This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Private VIP Tour & Volcanoes National Park After Dark (from Hilo)

Beautiful experience. Got so much to see and learn.

Reviewed by: AkshathaSriramprasad, 2018/04/25

Lee, our tour guide was super friendly. He also teaches at a local school hence has a great skill for storytelling. He not only showed us some pretty amazing stuff like live volcano, volcano tubes and the waterfalls, he also told us a lot about Hawaii, Hilo, Hawaiian culture, heritage and people.
If you are someone who wants to know more about all these places and the legends and stories associated with them, go for this tour. Lee has so much knowledge to share and we felt like school kids on excursion. He encourages questions and appreciates them too!
He showed us the Hokule'a which was in town for 2 weeks. And took us to the amazing Rama paintings exhibition. He gave us a brief tour of the town and showed us several historic sites and took us to the Volcano on time.
He customizes the tours based on your interests.
We had a great time and wish Lee and his family the best!




Reply from activity provider

Aloha folks....
Mahalo nui for the opportunity to be with you and your dynamic questions, curiosity and love for the island of Hawai'i.
Our intimate tour is the way we have specialized through the years. It has enabled us to have tours that are a constant
cultural and educational stimulus.
Please pay attention to Madame Pele through the national volcanoes' park website.
She is dancing and rumbling and shaking the island right now.
all blessings
lee

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/04/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Best part of our week long trip

Reviewed by: Erica, 2018/04/15

Spent a week in Hawaii and this was the best thing we participated in! Lee, our guide, was extremely knowledgeable about Hilo and the volcanoes. We saw waterfalls, black sand beaches, and of course the volcano. Our 9 year old son could have climbed on lava rock all day! Wish we could have spent more time in the park itself, but we saw it all in 6 hours!! Well worth the money to do a private tour. Even had a picnic sitting amongst old lava flows!

Reply from activity provider

Aloha ohana of a junior ranger!
Yes, the weather changes all the time and the guide can be guided by the weather and local happenings.
It has rained for nearly 3 weeks know and very little sun,
However, the 'liquid sunshine' is refreshing; everything is so green and the magma is rolling about.
the island of Hawai'i is alive.
thank you for sharing with us.
lee

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2018/04/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

OMG Lee is an amazing guide and host

Reviewed by: The Ertl Family, 2018/04/04

We went on the tour and when we saw it was pouring rain we were worried. Well, never fear with Lee as your guide. We saw so much and learned so much it was crazy. My 15 and 10 year old have been talking all the next day about what a nice and knowledgable person he is. When we hugged goodbye with someone who was a stranger 6 hours earlier, it was hard to leave. He was able to weave the incredible history of Hawaii throughout our trip by tyin flowers, lava, Hawaiian history, and his own story together to make an amazing tale we will NEVER FORGET. I highly recommend spending a day with Lee!

Reply from activity provider

aloha ohana of adventure...wow. thank you for your energy and interest as we made our way through sunshine liquid that makes rainbows.
every tour is different. the weather is different. the lava flo, the ocean currents; the waves of wind and sea.
mahalo nui for sharing the most beautiful element of Hawai'i: change.
lee

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2018/04/02
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fascinating Guided Tour of an Incredible Island

Reviewed by: Jen Bianco, 2016/08/07

We did not really know what to expect with this tour and was very pleased with our private VIP tour with Lee from Wild Orchid Tours. He showed us many hidden gems on the island, as well as gave us quite a lot of background info on Hawaiian culture. We came away well versed in the lore of Pele, the Volcano goddess and the history of Kīlauea's activity.

The visibility at Hawaii Volcanoes National Park was bad the day of our tour, but Lee came prepared with rain ponchos and walking sticks. We were thrilled he took us out to see the lava flow after sunset. We saw so much, the waterfalls don't seem worth mentioning.

The bonus is that Lee is fascinating himself. He's knows his Big Island, but that's just the beginning. After our tour, my friend and I almost wanted to extend our stay so we could take Lee and his wife, Renata, out to dinner.

Well worth the money. I highly recommend Wild Orchid Tours.


  • Lee showing us the Pahoa Lava Tube in Hawaii Volcanoes National Park


  • Moody weather on the crater didn't dampen our spirits. Lee still was an excellent tour guide!


  • One of the waterfalls near Hilo we saw on our tour with Lee.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2016/07/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

A must do!

Reviewed by: Amy B., 2016/07/04

Wow! Lee was an awesome tour guide for us. He shared so much information on the island and the volcanos. With 4 adults and 2 kids (12 & 14), everyone learned something. It was an incredible tour for all of us. The time went fast!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2016/06/22
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Natural High

Reviewed by: Fi & Guy, Nov 2015, 2015/11/28

We booked a Private Volcano Tour in Oct 2015 and experienced so much more than just 'a tour'. Our guide, Lee, was friendly, knowledgeable, listened to our interests and tailored our afternoon/evening accordingly. We'll never forget the beautiful scenery, sights and our volcano experience - particularly the added pleasures of owls above steam vents and the Milky Way above glowing Kilauea. Truly outstanding visit to Hawaii.


  • Lee and Fi, Volcanoes National Park Oct 2015

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/10/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

FANTASTIC DAY IN HAWAII!!

Reviewed by: The Labbe Family, 2015/07/29

We had the most amazing day ever! Lee (our tour guide) was so informative and engaging with all of us. My 16 and 18 year old loved our day! He asked us what we wanted to do and we did it! For us it was a complete day of learning about the volcanos, lava flow and national forest! Mahalo! We will be back!


  • Lee and my family - having a great time!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2015/07/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Lee for Private Volcano Tour

Reviewed by: Chris Golden, 2015/07/12

Lee was an absolutely amazing tour guide. I would recommend him to anyone going to the Big Island. His insightful and knowledgeable commentary in addition to the beautiful sights are a must see for any visitor. Thank you Lee!!


  • Lava Flow!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2015/07/07
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Hawaiian Islands

Big Island Categories