill & Linda Beagles, 2015/06/01

Although the ceiling was relatively low, Dale made sure we saw some lava flows and "hot spots". We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/05/29
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Volcano tour

Reviewed by: Marsha, 2015/05/01

We had a great time flying over the volcano and seeing how lava makes an island. A very good way to see the vast flows. As on Kauai, the staff at Blue Hawaiian was great. They know their island and their love of it shows.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/04/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Totally worth time & money!!

Reviewed by: Harpers in Texas, 2015/04/14

Blue Hawaiian Helicopters & former Marine Pilot Greg are the best! Little nervous about 1st time in a helo but there was no need to worry! Ride was smooth , sights were amazing, pilot was very knowledgable & informative.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2015/03/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome experience!!

Reviewed by: Dale & Cheryl , 2015/03/11

We were hesitant to do this because we had never been in a helicopter, but WOW. So glad we did!! Awesome views of the volcano. Pilot (Jeremy) was very knowledgable and made the experience very interesting. He was very professional and skilled with the operation of the helicopter. An experience we will never forget!! Highly recommended!!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/03/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

check whats happening before you book

Reviewed by: graham perth wa, 2015/02/23

4 of us flew from oahu for this helicopter flight. You need to check what is happening with the volcano first as we were expecting to see some sort of action. The flow had obviously been active for sometime recently but what we saw was not what we were lead to believe was happening. Flight was good but dont take any notice of the pictures in advertising as they are deceptive. I k now this is a nature based activity and the company has no control over the volcano,but to over promise and under deliver is allways a recipe for disaster. The pilot Tim was excellent but the ground crew organinzation was lacking.Had us stand around in the sun for 30 minutes while they organised 5 flights at the same time.So dont expect to leave on the timeyou have booked,doesnt work that way.We hired a car and went to Volcano national park,fantastic and highly recommend that instead of this trip at only a fraction of the cost.The couple we shared with whilst disappointed could not speak more highly of the Maui trip they had with this company, so maybe consider that option

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2015/02/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

What a view!

Reviewed by: Barbara, 2015/02/23

We really enjoyed our recent flight with Tim as our pilot. The sights were spectacular. Everything was organized like clockwork. The equipment is clearly very safety and comfort focused. Tim was entertaining ad a very competent pilot.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/02/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Nice & v informative

Reviewed by: Kal J, 2015/01/03

This was our first ever helicopter ride, so obviously we had goosebumps....our pilot, Nate, was a pro & the entire 50 mins tour was v nice. He went as close to the volcanoes/steam geysers as legally allowed. At the end, since we had spare time, he even took us over the ocean to do whale spotting....and spotted 2 whales too! We even purchased a $30 DVD of all our views & cockpit videos...

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2014/12/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Breathtaking

Reviewed by: Byron L., 2014/12/08

Amazing tour, this is the must do tour in the Big Island. Just the right amount of time and plenty of scenery to enjoy, the wife was thrilled.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2014/11/10
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Thrill of a life time

Reviewed by: FLO , 2014/10/17

No word to describe. Excellent service. Excellent pilot. Very good itinairy.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2014/10/09
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Only way to see Volcano

Reviewed by: Ray Family, 2014/10/11

Blue Hawaiian is the best. Flew with them on Oahu too and experience was just as good in Hilo. Having to pay to park at airport sucks. Other than that, it was perfect. Flight is super safe, never felt nervous about it. Jeremy was our pilot and was very friendly and kept us informed everything we saw and questions we had. We took several turns to ensure everyone could see the lava and got in close. It will rain in Hilo often but that's the norm, be prepared for possible rainy or cloudy conditions but they will fly around any rains. They are used to it.

Basically, well worth it, fly the Eco Star is most comfortable, don't let fear of flying be the reason you don't do this. None of the volcano ground tours will get you anywhere close to the action, this is the only way to see the volcano.

Reply from activity provider

Aloha and thank you for your kind feedback, we certainly appreciate the comments. Your description is truly accurate and we are glad that you enjoyed your time with us. We invite you to participate with us again in the future and hopefully, it will be more active down on the coast!!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2014/10/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Mountain on Fire

Reviewed by: Gerry, 2014/09/12

Kilauea does what it wants, but the only way to really get an idea of what that is is to see it by helicopter. I've done that on two occasions a couple of years apart. This tour was by far superior to the previous one. While we covered essentially the same territory, our pilot on this trip was pleasant, knowledgeable, and very professional. At the end of the tour, we had a much better understanding of the nature of the mountain; and the waterfalls, too, were majestic.

Reply from activity provider

Aloha and thank you for your kind feedback. We appreciate your comments and want to offer more than just a visually stunning tour, we want to be able to compliment that with the knowledge of the area you are exploring. Our pilots are very knowledgeable about the areas they cover and are state certified tour guides. We do wish you a great day and hope that we might be able to see you in the future on one of our other tours.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2014/09/09
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome

Reviewed by: Melissa, 2014/08/12

This was the best activity I had. I stayed with friends and did everything with local families but I just had to take this tour! My pilot Scott was great. He made sure everyone got great photo oppertunities. He was very infomative and funny.

Reply from activity provider

Aloha and thank you for your feedback. We appreciate hearing back from you and are very happy that you liked your tour with Scott, we will be sure to mention that to him:=) We do invite you to come and experience Blue Hawaiian Helicopters in the future and have a great day!!

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2014/07/31
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Hawaiian Islands

Big Island Categories