This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Kilauea Volcano Hike & Lava Flow Adventure

Overall Rating

4.804.80 / 5

Reviews

5 reviews (Post a review)

One of the best things to do in all of Hawaii

Reviewed by: Sreezy, 2018/03/06

This hiking tour is a must-do for anyone who wants to see some lava and enjoys a nice hike. If you have a relatively able-bodied group, the hike takes a total of 4 hours...2 hours to hike to the lava, 2 hours to hike back. When we went, we saw lots of lava up close and personal...no more than 5 feet away.

They equip you with everything you will need, including walking sticks, protective gloves and flashlights for when it gets dark, in addition to water bottles.

Our tour guide was Justin, and I would highly recommend you book a tour with him. He is a fantastic guide with an immense amount of knowledge, and went beyond his job as a hike guide to inform us of Hawaiian history and culture, and this truly enriched our experience while driving about 45 min to the hiking location.

If you want to get some physical activity while also having an experience you cannot have anywhere else, this is the tour for you. When we talked to others during our stay in Hawaii and mentioned getting up close and personal to lava on this hike, every single person wished they had done something similar.




Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/02/11
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Lava Flow Hike

Reviewed by: Ken, 2017/12/21

The Guided adventure did not include the volcano. It started out in Kailua-Kona, we left 12 noon and got back at 11 pm. It was a beautiful bus ride to Kalapana and our guides made it very interesting and informative. The hike our the lava to where the lava was flowing was about 2.5 miles plus 2 miles from the parking area. Coming back to the van was a challenge hiking in the dark over the lava but the view of the lava flowing was spectacular.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/12/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Lava Flow Adventure

Reviewed by: Burns Family, 2017/09/26

Justin picked us up early and we made great time getting to the other side of the island. We had a great time, actually saw lava flowing (got some excellent video/pics), and it was a great hike. Not as difficult as I thought it might be but challenging none-the-less. Justin is extremely knowledgeable and provided all kinds of information regarding the tour. My family really enjoyed themselves. Thank you for the unforgettable time.







Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/08/29
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great chance to see the lava

Reviewed by: Margarita, 2017/05/17

We had a really small group which was really enjoyable. The World's most active volcano has been constanly spurting lava in the water for the past 30 years making Big Island bigger by day. This place still is very safe, as the lava is very lazy here, even if new eruption starts right next to you, you still can slowly walk away making selfies all the way. Unfortunately we didnt manage to see any active lava on the ground, but had an amazing sunset overlooking lava flowing in the water. Our guide was very knowledgeable and took great care of us and we had an amazing dinner at the restaurant after the tour.


Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome lava hime

Reviewed by: Emily, 2016/10/26

Such a great adventure with a good bunch of people and our guide Melanie was absolutely amazing. She was as hands on as you wanted and very very knowledgeable. I felt safe and well looked after throughout the entire tour. It was an enjoyable hike and loved hoping over the lava.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/10/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Hawaiian Islands

Big Island Categories