Kilauea Volcano Bike & Lava Combo (from Kona / Hilo)

Overall Rating

4.754.75 / 5

Reviews

4 reviews (Post a review)

Great tour

Reviewed by: Del & Ro, 2016/06/22

Verry good activity, bike section is perhaps too shorter than expected (4 or 5 miles), however, every spots shown are very beautiful (a lot of spots have been seen :)).
Volcano by night...awsome!
We hightly recommended to do this tour.
Thanks very very much to our guides Pono, Nat, Amanda and Brandi!

Reply from activity provider

Aloha Del and Ro! Thank you so much for sharing such a lovely review with us! We are so glad that you enjoyed spending the day with us and I will be sure to pass on your kind words to the team! The cycling portion is a little closer to 8 miles, but we do make stops to show you the steam vents and Caldera and other amazing sights, so it may seem shorter. :) Plus we do that hike through the lava tube in the middle of the tour. We hope that you will join us again some day if you return to the island! The volcano is always changing things around here, so it never seems like the same tour! Mahalo!!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/06/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Almost Great

Reviewed by: Gary T, 2016/03/26

Dano and Pano were fantastic on the biking portion. Need more biking and volcano exposure. Afternoon Van tour was weak with the exception of the farmers market stop by the black sands beach.
Dinner was disappointing.


Reply from activity provider

Aloha Gary, Thank you for joining us on our Bike & Lava Combo. I have to say that I am a bit surprised that you did not enjoy the afternoon/evening portion of the tour and the dinner as well. Our guests have always said this is the highlight of their day. I do appreciate you commenting on this so we can take a closer look at what might have happened that evening to lower the standards. We will be speaking with our guides and the restaurant to see what additional things we can do to improve upon the day. We certainly appreciate your time and will be sure to pass on your kind words to Dano and Pono! Mahalo!!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/03/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Wonderful time & Knowledgeable Guides

Reviewed by: ClevererGirl, 2015/02/02

My husband and I had a wonderful time with this all day tour. The guides were very fun and knowledgeable. The biking was easy downhill most of the time and just a quick way to get around in the outdoors. They made special arrangements for my vegan diet and picked us up and dropped us off all the way over in Kona. Great fun!

Reply from activity provider

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a nice review! We are so glad you chose to join us for a special day at the volcano and hope you come back to visit again! I will pass on your kind words to Alan, Nathan and Tyler! Mahalo!!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/01/11
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Excellent bike experience

Reviewed by: newbie to scuba, 2013/12/22

We had very knowledgeable guides that knew everything about Hawaiian culture and volcanoes. We rode the shuttle from designated points and learned about Hawaiian history and volcanoes. At the mount we rode mountain bikes and had to actually use the gears to go up some small hills. It was good exercise. We stopped our bike so that our guide could show us volcano from different vantage points and also to walkthrough the tunnels left behind by magma. After the morning show we drove around to different scenic points around Hawaii and then wen back to the summit and watched the reddish steam rise from the crater. We did not see any active lava flow and it was raining pretty hard at night. so the night portion was not impressive due to that. So I would not do the night tour unless you could see active lava flow and weather is good. Also we had an excellent lunch at a restaurant at the black sand beach. We did get to see the black sand beach. So I liked that about the evening tour.

Reply from activity provider

Mahalo for joining us for a day of adventure! We appreciate you taking the time to write a note. We hope that you will visit us again in the future! Enjoy the rest of your vacation here in the islands!

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2013/12/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Hawaii, Big Island Categories

Click for the BBB Business Review of this Concierge Services in Honolulu HI