This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Kilauea Expedition - Lava Fields Hike & BBQ Dinner

Overall Rating

4.554.55 / 5

Reviews

29 reviews (Post a review)

Kilauea volcano hike.

Reviewed by: Chris A, 2018/04/10

Chris was an amazing driver and guide, had tons of useful info and was great to talk with.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/04/07
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Good Experience But Would Not Do Lava Hike Again

Reviewed by: Heidi, 2018/03/24

While I'm glad I went on Kilauea expedition and loved the nighttime glow portion, I wouldn't do the lava field hike or BBQ dinner again. For the hike, our guide kept an assertive pace to get us out to the active flows. While he talked pretty much non-stop the whole day, he seemed to have little empathy for those who struggled to keep up. So if you aren't in moderate to good shape and comfortable keeping a good pace on uneven surfaces, this is not the hike for you. Definitely wear good hikers or sneakers, but know the soles will take a beating from the lava rock. My lower quality sneakers lost all tread by the end of the 5+ mile round-trip hike and I ended up pitching them.

Walking towards the lava field from where we parked, I saw a woman in shorts with some blood on her leg because she had fallen during her hike. The lava rock is very sharp (glass like - really!). While her injuries looked relatively minor, I was very glad to be wearing long pants. Consider wearing long, breathable fabric pants for sure, especially if you aren't a seasoned hiker, for protection from the rock sharpness and temperature. The lava field gets really hot by the active flow (of course!) and you can feel that heat coming up from your shoes and all around you. Even though I was really hot for a little while, it's amazing to see brand new earth being born.

The BBQ and wine tasting after the hike were so-so. Our hosts at the winery were very sweet and answered a lot of questions about the wine. The last part of the excursion was seeing the nighttime glow of the lava from the visitor center. Even though it was raining, the glow was fantastic and we felt very lucky to get to be there.

As a final note, if you are fit and really into lava, this excursion is probably great for you. I would not hike on the lava field without a guide, who knew exactly where find the active flows within the miles and miles of lava fields.


  • Scenery for most of the hike

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/03/01
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Best experience on the Big Island!

Reviewed by: Aya, 2018/03/05

Although this was a challenging hike, be prepared, it was by far one of the best experiences we had during our week long stay on the Big Island. Our guide was extremely knowledgeable and gave us an amazing background on the island and it's people. The views were awesome! We got to see 6 different lava flows. The winery & dinner was delicious and the night view of the volcano was spectacular. A few recommendations, take sturdy shoes, you'll be hiking on glass like rocks. & I do recommend you pack a lunch to have on the road, as once you start your hike, there is very little time to stop and eat.


  • Great new experiences for the family!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2018/02/11
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Magnificent to see active lava, but...

Reviewed by: BeeGR, 2018/02/18

It was absolutely amazing to see active lava, finding it our guide did an excellent job. The downside was the extreme time pressure. It took us round about 4 hours of hiking, for having just 10 minutes on the spot. Our guide was often too fast and too far ahead and could not have control over the slower moving people. When there was a rest mostly it got pretty short for the last ones, as he was starting again too soon. It was more a sportive excercise than a sightseeingtour.

From my point of view the timetable needs to be rescheduled. The tour should start at least one hour earlier in order to gain sufficient time to allow for a hike at a normal speed and additional time on the spot. The guide should try to keep the group together by adjusting his speed to the slower ones. By doing so everybody would get the same information and would have the same time to rest.

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2018/02/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

A must do... not for the faint of heart!

Reviewed by: Nanlee, 2018/02/17

My husband and I took this tour from Kona which included the 2(ish) hour drive out to Hilo and then off to the Lava Fields. This tour exceded our expectations and was definitely a challenging hike which we loved! Lawrence was our guide and he kept us fully entertained throughout our travels and was adamant about finding the lava flow to show us and did not disappoint! The winery and the dinner were great added bonuses to the excursion but the highlight was by far the hike. We learned a ton from Lawrence about the area and would highly recommend this tour for any hikers out there looking for an adventure!



Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/02/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Lava Field Hike

Reviewed by: Mark, 2018/02/14

Hoping to see actual lava flow at a safe distance. The guides made it sound like we would see lava and since they are out doing this everyday, hard to doubt them. I now feel that this particular hike really never had a chance to see any lava based on how high up on the volcano we would have needed to hike. So we wandered about in the lava field until we ran out of time. Off to wine tasting and dinner, which was okay. The glow at the top was a nice finish. The guides were very nice, which helped. My wife and I returned after dark to the same area the following day and could see the lava flowing very well.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/02/05
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

The Ultimate Experience!

Reviewed by: Cinthia Adair, 2018/02/10

This is a bucket list item! We were feet from oozing lava, and got to see it slowly creeping down the slopes of Kilauea. The winery had the most unique wines I've ever tasted, and the dinner was amazing. Capping the night off with a spectacular view of the boiling, roiling lava against the night sky was the perfect end to an amazing adventure. Our tour guide Rich was a wealth of knowledge and we learned so much. If you can request him you will not be disappointed!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/02/07
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

AWESOME!

Reviewed by: Isaac & Alma, 2018/02/03

This experience was awesome! and it was mostly because of our tour guide, Henry. Not only was he knowledgeable on the volcano but also on the history of Hawaii. We were lucky enough to find some outbursts of lava and even a small river of it. Visited the volcanos observatory, got great images of the lava there, thanks again to Henry. Finished of the day with delicious dinner at the winery. Learned so much through this experience, would definitely do it again! Possibly only with Henry. :)

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/01/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

AWESOME

Reviewed by: Isaac & Alma, 2018/01/17

The experience was beyond expecations due to our tour guide Henry. He was extremely knowledgeable on the Volcano and the history of Hawaii. Challenging hike possibly due to the time of year but so worth it. Not a hike recommended for children.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/01/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

great day

Reviewed by: david redfern, 2018/01/11

great guide in ricardo and we had a really detailed day.The lava walk in p[articular was special

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/01/07
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

great day

Reviewed by: david redfern, 2018/01/11

ricardo did a great job and we had a really full day-the lava hike was special

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/01/07
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Excellent Day

Reviewed by: Tom Gonzalez, 2017/12/07

This tour was quite exhilarating and Brad was outstanding! We thoroughly enjoyed the day and HIGHLY recommend to anyone wanting a good adventure.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/11/25
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great tour!

Reviewed by: Margie H , 2017/11/08

We loved our expedition. Lori was a great tour leader! Since our group was small and we met earlier than expected, Lori took us to a couple of extra stops (the painted church and the lava tubes) that we ordinarily wouldn't have gotten to experience, and she was a very courteous driver as well. We didn't wind up seeing any lava, which sucks but Pele wasn't cooperating and we just got unlucky. We felt a tad bit rushed at the dinner/winery stop, but since we packed so much into the day, it was more fun to see more things, and we still had time to taste all the wines (which we LOVED-- and we're from Northern CA so we know wine) and take the winery tour. All in all we had a great time, despite the fact that we didn't see any actual lava.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/11/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Jarod's lava hike

Reviewed by: Phillip_marion, 2017/11/04

Jarod took us to the see the lava flow. He was very knowledgable and informative guide. We went off the main road and hiked to see the lava flowing. I don't usually use superlatives, but this was truly awesome.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/10/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Lava, BBQ, wine and naps! Perfect.

Reviewed by: Dan, 2017/10/29

The entire experience was really made possible through the knowledge of our guide Tyson. He was really informative, had a great sense of humor and was always on the lookout out for amazing views (lava flows into the ocean, new flows on the volcano, etc.)


Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/10/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Bucket List Tour

Reviewed by: Rhea Kerby, 2017/10/27

I have been able to cross of view lava. Glen was so knowledgeable of Hawaiian history and kept us informed and entertained.


  • Lava shot

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2017/10/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Impressive

Reviewed by: C. H. Mok, 2017/10/13

We enjoyed the Kilauea expedition. Although the long hike in the hot sun to Kalapana is a little exhausting for an old couple like us, and watching the lava flows into the sea from a mile away is a little disappointing (we can only see steam from a distance), we still think that it is a worthwhile experience to be able to observe the wonders of nafure, and to walk on the new land formed by solidified lava.

Yet whatever room for desire from the expedition is fully compensated by the spectacular view of the erupting crater at night. The red glow of the molten lava lit up the night sky, and inadvertently I captured a snapshot of lava being ejected from the crater. Our guide told us that ejecting lava is a rare event. I guess we are really lucky.

Our guide Kent is very familiar with the vegetation and volcanic matters and gave us many pointers. And to keep us entertained during the drive around he also told us many Hawaiian legends. I think we are lucky to have him as our guide. Dinner was also good and delicious. We highly recommend this tour.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/10/09
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Lava tour

Reviewed by: Betelihem, 2017/10/06

Henry was an amazing tour guide. He has a wealth of knowledge about the area. We were lucky enough to see lava flow into the ocean. It was definitely once in a lifetime experience.
Dinner was just ok. The veggie option was close to being gross-flavorless and over cooked veggies. My friend had the BBQ and she thought it was nothing to rave about.
Overall, it was worth it to see lava flow.



Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2017/10/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Ok

Reviewed by: Xxxx, 2017/10/03

The tour is nice but other than expected there was no chance to see molten lava from close.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2017/09/30
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Lava tour and Wine tasting BBQ

Reviewed by: Jared & Tiffany, 2017/09/17

It was an adventure of a lifetime. Loved our guide Jessica, she made it very informative and funny at the same time. Enjoyed the thoughtfulness with all the backpacks, jackets, snacks & drinks and even COLD MINTY TOWELS provided. The wine tasting was great and the best thing of it all was being able to see the lava glow at Jagger museum. It was Amazing! Thank you Kapohokine Adventures and BIG MAHALO NUI to Jessica for making it EPIC for us Oahu peeps!


  • The lava GLOW from the Jagger Museum


  • From the lava viewing spot at Kalapana

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/09/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fantastic day out!

Reviewed by: Tristan , 2017/09/11

A great day exploring the lava fields and seeing the volcano crater at the end. Highly recommended, Marcus was the most knowledgeable, welcoming and entertaining guide for the day.

If you want to see all the sights surrounding volcanoes this is the one for you!

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2017/09/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Disappointed

Reviewed by: Werner, 2017/09/09

The walk is along a road and the lava flow was1/2 mile from the viewing point. The wine and food was an experience that you don't forget, for all the wrong reasons

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/08/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Not to be missed!

Reviewed by: Donna, 2017/07/01

Quite a surreal experience to watch "new" land being created in front of your very eyes! What made the experience even sweeter was our tour guide, Levi. Not only was he extremely knowledgeable , caring, attentive, and funny, but he also was an amazing storyteller. He made traveling in the van fun by regaling us with his favorite Hawaiian myths.

While the wine was way too sweet and cheap for my taste, the BBQ dinner was delicious and the vineyard location was relaxing.

Overall, I'd highly recommend this expedition to any of my family and friends. I hope to visit again soon and will definitely use this company for their other tours.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2017/06/25
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Wonderful experience!

Reviewed by: Emi, 2017/06/29

I joined this tour with my hus.
We could really feel the power of nature earth!!
I want to join the tour next time.


Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/06/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome excursion..despite the rain!

Reviewed by: Mark, 2017/05/21

A rare opportunity to see, touch, and walk on lava fields AND to see live lava!









Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/05/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great tour!

Reviewed by: Lauren, 2017/04/02


My husband and I did the Kilauea lava tour with Grant. We had a wonderful time. It was an amazing day and Grant was a PHENOMENAL tour guide. He brought a telescope with him to see the lava which was a game changer! He was also a great story teller during our drive back. We had such a blast!


Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/03/30
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

This was a perfect day

Reviewed by: JeffFulcer, 2017/03/16

While we knew the different things we were doing, we were not sure how they all were going to happen. They picked us up from the hotel on time and provided a box lunch to us as we were driving to our first stop. We did all as promised - hiked to the ocean to see lava spraying into the water, the Thurston lava tube and steam vents. The winery tasting was amazing and we ended up buying a number of bottles and checking them as a piece of luggage as the winery packed them in an amazing shipping box for us for free. We would definitely do this again.



Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/02/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome!

Reviewed by: Eaglekwe, 2016/08/30

I had a great time on this hike. The lava was flowing into the ocean and the view was fabulous! Our guide was friendly and knowledgeable. He hiked us to the cliffs overlooking the bava flow into the ocean. He also took us really close to the lava flow, ensuring we were at a safe distance. I would not have been able to get that close without his help! Absolutely recommend this!

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2016/08/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Trip

Reviewed by: BEJ, 2016/08/16

Good trip , but very long hike, if you're not in shape and can't walke 16 miles in one day don't attempt.. But It was a once in a lfietime adventure which can't be missed. The travel guide Lawrence was very mannerable, knowledgeable,and accomodating. Would recommend this trip to everyone; before the lava runs dry.


Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2016/08/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Hawaiian Islands