Kilauea After Dark: Volcanoes National Park & Night Lava Viewing Tour

Overall Rating

4.804.80 / 5

Reviews

5 reviews (Post a review)

Fun.

Reviewed by: Rosemary, 2017/07/09

It was so great seeing the lava hitting the ocean at night. You could see the red lava coming out of the lava tube and hitting the ocean. It was a 4 mile round trip walk, but well worth it.

Reply from activity provider

We are so glad you enjoyed your day!! We do have the shortest hiking distance available as the public hike is 4.2 miles each way, so that makes it a bit easier, but as you said, so worth it!! :) How many times in our lifetime are we able to witness an active volcano? It is so amazing!! Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review! We appreciate it!! Mahalo!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/06/22
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

#besttourever

Reviewed by: Jena, 2016/09/27

Erin and Nathan were awesome!! They were informative and funny! Kept our interest the whole time! I'm a local girl and still learned so much from our tour! Thank you for an awesome tour! Thank you for also seamlessly dealing with the snafoo of the bakery being closed unexpectedly and getting us MALASADA delivered!! That's great customer service! Alohas and Mahalo!!!!!!!!!

Reply from activity provider

We are so glad that you enjoyed your day! I will be sure to pass on your kind words to the guides! Yes, we were a bit surprised that the bakery did not contact us as we go there almost every day, but you always have to have a plan B in place. :) I am glad that you enjoyed the malasadas as well. We believe in going the extra mile to share special memories with you. Thank you again for taking the time to write such a lovely review. Mahalo!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2016/09/22
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Wonderful excursion!

Reviewed by: Teri and Norty, 2016/05/30

Got picked up in Kona about mid-day by Amanda and ended up with a small group of four people total. She was very friendly, welcoming, personable and knowledgeable. She was chatty in a good way and kept us engaged throughout the trip. First stop was the Punalu'u bakery for sandwiches in the gazebo on bakery grounds. Spent a little time touring the small garden and picked up some of their doughnuts for a treat later. Next stop was Black Sands beach, was hoping to see the sea turtles sunning themselves but only saw a couple in the water. On next to the National Park, saw the Volcano Lodge, Kilauea Iki lava bed, rainbow rocks, lava tubes, steam vents, and Jagger museum. Had dinner at the Kilauea military camp cafeteria which was interesting and unexpected. Very cool tour, great guide. Two thumbs up from us!

Reply from activity provider

Aloha, We are so glad that you enjoyed our Kilauea After Dark Tour with Amanda! Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review. I will be sure to pass on your kind words to Amanda. Mahalo!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/05/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Valuable information learned

Reviewed by: Samantha, 2015/10/04

Amanda was our tour guide and she was full of information about the island. She told us stories such as, Captain Cook's story and many facts about the land that we would have never learned on our own. Before we entered the park, we had lunch at the Punalu'u bakery. They have the BEST bread we have ever had!! My husband exclaimed that it was the best tuna sandwich he's ever had and it takes a lot for him to say something like that. We also tried the malasadas (we purchased..fairly cheap around ~3 for 2) and they were very good. When we entered the park, Amanda talked about the different kinds of lava flow and gave us many other facts. She was extremely knowledgeable which is what makes it worth booking this trip. Yes, we could have driven to the park on our own. But, I am thankful we had a guide that was so knowledgeable in such a small group (group of 8 total). She also talked about different trees and plants that we may have never even noticed! The only thing that was a pain was everyone in our group got picked up and dropped off individually, which made for a late night especially when the different driver taking us back did not seem to know the area at all. Our dinner was a buffet but there were not a lot of choices. However, they did have ice cream!


  • Amanda talking about the different plants and trees

Reply from activity provider

We are so glad you enjoyed the day with us! Amanda is certainly a gem! We do apologize that our evening driver was not as familiar with the entire island as we would like her to be. She is a new member of our team and is doing her best to learn about the various drop offs on this Big Island of ours, but we trust her safe driving and courteous manner. Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/10/02
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Absolutely fantastic

Reviewed by: Kimberley, 2015/08/02

We went on this tour in July 2015 and absolutely loved it. We were picked up in Hilo by the first of our two tour guides, Neho, who was absolutely brilliant and gave us a detailed, fascinating view on everything we asked about. The black sand beach was gorgeous and inspiring, the history behind the volcanic eruptions was interesting, and the wild chickens were hilarious. Neho was warm, funny, and full of great anecdotes. Then we went to Volcano Park and met the second guide, Amanda, who was calm and knowledgeable. Pele's hair, lava tubes, the different colour of the lava - she had a story for everything.

The tour was small enough that everyone in the van got to know each other and didn't feel like we were on an assembly line. The scenery was gorgeous, and when we finally saw the lit up volcano is was utterly worth it We'd travelled to the Big Island to undertake this tour and weren't disappointed. One point - we were given jackets when we viewed the volcano at night and needed them as it was quite chilly by then, so anyone wearing shorts might want to rethink them after dinner. There were quite a few other tours at the viewing spot and we saw a lot of people wrapped in towels to keep warm. The post-volcano snack was also very welcome.

Overall, we loved it and would recommend it. The volcano needs to be seen at night in order to appreciate the colour - it was fabulous.

Reply from activity provider

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review! We are so happy that you enjoyed your day!! Mahalo!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2015/07/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Hawaii, Big Island Categories

Click for the BBB Business Review of this Concierge Services in Honolulu HI