Blue Hawaiian Big Island Spectacular Circle Island Helicopter Flight [Open Now] reviews, Big Island tours & activities, fun things to do in Big Island | HawaiiActivities.com

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Travelers arriving into Hawaii are required to pass the pre-arrival COVID-19 test requirements or complete the mandatory 10-day quarantine. Up-to-date Hawaii COVID-19 information can be found here.

Blue Hawaiian Big Island Spectacular Circle Island Helicopter Flight [Open Now]

Overall Rating

4.62 4.62 / 5

Reviews

238 reviews
Post a review

Professionally done, great experience

Reviewed by: PKV, 2020/01/02

The overall experience was very good. This is our first Helicopter ride and it turned out to be an excellent one. Though we did not get to see real fire ( no active lava in Hawaii now), we could see the steaming volcano at close up. The pilot Steve was very good, answering all our queries with patience. The narrative was good throughout the trip. Overall 50 minutes was worth the money. I paid additional $100 for copilot seat which was on higher side. This is one reason why I rated 4-star and not 5-star.

  • Hilo from Helicopter

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2019/12/30
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Good trip day!

Reviewed by: Jo Bear, 2019/11/12

Fun, exciting ride...fascinating volcanic sites and amazing number of waterfalls!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2019/11/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing view of lava field!

Reviewed by: kritter_foster, 2018/08/20

Although the lava is no longer very visible (it's crusted over, so you really only see the black lava crust, the steam from the fissures, and a little bit of lava glowing in one of the fissures), it was amazing to fly over it and learn the history of the area and the previous eruptions. The view from above makes you really appreciate how much territory has been affected. We couldn't see it spilling into the ocean anymore, either, but it was still really cool!

We didn't fly very close to the waterfall, and we were under the impression that we might see more than one, but the one we did see was very impressive from above.

Just being up in a helicopter, flying over this beautiful island and the surrounding ocean was fantastic and we loved it!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2018/08/05
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Well orginized

Reviewed by: Pete Rommers, 2017/10/02

Well orginized, deliver what's promised and good informed en pleasant staff

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/09/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great ride

Reviewed by: Maggie, 2017/09/02

Really great ride. Beautiful scenery. Saw some lava and waterfalls but we were not very close to either. Worth the trip but don't expect to get close

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/08/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Good Tour

Reviewed by: Simone, 2017/08/12

Would use Blue Hawaiian if visiting again on another island

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/08/09
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Volcano Tour

Reviewed by: Sakhom, 2017/07/25

It was a great experience with full explanation from the pilots along the way. We all did enjoy it. The only flip side was the video record from our helicopter which turned to be the old system on the disc and the quality was pretty bad, considering buying the better quality for the customers to buy later on. Not all of them have a good video camera.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2017/06/29
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Started out rough, but was a fun time

Reviewed by: Dotman, 2017/07/17

We arrived at the appointed time for check in after making the 2 hour drive from the opposite side of the island. We were greeted nicely, had a short conversation, then found out the booking agent sent the email with the requested date/time, but the booking agent actually booked us for the following day.

After a few minutes, the tour company resolved the oversight by calling in the standby pilot, upgraded us to the bigger helicopter (to fly with only us), and would provide us with a free copy of the flight video. The only issue was it would be an hour later than our scheduled time. This gave us time to eat lunch at the airport before our new check in time, so no worries.

The flight was fun, great photo opportunities of the volcano areas/lava tubes, and very interesting facts from the seasoned pilot. I would use this company again despite the scheduling error.

  • In flight

  • At the check in desk

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2017/07/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Lava flow

Reviewed by: Duane, 2017/02/19

Hard to beat the pictures you can get from the air on this trip.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/02/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Volcano only

Reviewed by: Mary, 2016/12/24

We thought this would be a island tour. Yes we wanted to see the volcano that we wanted to see more too. We saw very little other than the volcano.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/12/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Volcano Veiwing

Reviewed by: Patrice, 2016/12/01

Hi - Had an informative pilot who took us over the craters - and were able to see the lava entering the sea - best way to see it! I've been told on the walk in you are not able to the lava very well and are not able to get close. An exciting thing to do for your holiday and great viewing to see it all from the air! Glad we did!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/11/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

looking for lava

Reviewed by: toni turnham, 2015/09/28

A enjoyable flight, if they can they take you up to the vent, to try and see lava, which may not always be flowing, the staff are very friendly, organised.

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2015/09/09
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Nice & v informative

Reviewed by: Kal J, 2015/01/03

This was our first ever helicopter ride, so obviously we had goosebumps....our pilot, Nate, was a pro & the entire 50 mins tour was v nice. He went as close to the volcanoes/steam geysers as legally allowed. At the end, since we had spare time, he even took us over the ocean to do whale spotting....and spotted 2 whales too! We even purchased a $30 DVD of all our views & cockpit videos...

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2014/12/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Big Island Adventure

Reviewed by: Debra N. from Iowa, 2011/11/30

I would highly recommend this tour to anyone who is a first time visitor to the Big Island. The views were spectacular! Take many pictures in flight as the DVD of the flight does not capture everything you see and ask alot of questions about what you are seeing. For me, it was worth the money! The staff were great!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Volcano tour

Reviewed by: Adele + Samantha, 2010/12/29

The helicopter trip was fun. The pilot (Julie) was very informative. Would have been better if the volcano was erupting so that we could have seen that!

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Big Island

Reviewed by: William, 2010/04/04

To start off with when we were making reservations transportation aparently wasn't available. Don't let them tell you that. They have vans and make pick-ups from the hotel we stayed in. We took the big island spectacular 2 hour. It was nice. The volcano part wasn't what i thought. I expected to see flowing lava. All you see is the top crust of past lava flows. Even the volcano vent wasn't what I thought it would be. The VOG was so thick thast about all you could see. A little let down. Although the 2nd part was the tropical rain forest. We had a nice ride along the ocean front. Went up the valleys and saw more waterfalls than I could keep track of. Pilot even sighted some whales and circled for us. Wind turbulance in some of the valleys made me tighten my seat belt a bit. Later I learned the pilot is a retired coast guard pilot. Wish I knew that going in, I would have been a bit more relaxed.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Hawaiian Islands