Lava Meets the Sea: Kilauea Volcano & Kalapana Sunset Hike (from Kona/Hilo)

Overall Rating

4.834.83 / 5

Reviews

6 reviews (Post a review)

Great Tour, Saves a lot of Walking

Reviewed by: Lava Seeker, 2017/07/27

I was really looking forward to this tour, being the first time on the big island. I was not disappointed by the tour. Amanda, our first half tour guide was terrific! So nice and informative, had a great time with her. Deric, (I hope I spelled his name correctly) was also great, gave us a lot of information regarding the previous lava flows and the area. The two mile walk didn't seem like two miles on gravel, it seemed like it took forever. Walking back to the van in the dark and trying to avoid the bikes was also an experience. It was so dark out there, we spotted the Hubble Space Telescope in the sky! All of the sites the tour took us to were interesting and fun. I have to admit, it was a long day. We got picked up at 8:30 from Kona, but didn't get back to our car till 11:30 pm! We really went driving around the island. Would do it again, but the money spent is worth it.



Reply from activity provider

Aloha, Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review! Amanda and Deric are terrific and really enjoy what they do. We are so glad you enjoyed your day. It's called the Big Island for a reason...it is BIG! :) But as you said, as long as you are coming over to the east side to see the volcanic activity, you might as well see it all! I will be sure to pass on your kind words to the team. Mahalo for spending the day with us!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/07/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great day!

Reviewed by: Ginger W, 2017/07/08

We enjoyed everything about this experience. We stopped at a wonderful bakery on the way up the mountain. We saw all the best of Volcanoes National Park, and then headed to a more out-of-the-way area for breathtaking scenery and dinner before the hike to the lava flow. The hike is not difficult and really worth it for the views. The rainwear provided by the tour (we needed it in the Volcsno Park) was nice Columbia jackets; not the ponchos I expected. Both guides were excellent and we learned a lot about the culture as well as volcanoes. Our college-age kids loved it!


Reply from activity provider

Aloha Ginger! We are so glad that you and your family enjoyed spending the day with us! The volcano is so active right now and we are glad we were able to show you all the aspects of it's activity in one day. Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review and I will be sure to pass on your kind words to Aaron and Deric. Mahalo :) We hope to see you again in the future!!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/06/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fantastic

Reviewed by: Flora, 2017/07/02

Fantastic tour, with great tour guides, 100% would recommend

Reply from activity provider

Thank you so much for recommending us! We are so glad you enjoyed your day!!! Mahalo!

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2017/06/29
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Best way to see the volcano, no doubt

Reviewed by: Elise Wilson, 2017/06/24

If I could give this more than 5 stars, I would.

My family and I had an absolutely amazing time on this tour - it's a long day, but it's SO worth it. Both of our guides were fantastic; they did an excellent job teaching us about the history and geology of the island while keeping the tour atmosphere casual and fun. They had answers to pretty much every question that was asked, and despite not being Hawaiian natives, they clearly studied extensively about Hawaiian history and cared deeply about Hawaiian culture. The volcano national park was as spectacular as we hoped it would be and the hike out to the lava flow was well worth it.

Some of the highlights of the tour were kind of unexpected. The bakery we visited on the way from Kona was delicious, and walking through Hawaii Volcanoes National Park and learning about the past eruptions was fascinating. The southern area of the island where we had dinner was absolutely incredible. Our guide talked to us about the politics on the island and about the movement for Hawaiian freedom centered in that region. If you take this trip, bring your passport so you can get it stamped! Honestly, the evening portion of this tour was the highlight of our whole vacation - it cast light on aspects of Hawaiian culture we had never thought about and gave us breathtaking views of the ocean and the lava. It was totally amazing in every respect.

Absolutely take this tour if you get a chance!!!

Reply from activity provider

Aloha, Thank you so much for writing such a wonderful review! We so very much appreciate your time and we are delighted that you enjoyed our tour! We realize that it is a bit of a long day, but it is a big island and we want to show you both sides of the volcano!! The National Park and the hike out to the lava on the back side of the volcano. They are both so unique and worth the time! I will be sure to pass on your kind words to our team (and yes, they all study a lot to be a part of our team:)) and I know they will appreciate your comments. We hope to see you again someday!! Mahalo!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great trip, knowledgeable guides

Reviewed by: Lilly, 2017/04/25

We had kind of an unusual situation, as our hike down to the lava in the afternoon was canceled due to the directions of the winds, which were blowing toxic VOG inland. Instead, we ended up going to the crater for the second time that day, which actually turned out to be pretty cool, as the lava level had risen quite high.

Our AM guide was Angelique, who was really sweet and had a great deal of information about the flora/fauna in the area as well as having some really fun stories about Captain Cook and various other historical figures. She's clearly done her homework!

Campbell was our PM guide, and he's quite a character. He had a lot of great information to share about the various eruptions that have happened on the island and took us to a few places to see old lava flows. He's pretty new to the island and the tour, though, and it does sometimes show. I'd say, after he gets a little more experience under his belt, he'll be great. He's done quite a bit of research on his own, so he did have some good information debunking some common misconceptions on the origin of various species on the island.

We were pretty disappointed that our hike out to see the lava flow was canceled, but the owner was really great to work with, and let us jump into the hike the following day so we got to see it anyway! For that trip, Shawn was our guide, and he's a very experienced guide and seems to know every single person on the island, and shared some fun local trivia with us :). Sadly, the lava wasn't flowing as strongly as it had been in previous weeks so we saw more spurts than flows, but it was still REALLY cool.

The hike down wasn't as strenuous as I was expecting, they've actually bulldozed the road so it's more like a gravel road than hiking across lava as I was (for some reason) expecting, and there weren't any inclines/declines. They are able to park further into the park than the public, though, the hike was cut down to a 3 mile hike round trip.

Reply from activity provider

Aloha Lilly, We were glad that we were able to accommodate you on a second night. That was the first time that Hawaii Civil Defense blocked the lava viewing area since we have been hiking out via this shorter distance and it was a disappointment, but unfortunately, we can argue with the big guys. :) It is a major safety issue if the south winds are blowing strongly enough to have the SO2 gasses go directly into guests faces.We are glad that you enjoyed the overall experience and we hope that you will be able to visit the islands once again! Thank you for taking the time to write a lovely review and we will be sure to pass on your kind words to our guides. Mahalo!!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/04/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Best Adventure Ever! Best way to see the all sides of Kilauea Volcano.

Reviewed by: mcavalheiro, 2017/04/06

This was by far the coolest thing I ever done in my life. Nothing compares to see an active volcano and watch the power of creation right before you eyes.

Excellent service from start to finish. The vehicles are clean and comfortable. The food was substantial for the duration of the tour. For lunch we had an nice picnic lunch at Volcanoes National Park with delicious deli-sandwiches. For dinner we stopped at a local restaurant in Pahoa town with good options for everyone. Inside the van they also carry a cooler and a basket full of snacks and drinks.

The guides were professionals, punctual, courteous and knowledgeable.
Amanda did a wonderful job of blending geography, history and culture. We learned about the flora and fauna native to the area, as well as plants and animals brought to the island. We also learned about the past and recent eruptions.

Inside the Volcanoes National Park we visited Jagger museum and Halema’uma’u Crater. We also had fun seeing the steam vents. The Iki Crater Trail is a nice and easy hike through the rainforest and after that we walked through Thurston Lava Tube.

After leaving the park we drove by Pahoa Town and I was very impressed to see how close the lava flow got to this little town in 2015 / 2016. We had dinner and then we drove to Kalapana for the best part of the day.

Nui Pohaku offers the shortest hike to the viewing point where the lava is flowing to the ocean. it was an easy 30 to 40 min walk until the end of the trail. Walking right next to the lava fields was an amazing experience and witness the explosive power of the volcano pouring lava to the ocean was unbelievable.

As the sun sets the colors change and you see the eruption getting crazy bright shades of orange, red and yellow. Once the sun is down they give you flashlights to help the hike back tot he car and we were blessed with an awesome stargazing.

Everything was as promised...and better!











Reply from activity provider

Aloha! What a lovely review - thank you so much!! We appreciate the time you took to write it and turn it in! Thank you for noticing the details :) Our slogan at the office is "Excellence is in the Details" and that is what we strive to do at all times in the way of food, customer service, training, etc. I will be sure to pass on your kind words to the team! Your pictures are incredible and I would love to use some on our site with your permission. You can let me know at romeo@nuipohaku.com. We hope that you come visit us again some day!! Mahalo!

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Hawaii, Big Island Categories

Click for the BBB Business Review of this Concierge Services in Honolulu HI