Swim with Dolphins Ocean Rafting & Kealakekua Bay Snorkeling (from Keauhou Bay)

Dolphin Fun

Reviewed by: Annie Sommers , 2017/09/09

Omg, it was the highlight of our trip to Hawaii. It was magnificent to swim with several different pods of dolphins. I felt honored to be in their presence. Dolphin Discoveries did an amazing job locating the dolphins and getting us in the water in time to swim with them. They're very respectful of these amazing animals and remind clients not to touch or bother them. Fantastic job Erika, Elane, and Amanda!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/08/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great time!

Reviewed by: Rick, 2017/07/14

Captain Nick was wonderful. Dolphins were amazing, and the cove snorkeling was the best ever!

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2017/07/11
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Disappointing

Reviewed by: Lianne, 2017/05/27

I had a disappointing expierience with this tour, they kept saying it was rare that we didn't see the dolphins, strange because in the evening with another tour Manta Ray swimm they told me they was swimming with dolphins, anyway the day after I get for free the dolphins (3 times we spotted them) and 1 shark

Reply from activity provider

Warm Aloha,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post about your experience. We are sorry to hear that you did not spot dolphins on your first trip.
Dolphins sights are very common on Kealakekua Bay & Keauhou Bay and the crew will always do their best to get you close to them.
Unfortunately situations like this are out of our control. Since they are wild animals, although rare, sometimes they might not be spotted during the tour.
We hope that you have enjoyed the snorkel and the boat ride and we are happy to hear that you were able to go back the next day to experience the tour one more time.

Thank you again for the opportunity to serve you on your vacation.
We hope your Hawaii vacation will be a memory to remember to make you want to come back and visit us again.

Mahalo Nui Loa,
VELTRA Customer Support

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2017/05/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing

Reviewed by: Johan, 2016/08/18

It' sur an Amazing experience. We recommand this activitie. Food and beverage one the boat to keep strengh for swimming bd snorkeling

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/08/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Dolphin swim

Reviewed by: T.G, 2015/01/19

What an amazing day and crew! Kris and Kai were funny,kind,extremely patient and helpful. We saw so much sea life! Tons of dolphins, a manta, whales and a shark! Snorkeling in the bay was lovely if not a bit cold. Will do this trip again!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2015/01/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing!!!!

Reviewed by: Simba, 2014/12/23

We stayed on every island and did many tours but this trumped them all. So much so that we will be returning with our children just to take them on this tour.


Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2014/03/10
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing experience!!

Reviewed by: Joanna, 2014/08/07

We set out with captain john, Kris, and Chris. It started of with an amazing chase of the spinner dolphins. We got dropped off in the middle of the ocean with the dolphins swimming our way. There were dolphins swimming right towards and beside me. Make sure you take your medication if you get motion sickness easily but they do have ginger chews avaliable on the boat. The captains were also educational about the dolphins and history/legends of the bay where the captain cook monument sits. Snorkeling at the way was absolutely amazing and something you should not miss when going to the big island. I would definitely recommend this tour which provide the best 2 activities combined.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2014/07/28
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Highlight of our visit

Reviewed by: svnaras, 2013/08/18

This was definitely one of the highlights of our visits, especially the swimming with dolphins part. The crew knew exactly where to find dolphins and they dropped us off with snorkel gear near a school of dolphins. We had great fun trying to follow the dolphins and several of them came pretty close. Snorkeling at the Kealakekua bay was also nice since the water was very calm and it was pretty relaxing.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing

Reviewed by: Matt, 2013/07/11

It was amazing. Our guard was very helpful. The snack was fabulous.

Reply from activity provider

Mahalo nui loa for the great feedback! We appreciate you taking the time to let us know you enjoyed your trip with us! Hope to see you again in the near future,
Aloha,
Claudia Merrill
Dolphin Discoveries

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2013/06/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Kathy and Danielle were spectacular!!

Reviewed by: Michael, 2013/04/01

We have never swam with Dolphins before but what an experience. Then we went down the coast to watch whales and had lunch in this fabulous lagoon and swan along the most beautiful coral reef. They knew everything and gave such great instruction to make it the best experience you can imagine. If you are ever in Kona this is the Dolphin ride to go on hands down.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Dolphin swim

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2012/10/27

Captain Jenna was very impressive on how much she knew about the boat and the entire trip. She kept her staff in check and was very pleasant.

It was a bit nerve racking when the boat had an issue and we are out in the middle of the ocean. Again, Jenna knew her stuff.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

was enjoyable

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2012/08/20

My wife and I got 4 chances to swim with the dolphins. And everytime we swam, we got to see dolphins. At first the dolphins would move south to north and wouldn't stay still but that's because they are in their habitat. There was about 15 dolphins
The snorkeling along the bay was great being able to see the coral and several different kinda of fish. All in all we had a great time.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Dolphin Adventure

Reviewed by: Bud and Terri, 2012/07/28

Captain Jenna and First Mate Kira (sp) were great, we had so much fun and swam with a lot of dolphins. Their knowledge of dolphins and other sealife was very impressive and their knowledge of the water and boat made everyone very comfortable. We have never seen so many spinner dolphins in all of our life. It was so amazing to see them swimming all around us and doing tricks, in and out of the water.

Tell Kira and Jenna the proposal was a great success and Terri said YES!!!


Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Dolphin swim worth every penny!

Reviewed by: Mel, 2011/12/06

We highly recommend this activity and group. They were enthusiastic, fun, professional, informative, etc. We were within 1-1/2 feet of the dolphins at times. This is strictly a look but no touch activity for the safety of the dolphins. There were adult and baby dolphins-some were sedate, and others were super active, spinning, talking, blowing bubbles. It was an awesome experience. We also saw two hammerhead sharks and two tiger sharks (while on the boat). One note- the boats are smaller (but comfortable) with little cover from the sun. Make sure to bring sunblock and a towel or cover. This is definitely worth every penny!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Dolphin swim

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2011/04/07

Fun... We were told that this activity was not dolphin friendly... not true, the staff was very concerned about protecting these wonderful animals.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

A MUST do!

Reviewed by: J Nakamura, 2010/07/01

This is GREAT for anyone who wants to swim with dolphins without having to do it in a tank. Guide is excellent and the experience unforgettable. We would highly recommend this to anyone!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Hawaiian Islands

Click for the BBB Business Review of this Concierge Services in Honolulu HI