This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Volcano Lava Ocean Boat Tour - Daytime, Sunrise & Sunset Active Lava Viewing

Overall Rating

4.364.36 / 5

Reviews

11 reviews (Post a review)

See beautiful lava and wonderful sunset at once

Reviewed by: Gold lan, 2018/08/23

See beautiful lava and wonderful sunset at once
I'll turn right and left to look good.



Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/08/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Must do IT!

Reviewed by: Lady from Taiwan, 2018/08/09

I did the 17:30 lava boat on 2018/08/06 with my husband. It was really an amazing trip. We took Dramamine 30 minutes before the ride, and both of us were free of sea sick. I wear a poncho but still got wet of my hair. Strongly suggest to bring towels and may consider wearing wool cap and glasses. Actually, the ride of lava boat was really scary to me(one-hour of “roller coaster“ before reaching the lava view~)The sunset in the sea was beautiful, so did the glowing lava in the dark. The lava was easier to be seen in the dark, so the sunrise or sunset boat was recommended.
The trip was made of lots of fun. If you are In good health(especially without herniated disc or heart disease), and with adventurous attitude, the lava boat trip is a "must-do" for you, at least once in a life time!


Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/08/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Lava boat tour

Reviewed by: Steve Seed, 2018/07/26

Overall, the trip was outstanding. The views were great...a once in a lifetime opportunity. I would recommend this tour to anyone that doesn’t get sea sick.
The only reason I gave 4 rather than 5 stars is I grew up on the Pacific Ocean and have piloted 16’ boat through much choppier waters than we saw. The tour advertises you WILL get wet, and you WILL “feel” the ride, and our captain MADE sure each of us did just that. Unnecessary bottoming out of the boat, turning into waves to drench the passengers and speeding into wave swells made an awesome, incredible trip just good. Speaking to my wife, and several other families that we met on the boat afterward, they all had the same independent view that the captain and crew intentionally made the ride tougher and drenched the passengers to “live up” to their online advertising.
About two weeks prior to our trip, the “lava bomb” was all over the news(yes, it was the same company) and it was well documented that the captains needed to stay at least 900 feet away from lava flowing into the ocean per US coast guard regulations. You’d think that with the recent accident, the captain would’ve been much more safety conscious than what was described above, as well as getting within 150-200 feet on numerous occasions.


Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/07/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Once in a life time experience

Reviewed by: YOPPI, 2018/07/21

I wasn't sure if the tour was worth the money, and also read one negative review about this, which made me hesitant to book the tour. But with the current situation with volcano, the ways available to see lava is either by air or from a boat. I decided to go with the more affordable one.
The ride was very rough. It was fun at first but by the time we got to the point where we can see lava my husband was sea sick and pretty much throwing up everything he had for breakfast and didn't have any energy to actually enjoy the view. I was feeling a bit sick too but not enough to throw up and was able to see how lava was flowing into ocean and how smoke/steam was rising. The view was absolutely spectacular and I don't think you can see anything like that unless you come here. Hence, I'd recommend the tour to everyone but with a medicine for sea sick just in case ;)

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/07/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

awesome experience

Reviewed by: j arabi, 2018/07/17

once in a lifetime opportunity. Would recommend it to anyone

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/06/30
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

One of the best experiences ever!!

Reviewed by: Jessica, 2018/07/07

I was super hesitant to book this tour and unsure if it was worth the money at first. I finally decided, when am I ever going to get a chance to see an active volcano again? I am soooo glad I booked it. The captain and crew on this boat were absolutely wonderful, knowledgeable, and helpful to the seasick. The ride alone was a great time, the sunrise was amazing, and I was completely awe-struck at how close we rode to the lava and how long we stayed there to enjoy it.

I will highly recommend dramamine the night before and morning of as the ride out is a little rough. The crew is more than upfrint about this and super helpful if you do get sick. This review is coming from someone who gets extremely sea sick and threw up the entire ride back,
and I still would go again and think it was worth every penny. Beats a helicoptor tour by a million for the experience and cost!





Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2018/06/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Volcano ocean boat tour

Reviewed by: Jane Sampson , 2018/06/24

We had a fantastic time. The crew was awesome. We saw an unbelievable site. Our boat was there for at least an hour. We were able to see up close the lava flow. It was a once in a lifetime experience.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/06/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Laca boat tour

Reviewed by: Jane Sampson , 2018/06/23

My husband and I had a fantastic time on this tour. It was an amazing experience. The captain and crew were also great. It was a once in a lifetime experience. We even had a couple of dolphins swim bybus for awhile on our way back. The water was exceptionally calm for this tour. Very little lucky.





Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/06/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Just amazing. Once-in-a-lifetime Experience!

Reviewed by: George, 2018/06/11

This was by far the most amazing boat ride I ever had.

We met at the harbor well before the sunrise, and after the brief safety instruction, we boarded on this massive speed cruiser. We took off and went from 0 to the top speed in minutes in the pitch darkness (I swear the captain had a night vision), and it literally felt like we were on the secret 007 mission. The ride was wet and bumpy, and my arms got tired from holding on to the bar. Bring a rain poncho if you don't want to get wet from the ocean spray. If you are prone to the sea sickness, take a motion sickness pill prior to the ride.

After about 45min of riding, we started seeing a glow in the distance. As we got closer to the ocean entry point, the lave heat started warming our skin although we were at least 100 yard away from it. The captain scooped a sea water from where we were into a bucket, and went around the boat so we could put our hands in the bucket and feel the temperature. It's amazing how the lava could heat up so much ocean water around the entry point.

The ride back was peaceful and we enjoyed the nice view of the volcanic cliffs with a few caves along the way.

Overall, this was a great tour. Not too many people can say that you witnessed the creation of the newest land on the earth. Highly recommended!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great job Veltra - Lousy Acitivty provider (Lava Ocean Tours, Inc.)

Reviewed by: Bernard, 2017/07/11

The agency Veltra was very easy to work with. They were very responsive and quite professional. They made scheduling the tour easy. The activity provider I did the tour with was called Lava Ocean Tours Inc. The captain was very rude and unprofessional. He was short and condescending. Most passengers were taken back by his attitude. I would not recommend this tour if Veltra gets you on boat from Lava Ocean Tours, Inc.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2017/07/07
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

A Thrill Ride and a Natural Marvel

Reviewed by: Randall F., 2016/12/06

I'm not a religious person, but something about this experience felt sacred; crashing through rolling waves along stretches of completely uninhabited shoreline, and then coming to rest with the boat surrounded by thick volcanic smoke. Looking out through breaks in the white clouds, you can't help but feel a vague sense that you've left the world you're familiar with behind—that you've breached some dividing line and are now in a place still under the control of something incalculably ancient. This tour is refreshing, in that the excitement of a new experience will invigorate you, but it's also physically demanding. The boat ride can be a bit difficult to bear at times. That said, I wouldn't let that discourage you. Trust your own judgement, but go into it fully aware that the trip out to the lava flow is not a pleasure cruise.


  • The surrounding water is actually hot to the touch

Reply from activity provider

Yes this is an ocean adventure out to see one of earths rarest attractions mahalo for joining us Randle and experiencing the magic of lava touching the sea.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Hawaiian Islands

Big Island Categories