Volcanoes National Park, Black Sand Beach & Waterfall Sightseeing (from Hilo)

Interesting sights but so-so tour company

Reviewed by: RBP, 2017/08/02

It is very unusual to see an area that is both active volcano and so recent in time. Seeing miles of lava fields was both beautiful and interesting.
I was disappointed in tour operator because they combined three different versions of the tour into one group and a lot of time was wasted waiting for other groups to connect.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/07/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

We'll be back for another great tour!

Reviewed by: Kimberly , 2017/03/21

YB was a great tour guide! Knowledgeable and very friendly with great aloha spirit. Thanks again for our great hilo volcano tour on Saturday March 18th.


  • Amazing tour!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/03/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Will remember for a very long time

Reviewed by: Georgia, 2015/08/25

What an awesome day. A day of volcanoes and waterfalls. What a difference the Big Island is from Oahu. The small group meant we got all our questions answered, our tour guide was tremendous (he doubled as a photographer so we have some wonderful photos of all of us on our trip), the scenery fabulous. I can't say a bad thing about this day. If you are considering it, don't. Just book!

Reply from activity provider

We're so glad you had a great time! Mahalo for your great review, Georgia :)

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2015/07/30
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Not so fun

Reviewed by: Alexandra, 2014/05/02

The tour is not exciting since there is no lava flowing. We were expecting to see more action.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2014/04/29
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great day

Reviewed by: Jen, 2013/09/05

One of the best days of my life. Would recommend this tour and ask for Y.B. as your tour guide. He was easy going and really knew his stuff. We were extremely lucky to have perfect weather for our day and got to see heaps, other than the lava reaching the sea. Only disappointment was that we couldn't stay until it was darker to view the crater glow at night because of a problem with one of the other tourists and flight schedules.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2013/08/31
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great time in Hawaii!

Reviewed by: Luna R., 2011/12/20

The one thing my mom wanted to see when we went to Hawaii was the volcano and this tour made her SO happy. Everyone in the family loved and I am so glad that we decided on this one. You could tell that our guide really and truly enjoyed his job and he was a complete fountain of knowledge. From the volcano, to the gardens to the little stores, we had a complete blast everywhere we went.

Highly recommend this tour for anyone going to the big island in Hawaii and I will be taking my in-laws when we come back next year ^_^

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Saw all in ONE day!

Reviewed by: Thomas, Fran & Brad, 2011/12/20

Picked us up from our Hotel in Hilo and the guides were so sweet and awesome and had lots of stories and interesting facts. My son actually stayed up the entire adventure. We whipped through an epic list of natural attractions, took tons of pictures, bought some keepsakes to take home and then poured into our beds when it was all done - day well spent! Recommend to all!

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Discover Hawaii Volcano Eco-Tour

Reviewed by: Rob, 2009/09/14

I would recommend that if the tour attendees consisted of people from other islands as well as people staying in Hilo, then the pickup should be at Hilo airport for everyone. Having a separate pickup location for people staying in Hilo was impractical. We were the last to get dropped off and it was very late by then.

While our guide was friendly and very knowledgeable about the park and other sites, he was a half-hour late to pick us up. When he did get there, we didn't leave for another fifteen minutes. When we left, we drove two blocks to the first stop where we stopped for another fifteen minutes. This was an inefficient use of time.

To call this tour an "eco-tour" was a bit of a stretch. The liulokalani gardens and the rainbow falls were the only non-volcano stops. These could have been omitted and replaced with spending more time at volcano national park as it's so large with too much to see in one day. There was also a considerable amount of driving in between stops

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Hawaii, Big Island Categories

Click for the BBB Business Review of this Concierge Services in Honolulu HI