Page 2) Body Glove Captain Cook Sunset Dinner Cruise to Kealakekua Bay [Open Now] reviews, Big Island tours & activities, fun things to do in Big Island | HawaiiActivities.com

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Travelers arriving into Hawaii are required to pass the pre-arrival COVID-19 test requirements or complete the mandatory 10-day quarantine. Up-to-date Hawaii COVID-19 information can be found here.

Body Glove Captain Cook Sunset Dinner Cruise to Kealakekua Bay [Open Now]

Overall Rating

4.54 4.54 / 5

Reviews

65 reviews
Post a review

June 2016

Reviewed by: Wanda Lincoln, 2016/06/25

We had a wonderful time. The captain steered around a storm and we were able to have a great trip. The food was delicious, the whole crew was great. Thanks for the awesome time.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/06/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

This is a very enjoyable experience

Reviewed by: Linda Ellis, 2016/06/08

We found this Cruise to be entertaining and relaxing. The music was great. The food and drink were very good and plentiful. The hosts were very gracious and we met many nice guests that we enjoyed sharing information of our adventures. We would recommend this to anyone!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/05/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

THis is a must do

Reviewed by: RJAK, 2016/06/07

This was a great evening, weather was good and entertainment was awesome!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/05/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome cruise!

Reviewed by: Teri and Norty, 2016/05/30

This cruise is just as advertised, a nicely narrated cruise down the southern coast from Kailua-Kona to Capt. Cook's monument. We had amazing visits from the spinner dolphins, had drinks and appetizers on the way out to the cove, and a local guitarist playing for us throughout the trip. The dinner was good, there was plenty to eat for everybody. The sunset was also very beautiful.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/05/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fun Time!

Reviewed by: Tom, 2016/04/10

Super fun time during the entire cruise, great drinks, and outstanding food. Captain and crew attentive and fun to talk to. Can't go wrong with this cruise.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2016/03/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

a very enjoyable evening.

Reviewed by: Lorraine, 2016/03/01

We did this cruise last week and our boat took us all down the coast past the Cook Monument where we were able to take photos. An interesting commentary accompanied the trip and a pod of dolphins played around us. Magical! And the sunset was spectacular.
The only thing that prevented me from giving this excursion 5 stars was that the buffet ran out of food before we were all served. It didn't bother us too much and the crew was very apologetic and gave us extra drink tickets but I think some people were quite upset.
Overall we loved it .

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/02/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

History and nature!

Reviewed by: aroundthecorner, 2016/02/25

Was not really a night for a Sunset, but we learned a lot of history / culture of Hawaii / Big Island, had good food, relaxing music, whales, dolphins, and yummy drinks. No complaints about this cruise! Thanks for the great time!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/02/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

New Year's Eve sunset cruise

Reviewed by: Brenda, 2016/01/04

Historical storyteller was fabulous! Great sense of humor, and full of interesting information!
For the price, the food could have been better, and lower prices on drinks.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2015/12/31
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Historical Kealakekua Bay Sunset Dinner Cruise

Reviewed by: Parmel & Angelique, 2015/12/13

My daughter and I did this tour in Nov and thoroughly enjoyed it. The staff on the cruise were very friendly. Thoroughly guide through out the cruise. Food was absolutely amazing and so was the cocktails. Music was also fantastic. The tour guide was very knowledgeable and guided us throughout the cruise. Had a fantastic time. Highly recommended.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2015/11/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Sunset Dinner Cruise

Reviewed by: Lenora, 2015/10/14

We went on the dinner cruise our first night in Kona. The water was pretty choppy, myself and another woman became very sea sick from the beginning of the cruise. The crew were very concern and tried to make us as comfortable as they could. My husband and mom had a great time the enjoyed the food and entertainment.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2015/09/29
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

First Night on Island

Reviewed by: Joanne, 2015/10/05

We had a great time! Staff was friendly and very interactive with guest, food was great and plentiful, entertainment was great, historical guide was informative and great to talk too! The boat wasn't packed with people like the other boats leaving the dock. We would definitely do the dinner cruise again. You get some spectacular sites from the cruise, even a dolphin side show. The captain stopped the Boat for dinner and we watched the spectacular sunset while eating. It was a great experience! I would highly recommend this dinner cruise.

  • Just one of our sunset pictures, beautiful view while eating dinner.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/10/02
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Historical Kealakakua Bay Sunset Dinner Cruise

Reviewed by: Sherri McClane, 2015/07/05

Couldn't as for a better way to end the day. The setting perfect, the crew helpful and friendly, the narrative informative, the music the perfect backdrop for the evening. The food plentiful and wonderful. We had a few pleasant surprises along the way. We were entertained by a school of sinner dolphins going and coming, as well as seeing a flying fish or two. A good time was had by all, given the chance I'd do it all again.

  • dolphin swimming by boat

  • musician for the evening

  • the evening historian

  • sunset at sea

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2015/06/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Not so Great...

Reviewed by: shah, 2015/05/19

The crew was good and friendly. Despite informing them about our dietery restrictions a week before the cruise, they forgot to prepare any vegetarian food. The crew quickly threw together salad for us on board, but it was a lot of money for salad. The crews were friendly otherwise. good music...

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/05/10
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

The best fun we had during our trip to Kona.

Reviewed by: From San Diego, 2014/08/04

I told friend of mine that I was going to be in Kona with my family and he highly recommended that I take Captain cooks dinner cruise. He couldn't remember the actual name of the dinner cruise but with this info I googled it and found it. I was skeptical at first about going on the three hour cruise because we were a huge party of 12 women, children and one man (me), but let me tell you, it was the funnest event of our entire 10 days in Kona. For the most part people seem to be nice and easy-going on the Big Island, but the entire crew of the boat - from the "captain" to the bartender - where the coolest, nicest, and funniest people we met on our entire trip to the Big Island. They really bend over backwards to make you feel at home and they definitely keep you entertained with an interesting historical overview of the Hawaiian Islands given by a Hawaiian storyteller, as well as by a great musical performance given by a talented and recognized young music artist. I highly recommend this dinner cruise for anybody wishing to have a great time in Kona!

  • Perfectly timed return to dock on sunset.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2014/08/01
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Must Do!

Reviewed by: Chere, 2014/05/21

The tour guide was awesome! I can't remember her name, but she pointed out a ton of cool sites (sights) and even knew how to hula dance! The food and drinks were delicious and it was a great experience! We even saw whales and spinner dolphins! Oh and LT Smooth was awesome too.

  • Tour guide has the flower in her hair

  • Sunset

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2014/03/11
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Food and cruise on a decent boat

Reviewed by: Justin, 2014/03/01

My girlfriend and I went on this cruise on Valentines Day and were very happy. We very much enjoyed the food and the cruise itself. There was a wonderful woman giving information on the history of the island and a muscian playing great music. The only thing that keeps me from giving 5 stars is the boat is not ideal for a romantic cruise. Its just kinda a boat, nothing very nice about it. Overall we were satisfied and felt like we had a great valentines for the money we spent.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2014/02/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

very good cruise

Reviewed by: julie, 2013/10/29

Our guide was very informative about the history of the area, loved all his stories. The crew was also a lot of fun and helpful.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2013/10/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fantastic!

Reviewed by: Camry, 2013/10/22

If you're visiting the Kona side of the Big Island, this dinner cruise is a MUST! It has it all: beautiful coastal views as you sail down to the Captain Cook monument, knowledgable guide who provides interesting historical information about the island (my husband and I love to learn new things), friendly/service-oriented staff, great dinner buffet, and a free premium drink! It was so relaxing and not too short of a cruise (but also not too long). We had a great time! Definitely would do it again.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2013/10/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fun, food, and educational!

Reviewed by: Mumsie2U, 2012/06/03

We booked this cruise in particular because it was wheelchair accessible. We were traveling with a friend who is in a wheelchair and we wanted to be able to get her out on the ocean. The crew was fantastic! The ramp was easy and we sat in the front of the boat.
On this cruise to Ke'alakekua, not only was there a wonderful bartender, but also a fabulous array of appetizers and a yummy dinner. AND there was a historian, named Boyd, who was able to tell us the history of the areas we were cruising by. Kudos to Boyd! IN ADDITION to all of this, we were suprised to find out the crew had fishing lines out and caught three large fish! Very exciting for us and also the crew.
This is just a great company with a great crew wo do hospitality right. Loved it all!

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Best time

Reviewed by: Karl Reddig, 2012/04/19

We saved the best for last , attended the night before we flew home . Everybody said it was the best time they had in the 2 weeks we spent on the big island. We loved it!!!!

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great

Reviewed by: Dirk, 2012/02/06

This was great activity! The historian who was on board with us did an excellent job of explaining everything that we were seeing along the coast. The food was really good and there was plenty of it. As an added bonus to our wonderful evening, we were first entertained by several schools of dolphins and then we sighted several whales. What a wonderful sight! The crew were very curtious and helpful and the live entertainment and the drinks were great. Definitely a highlight of my stay and something that I would do again!!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Dinner Cruise

Reviewed by: Sharon Hallam, 2009/11/16

My husband and I had a wonderful time. The staff and crew were great, and the food was very good. Had a wonderful time! would do it again!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fantasitic Cruise

Reviewed by: Davis, 2009/07/21

The sunset cruise we took was awesome. They have excelled my expectation on every aspects: the boat, crew, food, entertainment, etc. The cruise ended with the beautiful Hawaiian sunset over the vast Pacific Ocean. We even got to see a pod of dolphins as a bonus. I'll recommend this to anyone who is looking for a nice all-around sunset cruise. Mahalo!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

sunset cruise that wasn't

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2009/07/07

On July 2nd, The historical sunset cruise we took was fabulous right until the end but we were very disappointed that the captain elected to dock five minutes too soon. A fantastic sunset was in the making and if we had slowed down five minutes we would have been treated to a terrific sky. Everyone with a camera was out on deck with cameras ready, and we just pulled right in to dock watching the sun slip behind the island instead of over the water where it would have been had we stayed out five more minutes. I know for certain many others were unhappy with this handling of time. Why we had to dock so quickly is a mystery to me.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Hawaiian Islands